Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's

Gerard Doustraat 6-hs, Oud Zuid, 1072 AN Amsterdam, Netherlands

Review score

Based on 672 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    more bathrooms, friends on the first floor had 4 flights of very steep steps to go up if they needed to use the bathroom.

    the bed was very comfortable and the room was lovely. location was very good and our room came with a terrace which was very nice. Alexander the owner was also lovely and gave us a lot of tips of places to visit while in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and 5 other friends of mine were in Amsterdam from March 14th to 19th and we stayed in a nice alexander apartment. Three bright bedrooms, each with a sink and a cabinet with mirror. We have used every day of the kitchen with all the comforts possible. The house also had a small patio with a table and chairs very useful for eating out on nice summer days. There was a lot of cold in those days and coming home and finding it super heated was great. The house was very close to everything, the rijksmuseum and all the main museums, supermarket in the back street, tram stop 100 meters away and the house was surrounded by restaurants and bars. Alexander was available for anything we needed. He also suggested with us a map the best places to see. Thanks for this holiday, highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would advise to freshen up the furniture a bit and reorganize rooms, like put a toilet on each floor

    There are rooms with private kitchen and bathroom and shared ones. If you are looking for the cheapest option (like us), which is a shared kitchen/bathroom, please note that the kitchen and the bathroom is on the attic only, i.e. 4th floor (they also have a bathroom downstairs, but it's open only after 10 a.m. and closed in the evening, so for us it was essentially closed all the time), so if you're staying on the first floor, you'll have to climb 3 storeys up very steep stairs to pee and then back. We had a sink in the room though, so you can at least wash your hands. If you're going to cook, note that the kitchen is very small and doesn't have any room to eat, so you'll have to bring your cooked meals down the same steep stairs and then return dishes back to the kitchen to wash. So if you don't cook or pee or you're a climber, you can stay at any floor, otherwise make sure you get the room in the attic or consider a room with a private kitchen and bathroom. Room is also equipped with a heater, small fridge, kettle, coffee machine and some coffee (not good one for my taste though), tea, sugar and two glasses. There is also good wi-fi everywhere in the hotel. Walls are thin, but it was quiet anyway when we were there, probably because of "be-quiet" rules of the house with potential fine for being loud, which are posted in each room (the house has a lot of rules to be honest with potential fines, so check them carefully). Neibourghood is quite nice, it's not super center, but still part of the old town with canals nearby and about half an hour walk to the very center. About 10 minutes walk to Van Gogh Museum, 5-10 minutes walk to local market (check it out - it's quite nice) and supermarkets. Also note, that the host may ask you for at least 50 euro per person cash deposit to make sure you don't break anything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed everything, from Alexander's niceness to the room itself. It is also very well located, close to the Heineken's museum and all sorts of restaurants, coffees, and for those who want coffeshops, and about a 5/10 minutes walk to the market. The only downside is in what concerns wi-fi, because it goes on and off way to many times. Apart from that, I had an wonderful stay. I'll definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their wifi is crap.

    The price was the best thing about this place. The first room we were given was decent - 2 connected rooms to make a small apartment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was extremely welcoming and laid-back, and he made us feel at home immediately. The room was spacious and comfortable and we appreciated the various complimentary teas. The neighbourhood was great, I recommend eating at Omelegg and Coffee & Coconuts a few minutes walk away for excellent food and service and a great atmosphere, and the bar/cafe De Graal just around the corner for refreshments and games in an open-minded, cool place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cosy, little kitchen for cooking, nice but small room. Very nice location, very close to the tram and the center by bike (which they rent, you should totally do it). A lot of rules to follow, but they jsut don't want people making noise late, which is totally understandable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like much of Amsterdam, the stairs will not work for someone with mobility issues.

    Alex was flexible and kind. The room was clean, safe, and comfortable, which is exactly what I needed as a woman travelling alone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3 flights of winding staircase were not expected, the cleaner arrived before 12 on our last day telling us to get out And waited outside the room until we did.

    The location was good, the staff who met us on arrival were very friendly! Coffee machine, kitchen hobs and microwave help for an easy stay. Contact was easy and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were extremely steep and tight, it was hard to bring up or bring down our luggages.

    Near tourist spots like the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum and restaurants. Quiet area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn t like that Alexander explain to us all the city for 15 minutes after we told to him that we ve been there a lot of time already

    Alexander said to us that we coudn't talk and have the window open at the same time -.- I was just talking to my friend and the neighbor was knocking our wall

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing was the bathroom next to the office. I didnt like the way you chabge the shared bathroom on the second day.

    The room was cosier than I expected and it was perfectly clean. But the best thing was the hosts and workers were so friendly. Thanks for that experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature difference between first and second room was pretty big, with second room being too warm and first room a little too cold.

    Beds were comfy and rooms were surprisingly spacious. Essentials were all provided in great conditions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the fact that it rained everyday that we were there. But you can't control the weather!

    I liked the fact that the location was close to museums and sites, and there were many small quaint eating places right down the street. I also liked the fact that there were 3 full beds in the 2 bedroom apartment, and that the apartment was on the ground level, and we did not have to climb any stairs to get to it. I also liked the fact that we could control the heat to our desired temperature.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ,was excellent.

    We booked the apartment after our flights were cancelled and the guy who met us couldnt have been more helpful.Stayed here 4 years ago and will try book again next year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleanliness and personal service was fantastic. We received a professional and attentive service from the staff and specially from Mr Alexander and his kind wife. We are very grateful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were driving so parking facilities nearby was €30 per day or €8 per day at the Stadium 10/15min driving from there but my husband took nearly 1h 30min waiting in the queue to be able to park our car, what made our afternoon much shorter to explore the city. Next time I might consider paying the €30 across the canal. (We only stayed 1 night in Amsterdam, though). Apart from that, all very good.

    Location, hospitality, comfort and price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the tv’s didn’t work The apartment wasn’t as clean as we would of liked The rooms did get a bit too hot The rules seemed a bit strict Not much provided such as shampoo/conditioner/shower gel

    Nice apartment Host was lovely and friendly Nice location as we needed to be near melkweg Host was flexible with checkout times

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No sharp knife, cracked crockery, tap in toilet didn't work, smell of others smoking in the property,

    Friendly staff, good location, coffee pods, cooking facilities, extra electric radiator

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the condition was payment will make at the time of arrival in local currency but they collected all payment from my credit card in advance . and there was price difference between advance payment and payment on arrival . I don’t know how much they collected more and why they are doing like this ? But every other thing was fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at 4th floor and everything was magnificent. Nice room with a lot of space for 2 person and we have also a balcony! The staff was really helpful and gave us many information about Amsterdam!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the apartment was very small botas advertised and we aid a lot if money for the week there wouldn't go back

    The host was very nice butvtge apapetment was shockingingly small for the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets opposite the kitchen. One toilet for 6 guests and some appliances were not working as well as they could. E.g. Kettle could not be turned on easily as the handle was not attached.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Within walking distance to sights, restaurants and markets. The staff were just lovely and willing to help. You can hire a bike at the apartments. The beds were super comfy. Had the best sleep. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have preferred all rooms on one level. The second room wasn't cleaned until after the arrival of my sister... and then wasn't fully cleaned. The glass wall at the front of the apartment by the street didn't provide a large amount of privacy from passers-by.

    The location was excellent for traveling around the city. Friendly and helpful staff. We were provided with two separate rooms in our apartment, with two separate bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped with dishes and appliances.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I woke up 2:30am because there were MICE in my bedroom on the 4th floor and they pooped all over the room, including on my clothes... DISGUSTING. The stairs are SUPER NARROW and STEEP... the bathroom is extremely tight and there is no enough space to change inside the shower.

    Location was okay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures on this site, were Not representative of our bathroom and kitchen, plus no access to courtyard. 2nd floor with difficult stairs which is typical in Amsterdam. Limited kitchen supplies. Dated tv/vcr. Shower was a cupboard shower - clean but claustrophobic and offering limited privacy space. Odour from plumbing system.

    Very spacious which was great. We also had issues with an appliance blowing a fuse and Alexander responded very quickly. Lovely family location close to museums and public transport and away from red light area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The toilet and shower (both separate) was too small; hardly any space to move about inside. The apartment is located on a few floors and there is no lift, only a very steep spiral staircase. Moving luggage up and down can be quite challenging.

    Apartment was located in a quiet neighborhood and not too far from the city center. 10 minutes walk to the tram stop and lots of local restaurants that are quite affordable nearby. Host was friendly and offered recommendations for food places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only being able to stay for 2 nights :(

    Alexander is the perfect host - patiently answering numerous phone calls, providing an indepth & very useful personal guide to the city & most importantly makes you feel very welcome. The apartment is warm, uber comfy, fabulous coffee machine & well kitted kitchen, complimentary tea & coffee & located centrally in a quirky part of the city. What more could one want? Ah yes - it is very good very for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One bed was near a plywood door, which let sounds and light in and made sleep difficult. The heat was not on (we had no ability to do this from our room), and it was turned off and on in unpredictable ways. The apartment was not too clean. Worst problem was a moldy shower curtain. A large piece of plate glass was leaned against a glass door that is elevated 3 meters above ground level, evidently to prevent an accidental exit. I don't know why the door wasn't simply secured close with a screw.

    The apartment had plenty of space, and it was good to have a fridge and microwave.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Rooms was very expensive compare to the standard. On "booking.com" it was not possible to se the individual pictures to the separate rooms. And the owner had apparently more rooms. So we made our decision on the wrong pictures, so we were very disappointed. It was not clear that the rooms was on the 4th. floor at a very narrow and steep stairway. One of the windows could not be closed properly, that made a cold draft. There was noises of a mouse party in the walls every night. There were pictures of a atrium with furnitures on the internet, but it was not possible to use. The chairs on the balcony was dirty and there were only two for four persons.

    Very nice central location. Nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location - easy to get everywhere but peaceful and quiet. Facilities were great, and staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a love/hate relationship with the stairs!

    Beautiful studio - had everything we needed. Comfy bed. Very warm welcome upon arrival, thank you!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property situated in residential area ,no parking at all ,this is the main problem in this property.my points for this property zero. you can not live in this property with freedom due to residential area.

    the property situated in residential area ,no parking at all ,this is the main problem in this property.my points for this property zero. you can not live in this property with freedom due to residential area.This property is expensive as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite steep and narrow steps, typical for Amsterdam houses. Host helped with luggage.

    Helpful and pleasent host. Easy access from AirPort. Nice and peaceful area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many construction sights in close proximity ( a parking station and metro under construction close by... no fault of our host)

    Our host, Alexander was charming, helpful and willing to share many insights and suggestions. The location was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe it was missing some blinds for the morning light, but also it was OK!

    Very good place to stay!! Located very near to the center and next to public transport, places to visit... We really liked this apartment. If I come back to Amsterdam I'll book again here. The host was very kind and patient with us. We arrived and everything was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was quite rude, didn't seem as if he wanted to give us our deposit back, even though the apartment was exactly how we left it. Complained to us about noise yet it was the neighbouring apartment, and threatened to charge us for another apartments noise. The stench of the toilet was simply unbearable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall I really enjoyed the apt and everything was great. Thank you!!

    The room and location were perfect, room had so much character and a great feeling, really pretty traditional Amsterdam house. The view from top floor window was gorgeous. Kitchen fully equipped with everything necessary and cute. Compared to other Accom in Amsterdam it was so much nicer - Loved starting there!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only toilet and shower are up three sets of stairs if you're on the first floor like us, and they're tiny to say the least.

    Rooms are spacious, bed comfortable, and enjoyed the coffee machine, kettle and fridge. Also a very quiet street in a really great location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great! Alexander was really nice explaining everything that we could found in the city, excelent location , five minutes walk to the bus that takes you to airport. Smal but nice facilities .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little old, and the toilet very small. The stairs to the apartment were very steep, although this is typical of most buildings in Amsterdam.

    There was plenty of space for all 4 of us. The apartment block was quiet and well located. It was within walking distance of lots of excellent bars & restaurants, and a walkable distance to the centre of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The construction at the complex was a little annoying. We hope to be back when the canal is full of water again.

    The layout of the apartment was perfect for 5-6 people. The toilet and shower being separate was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very convenient for 6 people bu probably comfortable for 4. Somewhat cluttered with surplus shelves and furniture. The shower was marginal in terms of cleanliness. Although this was not an issue for our group , the apartment is not very accessible for persons with mobility issues as there is a rather steep circular staircase which leads to the apartment.

    The property is conveniently located near pubic transportation and major attractions

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well priced comfortable apartment in a great location. Very good access to the tram links and a stone's throw away from the enormous market. Very friendly locals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was shockingly rude and ignorant before we even arrived, put a real damper on the holiday. Had we not paid our deposit we wouldn't have continued with them. He was most unhelpful when we got there and pulled a fast one on the last day getting our taxi to take us to the airport instead of the train station. Wasn't set it with children in mind at all, couldn't lock the main door to the stairs where they could've fallen down, they could get into the loo which was a disaster as again the doors didn't lock. I came with my disabled mum too and they failed to inform us that the tram stop nearby was under construction so we had a long walk to the next stop. So all in all a terrible experience, do not stay here!

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me and my friend was a mistake not renting another property just for 50 euros more. Imagine to pay 270euros and when you leave you have to wash your dishes, prepare your bedsheets and clean the rooms and drop the garbage bag ect ect... otherwise the owner could not give you back the warranty of 100euros. And dear managers please put a smile on your face people are paying a lot of money for your prison apartment.

    The owner was a noble man and gave us the best information we needed. But the "not to do list" and property restrictions were so much as you would feel as in your 101 year old grandmother apartament. I understand that is difficult to manage a property in amsterdam because most of the people are there for parties and other stuff but to feel comfortable for a guest is the most important thing that a property manager has to do. And trust me i have the best rating property in my city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was road works or some formof building happening and could be heard in the morning but not that this could be h3lped by hosts.

    I liked how helpful the host was., supplied us with map and higjlighted points of interest, public transport etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The "apartment" was not yet renovated and was so tiny that we could not even open out our suitcases. Spare pillows were stained and furniture was tired. The 60 steps up to our floor, were in tight circles in a stairwell area that was not much more than a square meter, making it extremely difficult if you are carrying anything or are elderly. The shared shower was a cubicle with a door, no venting, window or fan, and had nowhere to hang a towel or clothes.

    Host was friendly and carried the suitcases up the 4 flights of steep stairs to our room. Good restaurants and food store are nearby. We were able to store our suitcases for a time after checking out as we had a late flight.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the ground floor and with only single pane glass next to the road it was very noisy. It could have been a lot cleaner too, especially the bathrooms. The shower head was cracked and had a sharp edge as one of my kids discovered. The curtains and bed linen were stained and needed to be cleaned or replaced. The kitchen was impractical with no working surfaces as they were filled with a microwave so there was no surface to prepare food - totally impractical. In addition the coffee machine they supplied pods for was broken. For what it was, it was very expensive!! and i would suggest going to a hotel instead.

    The only positive is it's location which made much of Amsterdam walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of natural light but we were on ground floor. Very high kitchen units - Dutch height but not for average Brit. Some kitchen utensils missing but the staff very helpful.

    Location location location Size of apartment Coffee lovely Fast wifi Quiet Very comfy beds thanks to Ikea mattress. Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to contact and wait 15 to 20 minutes for the host to pick up the key for check-in and deliver the key as well. Smaller than what the pictures led us to believe. One of the sinks did not work. We could hear other people in their apartments.

    Bed and pillows very comfortable, great location (close to center and to RAI), plenty of restaurants, bars and shops around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner made it clear not to make much noise as soon as we got there listing through the different penalties we would get. This made it quite hard to enjoy ourselves in our room. Would not recommend if you are going with friends.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were slight funky smell coming from the sewers. Other than that, apartment was great.

    Owner was very nice and helpful with everything. Bedrooms were comfortable and suprisingly big. There were separate toilet and shower wich was nice for the group of people. Apartment was located in a good peaceful area, still walking distance from everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building with very bad stairs. Even if your room in the first floor you have to go up for the kitchen, bathroom and toilet. Not comfort bed.

    The staff. Close to most museums.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a problem neighbour who complains about any level of noise so I suggest not suitable for loud groups. We became paranoid about making noise but the neighbours attitude is clearly the problem.

    Location and price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two small toilets both had small sinks and no space to move at all. The access stairs to the room, if you're not fit you're going to sleep outside

    Big windows to ventilate, and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Landlord didn't like any noise, not even talking. Only stay here if you're mice!

    Typical Dutch house, very tall with very very steep stairs. Spacous, clean and good location. Greeted by Charlotte, a lovely local lady who gave us lots of tips on places to visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is not so friendly with his clients. For example we were accused that we have smoked in the Appartement and we were encharged with 25€ even if we have told him, that we have not smoked. In the same time when we were there, another woman was charged with 50€ more because she wanted to leave the Appartement with one day earlier. Then again the owner has put a paper on our door and he has informed us that we are not allowed to smoke weed neather on the street in front of the Appartement. The stairs from the other Appartement are incredible noisy and the walls are so thin that you hear from the other appartements what they are speaking. In the first day we have had problems with the heating and warm water. After a few days using the kitchen for a small breakfast everyday, the sink has been broken and The kitchen floor was full of water.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The level of noise coming from other apartments was a bit annoying, but not unbearable.

    Upon arrival we got really useful and insider tips, which definitely improved our stay in Amsterdam. The location a little outside city center was perfect to enjoy restaurants and cafes with more accessible prices, so it was a plus for us. The apartment itself was clean, good sized and pleased us in general.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, after the check in we found out that the dishes were terribly dirty.It was probably left by previous guests in such condition.

    Great accommodation in a stylish district.Rooms are pretty nice, colorful and cozy. It's quite clean and warm there. Apartments surrounded by a lot of restaurants,cafes ,museums etc. We were really warm welcomed by Alexander,who gave us a lot of useful information about Amsterdam.He told to us in details about all the interesting places and areas in town. I can definitely recommend the apartments.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff on arrival were very rude and not helpful at all. Alexander was very rude to us within the first half an hour of being in the apartment and also threatened to kick us out for noise. We had been in to drop our bags and went to the local shop, came back and said the neighbour had complained and told us we had 3 strikes for noise. We believed this was just an excuse to take our deposit from us and not give it back. This was also not stated in the terms when booking the apartment. Neighbours constantly banging on the wall even when we were sleeping and this was apparently because we were "too loud". Would not recommend this apartment, Alexander is very unprofessional and very rude to his guests.

    The other people staying in the apartment also had the same problems as us such as the bathrooms having a funny a smell, and the neighbours banging on the wall.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water for showering was scarce, made the process a little bothersome.

    A very spacious accomodation with a great bed and a well-equipped kitchen. The location is great, it's in the neighbourhood De Pijp that offers everything you need. It's close to Amserdam's best museums and the city centre, too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet, had a strong odor, even tho clean. Very steep stairs -so notice needed about floor one is staying on. No elevator. Instructions needed for coffee machine.

    Location wonderful. Friendly staff. Could turn on heat. Basic space.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We was told on arrival not to make any noise after 11pm which we were fine with, however at 8:30pm we was laughing which i can honestly say was not loud at all and we had the owner come up to the apartment threatening to kick us out if we did not keep the noise down. We had not been drinking, it was our first day of arrival and we were literally just sitting on the bed and around the table chatting and laughing. This then made everyone feel really down for the rest of the time as we was scared that if we laughed or anything again we would be kicked out. The wifi did not work in one of the bedrooms so had to sit in someone elses room whilst on my phone.

    The beds were very comfy! The apartment was in a great location and close to trams with access to the center. Lovely apartment for a quiet family or quiet people or business users.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No heat during daytime and, even if we were not freezing, a little bit more heat would have been better. (We e-mailed them the first and the second night to come and check the heat, very responsive but we would have say yes to extra heat also !)

    Good location. Large bed (could be too soft for some people). Clean if you are not maniac. Very convenient studio. Fast answering staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the thin walls, however we couldn't really hear anyone other than one night which Alexander sorted out anyway :)

    Alexander attended to all of our needs, helped us with where to go, and was keen to sort out a problem with noisy guests! I'd definitely recommend staying here!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alexander was a very nice pleasant chap, took time to explain where to go etc in the city. Apartment was very clean and tidy and with a later checkout than most.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rest room smelled very bad since the first day,beds are really uncomfortable it was very hard for 6 people to stay in that apartment

    location is nice a quiet area near the albert cuyp market and the museum quarter, we were a group of 6 people ,3 couples spending New years in amsterdam each couple had a room but it was small and we all shared one bathroom and restroom

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    travel light, know the place before you get there

    going up the stairway was an experience, good cardio work out if your going to the 2nd or 3rd floor, a lot of restaurants surrounding the place, very nice, everything is right there, parking was hard to find but you have to park at the Olympic stadium and hop on the tram to get back to your place or to the square, very nice and clean place to stay. the staff will help you direct you if you're not sure of where to go

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As an international traveler, I rely on WiFi for an phone usage, but I certainly do not make calls when abroad. I had problems contacting someone for check in, even though I selected the "8-9pm check-in time" when booking. I knocked on the door and rang the doorbell multiple times, but no one answered. Eventually, I had to stop a local on the street, and ask them to call the number posted on the door, in order to reach someone inside. All things considered, though, I am immensely grateful that this place was so accommodating to a last minute booking, like myself, and refreshingly polite to an American.

    I was able to book a room at 7:38pm, and check in at 8:45pm, the same evening. The host was wonderfully polite, and with a phone call, management service is available 24/7. They had great WiFi, the view out my window was great, and it was nice and quiet at night. Plus, my room had a guitar!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Appalling customer service Disgusting accommodation and very dirty. This includes bedbugs Kitchen dirty on arrival Outside canal under construction and filthy so does not match at all to advertising

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very steep and narrow stairs are definitely a minus, especially when you have to carry a 20k+ bag up to the 3rd floor

    Nice and cozy apartment, fully-equipped despite its small size

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    Perfect location for young couple or people travelling with friends. Staff very helpful. Location excellent . Couldn't be happier !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we were aware of the shared bathroom and kitchen facilities, visitors must be aware that they are located on the top floor with very steep stairs. If a visitor has mobility issues, they may want to consider a more accessible location.

    Our hosts were wonderful and provided a lot of details about Amsterdam upon our arrival. The location of the apartment was excellent and easily accessible to all parts of the city.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: