Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Allure 3 stars

Sarphatistraat 117, Amsterdam City Centre, 1018 GB Amsterdam, Netherlands

#251 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2211 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a small room so everthing was small: bathroom,bed, ... Everthing was clean, so it was rather pity they don't repair the few holes in the wall. This little effort would have a big effect!

    Perfect location near metro station, not in the busy city centre which I liked. Bathroom was clean and recently refurbished. Most of the employees we're friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude to us. I asked her a question and she told me to look for it myself. After a bad experience in a previous hotel we gave the bed a quick look over on arrival to check the presence of bed bugs. No sign of bed bugs (thankfully). However, upon lifting the mattress up we immediately saw two silverfish crawling around. We pulled the bed away from the wall and found another, which with the other two we managed to collect in a glass. There was a lot of dust on the floor between the bed and headboard and obvious signs that these critters had been munching on the fabric cover of the bed for some time. We did the same when we got back to our room each night and found a couple more over two nights.

    The property was very easy to get to from Central Station as there is a metro station and tram stop about 200m down the road. There is a coffee shop and supermarket within a 3 minute walk. The room had a fan and a hairdryer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BEWARE WHEN ORDERING TAXI AT HOTEL, WE WERE TOLD BY THE HOTEL IT WAS 40E TO AIRPORT & NO MORE. TAXI DRIVER TRIED TO CHARGE 63E. HASTEN TO ADD - NOT THE HOTEL FAULT. THE DRIVER SOON LOWERED HIS PRICE WHEN WE TOLD HIM WHAT THE HOTEL HAD SAID.

    STAFF BRILLIANT. ACCOMMODATION BOTH COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were 2/3 the size of a twin bed and the mattress was so pilly it had to be changed, which it was The room was very hot and we had to open the window but there is a bar near by so it was noisy

    The location was good value for the money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise of the trams going past...but Jin advised that they will be installing Double glazing windows soon

    Loved the location and the staff especially Jin..hope I spelt his name correct.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no any disadvantages.

    Location is great Cleaning is great Comfort is great I think they should increase hotel price :):) Room number 25 was great which is near to the backyard ;)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had some troubles with wi-fi, but the receptionist promised to check the situation. Shouldn't be a problem in the future.

    The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Location of the hotel is good, you'll find metro and tramstops within 200 metres.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were staring at us weirdly, very noisy in the early morning, dirty (there were spiders,flies, and ants around the whole room), the room was small, the bathroom was tiny and dark, the hotel is expensive, nobody to help with luggage in the front door with its huge stairs.

    Location is not bad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not allowed to smoke weed inside the garden, but the coffee shop is just 5min away so that's nothing.

    Easy to find, possible to walk to any object.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower geal empty from day one Towels with holes. Cleaning staff just walk in to the room in the morning . Mattress very old and uncomfortable. Carpet never hovered. No signs. Disgraceful. I would recommend to change from hotel to hostel.

    Not so far from All museums and city centre. Metro station very close.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was underground and you could hear everything from the adjacent rooms and we were below the stairs so every step was heard at all hours.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and responsive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet conection, but that was not an ishue since we did not care about it too much. We where in holiday ^^ nobody need internet when they go on holiday ^^

    Room was clean, sheets clean and changed everiday, confortable bed, a nice balconi, nice and quiet. Shaff absolutely amazing and helpfull!!! Easy to hit the town. We loved it ^^

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not wifi working in our room. Very unconventable bad. Room service is disturbing you from 10am. No window opens in the room. Walls are very thin, everything you can hear from outside while you are in the room. Price dont corresponds to reality.

    Location is normal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the morning wasn’t great, but if you’re up before 9 wasn’t that bad really! We were in the basement but was perfect for what we needed!

    Beds were really comfy and room was decent size with clean towels and bedding!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Last time we stayed we stayed in the main building - this time we stayed next door - Increase in stairs to and from main reception and breakfast area

    Very friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to assist. Breakfast was adequate. Rooms neat and tidy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was unheated

    Comfortable room with all necessary facilities; liked being detached from the main building which gave us a pleasant courtyard outlook.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for twin bed, also via email to confirm to have them separated. They confirmed that this was possible but when we arrived the two bed were attached and we have to separate them ourselves. The shower head was not hanging properly and it was not very comfortable to shower but overall the stay was pleasent.

    The room was clean, nice and the stuff very helpful. The location, although not right in the centre, was very good. The underground was literally 3 min away and with 3 stops you arrive to the central station, and two stops to the centre. The tram was very close as well and in about 10 min you could reach the museum area. With about 20 min walk you reach the centre around the red district. Highly recommended near the hotel for breakfast was Bakhuys. Nice pastries and savoury dishes and serving different coffees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting was not great in the room at night and it was a tiny bit cramped for what we paid but was probably to be expected for the time we booked.

    The room was perfect for a short stay and the staff were lovely and very helpful. Room was cleaned everyday too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room in what the call the basement however we had a massive window/door that opened up into a lovely courtyard and so the room was bright but also had two different types of curtains for privacy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from central. Hotel don’t have room service. Room rent is to high.

    Hotel is so faar from major place of Interest. Room rent is to high as per property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night we were given a room with two single beds even though we had specifically booked a king bed. After asking, they changed our room the day after

    Location very central,24h reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was fine, but I paid for a double bed room and was given two singles, the light didn't work. So we got to change rooms, however the staff was hardly ever about, one member of staff shouted from the toilet that he wouldn't be long which I thought was very unprofessional and weird. The beds was like a brick I have a stiff neck still, rooms was freezing and when I booked it said breakfast included but when I got to the property it said I had to pay and was continetial breakfast wouldn't never ever stay again or book with booking . Com again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing the main road were very loud in mornings.

    It was close transport facilities. Staff were very friendly and were always there to help. Shower was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit small, but as I said great for short trips.

    Its great place for short staying... We had to good nights there. Great place for cheap trips. Close to the center, great hygienic and great stuff helping with everything! Great week-end!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I or friends didn't like

    Everything that was needed,comfy bed,tea/coffee facilities,tv & a really good pressured shower also that if needed,it was a 24hr staffed reception & you were able to come & go as you pleased

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn’t look great so didn’t bother . Could improve it I think . Bakery 5 mins away much better value

    Rooms small, basic but warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service and very friendly staff at check in and check out. Very accommodating and offered to store our bags after we checked out for us to collect later in the day whenever we wished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    These bed could have been an actual bed it kept splitting in the middle but wasn't uncomfortable other than that nothing was wrong

    Loved the location right up the street from the metro too max 10 mins walk to get into city everyday me and my girlfriend regularly go to Amsterdam and this was by far the nicest place we've stayed in yet spotless clean ,an friendly staff never needed to bother them nor them us, will be back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the front door to the property was always opened and not securely locked. The mattresses were bobbly and stained which was clearly visible and could be get through the sheets.

    The shower was amazing and the location wasn't too bad. Within a 35 minute walk of central and tue metro is closely located at the top of the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name board of hotel is a bit small as well as the street number. This can be a bit bigger to assist with finding it qiucker in the street. But it is not a big issue.

    Friendly, professional and very helpful staff. Clean. Easy access to Metro and Tram.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of light in the room. Water pouring was not enough.

    Close to subway station and city center. Cosy room with necessary accommodations. Daily room cleaning and fresh towels. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more information about food(breakfast) in the hotel.

    Friendliness of staff, staff very helpful, everything we needed was in walking distance, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted a hotel in city centre and in the booking. Com location of hotel is in the city centre but it was not and I had to walk 40 minutes to center and with a baby it was difficult for me and cost me more as I had to buy tickets.

    The staff were very friendly and it was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator in our building was broken so we had to carry our 20kg bags up 3 flights of stairs but can't fault them for something that needs to be repaired

    The beds were very comfortable, staff was friendly and was within walking distance of everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable, The hotel was within easy walking distance of the shops and nightlife (15 mins max) and very close to the tram stop. For what we paid its a good value option for Amsterdam there are hotels closer to the center but the price of them is much higher so a good option

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the street side, which gave some noise during the night (trams and cars passsing by). Breakfast was not included in the price.

    Clean room, comfortable beds. you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Really friendly and cosy Hotel, great connections to everywhere we wanted to vist, couldn't ask for anything better from a 3 star hotel, better than most 4 star hotels i have stayed in. Take my word for it! I would definitely come back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Skip the breakfast, it is a bit over priced for what is offered. And make sure you're traveling solo or with someone close; the rooms are a bit cozy.

    This was a cute, small hotel, that really gets most of its bragging rights from the super friendly staff. I arrived 7 hours before check-in. They allowed me to stay in their cafeteria and had someone clean a room as soon as a guest checked out. This allowed me to enter the room hours before check-in for free! It is located right next to a metro station and two tram lines, so accessing the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam would only take about ten minutes. If you are looking for more action, I would suggest staying closer to Centruum. If you don't mind a small (and I do mean small) commute, then this is worth the stay. Overall worth the money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt there was some hospitality aspect missing to it that good hotels usually have. Example) The chocolate on the bed, the way the toilet paper is folded. It wasn't near the city center but a short walk away is a street of a bunch of restaurants.

    I liked the red and white ambiance of the hotel and it was just comfortable and spacious for what you pay for. We also liked how they kept our luggage at the front desk after check out for a few hours we wanted to do some exploring.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for 3 adults and the 3 single beds were pushed next to each other to fit them. It is obviously a twin room and they squeezed a third bed in! We had nowhere for 3 suitcases and he’d to have them closed all the time. The bathroom was tiny and a larger person would have trouble getting in the shower.

    The room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't that good. The mattress was lumpy. That's all.

    Quiet. Small but tidy and functional rooms. Nice staff. Nice neighbourhood. Close to the action. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good!

    It is really easy to get in there. There are places to eat around. The hotel also gives you snacks. The staffs was really nice and gave us the room 2 hours before the check in. They also take care of you luggage free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steps leading into the hotel are very steep but many buildings in Amsterdam are like this; I just thought some people may find this problematic. There is a lift inside the hotel.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was no trouble for them to let us access our room 3.5 hours before the actual check in time (we arrived on an early flight). We had used the box Booking.com had provided to request an early check in and were charged no additional tariff so very impressed. We like the quieter location as it was an easy 15-20 minutes walk into the busy centre. We noticed the breakfast buffet had not received great reviews but we found it to be very good for the money we had paid. There was an assortment of cereals, juices and lovely fresh fruit and fruit salad. In addition to this, there was hard boiled egg, croissants, teacakes and various crusty rolls and cakes; plus of course, ham, salami, sausage and cheese. There was a machine with a good hot drinks selection, including hot chocolate and the coffee was very good. The rooms are simply furnished but ours was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, no saggy mattress. We took our own ground coffee bags and chocolate sachets as there was a kettle provided with basic tea and coffee bags included. Before booking, I noticed in many hotels in Amsterdam there are no tea or coffee making facilities provided so this was a bonus. A great city and a smashing little value for money clean hotel which ticked all of the boxes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, friendly staff - let us leave luggage after check out so we could explore the city more without lugging our suitcase around. Local trams to different areas including central station within 15-20 minutes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't available due to water damage so they offered a room in Allure Garden apartments a few blocks away. It was compact but very acceptable except I could hear other guests in the courtyard or in their rooms at all hours. It didn't bother me too much but woke me up some. The apartment was accessible but the hotel has a few steep stairs at the entryway that might be difficult for someone with mobility issues.

    Central location and friendly knowledgeable staff. Since I wasn't at the hotel I didn't have easy access to them. The skylights in the garden apartment added light and the bamboo provided privacy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My partner and I arrived on Saturday Morning to check in we were giving a room on the third floor 303 and we told we would have to move to room 301 for our second night when we asked for reasons of why this had to happen we were giving no explanation. We arrived home Monday evening to soon address an issue of been bitten by bed bugs from the uncleanness of this hotel. We are both externally unhappy with our experience in Hotel Allure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not secure; Lock mechanism on front door to hotel was broken! Stairs from street to both entrances very hard to navigate with suitcases, even the initial checkin; Not suitable for elderly or disabled!

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad greetings, bathroom door broken, the most important thing is to be able to rely on reception, and here they failed to give the wake up call and didn't arrange the shuttle to the airport were I've missed a flight. Worst of all, totally reluctant to the fact that it's a serious matter. Simply unbelievable.

    Matras!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast 10€/ day was too expensive. For example fresh bread would have make wonders and everything was finnish all the time. For example you have to ask do you have cheese, do you have eggs, do you have juice etc.

    Room was good. Comfortable bed and newly renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am not happy that the hotel took the full hotel fee out of my card account before my arrival I was expecting to pay euros at the end of the stay, This cost me extra money due to the card transaction fee so the room worked out expensive ,very misleading information ,other guests had the sae experience. The hotel would have been better value with breakfast included in the price. very noisy onto the main road the trams sounded like thunder.

    near to public transport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy hotel in the University area. Lots of students and less coffeeshops and Red lights. Had a great stay would recommend to anyone who doesnt need to live right in the city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken window (the lock) so you can hear the cars, bikes and tram, very noisy. Room 307. The shower pressure is little weak but the heater is great.

    The bed is comfy, toilet is very clean. There is a lift. Vending machine available. Near to supermarket, next to tram.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls... we could hear two kids crying, screaming and playing throughout our first night

    Really comfortable beds! The location is good, a minute walk from tube and tram and even if you want to walk to central Amsterdam would only take 20-25min. There's a GREAT bakery nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our bed was not comfortable and my boyfriend had trouble getting a good night sleep.

    The location was perfect for us, quiet and a cozy area. Bar´s and restaurants nearby and a short walk to the next Metro station. The room was really nice and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the 2 single beds pushed together to make a double which we couldn't move, staff in the early morning of check out were rude and unpleasant, didn't help at all the room was smaller than expected and room not that clean, no clean sheets throughout the week just towels

    Liked the wifi and the location of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy! The room was very clean, didn't plan on spending much time in the hotel other than to get our heads down. They did let us check in an hour early I think they could see we were very tired from travelling,we decided to try the tram out (which is just down the road) bought a 24 hour card on board for 7.50 and wow talk about saving your feet! After doing 20000 steps on the first day we felt the hotel was quite far away to the places we wanted to visit, unless your using transport, be prepared to walk and have comfy shoes! Would stay again and have recommended to friends

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor WiFi

    My wife and I stayed in this hotel for five days, we wanted somewhere close to the university where our son had just enrolled. The setting is very good within very easy walking distance of the city centre or simply three stops on the Metro. The staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful but the rooms we had we felt were very small and cramped and quite expensive for what it was.£700 for 5 days NOT including breakfast Also, annoyingly, the Wi-Fi was not very strong which made it difficult to work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small. The bathroom was very small as well, especially the space for shower. You could hardly move your body in that space when showering. There was no aircon. The cover of the bed has been washed till it has a lot of "pills" on it (see photo) and it was very uncomfortable to sleep on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and in a perfect location to visit Amsterdam, because of the tram stop at 4 minutes walking. The staff was very nice and recommend the best places to see and told us how to get to the most important areas of the city. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.Only one thing you could do.We stayed in room 022 and the door on the bathroom was making noise when opening and closing.That is all.Thank you.

    The room was very quiet and clean.It had everything what we needed and looked for.We enjoyed our stay very much.We also could leave our bags after we left our room.It was very helpful.Thank you.The staff was very nice and helpful. It is also in a very nice area in Amsterdam.We could walk everywhere. I can also recommend a lovely bakery close to the hotel called Bakhuys.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointing, bedroom was very small and no gap between twin beds. Most uncomfortable. Carpet was dirty. steps very steep to gain entry to the property.

    Shower was hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi connection is awful. Most of times in the evening , there is no wifi in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby for wifi or internet. The beds are narrow but they are comfortable. The hotel is not at the walking distance to the city center. You should walk nearly 40 minutes to the city center. Bet there is a metro station near the hotel which takes you directly to the city center (Dam) or Amsterdam Central Station.

    It is clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin could hear the people very clear next to you, also the cleaners were very loud in the early mornings , banged on our door several times with the hoover trying to hoover the halls and they were quiet loud in general shouting from hall to hall at 8am which for me who is a late riser irritated but overall I couldn't fault it , two guys at reception were very friendly and helpful

    Beds were extremely comfy , rooms were very small but perfect for a weekend break , as it was small it had everything including tea /coffee, iron and ironing board , fan etc . Did not try the breakfast but has great pancake places etc which were 10 minutes up the road . Right beside the tram and metro and were exactly 5 'mins from central station on the metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very heavily perfumed when we first walked in. I assume this was to cover up any smoke smells from the previous inhabitants, but it was very irritating to my system and I had to open the windows and sit out on the balcony for a while.

    Location was great - easy access from Metro stop, also a convenient store and excellent bakery very close by. Room was clean, bathroom modern. Included a balcony with French windows opening into a communal garden area, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small fridge in the room would be useful.

    Enjoyed the area and the pretty comfortable room and facilities. The staff is friendly, effective and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a basement room against the street, so the trams were noticeable. Didn't really bother us, but if you're a particularly light sleeper you may want to ask for a room towards the back of the building

    The beds were very comfy, especially for a budget room. Shower was very powerful. Excellent transport links to too centre and outskirts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of drawers or shelves in room meant we had to live out of our suitcase. Rooms were small. Some communal space would have been nice - we weren't sure if we could use the breakfast room for that in the evenings.

    Very well located for walking round Amsterdam, with great bakery (Bakhuys) nearby for breakfast at half the hotel's price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive: The room they gave to us easy placed in the basament. There wasn't natural light or any kind of view. Some constumers stole my umbrella in the hall.

    Near the underground. Nice and quite area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a subterranian room w/o any prior notice or any choices. It was hot (no a/c), so when and if we opened the windows, it literally felt like people were walking inside of our room. The tram runs on the street infront and it felt like a major train is passing by....every 5 minutes! Awful. If you go, ask for a courtyard facing room. On departure, I asked assistance with airport transportation. Uber quote was €45, but the receptionist said he can arrange a taxi for a fixed price of €40. The driver had to wait for us for 5 mins in AM....and at the airport demanded €65!! Use Uber.

    Fairly centrally located, near the ZOO and the University of Amsterdam. Close to the canals and restaurants, bakery and a bagel shop one block away. Across the street from (much pricier) Hyatt. Loved the courtyard, very eclectic: birds chirpping loudly at dawn, flowers everywhere,people sitting around, drinking beer and playing checkers.....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location. Easy access to all public transportation and bike renting possibilities. The room was a little bit too small but, all in all, we had a pleasant stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more off the beaten track than I thought. I don't mind walking to the center though, and its nice to be removed from the ruckus in the main area.

    the concierges were very helpful, and moved quickly with a barrage of check ins. There was an elevator which is huge. The room was adequate. If ones noise sensitive the trolley when t passed was quite loud but the windows very thick. I stored my bags in their closet after check out, and they were amenable to that issue.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel didn't have parking. Finding an on street parking space was really difficult. On street was really expensive -€4 per hour. I emailed the hotel to book my parking space prior to our arrival. I was told to park on the street outside but received no warnings about how difficult and pricy it will be. I was disappointed with the hotel as a helpful suggestion to arrange alternative parking wouldnt cost them anything. A realistic warning would help us to manage our expectations and plan accordingly. The staff wasn't accomodating at all. We wanted to check in an 1.5h earlier after our 10 hour overnight journey and a 50 minute struggle to find a parking space. The receptionist, who wasn't busy at all, didn't even care to pretend to check if the room was going to be ready any earlier. It was a 'no'

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask several times for extra pillows. Hair dryer on wall didn't work. Overall is was ok but a littler pricey for what you got.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe duvets with natural fibres as I found the bedding too sweaty, I know this makes cleaning them much easier for staff, however not quite as pleasant for sleeping.

    Convenient comfortable clean!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Limited View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was superhot and stuffy. No ventilation, so had to sleep with the window open on the ground floor (common garden outside)

    Friendly staff, comfy bed, close to public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Allure traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: