Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Alp Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

De Clercqstraat 52, Oud West, 1052 NH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#106 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1746 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, staff really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The small double is really really small and if you have luggage there is not really any room for it. Also the bathroom was quite small, nearly touched the wall with your knees when you went to the toilet.

    Location was great, staff really friendly and helpful. Would just book a different room category next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.5
    Wondeful weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and ready top provide support for any issues related to my visit to Amsterdam. They provided parking, transport, restaurant information and also sightseeing tours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really friendly welcome nice touches with help yourself coffee and fruit always appreciated. Rooms have everything we needed and the balcony was lovely to chill out and being able to have the windows open was lovely in the hot weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is a good budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not sleep well because I was too hot with the spread but too cold without it.

    Convenient location, excellent email communications, and staff did everything they could to meet our needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Good but somewhat pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super steep staircase (too fisky for kids), in the booking i asked for lower floor but was given the third floor

    Clean, good breakfast, supportive staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a great small hotel! Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was pretty good to get your day started. We had a small triple room with a lovely balcony overlooking their small courtyard. Just delightful. I would stay there again without hesitation. HOWEVER, if anyone has a mobility problem. This hotel would not be for you. As with most old hotels in Amsterdam, there us no elevator and the stairs are narrow and steep. I would not suggest trying to do them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Very clean with towels change every day- comfortable beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift - problem for unfit /elderly getting up stairs but staff were very helpful with carrying cases up for us👍😁.

    Very clean with towels change every day- comfortable beds & great selection for breakfast + staff very nice & couldn't do enough for us 😁- complimentary coffee/ tea 24hrs + next time I'd book the ground floor apartment 😝.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.8
    The staffs in the front desk are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking space belonging to the hotel. If you are lucky you can park your car in front of the street of the hotel (27 euros for 24 hours), otherwise, you have to park in a parking lot a little far away. It is not convenient if you drive with your family members and have some luggages.

    The staffs in the front desk are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, friendly staff that are always available for any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really close to the centre but the tram service directly outside the hotel was fast and easy to use to get you to and from the centre

    Amazing, friendly staff that are always available for any help you may need. Staff greeting on arrival was very good, provided us with maps, recommended places to eat nearby, directions to tram to get you into the centre, routes which you can walk into the centre and provided you and attractions book. Night staff were just as friendly and welcoming. Front door gets locked at 11pm but there’s always pleasant night staff who let you in and offer drinks to take to your room. The stay was very good and could not fault the hotel in any way

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    It's my first time to Amsterdam and I enjoyed it as I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's my first time to Amsterdam and I enjoyed it as I enjoy my own city cuz people are so kind as well as the reception of the hotel they were so kind and friendly they make you love the city .. many thanks to the hotel and the staff and for the great hospitality .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great little hotel, with everything you need for a relaxing "get away" in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea making in the room, though there is a 24 hour hot drinks machine in reception - would be easier if you did not have to ask for a paper cup. Towels were very old but clean

    Tahir welcomed us very warmly on arrival. This hotel was small but staff were that great mix of helpful but not intrusive. The balcony was above the courtyard surrounded by trees and a great space to relax in. Breakfast was until 10 a.m. which meant there was no need to rush in the mornings. We like to be on the edge of the centre and the location was excellent for a morning stroll into Town. We enjoyed finding all the hidden courtyards in the "Jordaan Courtyard walks". All in all a great experience and a hotel we would stay at again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    GREAT staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath, Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the 4th floor (good views) but after walking all day they were hard work, BUT that is because we are not fit enough - this is not a criticism as it is a lovely old building.

    The staff at this hotel are excellent & will help you with all requests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Great little hotel, exceptional staff, wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think I've ever encountered staff as lovely and helpful as at the Alp Hotel! They gave us a comprehensive map and intro to the sites of Amsterdam. The room was clean and spacious. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    The most welcoming and enjoyable stay at a hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs were very narrow and steep but this is common in Amsterdam and it didn’t impact on our stay but I did struggle with them ever so slightly.

    Everything about this hotel was brilliant! Could not fault it at all. The welcome was beautiful and unexpected. A free drink and a map with suggestions on where to visit and how to get there. The room was lovely and clean with a great little balcony with chairs and a table. We sat out there until midnight. Each bed had a complimentary bar of chocolate and an apple on. I have never received a welcome like it. Such a nice touch. All the staff we met during our stay were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.9
    Great Hotel and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather expensive for ground floor room compared to previous visit a few days earlier

    Included breakfast and very helpful staff and ground floor room involved no stairs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely time, in a lovely location, with lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room and the stairwell/upper hallways were a bit tired and in need of a lick of paint but everything was clean, comfortable and as described on the website. The stairs are very steep and curved, as might be expected in Amsterdam, but the carpeting was dark and the auto-sensor on the lights was not triggered until one was nearly at the next set; an adjustment would be useful. We are reasonably fit, so had no issues of note during our stay but the steep, narrow stairs may prove an issue for some. A minor consideration would be the provision of coat hooks just inside the door and some more accessible towel hanging in the shared bathroom.

    From check-in to checkout the process could not have been smoother. The staff were, without exception, friendly, professional, helpful and attentive. The room was cleaned, and towels changed, every day. Our room with three beds and a spacious balcony to the rear of the hotel was perfect for our short stay. The location is perfect with easy access to the whole city but much to do on the doorstep. The recommendations sheet given to us on arrival pointed out places to eat in the neighbourhood and was helpful, as was the map with help orientating us within the city. Being able to buy transport tickets at the desk helped until we connected to other methods of buying to suit our whole stay. Breakfast was very welcome, with a good selection of items to suit any palate; all were regularly topped up. Free vend hot drinks round the clock and a lovely fruit bowl on the desk for guests' use was great and a bottle of water per guest was put into the room every day with chocolate and fruit. All these little things added up to make for a very pleasant stay, thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for business or leisure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff, and Ideal location with a Tram stop for several routes right outside the property. 10 Mins and your in the center of town only 15 mins to the RAI.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Everything about our stay was excellent, from the day we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about our stay was excellent, from the day we arrived to the day we left. Even the tram stops right outside. Couldn't of asked for more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny and on the 3rd floor with no lift but I can understand why a lift would not be able to be installed into an old and narrow building. However the room was completely unsuitable as a twin room and should not be advertised as such. I know that the hotel does have other much larger rooms but unfortunately we were unlucky and not able to move as they were fully booked during our stay.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and the room was clean. The location was very good between the museums e.g. Van Gogh and Dam Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pillows were a bit too firm for my taste.

    A perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. At the intersection of many public transportation lines. Super clean, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Staff member drove my daughter to airport at 5:00 am, and picked her up at 1:00 am for a day trip to Nice, France. They even gave her a cell phone to keep for the day to arrange the pick up time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.2
    Small clean hotel with great staff almost in the centre of Amsterdam. I really enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift.

    I got more than I expected. Staff were really pro-active in making our stay great and comfortable. Great location, 20 minutes by walk from any major historical site or museum.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    6.3
    Location ok, near tram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed more space in room. Bathroom very small. Little to no storage for clothing.

    Location ok, near tram. Staff especially nice, but room very small on third floor walk up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    6.7
    Staff there is so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We chose the small room to stay which was really small than what we thought. We as two people barely moved in the room. There is no elevator so you have to carry your luggages to upper floors

    Staff there is so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    Not luxe, by any means, but very comfortable, and the convenience! Tram at the front door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs--there is no elevator--so everyone climbs a steep, winding staircase. Staff carried our luggage up and down. However, it was still very steep and the lighting at night, when going up, was poor. More light in the room would have been nice too.

    Location; staff; price; big windows & the natural light

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    8.8
    Staff made the stay worthwhile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked the hotel to offer decaffeinated coffee. Some of us can't have caffeine, but we like coffee. The room was much smaller than we expected, but we made it work for 5 days. I would book a room at the back of the hotel to avoid tram noise at night, and confirm room size. Narrow staircase was a bit scary.

    Staff were superb! Location was fabulous! City trams right outside the front door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    8.8
    Very good, will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room at the front had a lot of noise from the road below

    The staff were marvelous, couldn't do enough for you. Rooms were clean and pleasant, breakfast very good and free hot drinks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View and Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the price we paid for the room, I would have expected the sheets being changed at least once during our four night stay. The towels looked a bit worn down and scruffy, also the glasses were dirty and I didn't want to use them.

    The hotel is ideally situated just outside the city center with good public transport and many restaurants and shops close by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small but with everything one could need including a fridge. A big plus for free fruit and hot beverages that were on offer throughout the day. Nice shower and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    5.0
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was incredibly noisy from the traffic and rail car just outside. The stairs are treterous which my partner fell twice. The staff insisted I park at a car park 4 km away and take a rail car to them but I did not feel safe leaving my car there and the rail car I needed was not picking up at that location. Needed up paying 27€ to park on the street for one night but it was a lot better than the garage he suggested.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.5
    My stay was good, I had comfort at the end of my long days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price the room is good. However, some minor issues like the pillows for example were not pillows normal people sleep on. More like cushions, very very hard and thick. Also on arrival we had a toilet role that was from the previous people, less than half used. Personally the smallest room is too small for two people. Breakfast was pretty much average but great value for money

    It was a good location. Team right outside that got you to nearly everywhere. Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Small rooms, enough for one person but would be very tight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Garden View and Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast starting quite late. 7:30 during week & 8:00 at weekends.

    Small rooms, enough for one person but would be very tight when 2. For such tiny rooms and basic facilities price our of season are much too high. Staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traffic outside was very noisy.

    Hotel was great. Staff were very friendly and were always there to help with directions, places to eat, ect. Room was spotless and had a lovely balcony. Bath was amazing too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.8
    They even provided a welcome drink on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Narrow steps to the room but typical of Holland

    Very convenient for the tram network as the stop was just outside the property. The staff were extremely helpful and provided us with a map

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Nice hotel,awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really enjoyed my stay here,everything was great and can’t wait to come back!

    The staff in here is amazing,they welcomed us with a free drink and tips about what to visit in Amsterdam,they also helped us out whenever we needed. The breakfast was very good,for all kind of tastes and we also had available at any time,free fruits and hot drinks.Every day the awesome staff in here used to put a little something in our room while cleaning. The rooms were really nice,comfortable and very clean,they used to do the cleaning every day. The hotel is pretty close to the centre of the town,20 mins by foot or if you are not in the mood for a walk,there is a bus/tram station just in front of the hotel.But trust me,a walk from the hotel to the centre of the town is worth it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    everything was wonderful! I would again stay at the same hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I do not find anything negative

    Breakfast was very good to start the day dynamically! the room although very small and beautiful and the hotel is beautiful as a Dutch home and within a short distance from the center! the staff of the hotel is very polite and helpful !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath, Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you have never been to Amsterdam before, be prepared to walk up stairs like a mountain goat.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and we really enjoyed being able to sit on the balcony and appreciate the view. The breakfast was nice and they provided a decent selection. The location is approximately 15 minutes to/from Dam square and well worth the walk or tram ride :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely lil hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room but there's tea and coffee facilities in reception.

    Showers and bathrooms were amazing and very clean, we had a terrace to smoke on

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly relaxing and can’t wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The small twin was a small single and not a twin

    The Staff are all amazing and extremely helpful and professional, nothing is too much trouble. The stairs are hilariously steep as all in Amsterdam. We are going back in the summer I think that says it all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    A small, intimate hotel with a personal touch. This was perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly,particularly with directions and recommendations. Complimentary coffee and fruit and comfy beds! Location was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one thing, the pillows are enormous and didn't suit us

    They were cleaning our room every day, changing the sheats and towels, adding new water bottles and fresh fruit. They were so helpful with the tips&tricks arround the city sightseeing, were to eat food etc. Breakfast was very good, and coffee and tea free of charge 24h.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent host, excellent breakfast - great value for money Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Long staircase up to the top floor (where our room was located) - Wasn't the best with a bad ankle but could put up with it :)

    Really helpful friendly reception staff. The apple and chocolate on the pillow every day was a lovely touch

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    6.7
    Ok that’s all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath, Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pictures of hotel misleading. It’s on s main road The room I had was dated and small , hot water was intermittent , though the jacuzzi was nice .

    Great staff very polite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything about the hotel was more than we expected. The staff were lovely, welcoming and helpful. We have never been to Amsterdam before. on check in the gentleman who checked us in spent time answering our questions, shared a map with use marking different areas, trams to use etc. He also gave info on places to eat and offers on tickets for places to visit. We we're welcomed with a free drink each and helped to our room. Location was great approx 15 - 20 mins walk to centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.1
    Comfy beds and clean. Great location and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room decoration is basic and they are small, however the beds are very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is always nice fruit available for free and they leave two bottles of water in your room every day. And some chocolates :) There is a tram stop right outside the door and the 13 tram from Central station goes directly there. Great location as 15 minute walk from Anne Frank House.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    9.2
    Staff in this hotel is the best I've ever met!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was smaller than I expected, but that is not a big problem.

    Staff in this hotel is the best I've ever met! So helpful and kind. Big thanks to the guy from the reception desk (unfortunately, don't remember his name). The hotel is very good located, close to the city centre and tram stop. Breakfast is perfect, the room had been cleaned each day of our stay. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    8.8
    Had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath, Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    not much to dislike apart from the steep stairs but that’s expected as it’s the design of the properties.

    The staff were so helpful and the free welcome drink with an explanation about city sights helped up to get our bearings . Also the unlimited fruit available was helpful for snacks throughout the day . it is a good location if you don’t mind walking however with a tram stop right opposite you can’t moan about the location being a distance from some of the attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    10
    Welcoming & great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep stairs & plenty of them - but typical Amsterdam stairs. Rather this than a chain hotel with no character. Even had the typical Amsterdam hoist outside our window (see photos)

    Very friendly staff. Greeted with hot drink & advice on where to eat, visit, transport... Easy interesting 30min walk or direct tram from main station. Hot drinks & fresh fruit available all the time (free). Continental breakfast very varied & plenty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing, Alp hotel was perfect for are short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    The staff at the Alp hotel were amazing! They really made are stay, went above and beyond for us and we would definitely stay again. The location is great and the hotel is perfect for both leisure and work. We’ve never had such great customer service, all staff were absolutely incredible!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    10
    Second time in Amsterdam and this property was amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath, Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed on the top floor so the stairs were a struggle but manageable

    Second time in Amsterdam and this property was amazing, it's a 10 minutes walk from dam square, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    10
    Very warm and welcoming. Nothing was too much hassle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds are unbelievably comfy. I saw a lot of bad reviews complaining about the noise outside but it is like this wherever you stay in Amsterdam. However the hotel has blackout curtains and leave ear plugs in the room which is brilliant!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very steep stairs, although it does tell you on their website.

    Staff very friendly, we got a complimentary drink on arrival and help with maps and attractions. You can book most attractions at the hotel and also get transport tickets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel!
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, not coming from Amsterdam, the very steep, narrow, and long staircases up to my room on the 3rd floor were a little daunting with a backpack and suitcase, but luckily the staff carried it up for me and I only had to manage taking it down. Whew! They were so narrow!

    The staff were awesome! Super helpful and gave me tips for where to visit in Amsterdam. I was late to breakfast and they served me anyway. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in amsterdam
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If only the beds were double not single But it's not a problem

    We liked everything really The man who showed us to our room was brill very friendly offerd us a free welcome during Which was nice he ran up the 3 flights of stairs To show us our room (we walked lol ) It's close to everything around 20 mins walk but if you like the coffee shops there's some good ones on the way The balcony was good nice place to relax and watch the birds (animals) The room was cosy and warm Breakfast was good nice selection it's a nice change from the usual full English There's free coffee teas etc all day help yourself So over all nice hotel out the way of the mayhem Will be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Awesome, warm and lovely friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly staff. Provide us very early check in (if available). Patiently teach us about Amsterdam. Even the stairs is narrow, he helped us carry luggage. Room is spacious, 3rd bed at window enjoy garden light. Best room in our whole Europe trip. Breakfast great with all day fruit and hot drinks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator, and we were on the fourth floor.

    Very helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. In walking distance from center. Tram stops literally in front of hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    7.5
    I like the location, it took about 20-30 mins to get to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very small, but that is what to expect traveling in Europe. I wish the rooms were bigger, I would have felt better staying in the room. That is the only complaint I have the size of the room.

    I like the location, it took about 20-30 mins to get to the main areas. It was a quiet area with trams right outside the door. The front desk was very helpful and so nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    6.3
    The bath was dirty and leaked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was dirty and leaked. Linens were dirty too. Very noisy at front, ear plugs provided didn't make much difference. I don't normally write reviews but felt too expensive for what it was.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.2
    I recommend to anyone visiting the city for the good relation between the quality and the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful staff,always helpfull with everything; Comfortable room, we loved the hot tub; Great breakfast with a variety of food; Good location, is close to the city center, about 20 minutes walk and has transports at the door of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing i didnt like about the whole place.

    Perfect. Lovely big clean room nice bathroom staff were so friendly and helpful made us a warm drink every time we came in at night cause it was cold in december, helped us out where to go. Town, airport ect. Nicest spa bath ive ever had cute little banlony room was tidy was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.2
    Alp in AMS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Public transport could be noisy sometimes, but the hotel compensate this with earplugs.

    Easy to reach by public transport. Delicious breakfast as the start of the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Friendly and helpful staff, position near the tram, welcome drinks and fruit, tea and coffee at your discretion, varied breakfast, quiet and very clean room with terrace, the two large pillows on each bed, strong wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath, Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Light switches behind bed - some accidental turning the light on in the middle of the night!

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. They offered a welcome drink and showed us where to go for the main tourist areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    10
    A very happy guest!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs really are very steep to the rooms but the staff did help and actually, you get used to them. Not for anyone that is disabled as there is no lift.

    My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights and after reading a few bad reviews, I can quite honestly say what a treat it was. The staff were all brilliant, so friendly and helpful at all hours of the day!! The breakfast is a continental breakfast. There is plenty there and free tea/coffee/hot chocolate all day/night. The room itself had a quaint balcony with a table and chairs which, had it been warmer, we would have used a lot. Don't get me wrong, it's not the most glamorous of hotels but it's charming with excellent customer service and easy to get to central station and all the sites. (Tram 13 stops right outside the hotel and runs every 10 minutes) We have been made to feel very welcome and will happily stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    6.7
    All in the alp hotel is a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is not close to the city centre at all. We had to walk 25 mins each way every night. Also it was very nosey in the room above us, however that was resolved after I complained.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrive to the hotel with free coffees. I liked that we had a balcony also as it was very convenient for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel with easy access to public transport, about a twenty minute walk to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little more space around the breakfast area would have been good, otherwise no problems or further improvements required.

    Breakfast choices were extremely good, staff were very attentive to peoples needs. The property is just across the road from a tram terminal, making it extremely easy to get about the city. We had the down stairs room which we found quite comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.2
    staff were very helpful and even printed off my boarding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath, Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very steep stairs and my room was at the top ...not suitable for older or infirm people ...but good for my fitness regime!

    staff were very helpful and even printed off my boarding pass for journey home.It was great that my room had a balcony too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The crack between the beds and the 68 steps we had to climb to get to our room (good view though!)

    Nice hotel with great staff and awesome breakfast! The housekeepers always left us apples and chocolates after cleaning our room which is a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    7.5
    Short Stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As is the case in most older Amsterdam properties, the stairs are very steep. We where on the 5th floor & it was quite an effort to ascend. Descending was at times perilous. People with mobility & health problems beware. In case of fire we were told to stay in situ with door closed. The room had no means of communication with reception.

    Room was a good size and well maintained. Staff were pleasant & helpful. The continental breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Great hotel and atmosphere. Very modern and up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Excellent bathroom facilities. Very modern and clean. The room was a decent size with space to move about in. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.8
    Very good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs are difficult to climb, but it is an hotel in an old building in Amsterdam, and because of it also with a special charm.

    Very friendly staff, free fruit, coffee or tea in the lobby, and fruit, water and chocolate in the room, very nice. Small room, but with all we needed. Continental breakfast, ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Nice little and cozy hotel to enjoy Amsterdam to its fullest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I went there with a friend of mine and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff is super friendly and goes the extra mile in letting you feel like at home. We got there late in the evening and they let us check-in without any problems and also offered us a welcome drink. The room was cozy, small (but hey we did book a small double :)!) and comfortable; I slept like a baby in those beds (and I have a serious bad back). Just note that the stairs are very steep but still, what do you expect from a beautiful, classic and typical Amsterdam building in the city? :) Breakfast is rich, with different kinds of hot and cold drinks, different types of bread, eggs, cheese and other delicious food. You can easily reach the property by tram as the stop is right in front of the building! I WOULD TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in excellent location run by lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Trams were noisy but finished at about 1 am so not too big a problem. Could not open window for fresh air.

    Excellent location, staff so friendly and helpful. We felt very looked after. Room was small but clean and comfy and for price excellent value. Food good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    6.3
    Small room but value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very, very small rooms. Lots of noise from outside (need to use the provided earplugs) and very warm in the room, no aircon.

    Comfy beds, good location, easy to get the tram into the centre. Value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    6.3
    Good location, clean room but had an issue with a member of staffs attitude...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude member of staff on reception. Offered very limited information and was very curt in all conversations. Couldn't pay with debit card for room or excursions we booked through the hotel. Stairs extremely steep and tightly curved, must cause problems for elder guests or people with mobility issues.

    Good breakfast options and times. Most of staff helpful. Clean rooms. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    It is good for 1 night stay. Nice personnel and a rich breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are very steep stairs to go up. You need to be careful. And if you want to stay longer than one night you'd better think of a better room than "small twin room", because it will be really small.

    The location is not central, but it is about 20 min walk from Van Gogh Museum and about 30 minutes walk from the central train station. But, it is easy to take a tram to get to the city center or the central station, and other destinations. Trams circulate often. The staff is very helpful. They will advise you where to go, what tram to take and so on. They have a very good breakfast. The room was very small (now I understand when they say "small twin room"), but clean with quite comfortable beds. There are toiletries in the bathroom, TV-set in the room. It was very ok for 1 night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Very happy with our stay at the hotel,staff very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very happy with our stay at the hotel,staff very helpful and friendly,new towels each day and beds made,trams straight across the road so very easy to get to where we needed to go.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alp Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: