Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amadeus Hotel 2 stars

Grote Markt 10 - 1 hoog, 2011 RD Haarlem, Netherlands

#11 of 16 hotels in Haarlem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1172 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room not so comfortable some worker for cleaning windows woke me w.o. any permission

    in the main square of the town location and the other things weren't the best

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Haarlem location and nice breakfast! I loved that they revised guests with ear plugs to help with any street noise- very thoughtful! This is a great place for a few nights stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken window covered by cardboard , renovations so whole of front of our hotel including our window covered with scaffolding and green netting , couldn't see out at all. Would have been nice had we been warned of the 6.30am start by workmen and the dragging into the street of all their chairs and tables !

    Nice location if you don't mind really early disturbance ( should have been suspicious of the ear plugs left in room ) . We may have just been unlucky with timing but but wouldn't go back due to lack of info about renovations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value in a great location. Very good breakfast and helpful, friendly staff/owner. We were cycling and the nearby secure cycle store was very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very family, friendly... Sincere hospitality. You can feel the mood on the square and be part of it. It is amazing to have breakfast there. The owner is great and makes you feel at home. Eventhough it is old, it is cosy and charmful hotel. You will travel through ages and will get out out of the box treatment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and tiny and oddly shaped shower. The mattress and pillows were not comfortable.

    The location was good, but noisy. The staff was nice and breakfast was good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, hot, and outdated. Beds not so hot. Barely room to turn around when you got out of bed.

    The location on the square is fantastic. Very good breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you stay at the hotel on Friday and/or Saturday, be warned that the cafe next has dance events most of the time (from 11 pm till 2/3 am). The hotel provides earplugs. Go for a night on the town yourselves, and come back late! No noise problems on other days.

    Located at the Grote Markt (can't get more central than that), small but confortable rooms, beautiful lounge on first floor, excellent breakfast (included), nice cafe and terrace, friendly staff, price/quality ratio unbeatable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the croissants were warm and the breakfast very good. It's an old hotel and the rooms are small and a bit dorm-room-like but the location and value make this a good option for Haarlem or even a base for Amsterdam. The 300 bus from Schipol Airport drops you off just a couple of blocks from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lack of a plug in the wash basin, I had to make one from a tissue & stuff it in the waste hole.

    The staff were very friendly , breakfast was good & early evening meals when available were very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was King’s Day weekend, so Square was packed with carnival type rides/ and took away from normal square experience.. Area was noisy til late, about 23:30. Did trip solo. No front desk coverage once downstairs restaurant closed about 8:00 at night. Put extra pressure on making sure I remembered taking the key when leaving the room.

    Good value for the money. Located right on Grote Square, close to many restaurants as well as sites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting out of bed scrunching down to the foot of the bed because it is against a wall which slants for no head room.

    Small place loaded with quirky charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like a fatter pillow but that's a personal choice ;) Note if you travel during warmer months you will get noise from the square (when leaving windows open, obviously). People with mobility problems may have problems with the stairs. Bathroom is small but completely functional. I had no major problems and would stay here again.

    Good value. Excellent location right on the Grote Markt, ~10 min walk from train station and ~5 min walk from the "Centrum" bus stop (for bus 300 coming from Schipol). Friendly staff. Good, basic breakfast, and yes they have added fresh fruit! It's an old building so the stairs are steep, but the lift is is the cafe if you are coming/going during business hours. Room was basic but had everything I needed. They'll store luggage if you arrive before check-in time. Coffee and tea supplied in room, along with earplugs. Lounge/living room area on 1st floor for everyone to use. Some reviews noted missing the small sign out front--look for the black restaurant awning labelled "The Square." Speaking of The Square, it's the cafe attached to the hotel, and a good spot for lunch. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows in some rooms (including our) go to the central town square wholly occupied with luna-park with crowd of people and noise. But strict at 11:00 pm all activity there turns out.

    A large hall on the first floor. Very comfortable, almost like in XIX century novels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advice about 'cheap' parking in the underground town car park. Overnight parking cost over €20! Rather casual attitude of management.

    Central location. Having a lift!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's seemingly a night club in the next building and two nights (of three which I spent at the property) were marked with a lot of low-frequency rhythmic noise till quite late hours, maybe 2 a.m. I can sleep under any noise but this was an ordeal even for me.

    The bed was comfortable enough, everything was clean, equipment worked well, there were enough sockets for my devices, check-in was smooth - my taste is very unpretentious and I didn't miss anything substantial.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilets are of the type with a shelf to relieve oneself on. Coupled with having saloon doors on the bathroom, there is a need for inconvenient, repeated flushing to avoid the smell escaping into the room.

    Very friendly staff, good location (both central, and easy to find from the railway station), decent food in the restaurant downstairs (the pork satay skewer was pretty tidy).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I had a best croissant in this hotel for breakfast! Until now I still craving for croissant I had in this hotel. The room is comfortable for me even it is not so spacious. It's heaven that we can check in early in the morning after 2 nights sleep in bus. The location is about 800m from the train station and Haarlem is a great town if you want to avoid city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little bit unconfortable, and the window couln't close

    The location is perfect, the stuff very kind, the complete procedure from booking to leaving made very simple and easily managable. The price is affordable even for peaple from poor counties

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a couple we would have preferred a room with a double bed ; we had a twin room and with beds together it was very uncomfortable .... but quality bedding felt nice to touch and cosy warm.

    Loved staying in the town square with the view of the church spire from our window and the sound of the bells on the hour. Friendly staff we had a laugh with as well as a suitable breakfast .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was happy with everything but some people might find the single room I was in a bit small

    At the cheapest price for a single room in Haarlem it was very good value. Amadeus is a standard 2 or 3 star hotel but the location in Haarlem is amazing, the room was warm, everything was clean and the staff were friendly. For the price I paid for the room, I couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that the hotel does not have its own reception desk but uses that of the adjacent restaurant, which is run by the same person as the hotel.

    Excellent location on the Grote Markt town square. Clean en suite facilities with plenty of hot water with good water pressure. Clean basic room (I had the twin room - smaller than a university dormitory room but it served my purpose) with a comfortable bed. Satisfactory continental breakfast is included. It is not a 5-star hotel so one must temper one's expectations accordingly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rud staff the male receptionist barged into our room after telling him wed be a moment was harrased by female house keeper 3 times, we wernt told a check out time when checking in. The receptionist was rude again on way out demanded the room keys of us and never even asked how our stay was. The rooms dont look anything like the pictures on booking.com the room and bathroom are both disgusting

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hint to look for the huge NEON Heineken sign marking the building would have been useful for my after dark arrival.

    Delightful, hard-working staff and easy independent access after hours. Received requested room in the back for a quieter stay. Historic, very clean room and convenient hot pot and tea in each room. Perfect location for sightseeing and to experience the Great Church(views and bells).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower/toilet was tiny, you could not turn around in the area!

    The hotel is spotlessly clean, top marks. The water was warm in the shower. The room and bed was perfect. Will stay here again if available,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe soundproofing should be a little bit better, but it was a quiet enough to be able to sleep.

    It was very nice for being this cheap. Personal were amazingly nice. Bfast (included) was good! I got this little "Inn" feeling from it and I can highly recommend this to anyone traveling in Haarlem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing I would says is the bathroom is very small and shower unit leaks water on the bathroom floor which wets the bedroom floor.

    Staff very helpful did everything they could to make your stay brilliant. Very central overlooked the square with church’s and historical buildings. Shops very close by both designers and normal shops,train station ten mins walk from hotel the only thing I would says is the bathroom is very small and shower unit leaks water on the bathroom floor which wets the bedroom floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husbands bed too soft, the furnishings are not new but are clean.

    The hotel is right in the middle of the old part of Haarlem, mostly Dutch people were staying there. It like most old Dutch properties it has 3 floors. There was a lift. The hotel has a cafe below, beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is extremely small, thin walls that can hear night pub music while friday night and people walk up from the stairs.

    the room is clean and tidy, breakfast is included

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say really

    Perfect location, clean and large room with amazing shower. Good buffet breakfast and staff very helpful. I arrived in town a bit later than I was hoping and contact the staff to let me in was easy and comfortable. Highly suggested expecially for the price and good value!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing-all good

    Comfortable and traditional bedroom. Nice shower. Excellent breakfast in the dining area. Very central- on main square. No noise- nice and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing....

    The Amadeus is 10 mins walk from the station, both excellent value for money and a great place to stay due to the way you are treated by the owners and staff alike. It's only a two star hotel but it doesn't feel like it, I've stayed in higher rated hotels that aren't a patch on this one. I've stayed here twice and on both occasions the reception has been friendly and the hotel has more than met my expectations. The buffet breakfast is perfectly adequate and excellent quality, particularly the fresh bread ! If you are a light sleeper maybe avoid the rooms overlooking the square due to markets setting up early in the morning, but this wasn't an issue for me or my friend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOCATION: Amadeus Hotel is in Haarlem Centrum, right on the Saturday Market square. Our favorite restaurant, Spectakle, was a block away (turn right, right& left). We could easily spot the hotel by the HUGE green "Heineken" sign at the top of the building! TRANSPORT: The train station is easily walkable. The taxi to Schiphzl Airport is good and right on time. RESTAURANT: Nice variety of food, easy access, in the front lobby area, plus outside eating, plus some large tables, great for us to visit with several friends at once. Amadeus is a great meeting place. OWNER/Manager: Mike has a habit of holding one room for the last minute. We got that room, and are eternally grateful! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smelly, some of the furniture a collection of odd pieces (as if from the street), the bathroom was in a closet...the walls were really thin, but luckily there was not much noise. We seem to have gotten an unrenovated room, but renovated, much better rooms do exist.

    The staff was (mostly) friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable. The location was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was small. Being right on the square, could be noisy (though our room was in the back and quiet)

    Location is the best attribute! Easy to get to from Amsterdam by bus or train. Easy to walk anywhere in the "old city" from the hotel. Tourist information literally steps from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with all places some rooms inevitably are at the back so the view was brutal but that's about it. Everything else was great.

    Location location location - perfect spot for a stay in a beautiful city. Right on a prominent square, surrounded by cafes and restaurants. A stones throw from the Ten Boom museum which is a must see and a whole host of other museums so plenty to do and see right on your doorstep. Hotel gives a very warm welcome and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor point. The shower head in my bathroom is fixed high up without a flexible hose. When turned on, for a few seconds cold water gushes out before the hot water comes.

    Excellent location right on Grote Markt. The airport bus no. 300 from Schiphol Airport stops about 5 minutes away. Haarlem train station can be reached on foot in 15 minutes or 1 bus stop away. All major sights are within easy walking distance. Efficient check in and check out at the cafe on the ground floor. Adequate breakfast. Fast wifi. Comfortable bed. There's an electrical water kettle for making tea/coffee, which is nice, although I did not use it. Note that the lift can be taken on G/F when the cafe is open. Afterwards, the hotel is accessible from a separate door, and the lift can only be taken on 1/F.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit tight but we found everything we needed to make our stay pleasant

    Friendly staff - we enjoyed an excellent dinner in the restaurant and super location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it on the main square it's a bit noisy at night but that not the fault of the hotel

    Bathroom was a bit tiny but ok. The location was slap bang in the middle of Haarlem at the main square so excellent for getting out and about.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a very poor experience!! Upon my arrival I had to wait for the restaurant staff to have time to check me in(no reception area)I was standing in the way of wait staff as there was no where to go.The room had a view of the maintenance room.There were tiles outside my window with footprints on them.The room was hot so I had to leave the window open. To say the least I didn't feel safe.I also had to get refunded for tax the next day and I found out I was charged for two people anyway.The cleaning staff woke me up by slamming doors and arguing at7:30 am.When I went to breakfast the manager informed me that another guest had the same experience and apologized. When the owner came in I was eating breakfast.He acted like Archie Bunker in his living room!For those of you who don't know Archie I would say a bull in a China shop!Loud and up noxious. The restaurant was cute.Too bad the rooms weren't taken care of.Cheep swinging doors for the bathroom and a shower curtain replacing the glass doors that had obviously been broken.Terrible experience!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service a bit casual;kept us waiting too long before check in while they served customers in the café. Breakfast service could have been more attentive too.

    Best location in the main square of the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    It was one of my best stays in.The Netherlands.The owner ,the staff were very welcoming ,the breakfast is awesome. The room not too big but everything very clean ,quiet. Had great sleeps which is very important for a festival goer.I really loved the Navy / Submarine feeling while in the elevator and corridors. Very nice theme. The breakfast is awesome and the position is right there ,in the Grotte Markt. A big mention to the curly creole from the staff, she really took good care of me during breakfasts / hangover.These guys really made me feel so welcome in their house. Every time I ll go to Haarlem I d choose this place. Thank You.Hope I ll have a vacant room next year ,same period

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boss / owner!! Really strange that the boss is counting money in the restaurant area and is very upset and yelling strange words because the balance is not correct.

    employees are very friendly!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing was out of our control with no A/C because we arrived on a very hot day. But we made it through.

    I WOULD stay here again. This location is right in the center of the square. The restaurant was very good. Everything is in walking distance to shops. The staff was so helpful. My husband left his sunglasses in the bathroom. We need to contact them to see if they saw them. Breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff were so unfriendly that I have not seen that in the Netherlands even thought we have been traveled there for many years. They have also some problems in competence what we experienced when there came fire alarm. They did not informed customers and acted like it was nothing - good news is that fire department came, but nobody was really interested in telling us what's going on before we asked ourselves. And of course, nobody was sorry about that uncomfortable wake-up.

    Beds and breakfast were ok, the room was time-worn, no air conditions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast,they should provide vegetables and some fruits for the dinner.

    The bed is perfectly convenient room is very clean.Staff is very kind and helpful.All together I should offer for anyone who likes the little friendly city hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Overall hospitality was great Bed was too comfortable . Friendly and helpful.I'll book this hotel on my next trip. Thank you so much and Best Wishes to Amadeus Hotel.Keep up the good work. Very impressed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a fairly shabby old place, with comically tiny bathrooms. Desperately needs a re-fit. Breakfast was OK & staff were decent - but it's quite expensive for a very tired hotel. Beware of the rooms facing the main square, they can be noisy. Location is very good, though (if you get a room at the back / side).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, very pleasing stay. Some fruit with the buffet perhaps?

    Optimally-engineered small space. Very user-friendly and comfortable. Nice buffet breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park

    Beds comfy and clean. Plenty of room for 2 people. Little bit dated but ok. Only downside for us was that there is no parking. We parked about 20 minutes walk away on a road where it was free as charges are quite high.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Others in my group had a room right on the market, and the noise and lights from the bar next door kept them awake. There was a fan in the room that provided a little white noise to block out the sound and it wasn't a big deal, but thought it was worth a mention.

    Stayed here several years ago and so I booked it again because I'd had a good experience. The location is great, right on the Grote Market, with plenty of restaurants and things to do well within walking distance of the property. The staff was busy when we arrived, but friendly and helpful. There is an elevator that is accessed when the restaurant downstairs is open, otherwise there are some very steep stairs to get up and down. The breakfast was fine, though a little light (no meat options).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet in room was rather dusty/dirty

    1. Good buffet breakfast; the coffee was good 2. Right in town centre 3. Easy walking access to bus stops/train & bus station, shops, cafes/restaurants and most of Haarlem's attractions 4. Arrival by Bus 300 from Schiphol Airport at Verwulf/Centrum bus stop with just a 5-8 minutes' walk to hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location of this hotel is fantastic. the rooms have all you need: shower, toilet, sink; kettle, tea/coffee, television, hairdryer, soap, shampoo etc. The breakfast is simple but good. Nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a setting for those who like quiet nights - there is a fairground in the square during the month of april which opens all evening, a nightclub next door , and twice weekly markets are set up in the early hours. However, you might find as we did, that this just adds a sense of atmosphere. This is also not the choice for those who want hotel desk services- check-in is managed by the busy waitresses of the cafe on the ground floor, and they have no time to chat

    this was a pleasant inexpensive hotel in the heart of haarlem. Our attic room was quaint, with a view over the square, and very comfortable There is a lounge room room on the first floor looking over the square which is a nice space to sit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It must be stated that this hotel at time of booking or even untill arrival did not state that it is not disabled friendly, the reception is on the ground floor and not 24 hours, in the evening access is via a side door with 24 stairs, this is very dangerous for disabled guest

    Friendly staff and clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small!

    Breakfast was nice and included in the price. Right in the center of town but across from an amusement park. But I didn't hear the noise from my room! Room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is excellent, right in the middle of Haarlem, close to stores, public transport, bars. I asked for a quiet room towards the back of the hotel (not overlooking the Grote Markt). Both (front or back) would have been fine too. Room is basic, no luxury but decent enough. Breakfast is great, fresh bread, hard boiled eggs, typical continental breakfast, nice room overlooking the Grote Markt.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was basic but very clean. The beds were not great quality but did not ruin our break. Good value for money overall though.

    The breakfast was really good and there was as much as you wanted. Would definitely recommend to friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel on main historic square, walking distance to tourists sights and museums. Basic hotel above restaurant, friendly staff and good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small Nobody on the morning when I need someone. Expensive for the room you have. The key must be taken at the restaurant at the left.

    In the heart of the city so perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For me it was hell. First, this hotel is a restaurant, too. And the rooms (floors) are on top of that, which means when you check in you have to enter the small, narrow restaurant first. Which was packed full in my case. There is no reception or front desk, you have to check in at the "bar counter". Kind of weird. Then you have to take the elevator directly from the restaurant to the room floors. Could be funny with lots of luggage. The location was, for me let's say, unbearable. You find yourself directly surrounded by the most busy streets in Haarlem. There is really no chance like going out for a quick cigarette. As soon as you leave the hotel through the restaurant, you are completely sucked up in the complete busyness of the Groote Mart, crowds of people and shops. Just can say never again. Didn't knew this fact could get such a serious problem for me. I might just be the wrong type of guest. Sorry. Good luck, tho.

    Some staff friendly, some yet stressed out. Breakfast is from 07:30 on already and quite ok. Not great but solid OK. WiFi worked well, kettle on room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very tiny and surved its purpose - the bed was super comfy and the blanket and pillow nice and clean. The personal was super friendly and helpful. I also enjoyed the breakfast with a good cup of cappuccino :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like. I liked the Amadeus hotel a lot!!!!

    I liked everything about Amadeus hotel. The location was fantastic. Not far from the train station and the bus station. I had a great time in Haarlem. A nice Irish pub nearby and lots of different restaurants also!!!!! What more could you ask for?? All I can say is; I will definitely stay at the Amadeus hotel again. It is really good!!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was a little small but we don't spend that much time in them anyway.

    Location was perfect. You could walk to anything you wanted or needed.Great staff, great breakfast and just good, kind people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a different pillow but that is something of personal preference.

    The staff was very accommodating, especially considering the fact that we needed to leave at five in the morning to make it to the airport in time for our flight. The bathroom was also very clean and the location of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Clean and tidy, helpful staff. If you arrive late, reception is closed, but instructions by email for entry were pretty clear. When restaurant is open, elevator can be used from the ground floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities are a little limited, but I haven't marked it down as I rated it on it's two stars. For me there was nothing I didn't like.

    It was a pleasure to stay at the Amadeus, the atmosphere was friendly and efficient. All areas were very clean and although the room was basic it had everything I needed on this trip including good free wi-fi ! Breakfast was basic but excellent quality including some of the best bread I've tasted for ages. It's location is spot-on being right on the Grote Markt, right at the centre of everything with a 5 to 10 min walk to the station. Would certainly stay again...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing it's prefect.

    Going to Holland, got to Schiphol airport had to have some vlaamse frites, I just love them, going to Haarlem paid my 7.00 euros by train, I've been going to Amsterdam quite a lot, but what a place Haarlem is, I will go again to the same hotel, it was spot on, wanted to relax I got that, wanted some good weed got that too, well done the hotel was clean and tidy and easy to find, I brought my TomTom with me, I didn't really use it, only to find the hotel, my last day. Got to the station was thinking if I should go by train or by bus, took the bus paid my 5.00 euros what a place its beautiful I took in the sights nice place arrived at Schiphol airport had some vlaamse frites, hum mm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you arrive after hours there is a flight of stair you have to navigate to get to the lift on the 1st floor.

    I had a nice big bed, which took up most of the room and a view out on the square in front of the hotel and there is a rest area to chill out in...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't really like the room, it was smaller than I excepted and wasn't very clean. There were used tissues left behind by previous guests that hadn't been picked up.

    The location of this hotel was great- right in the centre of Haarlem! Additionally, the breakfast was great. There was a great selection of food and I really enjoyed the fresh bread.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at night time

    We had to leave at 3 am for the airport and the staff made sure we had something to eat before we left, yogurt, crackers , cheese etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi in the room wasn't strong

    very helpfull and friendly staff, amazing location, great connection to the airpost and Amsterdam, lovely town, good price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say liked it all

    Great location, the owner and female staff were super helpful. Hard workers and kept us right throughout our stay. The new staff member Karim was awesome 2. Great help and excellent English. Will be back in December. Marc McAulay, Scotland ✌

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was efficient but could be much friendlier.

    Very clean although my single-bed room was small. Excellent value in a terrific location. I recommend Amadeus if you are looking for clean budget-priced accommodation in a beautiful town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was excellent, and it was great value for money. The breakfast was limited in choice, but croissants and bread were fresh, and coffee was good. The room was somewhat spartan, but clean, and I knew this would be the case from various guidebooks and reviews. Overall, if you are not looking for luxury, but want somewhere clean and basic, with friendly staff, at a good price, then I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amadeus Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: