Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambassador City Centre Hotel 3 stars

Oude Groenmarkt 20, 2011 HL Haarlem, Netherlands

#12 of 16 hotels in Haarlem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3070 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive. Great location, but the hotel and staff are not great. You have to pay extra for parking. Next time I would stay at a nicer hotel, further out and pay for public transportation to get to city center.

    Great location. No frills. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    American's generally like to use washcloths to wash their face etc. I wished there were wash cloths with the towels.

    Location was awesome. The staff was helpful and professional. The room was comfortable and clean. We stayed at the beginning and again at the end of our trip. We like Haarlem more than Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommended hotel if you stay in Haarlem. Big room for my family who travelled with 2 son, location near with tourist attraction. Walking distance to Haarlem Central station. The bed is comfortable. Without AC, it is still comfortable even in June.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An older front desk staff member was extremely unfriendly and dismissive. He really ruined every moment of my interaction with him. The other staff members, mostly young ladies, were extremely helpful, friendly, and it was my pleasure to meet them.

    Great location and friendly staff (for the most part). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not know anything about parking rules for motorcykles in the City of Haarlem. - One afternoon we saw two mice running around on the floor in the breakfast room!!!!

    Well situated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) Double bed was actually 2 single beds joined. 2) Small room 3) uncleaned carpet 4) Some staff members are arrogant 5) There is no welcoming or friendly vibes 6) everything looks and is actually old

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no view, and could use a shower curtain. But, those are minor things. We didn't come to stay in the room. We came to see the Netherlands.

    Perfect location. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Easy walk to everything in the old town, as well as the train station. They offer breakfast, which was a great value, for the price. However, we wanted to sit outside, so we didn't have their breakfast. They are remodeling, and will soon have their own bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no air conditioning anywhere (rooms and hallways) and it was hot. It is in the town center, which it is somewhat noisy outside at night, so to able to sleep I had to close the windows and then the heat was unbearable. I requested a room change, which they arrange for the following day and they charge me a 15 euros cleaning fee even though my reservation was for 3 nights and we were suppose to have our room cleaned each day. For those staying here to visit Amsterdam, the train station is a long walk and you can find hotels in Amsterdam for a similar price.

    The hotel is nice, kind of a boutique hotel, in the very center of Harlem which is lovely town, 15 minutes away from Amsterdam by train. Breakfast buffet was great and front desk personnel very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not included (at least coffee maker in room) and quite expensive to add if you don't plan to eat a lot.

    The room was bright, clean, make you feel comfortable. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not complaining but would have loved the cleaning crew to have been more on the ball, so to speak. Went walkabouts at times to enable them to be able to do their thing. Return some hours later and room still untouched. No problem really but could just be improved .

    The bed was just the right firmness for my personal needs so I had good nights sleeps every day. The shower was good in my opinion. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, centre of everything that is going on. Many bars and restaurants in a very close proximity to the hotel. Also close to museums, the river (boat tours ?) and not too far from the train / bus station. Main shopping area of Haarlem also in the immediate vicinity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Apartment with kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could only open our window 20 centimeters. It was very hot and we could not air well. Outside it was much cooler! A lot of black mold in the bathroom and dirty and broken bathroom furniture! Water in the bathroom did not go away we had to wait more than 45 minutes for someone to come. Refrigerator only works if you place a pass in their secure system so that all electricity remains on.

    It was into the middle of the center of Haarlem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with kitchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room (no AC), no clean sheets, stinking pillow and blankets, no internet in our room, bad service (they couldn’t do anything to help us, we had to carry our own luggage plus baby stuff, 5 floors up and down). They didn’t do anything with our complaint.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not made aware that there would be building works at the hotel during our stay, one reason for choosing this hotel was the visuals that were provided in particular of the front entrance and reception area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paid an advance family room that I did not get, because she was busy responding to the reception. I did not like the fact that I was charged for the first time in advance and the residence tax.

    Only good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wastebasket still had garbage in it when we checked into the room. The bathroom garbage was not emptied on the first day. It was awfully hot and humid. While the fan provided helped keep the bedroom at an okay temperature, the bathroom was horribly hot and uncomfortable.

    The location was excellent and the Linens and towels were always clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very loud outside the hotel at night due to its location, surrounded by lots of pubs and restaurants. very hard to sleep at night with drunk people singing, laughing and shouting from the street. the windows are single glazing and all staff in the hotel could do is offering earplug. apparently they failed to offer a quiet room even it was required when booking. and no response to the complains about the noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would really have liked to have more tea and coffee allocated per room. we felt that, 1 per day is a bit mean :( also some small cartons of milk would be good instead of powdered whitener.

    The location is perfect for getting to all the attractions in Haarlem. We particularly liked hearing the cathedral bells!! The room was a good size, clean and had everything you would need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite close to St Basils, and it has a clock and BELLS! Got woken up a few times quite early. Didn't try the restaurant for breakfast or dinner but can recommend the McD's breakfast a short walk away.

    The hotel is right in the centre of Haarlem and access to bars/restaurants and shopping couldn't be any easier. However, the hotel is a bit tatty and needs a refurbishment. There is no heart or soul, the reception area would make a great little work environment but its filled with clocks and it just didn't seem to be a welcoming place. Overall, it was a place to rest your head after a busy day/night but I dont think I'll be staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the workshift for the staff can be improved, we found the hotel staff that served us on the day we arrived lookes so tired..

    Hotel with lots of antique clocks..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We absolutely loved the area of Haarlem. Ambassador City Centre Hotel was central to all the shopping and restaurants in the area. It was a short 10 minute walk to the train station. We also visited Amsterdam during our stay, and transportation by train was extremely easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since summer is approaching having airco would be really a plus.... Maybe a small fridge in the room to make it really excellent :)

    ACC has always been an good value for money place to stay; location is good to be in the center, rooms are clean, shower is hot. Cant really complain about this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't the cleanest but was good enough to get your head down. When you take the door key the electric goes off.

    Great location. Very polite staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was not impressed at all with this hotel. We checked in on Saturday - and on Sunday they had not cleaned the room and replaced the toiletries or made the bed. The staff at the reception up on check in were quite rude and seemed disinterested at serving us. The reception desk in the evening was also quite rude when we asked as to why the room was not cleaned during the day. We had to remind them to clean the room for the 3rd day - which am sure they would have not done if we didnt remind them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms facing the street can be subject to some late night noise from people returning from an evening out.

    Very good location in the attractive city centre. Lots of local bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricy for the room and services. Entrée is a bit old fashioned.

    It's located beautifully in Haarlem. The rooms have everything you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe fresh bread instead of bake-off rolls for breakfast, and fresh milk instead of long-life. And a wider selection of herbal teas would be nice. Bedroom carpet was tired and stained, though to be fair our room was spotlessly clean.

    Our room 111 was quiet and comfortable with a modern bathroom. I was on crutches and it was very manageable, would also have been fine in my wheelchair. Enough choices at breakfast. Staff very helpful when booking taxis to the station, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    check in not till 3pm , room still getting cleaned in entry 1 hour later than planned should make check out 10am to allow rooms to be cleaned and customers to gain entry at agreed time

    location excellent breakfast good with plenty choice tea making facilities secure luggage area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was out of a box, fruit was from a can, and food was badly cooked (scrambled eggs were a big chunk of eggs). For 12.50€ each we could have had a much better breakfast. There was some construction nearby we weren't told of, so it was really loud inside. The bathroom shower was badly built and the whole bathroom would get super wet.

    The location was great, and it was a really interesting hotel to stay. Its front was some sort of old house but behind it had a really big building connected to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking place for cars.

    The location is superb for taking a tour round the city. There is plenty of restaurants and shops around. It's best to take your bike with you and park at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel facilities were comfortable and clean. We had no negative experience while at the hotel.

    The hotel is located in the old town centre which can be explored from the front door of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One have to walk about 150 m to hotel, no private car allowed. Reception staff could show more smile and friendliness. The elevator is very old and slow

    Central Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so many things... to begin with we booked a Family Room, and the site said it had lift. We arrived with 2 children of 1 and 3 years old, and my mother in law. we were told take the elevator and then you will find the room... yes we did but after climbing 3 stairs after the elevator.. the stairs were high and with very small steps, extremely dangerous for kids and they said this was a family room suitable for our kids? Once in the room there was another stair inside to get to te doble bed extremely dangerous. we asked to change room but they said there were no more rooms and we had to wait until next day and we personally had to do all the moving with the kids as they didn’t want to “touch” our staff. the room wasn’t ready so all the luggage was kept in a room and the second moving was at night with our kids tired... very bad experience. the people in charge was not nice at all and the rooms were not nice and bathroom really bad... don’t go to this hotel! it doesn’t with the money

    location and nothing else

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When it happened ,the room cleaning was satisfactory; but on one day it was not quite so good, and on another it did not happen at all.

    Foyer and clocks, Reception, Quietness of room, staff attitude and friendliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cot in 3 person room was uncomfortable, impossible to keep bathroom dry from the shower, no way to control temperature, no fan in bathroom. Would expect a bit more for price.

    Fantastic location and spacious room, with an elevator, helpful and friendly night staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unwelcoming reception area. Front lobby was very dark and cluttered with clocks covered in dust. Check-in staff was uncouth and dismissive towards concerns we had with the rooms assigned to us. We booked two rooms. Room 140 was disgusting. Stains on the walls. Mattress was a sponge not fit for sleeping. It was covered with urine stains. The night manager was extremely unhelpful and patronizing. He constantly shrugged his shoulders and said there was nothing he could do about our situation. We ended up sleeping on the floor that night. Room 134 was tiny and not the 20 sq. metre sized room we had booked. Rooms smell of sewage. Dirty stained carpets. Broken tap handle in bathroom sink. They claim to have a lift between the floors but the hotel is multi-levelled so there are stairs you will have to climb. No one helped us with our luggage. Only one elevator in the entire building. Wait time for lift was too long. Terrible housekeeping. Used toiletry items from previous occupants was not thrown out. Breakfast ran out at 9:30am. Wifi cut in and out constantly.

    Location was in city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with kitchen
    • Stayed 2 nights

     Break fast – had to wait for long time to get the buffet food filled, like many did, and it over within 1 min because so many people are waiting for it.  No lift for my room, and had too take my 3 heavy luggage up and down  Oldest bath room I have ever seen  Lack of employees means slow services .  Stinking mats  Awful view from the room  Can not bring your car in front of the hotel (its restricted) so had to carry my luggage from the public parking to the hotel In summary, not value for the money. Its okay if you pay 50 eur per night. Definitely not recommended for the family with children. And not recommended for people coming in car with heavy luggage.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a separate beds and saw a picture when we booked of a two beds with a distance from each other, but the beds were close together and we could move it ten centimeters from each other. When we complained the staff were ignorant and were not willing to pay us back ore let us get what we ordered. They couldn’t care less.

    Its central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a European-no-wall style shower that sprayed water all over the bathroom. Linens had some stains...

    Great location for Haarlem - right in the middle of the main town square and right near all of the restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every member of staff I dealt with was super friendly and helpful. Only had breakfast on the last day, as was out with friends the rest of the time. Although I arrived later to breakfast (sat down at 10am, breakfast finished at 10.30am) so there wasn't a huge selection available, what was there was lovely. I was slightly worried about the closeness of the hotel to the bells of the church across the road - but I couldn't hear hardly anything, even when the bells were ringing for the hour. They certainly didn't wake me up like I worried they would!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only once was the room not made up properly. Otherwise in our four night stay everything was fine.

    Location in the old town, was excellent for atmosphere, local restaurants, and was only a 10 minute walk to the train and bus stations. On arrival the greeting from staff was friendly, and helpful. The huge number of wall and floor standing clocks in reception and throughout the hotel added charm. We were assured that only one of the clocks was kept in working order.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty the walls were dirty the carpet was dirty looks nothing like the photo shown during booking it was much smaller the shower flooded because the drain was clogged

    The location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a little bit larger space.

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff were helpful and kind. We were in the middle of town and in walking distance to just about everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping erratic. If soap, Kleenex, tea was forgotten, there was no more to be had that day from the front desk. Lighting in (small) room was inadequate, and there was nowhere to put our sponge bags in the bathroom.

    Location in centre of the old town near shops and restaurants was excellent. Beds clean and comfortable. Bathroom modern. Front desk staff helpful to us. For a three-star hotel, we felt we had good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bedroom was very poor and I didn't like the wet room style bath room - there was no fan and the floor remained wet.

    Location was excellent. Quite good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel could replenish toiletries on an daily basis Breakfast fruit appeared to be pre-packaged. This could have been fresh fruit for little extra cost. Also, shortage of staff meant tables were eithervery slow to be cleared or not cleared at all.

    Central location. Easy walk from rail station Comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was awful. Check in was an hour and a half late (4.30pm) and so was everyone else’s who I saw. The cleaners were still cleaning. Breakfast could have been done with replenishing more often, there was barely anything there in the way of cooked breakfast.

    Location mainly. Lovely reception area. They were accommodating to us as cyclists, they let us lock our bikes up in their back yard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not clear from the booking.com listing that the room was a split-level, with spiral stairs that were dangerous for our young toddler. The beds were not very comfortable. It was a bit difficult to get our stroller and luggage up all the narrow stairs to our room.

    Really fantastic location, right on the central square. Clean and quiet. Our family room had enough space for two adults and two kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not personally stay here but arranged/paid for 6 guests. Extremely negative/inefficient administration prior to arrival. Special ground floor rooms personally negotiated/agreed at the property 2 months prior to arrival were not honored. No housekeeping service at least one day for some of the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told our room wasn’t ready - left and came back - told then that our room was ready but it wasn’t - had to haul all our luggage back downstairs - waited in lobby until 3:45 and had to ask if room was ready instead of them coming to tell us - couldn’t get our safe to open, so we had to go down and get the key - waited at the counter to ask a question - when it was our turn, the girl said she was closing so we would have to wait in the other line - water from our shower ran all over the bathroom floor every time we took a shower (whose brilliant idea was it to install showers with no slope to the floor and no door on the shower?) - had to unplug our bedside lamps to turn them off - there were no washcloths or handtowels - walls were dinged and marred - there was no dresser to put our clothes in, so luggage had to sit open on the floor - furniture in lobby and hallway were dusty - very slow elevator - NOT what we expected for a “boutique” hotel

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit noisy when the other occupants walk on hallways but tolerable.

    We were surprised when they upgraded us to the wedding suite room at no extra costs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not every rooms have elevator access and the hotel didn’t mention. The hotel double charged my payment and still waiting for solution. Staff isn’t helpful.

    Location is right in the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs!! But then it is Holland!! The stairs are narrow but this is case with alot of stairs in Holland. The noise from the bar next door was an issue if you were out the front with the loud thumping music, but not the fault of the hotel. We didn't hear anything at the back of the hotel.

    Breakfast was great value, always replenished. We had a family room with four single beds. Some beds were softer than the others! The hotel is centrally located with a view of the Church and restuarants all around it! Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not refreshed, towels not changed unless reception was called

    Bedroom was fine although very basic, the beds were confortable. The bathroom was too basic & not very clean, towels were only changed on request and the room was not refreshed during our 3 day stay. The location was ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift, with no apparent stairs.

    Wonderful location, bang smack in the centre. Rooms more comfortable than I was expecting. Very friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have booked the room with double bed (I had the same confirmation from booking), but administration gave us the room with 2 single beds. After my complaint to booking.com support team, administration promised to change the number, but they did not do it. The appearance of the room was very different from those on the booking.com. This kind of room has not been described in the booking.com. Our room was in the attic with view to other roofs despite the fact that it was booked the room with a good view from the window. Wi-fi connection was very weak.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bad experience upon departure. Our taxi to the airport was late, and the driver tried to charge us more than the hotel promised us we would pay based on their contracted rate with the taxi company.

    The location within the town of Haarlem was superb. Walking distance everywhere, including the train station for the frequent 19-minute ride to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Very friendly staff and helpful. Great location near to most places of significance. Gives feel of ancient times with so many antique clocks. Overall my family liked it so much. I would certainly recommend for families. Lastly, amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Customer service cleanliness Bad attitude of staff no mini bar.

    We walked into Libby 1 week previous and was impressed by the lobby decor and atmosphere and fantastic location. The worst experience was the late afternoon evening staff. Snotty to say the least. The rooms and hall ways dirty and run down. No shower curtain in bath we asked before check in to have beds separated which they did not do. When we ourselves pulled them apart there was old crackers and other food and hairballs under beds. No mini bar and first floor turned out to be 3 Rd floor where we had to carry our bags up 2 steep stairs with no offer of assistance. I travel a very lot and this was the worst choice I've made in 5 years. I liked location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location 10 minutes walk from train and bus station and was based in the centre. Restaurants, shops and tourist attractions close by. Reception staff were friendly. Our room was spotless clean towels everyday. Beds very comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Haarlem at this hotel will be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    First , there is no parking available and the hotel has no arrangment with parking lots. only a taxi company that can bring you from the IKEA parking for 7.5 euro if you call them which is very far and non comfortable. parking in other parking lots is about 25-30 euro for 24 hours. Second , the room was not ready on time , we came 2 hour early and we paid in advance and when we came back the room wa not ready for anothe 30 minutes even though they knew we are around . Third , the room was small for 4 beds. Fourth, the room was in the back of an internal area with crazy high staires to the second floor.

    The of the hotel location is good , it is in the center of a beautiful old city area , just go out and you are in the middle of everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was really the minimum 1 could expect! Receptionists did not reply to us saying good morning or goodbue! our 2nd key was not working. The room was super dirty! I mean with big dust balls under the bed, behind the curtains and doors! Carpets obviously not cleaned for some time and on top, the cleaning service was a disaster! We had reserved for 3 persons & got towels for 2. The day after, we got towels for 1 person! They did not change the toilet paper, they did not refil the coffee/tea in the room although consumed & they did not even do the bed! I know it is a 3 star hotel but the service was shameful and unacceptable.

    Location and breakfast only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will never return

    The place was grubby ,unfriendly unprofessional ,excessively noisy, uncomfortable ,inhospitable ,unhelpful,smelly , breakfast unsavoury and not fresh and rooms and bathrooms dirty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the hotel 1 day short of the time we were staying. It was difficult to make the connection until we reached the hotel. We were able to book the hotel for the last night at the same price:)

    WiFi access was great, the room was clean and comfortable after a long day of sightseeing. Also, close to many great restaurants and a short walk to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was completely oblivious and disregarding to the complaint I made about the bed not having been changed from the previous guests. My very first night I had to sleep in a dirty bed that had a period stain on the sheets because they did not have staff to change it and they would refuse to give me another room. I received no apology for this let alone did I receive any offer of compensation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have a problem with the heating and they didn't want to change us the room. The room was so cold and they only gave us some extra blankets.

    The restaurant and the situation just in the best square of Haarlem is ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The matrace was dirty unfortunatly and the room was not really as big as expected. The door can hardly be fully opened because the bed is to close to it but there is no other solution I guess. all in all a to small room for 2 persons with lugage

    I really liked the flexibility of the stuff regarding all concerns. There was always someone helpfull at the frontdesk to answer questions or help with problems. I really liked the view on this amazing church.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water from the shower went everywhere so had to put towels on the bathroom floor to try and stop this. No hot water on one day

    The hotel is in the centre of Haarlem , near to all the sights. The staff were friendly. The room was large and had everything you need The bed was comfortable. The bus stop to the airport was a few minutes walk away. There were lots of bars and restaurants very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has everything, functional but no frills. Could have done a bit more on decoration / interior design.

    Clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff, perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    egss are cold. There was a renovation and the beds were shaking with noise. view was terrible. No refrigerator in the room. no desk to work.

    position of the hotel is right at the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be updated in terms of facilities, like having a fridge in each room

    Excellent location, very central and a good deal for a hotel that is so closely located to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was so outdated and of the cheapest quality...at least put a light over the sink and give some better atmosphere lighting throughout...not much effort been made to keep this appt updated...

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we first came in we noticed a lot of antique items as clocks and other old stuff. It gives the lobby a feel that doesn't show the quality of the hotel. A bit less stuff would probably be better.

    Best location in Haarlem for shopping and dining. We loved the vegetarian rice at breakfast, and the extended breakfast time till 11.00, nu hurries in holidays. The hotel was very quiet, no room cleaning early in the morning :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View was over backs of adjacent properties but we didn't mind that, the bell(s) of St Bavo directly opposite the Hotel) woke me up twice but again nothing serious.

    Lovely comfy bed, excellent shower, pleasant staff and great breakfast. Also in the perfect place in the middle of Haarlem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small ants walking in the bathroom Taps were leaking Dust was falling off the ceiling fan Dirt under bed Bed did not get cleaned on regular basis (not in 9 days)

    Semi comfy bed Spacious room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds for a couple isn't the best for cuddles and the car access isn't easy

    The breakfast was worth the money and the shower was great

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ambassador City Centre Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: