Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Professor Tulpplein 1, Amsterdam City Center, 1018 GX Amsterdam, Netherlands

#38 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Wonderful historical building with atmosphere and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful historical building with atmosphere and style. My room was really big and comfortable overlooking the river. If you can I strongly recommend you to choose river view. It really worth it! The view is fantastic. The hotel also has some very nice restaurants with terrace also overlooking the river. And health club with the pool (normal size pool where you can actually swim). Breakfast is good and the stuff is very fast and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room seemed a little worn and living room furniture was all uncomfortable

    Gluten Free Pancakes! And, most excellent Gluten Free rolls. Wonderful wait staff in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    5.0
    unfortunately not nice, as per above
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    was put in a room in the roof where scaffolding was blocking ALL windows , no air , no view , unaccepptable! in the morning building works started in immediate vicinity at 7 am

    the house itself

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    10
    A fairytale dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like.

    It was a stunning experience. We were there for the 51 years of my mother's honeymoon to Amsterdam. A trip down memory lane. Needless to say, we were treated like royalty. My mother still cannot get over it. Thank you all...Judith at check in, the people at the concierge who got out of their way to get us the restaurant reservations we wanted, the people at the reservations desk. I hope you enjoyed the Belgian chocolates ! See you all soon as I am certainly coming back in the spring...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    7.5
    We were not personally informed that there is construction...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not personally informed that there is construction work on site and when we arrived we would have had a room with a blocked view by construction scaffolding and noise in day time. I had to pay extra to upgrade to a room that is not in construction area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful luxury canal accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay at the Amstel was second to none. Whilst outlined on Booking.com that they were renovating the facade I didn't read this at the time of the booking. Given the special nature of our trip, we enquired if there was any possibility of a room upgrade due to the renovations. They were so accommodating. It truly is a beautiful building and the staff are wonderful. I will be sure to visit again once the renovations are complete. I highly recommend dining on the Terrace which is literally on the canal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    Our stay was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast menu

    I felt like home, but their breakfast is very poor for what we pay, it doesn't met our expectations and for sure it doesn't met our payment. "Very poor". I was surprised with the low quality of the breakfast, very poor for what we are charged of the room and breakfast, very poor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    10
    We will be back !! everything was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The bed was like sleeping in a cloud !! The experience was beyond words it was exactly what my husband and i needed relaxing and comfort in a magnificent city !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful 4 days in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful old hotel. Great service and great food. Excellent and beautiful location. Breakfast buffet on the Asmtel River each morning was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    10
    Awesome spacious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The canal facing rooms were not available due to renovation, rest everything was awesome.

    The room was spacious the best I would say available in Amsterdam. The service was great the staff had a smiling face always and were very cooperative.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    7.9
    Old School Luxury Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC was just right for a good night's sleep. However I was there at the end of May, couldn't imagine how warm it'll be mid-summer. Also the building is quite old and there was a little vibration coming from nowhere which made the TV do a buzzing noise.

    Room layout of the room made it seem bigger than it is along with the bathroom which was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel is going refubrishment so some scaffolding was up.

    Lovely location, extremely friendly staff. The breakfast was great with lovely views of the Amsel river. Our room was very comfortable. The hotel lobby was very grand.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    8.3
    Waiting for room to be ready, aswell as maid walking into room when asleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to wait an hour for our room to be ready!! I paid around £290 for one night so after a long day and paying that type of money you'd expect your room to be ready when checking in at 2pm. To add to the slightly annoyed feelings when we got into our room and settled in, we went to sleep for a couple of hours only to be interupted by house keeping who rang the bell, knocked on the door then with no answer just walked in!!! They would have no reason to come into the room after being cleaned and tidied, was uncomfortable to think that we were sleeping and someone just walks in.

    The pool was beautiful aswell as the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    8.3
    Classy and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plastic/rubber cover on the mattrass made sleeping very sweaty and uncomfortable. We discovered the cover in the middle of the night and had to take it off and make the bed again. Why would they spoil an excellent bed by putting a plastic cover on top of it? Why not use a cotton cover to keep the mattrass clean?

    The Wellness centre and the pool were very nice. The breakfast was super. The staff very friendly and hospitable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    9.2
    But..
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    But... We wanted to have a glass of wine and the bar was closed for a special evenq, we were asked to go to the restaurant, but the staff there was extremely rude and doesn't let us have a drink, though the restaurant was not full.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2016

    8.8
    The property is historical, but reasonably suited for modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is historical, but reasonably suited for modern hotel facilities. The breakfast room is marvelous, and the whole hotel staff are well trained and polite.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.6
    Wish we had stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff; Luuk was particularly helpful and welcoming. The concierge Pieter was quite helpful. The morning saloon boat tour was excellent. Breakfast was great. Dinner in the brasserie was exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    8.3
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of this hotel is a little far from the main areas. There aren't many restaurants or shops around it. It is on the Amstel which is beautiful but farther from the main attractions.

    One of the best hotels ive stayed in. Simply stunning. Amazing food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    The view is amazing and the rooms are nicely furnished
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was water Leak in my bathroom and I couldn’t have my relaxing bath

    The view is amazing and the rooms are nicely furnished

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excelent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.5
    The room was cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cool. The room is consistent with the proposed, large rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    7.9
    large rooms, extra comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location is not the best, you are better off alongside the central canals, especially with the cold weather

    large rooms, extra comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has the best staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    10
    Best hotel in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice considering construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction taking place right out our toom

    Breakfast and decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    5.0
    There's a big construction going on making too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's a big construction going on making too much noise. Way too loud for a hotel bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    5.8
    I remember being hustled out of the bar because Bono was in there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were rude because I wasn't a rockstar

    great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    9.6
    The excellent staff and beautiful architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The excellent staff and beautiful architecture

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend, one of the worlds great hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was far too soft and uncomfortable.

    Exceptional staff, quality of hotel and food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    8.8
    Homely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    sometimes Glasses, cups have a foul smell, Cleaning standards to be improved

    warm and serene breakfast lounge, and cozy spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Locations, Great Choice
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing everything was perfect

    the perfect choice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    4.6
    Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price/quality ratio absolutely not fair

    Spa

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    10
    Alles in dit hotel is super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Alles in dit hotel is super!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    9.2
    It was very nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ---

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    9.6
    everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    10
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a perfect place to stay. The staff were fantastic, they couldn't have been more helpful. We had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    8.3
    Very good location ,breakfast,very good coctail bar super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet in the room was dirty

    Very good location ,breakfast,very good coctail bar super matress and pillows

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    10
    One of Hollands icon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    The location on the Amstel river

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2016

    10
    All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and attentive. They could not have done more to make our stay memorable, as we were celebrating a special occasion. In addition, the hotel itself was very well maintained, with immaculate rooms and a stunning location. A wide choice of options were served at breakfast and the evening meal we had in the Brasserie was divine. All in all, a fantastic experience!

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is a beautiful building, our room was spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were disappointed that the swimming pool and the restaurant La Rive were both closed. Apparently this is usual in January and we think we should have been informed of this before we booked

    The hotel is a beautiful building, our room was spacious with a lovely bathroom and a view over the Amstel river. Staff were helpful and discreet and hotel was well placed for museums and art galleries

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2016

    8.8
    The beauty of the historical building, the cosiness and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food at the Brasserie could have been better. Expensive but not worth it.

    The beauty of the historical building, the cosiness and comfort of the room, the decor and the perfect location.

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2015

    10
    An exceptional hotel which has maintained its historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An exceptional hotel which has maintained its historical significance while making updates and its comfortsthat don't overshadow its historical history

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2015

    5.8
    The view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very poor attitude by staff. More like a Hilton no interest or display of Customer Service! Unable to have coffee in the lounge as "reserved" although none showed while I was there. Unable to have afternoon tea as "reserved" for locals not guests!!

    The view

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    9.2
    The view, the view and the view❤️❤️.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The view, the view and the view❤️❤️. Staff also very nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    10
    Great and friendly staff) amazing breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great and friendly staff) amazing breakfasts

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2016

    10
    We loved everything at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to leave :(

    We loved everything at this hotel. The staff was absolutely amazing and went out of their way to make us feel at home.

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    5.8
    Location near river
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Location near river

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2015

    10
    The staffs were all excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing at all

    The staffs were all excellent!! The hotel location and room are great

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful old hotel in nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Quite expensive and the carpets in my room were a bit stained and dirty.

    Beautiful old hotel in nice location. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The normal rooms or standard rooms was very small

    Location

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    7.9
    Enjoyable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Location far from the center. to much expensive

    Enjoyable hotel.

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2015

    10
    Internet was bad in my room but good in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Internet was bad in my room but good in the lobby.

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2015

    10
    A gracious, friendly, first class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't charge for wifi -- it should be free!

    A gracious, friendly, first class hotel.

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2015

    7.9
    Location and brasserie restaurant
    • Solo traveler

    A Bar a liitle bleak and odd shape room

    Location and brasserie restaurant

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2015

    10
    Everything looks like a palace and makes you feel like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything looks like a palace and makes you feel like royalty. All the furniture is beautiful and really romantic.

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2015

    10
    Excellent Services
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    needed more restaurants

    Excellent Services

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: