Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Amstelzicht 3 stars

Amstel 104, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#161 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 931 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive for what it was. We were allocated a basement room with windows to a side alley with the bins. Very disappointed as we splashed out on a 'nice hotel' that turned out to be not so nice after all. Room not cleaned on the first day due to 'misunderstanding'. Rooms only cleaned after 2pm, which means if you come back for an afternoon break, your room will not be cleaned. I would expect a hotel with these aspirations to be cleaned in the morning. No breakfast facilities.

    Very comfy beds. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay...with no much luggage then it is simply fantabulous...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property does not have elevator was difficult to move around with luggage...!

    Hotel was clean, nice location, friendly staff, and we'll maintained. Keep up the good job!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the ambiance of the city of Amsterdam, however the extreme heat was difficult without air
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, there was construction being completed on the street in front of the hotel so our taxi could not get us close to the hotel. After a 10 hour flight, dragging our luggage for several blocks was exhausting. Perhaps the staff could alert future guests and recommend a taxi which is familiar with the situation. When we were leaving, the staff arranged for a taxi who picked us up a few steps from the entrance of the hotel.

    Excellent location and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Probably won’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom lights didn’t work. The shower was a triccle of water from a shower head. We felt like the room had not been properly cleaned before us being put into it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were put in the "back room" which is a modern extension ( disappointed as we wanted to be in the older more characteristic part of the hotel) backroom looked onto an alley from one of the restaurants. no through air. quite dark and. bottle smashing 4.30 am most days. there was no consideration from the restaurant staff. we went when it was hot and very uncomfortable, it was a toss between sweltering (closing window to take out some of the noise) or have a terrible nights sleep with continual bottle clacking at all hours. no air con either. no views. just a smelly back alley,.. nice room tho.

    beds were super springy , i didnt like them, the mattress kept falling off the base, room was nicely decorated and clean. location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    This small and cosy hotel is located in the heart of...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This small and cosy hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, in an authentic old building. All the activities and must see places area around. It took us ~25 min to walk to the hotel from the Central train station to the hotel. The room we got on the 1st floor had a fantastic look over a canal. The beds were indeed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a great location and is a historic building. We arrived early in the morning and as I had emailed ahead with the time of arrival, they had our room ready for us. We were on the second floor, the stairs are very narrow and steep, but somebody offered to carry our suitcases to our room. The room was quirky and had a sloping floor! and had all amenities needed including a desk fan which helped keeping the room cool with the hot weather we had. The fridge, tea and coffee, and bathroom amenities (body wash, shampoo) was replenished daily. The bathroom was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for a short city break

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Great view from canal view room, clean room, good facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 flights very steep stairs, sound of a boiler/washing machine at night? Steeet outside being resurfaced during stay

    Great view from canal view room, clean room, good facilities, excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel watch out for the stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luckily we were on the first floor as I ask for a lower room due to a dodgy knee wouldn't fancy going up flights of those stairs lol

    Location was amazing and the staff are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    great location , great hotel crew
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room fridge was not working and was not fixed while we were there. The staff let us use their fridge

    The staff was great and kind. The room was big and as expected. It was a nice stay and great location. Rembrant square behind the hotel is lovley with great atmosphere .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is an example of typical historical Amsterdam building and located in the heart of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room that we stayed is big enough for 4 people and hotel is located in the heart of city. All basics are provided, which may be needed by a visitor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect👍🏻 The room is big enough for 3 and the canal view is quite nice. The staff is helpful and kind, Roman is the best giving hints of the cool places😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent view of one of the many beautiful canals in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get to stay longer than one night.

    Excellent view of one of the many beautiful canals in Amsterdam. Really close to a lot of great restaurants and coffee shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in attitude of the staff - plain rude, stating many times that smoking and getting high is not allowed into the hotel and when explaining how to get in late with the keys (since there is no open reception at night) that he wouldn't wake up to open us the door. This made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable.

    Good location and comfortable room. Expect the usual traditional steep stairs in classic Amsterdam buildings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    I don't recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too overpriced, max 3* hotel. View to 5 over fulfilled garbage cans with a lot of garbage around doesn't cost 200 euro per night. Something 13 mm brown crawled on the window sill (I don't know what was it: scum?

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    ok. for light travelers and one night stay if priority is to stay outside...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room(just big enough to pass along the bad with no room for the suitcase), window was facing another window, stairs were like a ladder (typical Amsterdam they said) even so I have not suffered this in other hotels where I have stayed in Amsterdam. They do not have hotel shuttle bus to the hotel even so they have declared that on Booking.com so I was misinformed otherwise I would not book it, Bad had mattress that was sliding all the time so I had to get up and push it back against the wall from time to time...etc.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay and locate yourself, away from the busy town, but plenty of walking needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to central Amsterdam

    The room was superb, plenty of space, clean and airy also the beds were so comfy. Lovely to come back to at the end of each busy day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, clean, quaint hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were quite small, and we had no view in the twin room we booked. The staircase is very steep as stated in the hotel's description and there is no elevator. It would be very difficult for an older traveler.

    Nice, quaint, clean hotel in a very convenient location with beautiful view of canal across the street. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Public transportation is just around the corner. There are with lots of restaurants and shopping in the area too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Noisey and a slightly sleep depriving stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisey. The ground floor room we stayed in at the rear of the property is situated on a side alley. Noise until 2.30-3am as the neighbouring bars cleared up, then the same around 7.30 when the businesses began opening for the day. It was hot and we needed the window open so it basically felt like we were sleeping in the alley, not in the €300 per night room i paid for. The room actually comes with ear plugs!! There doesn't appear to be anything in the way of sound proofing in the hotel either, so when the reception desk opens at 7.30am and staff/customers are moving about the hotel, it's pretty much all you can hear. If you're a light sleeper, do not stay here.

    It was clean, and the staff were polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My farther got third floor room , this hotel no lift only stairs Which can’t take his big luggage with him.

    Great Location near tram station,good canal view from my room in ground floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major, however if I was to pick anything; the water in the shower and shink took a long time to drain away.

    Excellent views to the canals. Hotel is in a perfect location, in walking distance to all attractions. Friendly staff. Room was extremely clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Lovely and Charming - watch out for the steep staris though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Very Very Very steep staris

    Very charming hotel in a great location. Rooms are very nice and clean and bed was very comfortable. Very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazingly good value, pretty little boutique hotel in a great location with helpful, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dangerously thin stairs but unfortunately they seem to be everywhere in Amsterdam!

    Super helpful staff. We visited during a powercut. We were staying in the basement room which as well as no power or lighting, we would have had no running water or toilet. The owner paid for my friend and I to stay in an alternative hotel for the first night until the power was back on. He couldn’t have been more helpful. Lovely boutique place, would thoroughly recommend!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Would visit again if I need to come to Amsterdam again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big issue, but there was a not natural smell/scent in the room, like someone sprayed some scent all over the place to "refresh" but it kept conflicting with the smell that it was trying to cover.

    Great location. Wi-Fi works. Comfortable bed. Room very clean. All I needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasent stay at this charming hotel. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person who slept close to the window was somewhat bothered by the traffic outside.

    We were met by a friendly reseptionist who told us a bit about the house's history and gave us a lovely room on first floor with a beautiful wiev to the canal.The room was pretty and spacious and the beds were comfortable.We warmly recomend this charming hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel. Got our room upgraded for free. We had an early check in also. The room was clean bathroom was great. Will definitely be returning. Location was ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel ,beautiful view over the canal ..Room modern ,coffee and tea making facilities .Very comfortable bed .. Stairs very steep up to bedrooms ..we had help from the staff to carry up our bags . Overall a very nice place to stay .very happy that I chose this hotel .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Cosy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs are common in Amsterdam I have bad knees so would have preferred a lower floor . Not many facilities if it had breakfast on site and a lift I could rate it much higher . But this aside it’s a good hotel .

    The location is very Central to everything . I liked the staff and owner very helpful during a powercut we were offered alternative accommodation but we opted to stay as showers where still hot and we sleep in the dark anyway. Rooms where clean and tidy .hotel had nice history . Close to Rembrandt square for nightlife etc Beds where awesome and Duvets really warm .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, good location, easy to get to everywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second night room changed (my flight was cancelled and I had to rebook). I lost my lovely snug attic room and got a dark basement room and it was COLD (though the weather was appalling - possibly the room hadn't been used for a bit?)

    First night lovely. Gorgeous attic room on a very cold night. Comfortable and snug.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved it. Hoping to return to Amsterdam and would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like but if you’re staying here you need to be ok on stairs. They are steep. And the pillows are square but very comfy. They just look different that’s all

    Very characteristic property, friendly helpful staff, nice and clean, great location, essentials supplied

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Hotel was in a very good location and wasn't far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This wasn't a problem for us but people who are no good with stairs this would be the only downside for you, as they are very steep and we were on the top floor so there were 3 flights to walk up, so anyone who has knee problems for example may struggle

    Hotel was in a very good location and wasn't far from the centre maybe a 10 minute walk, staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was clean and very warm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Amsterdam is great, the hotels are in general subpar, when considering value/comfort ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a double room for a couple but actually two separate beds pushed together and which do not stay together so a bummer there..... The hotel is dated and while that is nice for the charm when looking at the building from the outside, it lacked on the inside basic comfort expected in a 4 start hotel costing 90 euro a night and no breakfast. But the biggest problem was the tiny inadequate cold toilet-shower facilities, with no water pressure whatsoever, and a shower handle that can be bought for one euro at the once euro shop.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the hotel location was closer to Amsterdam centraal as it is about a 20/25 minute walk from the station

    The hotel was really nice and the rooms were bigger than what I expected. Really clean and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, great location, & comfy rooms made for a wonderful first visit to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was forewarned about the steep steps, but they’re quite small steps here. About half of my foot would fit on the step unless I turned sideways to walk up them. Carrying smaller bags like a tote, backpack, duffle, or carryon would be manageable, but any big suitcase would be a nightmare to get up the stairs, so pack accordingly.

    The location was great; super close to Rembrandt Square & the front of the hotel overlooks a canal which was so gorgeous. Bed was very comfy, variety of English & Dutch television shows were available, & the bathroom was clean & bright.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last day of our staying, the House keeping had combined our two single beds together which is not we asked for. It would be great if there is an option of proper twin room for us to choose. Because at the moment, the two single beds are only less than 10cm apart. But they r still very comfortable.

    Clean and neat with beautiful view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Loved it but don’t use the mini bar|fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the mini bar. There was a price list in the fridge that’s said water and soft drinks where €3. However, when it came time to check out we got charged €5 each. Then when we went back to the hotel to call a taxi, the man at reception said we still owed €5 which was definitely not the case. This made me quite angry.

    The room was amazing with a fabulous view, we had the room with the canal view. The bed was great, shower was the best shower I have ever had at a hotel. Staff where very pleasant, great place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    The stairs - no info provided on this point until the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs - no info provided on this point until the booking was made. As it happened, I was staying with my mum who is 67 and has mobility problems. So, the steepness of the stairs was a big issue. If I'd known, I'd have booked eksewhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with good location - avoid bedrooms at the back .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was at the back of the hotel on the ground floor, just above an alley which backs on to bars in the square behind. In the early hours of the morning we were awoken by staff moving large rubbish containers, including large numbers of bottles - the noise continued for some time ....

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, with good facilities. The hotel is within easy walking distance of lots of the sights, and plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    overall a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    girl on reception seemed reluctant to change our room despite having let me view it, and it was clearly bigger i was told "is it that important for you" well my answer to that is yes as my aunt who i was travelling with wanted a bigger bathroom. also very steep stairs which i fell down on one night so be careful! this is to be expected in a typical dutch property .

    proximity to the square, coffeeshops and eaterys

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a room upstairs , pay maximum attention to steps. They were the steepest steps I have ever seen

    Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Hotel is in a central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    A fabulous time - would happily repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so incredibly helpful and friendly. They answered many queries by me via email in the run up to our visit and were very helpful and kind when I arrived, a day ahead of my partner. As the stairs are very steep, I was worried about carrying my bag up but before I could even request help, they had someone carrying my bag to my room. The hotel is historic, old, very Dutch and incredibly nice but does come with the quirks of such a tall narrow Dutch building, ie very steep stairs, etc. Once you are prepared for this, it's not a big issue. The room, although small (and who needs a huge hotel room since all you do is sleep there?), was very well appointed - even nicer than I'd imagined it would be. The place had great character and was in the perfect location in an area familiar to us. The room was very clean and had everything we needed and the shower was fabulous. The one small complaint is in regard to the beds, but could easily be resolved. We requested that the 2 single beds be pushed together into a king bed, which I came to understand was how many of the rooms are usually set up anyway. This was done but the 2 mattresses were made up separately with flat sheets and their own duvets. The bed bases stayed together and I presume were latched together, but the mattresses were not. The mattresses actually appeared to be very new and very clean, but were very lightweight and as a result, every turn or movement pushed the 2 mattresses apart, leaving a crevasses in the middle and causing us to have to repeatedly adjust them and push them back together. They were very comfy and this could surely be resolved by putting some kind of plastic latch fitting onto the ends of them that makes them stay together. Other than this, the place was perfect and I would happily stay there again. The staff are very knowledgeable about the city and good with advice and tips.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Best hotel for this Europe trip considering every aspect altogether.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went there with 5 big suitcases. It was quite difficult to bring these luggage down to the basement using the very steep stairway. However, we got help from the hotel staff.

    We had a family room at the basement. We love the room. It's specious with a kitchen and 2 big beds. The reception staffs were very friendly and kind. All staffs were helpful. The hotel is considered very close to Waterlooplain train station. Just less than 10 mins walk. Behind the hotel there are a lot of shops and restaurants (10 mins walk).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Easy, convenient will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful when having a shower, it’s a standing tub. Could be slippery and nothing to hold onto if you do fall.

    Perfectly located in the middle of everywhere you want to be. It’s a 20min walk from each side of Amsterdam. Friendly staff, located close to AH supermarket. House keeping friendly and great quick bites around. Easy to get to, take tram #4 or #9 to Rembrandten and it’s a 3min walk to hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Large room, good desk to work from and fantastic view over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didnt have great signal or was nonexistent or simply not connect.

    Large room, good desk to work from and fantastic view over the Amstel river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    Not a family hotel - beware of room on the alley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    To start, inflexible, unreasonable refund policy and nasty customer service. Then, the family room we had was in the basement on an active, noisy alley. The noise of kitchen staff, garbage men, garbage trucks, scooters all through night. Didn't get any sleep. I understand it's an historic, old building but really, I don't think it's acceptable to put people in a dark, musty basement right on an alley. And for the high price, bad value for money. Some of the other rooms might be nice but not this one. Location is great if you want to be in the middle of the action but was too much of a party scene for us. Families stay away!

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Top quality hotel & central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is a few blocks away in a restaurant, you get 10% off but there are other places closer that are better value for money

    Clean cosy rooms, secure and very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location which meant we were able to walk to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was extremely small.

    Excellent location which meant we were able to walk to all the sights. Very helpful staff. Although in the centre our room was very quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent room with a great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and dated. The lighting in the room was quite dark.

    The room was very spacious and clean, with very comfy beds. Everything you need was in walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    I liked that the hotel was located in a very central, lively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't like the steep stairs. Our room was basically at the top of the building and there is no lift as it is an old building. Luckily we were with the cabin baggages. The staff told us it was a nice room. Unfortunately not with a nice view. We didn't have any view.

    I liked that the hotel was located in a very central, lively place close to the tram stops. Room is renovated and everything is new, also cleaned daily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely trip in Amsterdam, people are so friendly, very safe in there, we will be back sometimes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the step is bit too sharp, but it is Amsterdam style.

    The location is good very esay to get everywhere, WiFi is good very fast, staff are friendly, nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are narrow and steep and there is no elevator.. This was not a problem for me but anyone with mobility issues should consider staying elsewhere.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of most major attractions and neighbourhoods,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got hot and stuffy at night. Opening a window resulted in a mosquito bite- probably by the only mosquito in Amsterdam that night! also we could hear an argument from outside, even though we were on the second floor. The toiletries provided were not to my liking and I went out and bought my own

    The location,ambience,old style Dutch house with its winding wood staircase.We could return to leave off shopping bags,change shoes or have a rest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    Frustrating to not get the room I reserved and to be treated so poorly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not recommend this hotel. After looking at their website and pictures of the rooms, I made a reservation in February 2017 for a room in early October 2017. They gave our room to another party for the first night as they could charge $300 more per night. They put us in a basement room with no view of the canal that was extremely noisy and stuffy. They have a loud pump to pump the sewage up from the basement. Beware! They are in it for profit not customer service. There are a lot of other great hotels on the area.

    This was not a good experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Good area, very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had large room at front of building. The down fall was it's a very noisey area with a lot of pubs in street. People standing in street making lots of noise made it impossible to sleep until about 2am as room was at front. Room at back would be better for noise factor. Also as it's non smoking hotel and no garden People staying at hotel who are Smokers stand on front steps and put front of building and smoke so our room smelt constantly of cigarettes, something I think management could control as was pretty awful 😬

    Lovely old hotel in very central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Amazing location and great staff, but suffers from bad structure layout and small-ish rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The stairs are REALLY narrow; barely a foot wide. Going up is quite difficult with heavy luggage. both the room and storage spaces are small.

    Staff was extremely helpful, and went the extra mile for every request we had. Site was always clean. Location is excellent. most attractions are less than 10 walking minutes away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic staffs who are willing to help, very professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic staffs who are willing to help, very professional. The property is very cute old Amsterdam building, but room facilities are refurbished. The stairs are steep but the feeling is just so cozy and pretty. Had a very nice time!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Too expensive for the size of the room... not even close to what I was expecting from internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book for a room with two beds... Since there... It was only one doublebed that we where supposed to share???... The matress was great... not the pillows... but still ok... The room was too small... The system for the ventilation of the toilet was horrible... Every time that we took a shower, the condensation was making everything wet... and the water was on the walls and floor... It was impossible to have access to the heating and the blind doesn't work.

    The staff was really friendly and helpfull. The decoration of the entrance and lobby are very nice and class. They help us with the storage of our suitcase after the checkout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place, great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was at the back so not great, but who stays in the room looking out the window in amsterdam!! Ha ha

    I liked everyone, the location, the staff were all really friendly and the room cleaned eveyday!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    It was one of the best experiences I have ever had in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase was hard to navigate.

    I like the seclusion of our room away from the street. And I loved the central location of the hotel. The staff were very nice, even the cleaners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    A fantastic break in a lovely, clean, comfortable hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Less noise at night but this is inevitable in the middle of the city and had we kept the windows closed it would not have been heard.

    The hotel was brilliantly placed in the heart of Amsterdam adjacent to the river. The opening window and the view of the river etc from our bedroom was superb and greatly added to our enjoyment. The room was very comfortable especially the bed and it was good having tea, coffee etc in the room. The staff were very helpful. The stairs are a real effort but you get used to them quickly but anyone with disabilities wouldn't make it. There is no lift but the typical old Amsterdam house is great. Always ask for a room with a view. The breakfast bar that the hotel recommends is well over priced and we thoroughly enjoyed taking a few things for breakfast from the local supermarket and having it in our room next to the open window. Brilliant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff are pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows are very large. We are small people, and the pillows were too high to be comfortable. All the rest was excellent.

    Staff are pleasant. The family room we rented was basic accommodation at a good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    It was centrally located in a nice neighborhood, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You feel the building's 300+ years, with the entire building tilting a bit to the right. The carpets were an odd brown that made them look dirtier than they probably were. There's no elevator, but the staff were eager to help bring luggage up the very steep steps.

    It was centrally located in a nice neighborhood, with restaurants and bars within walking distance. The staff were very helpful at all times!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only complaint is the staircase, which seems to be everybody's issue with the hotel. Its nearly a vertical climb on the stairs, so it was very difficult with suitcases to climb two sets of stairs.

    The location of the hotel is perfect. Tram stop within a 1 minute walk, along with a lot of lovely bars and restaurants. Everything is with a 15 minute walk of the hotel, a perfect home base for seeing Amsterdam. Staff were very friendly and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall it suited our needs. Our primary focus was location, which was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is tired. Needs updating. The online photos made it look far more impressive. The staircase was steep, warped and a little scary. The room was very small. It was difficult to move around the furniture. There were no restaurant facilities on site.

    Location was great. Staff was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Stylish and excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fun stay in this stylish hotel at the canal. Excellent reception, very accommodating and friendly. Great room with big beds, wonderful amsterdam experience. Very central location close to rembrandt square in a vibrant area. The famous original staircase from the 17th century is a nice touch, authentic feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Love love love this place!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved loved loved this place! Location top notch, in the heart of the city in proximity of main sights and transportation. Very nice and helpfull staff, treated us to a fabulous welcome during our first visit to amsterdam. Comfy rooms with internet, all in all a treat. Will be coming back soon!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    For the young!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs. There are a few bars near, so it is loud till late in the night.

    A typical old Amsterdam house with very steep stairs. I recommend it to young people, because going up and especially going down with luggage for elderly is too dangerous and there is no lift.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The good and the bad news
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stiff small stair steps

    If you are looking for a very wonderful view of the Amstel river when you wake up or before going to sleep please ask for room 211. You will never forget what you see through your window. You can also enjoy a great complimentary cup of Nespresso seating by the window and you will enjoy watching the boats and the swans... That´s the great news... The bad ones: it´s and historical building so they do not have elevator and the steps are really stiff and small so If you are travelling with large luggage you will suffer!!! The staff was very kind with me but I know it is not regular for them to help carrying 25kilos on that kind of stairs. Definitely not a suitable hotel for people with special needs or health issues but the view is really something to die for!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Happily stay at hotel again on my next trip to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast, although hotel has arrangement with a cafe some 10-12 minutes walk away.

    Comfortable, slightly quirky hotel with friendly staff in great location. All of central Amsterdam within easy walking distance. On day of arrival I discovered that a bag of toiletries containing medication had been removed from my hand luggage by an airport official at Gatwick and not returned. As a result I had to go to a hospital in Amsterdam and get an emergency supply to cover me during my stay in Amsterdam. Max was really helpful in dealing with the situation and getting me taxi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay and welcoming staff
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the location, excellently situated. Beautiful typical 17th century amsterdam house on a stunning canal with view over the opera house and historical canal houses. Very close to public transportation (metro, tram) so easy to reach all spots. Delicious possibility of breakfast in very cool place some doors down the street. Staff very helpful in explaining details of the city, and in catering to our needs for the room. Warm welcome, very nice personal touch. Strongly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Beware of the stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the third floor and the stairs were dangerous. They weren't normal stairs more like a spiral ladder. The room was tilted and when getting up from the bed we would fall because of the tilt. Anyone with any mobility issues should not stay here. We saw that the hotel had air conditioning but found out its only certain rooms that have it and since it was Amsterdam in the summer it was very humid and hot. We did have a fan though.

    The location was great. It was right in the middle of Rembrandplein and very close to the tram stop. The staff carried our bags for us which was necessary.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    3.8
    A good location and nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The girl at the reception was very rude and condescending especially when we were surprised how steep the stairs were and that the room was on the second floor since we had very heavy bags to carry. There was no elevator or a person to help with the luggage and there was no person available at the reception at night. The room was very basic with a soap dispenser to use as shampoo, body wash and hand wash.

    The location is excellent and right on Amstel river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The steep stairs were very steep but we were warned in advance and staff helped carry our bags up and down. It is an unavoidable part of staying in a traditional old house.

    The hotel is in a great location right on the canal and near to Rembrandt square. Quiet at night. Very clean and comfortable. We had a wonderful view over the canal with all the tour boats passing by. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Stay away, unless you like really steep, winding stairs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs to the front door and then, the stairs to the first floor were atrocious! There were no screens on the windows, so room was very buggy. Bathroom was microscopic.

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    I will definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, but the stairs are pretty dangerous. Be careful!

    I stay at the room with canal view and there is a nespresso machine. I love it! Having delicious coffee with nice breeze from the canal is all one can ask for. The staffs are nice and friendly, especially Maria, she is beautiful and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Amstelzicht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: