Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Amstelzicht

Reviews of Hotel Amstelzicht This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Amstel 104, Amsterdam City Center, 1017 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#163 of 447 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 929 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    7.5
    Decent hotel, location but a big hiccup!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only one issue we had with this hotel was the accidental authorising (and immediate cancelling of the transaction) of my bank card which meant approximately £600 was held (on top of the full payment amount) for 7 days before it was returned into my bank. We were given a room upgrade which was a nice gesture from the hotel, but the fact that it caused many issues in terms of mortgage payments etc was a big issue for me. My card had already been authorised 4 weeks prior to this incident so I was unsure why it needed to be checked a second time? Maybe just a mistake however quite a crucial one.

    The property was comfortable and the triple canal view room we upgraded to was spacious enough. Good standard facilities (tv, kettle, small fridge) and clean through out. Great location only a short walk to the city centre. Had an issue which is mentioned below however overall it was a good hotel and I would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    7.1
    They offer shuttle service what you need to order & pay yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They are showing, that they offer shuttle service. Actually they don't. You need to order & pay shuttle yourself. If I asked about the cost of it and schedule, receptionist didn't know it. Very poor service and unfair for clients.

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    4.2
    the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast possibility Stairs impossible to climb with a suitcase unless being a professional climber no elevator Huge stains in the carpet in the room : looks disgusting

    the location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    8.8
    Good location, pleasant and comfortable, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a little dated, but clean and tidy. Exactly what was expected for the money. I’d stay again.

    Good location, pleasant and comfortable, good value.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.8
    Super convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a problem for us, but be aware that there is no elevator in this property and it has a very steep and windy staircase to the rooms. The staff helped another group who had large luggage but if you do have a larger suitcase or mobility issues, this could be a drawback.

    Super convenient location. We received a free upgrade to a canal view room which was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a twin room and the beds are almost connected, a bit too close for friends travelling. The pillows are awful, like cubes of foam inside a pillow case and they are also small pillows, however this is a minor point.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. The location is great and very central. The room was small and basic, but clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel - facilities a little basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely steep stairs - very difficult to lug suitcases up No lift No bar facilities No decent lounge area

    Hotel in a good location within 20 minutes walk of most tourist attractions Staff friendly and helpful Very quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - 1 out of the 3 receptionists was not friendly at all - he didn't provide information about the area and was too concise - water pressure was low (might have already been fixed)

    Great locations up to 15 minutes walking to the dam square Close to Rembrandtplein square cozy and quite

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    I love it here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great!

    Staff extremely friendly and gave us a map with what to do and where to go which was awesome as we did the route he told us the next day! Very comfortable beds and we had a very large room with a canal view which was gorgeous!! Fantastic location with walking distance to a lot of places and a tram station 30 seconds away. We didn't hear any noise from outside at all really. Highly recommend this place it's beautiful and the people are wonderful! I'd deffinately stay here again. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.3
    The location is superb and staff at the reception were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a bit dusty and the cleaning staff had a loud and aggessive fight while cleaning the room next door. The reception staff handled the situation promptly after our call so the hotel is not to blame :)

    The location is superb and staff at the reception were very welcoming . They gave great tips on Amsterdam and were very helpful when I needed to urgently find a laundry shop early evening.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.3
    Best place I've stayed in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs were rough but doable , wouldn't stop me from coming here again. The hotel IS slightly slanted when you're looking at it from outside. When a truck drove by in the early morning the room shook a little , plus there was a washing machine near our room that made noise all day and all night. Not enough to bother us , but enough to notice

    We had a cosy room on the top floor overlooking the canal ,the room was spacious and clean , mattresses were comfortable however the mattress was not a double. The room had coffee and tea and a little fridge for your needs. The bathroom was small but it was fine. The staff are really friendly , area excellent! I've been to Amsterdam before and this was definitely my favourite place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    Loved staying in one of the dancing houses, was on the 3rd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved staying in one of the dancing houses, was on the 3rd floor and had to walk up very small 300 year old stairs, but was laughing about it. Felt very welcomed and would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.4
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 single beds pushed together, that when u laid on them, you rolled imto the middle and the beds kept coming apart. Also bathroom was very cold as dont seem to have heating in them.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    Boutique style hotel, great location and facilities. Easy access to all of Amsterdam's attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Small boutique style hotel, which dates back to around 1650. Great central location (near Rembrandstplein) with canal views. Easy walking access to all main attractions and to a huge range of bars and restaurants. Helpful staff who could answer questions and provide recommendations. Very narrow staircase, so if you have mobility issues ask for the room on the ground floor, which is more like a suite, so has plenty of space.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, affordable price, old house in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is not served in the hotel. The stairs are very steep, be careful (I suppose all houses in downtown have this problem).

    Very good location, affordable price, old house in the city dowtown.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, close to attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double bed was 2 single beds pushed together, they kept moving apart in the night.

    The rooms are spacious and very cosy. The hotel is in the city centre close to lots of popular attractions.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    The Staff has been really great and the room comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The access very difficult and the fact to be in the basement.

    The Staff has been really great and the room comfortable. The location is really perfect. Having a upper floor room would have been perfect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.9
    Room was nice size and comfy bed location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was at the back didn’t get much sleep was building going on which started very early aswell as a bar next to my window where the staff seem to smoke, shout and throw glass bottles around 24-7

    Room was nice size and comfy bed location was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    5.0
    Bad experience, had to change to a different hotel after 1 night although we had paid for 2 nights!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and loud and smelly, the interior was old and the carpet very dirty and with stains. The room shakes from the metro. The stairs are very steep and dangerous, no lift. Rooms are too close to one another, one can hear everything. We had to change hotels after the first night as it was really not comfortable.

    The location is good, however all other requirements for a nice stay are unfortunately not met!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Nice experience staying right in the center of the Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More light in rooms.

    Very welcome and willing to help personnel. Especially administrator Roman. We had a number of difficulties related as accommodation, as location of some points of interest. Roman fluently and quickly solved all our issues.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    2.9
    First of all, the bed is uncomfortable and there are too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all, the bed is uncomfortable and there are too much construction front the hotel also the roads are closed which is mean you need to carry your bags about 250m to reach the hotel. Secondly, this is first time see hotel charged their guests for the water because, there’s no trust to drink water from the tape of the toilet for guests even if the water clean I can’t take it from the toilet 😷. And there is one of them staff in the reception her name is(Maria) she is not good welcoming and moody women for example, if you are from Europe she gives you a good talk and if you’re not she doesn’t care of you which’s mean she is (reassess). In the end they charged me around 500€ and they want 3€ for water however, every hotel should provide two bottles of water at least for the guests what I saw that in every hotel room which I was staying with before. Finally, I advise you don’t book this hotel. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive for what it was. We were allocated a basement room with windows to a side alley with the bins. Very disappointed as we splashed out on a 'nice hotel' that turned out to be not so nice after all. Room not cleaned on the first day due to 'misunderstanding'. Rooms only cleaned after 2pm, which means if you come back for an afternoon break, your room will not be cleaned. I would expect a hotel with these aspirations to be cleaned in the morning. No breakfast facilities.

    Very comfy beds. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay...with no much luggage then it is simply fantabulous...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property does not have elevator was difficult to move around with luggage...!

    Hotel was clean, nice location, friendly staff, and we'll maintained. Keep up the good job!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the ambiance of the city of Amsterdam, however the extreme heat was difficult without air
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, there was construction being completed on the street in front of the hotel so our taxi could not get us close to the hotel. After a 10 hour flight, dragging our luggage for several blocks was exhausting. Perhaps the staff could alert future guests and recommend a taxi which is familiar with the situation. When we were leaving, the staff arranged for a taxi who picked us up a few steps from the entrance of the hotel.

    Excellent location and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    5.8
    Probably won’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom lights didn’t work. The shower was a triccle of water from a shower head. We felt like the room had not been properly cleaned before us being put into it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.8
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were put in the "back room" which is a modern extension ( disappointed as we wanted to be in the older more characteristic part of the hotel) backroom looked onto an alley from one of the restaurants. no through air. quite dark and. bottle smashing 4.30 am most days. there was no consideration from the restaurant staff. we went when it was hot and very uncomfortable, it was a toss between sweltering (closing window to take out some of the noise) or have a terrible nights sleep with continual bottle clacking at all hours. no air con either. no views. just a smelly back alley,.. nice room tho.

    beds were super springy , i didnt like them, the mattress kept falling off the base, room was nicely decorated and clean. location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.8
    This small and cosy hotel is located in the heart of...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This small and cosy hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, in an authentic old building. All the activities and must see places area around. It took us ~25 min to walk to the hotel from the Central train station to the hotel. The room we got on the 1st floor had a fantastic look over a canal. The beds were indeed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a great location and is a historic building. We arrived early in the morning and as I had emailed ahead with the time of arrival, they had our room ready for us. We were on the second floor, the stairs are very narrow and steep, but somebody offered to carry our suitcases to our room. The room was quirky and had a sloping floor! and had all amenities needed including a desk fan which helped keeping the room cool with the hot weather we had. The fridge, tea and coffee, and bathroom amenities (body wash, shampoo) was replenished daily. The bathroom was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for a short city break

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.9
    Great view from canal view room, clean room, good facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    3 flights very steep stairs, sound of a boiler/washing machine at night? Steeet outside being resurfaced during stay

    Great view from canal view room, clean room, good facilities, excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel watch out for the stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Luckily we were on the first floor as I ask for a lower room due to a dodgy knee wouldn't fancy going up flights of those stairs lol

    Location was amazing and the staff are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    great location , great hotel crew
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room fridge was not working and was not fixed while we were there. The staff let us use their fridge

    The staff was great and kind. The room was big and as expected. It was a nice stay and great location. Rembrant square behind the hotel is lovley with great atmosphere .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is an example of typical historical Amsterdam building and located in the heart of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room that we stayed is big enough for 4 people and hotel is located in the heart of city. All basics are provided, which may be needed by a visitor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is perfect👍🏻 The room is big enough for 3 and the canal view is quite nice. The staff is helpful and kind, Roman is the best giving hints of the cool places😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent view of one of the many beautiful canals in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't get to stay longer than one night.

    Excellent view of one of the many beautiful canals in Amsterdam. Really close to a lot of great restaurants and coffee shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.5
    Good location but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in attitude of the staff - plain rude, stating many times that smoking and getting high is not allowed into the hotel and when explaining how to get in late with the keys (since there is no open reception at night) that he wouldn't wake up to open us the door. This made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable.

    Good location and comfortable room. Expect the usual traditional steep stairs in classic Amsterdam buildings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    5.8
    I don't recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too overpriced, max 3* hotel. View to 5 over fulfilled garbage cans with a lot of garbage around doesn't cost 200 euro per night. Something 13 mm brown crawled on the window sill (I don't know what was it: scum?

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    6.3
    ok. for light travelers and one night stay if priority is to stay outside...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room(just big enough to pass along the bad with no room for the suitcase), window was facing another window, stairs were like a ladder (typical Amsterdam they said) even so I have not suffered this in other hotels where I have stayed in Amsterdam. They do not have hotel shuttle bus to the hotel even so they have declared that on Booking.com so I was misinformed otherwise I would not book it, Bad had mattress that was sliding all the time so I had to get up and push it back against the wall from time to time...etc.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay and locate yourself, away from the busy town, but plenty of walking needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Distance to central Amsterdam

    The room was superb, plenty of space, clean and airy also the beds were so comfy. Lovely to come back to at the end of each busy day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, clean, quaint hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and bathroom were quite small, and we had no view in the twin room we booked. The staircase is very steep as stated in the hotel's description and there is no elevator. It would be very difficult for an older traveler.

    Nice, quaint, clean hotel in a very convenient location with beautiful view of canal across the street. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Public transportation is just around the corner. There are with lots of restaurants and shopping in the area too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    5.0
    Noisey and a slightly sleep depriving stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisey. The ground floor room we stayed in at the rear of the property is situated on a side alley. Noise until 2.30-3am as the neighbouring bars cleared up, then the same around 7.30 when the businesses began opening for the day. It was hot and we needed the window open so it basically felt like we were sleeping in the alley, not in the €300 per night room i paid for. The room actually comes with ear plugs!! There doesn't appear to be anything in the way of sound proofing in the hotel either, so when the reception desk opens at 7.30am and staff/customers are moving about the hotel, it's pretty much all you can hear. If you're a light sleeper, do not stay here.

    It was clean, and the staff were polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My farther got third floor room , this hotel no lift only stairs Which can’t take his big luggage with him.

    Great Location near tram station,good canal view from my room in ground floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing major, however if I was to pick anything; the water in the shower and shink took a long time to drain away.

    Excellent views to the canals. Hotel is in a perfect location, in walking distance to all attractions. Friendly staff. Room was extremely clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    10
    Lovely and Charming - watch out for the steep staris though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Very Very Very steep staris

    Very charming hotel in a great location. Rooms are very nice and clean and bed was very comfortable. Very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    Amazingly good value, pretty little boutique hotel in a great location with helpful, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dangerously thin stairs but unfortunately they seem to be everywhere in Amsterdam!

    Super helpful staff. We visited during a powercut. We were staying in the basement room which as well as no power or lighting, we would have had no running water or toilet. The owner paid for my friend and I to stay in an alternative hotel for the first night until the power was back on. He couldn’t have been more helpful. Lovely boutique place, would thoroughly recommend!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.3
    Would visit again if I need to come to Amsterdam again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big issue, but there was a not natural smell/scent in the room, like someone sprayed some scent all over the place to "refresh" but it kept conflicting with the smell that it was trying to cover.

    Great location. Wi-Fi works. Comfortable bed. Room very clean. All I needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasent stay at this charming hotel. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The person who slept close to the window was somewhat bothered by the traffic outside.

    We were met by a friendly reseptionist who told us a bit about the house's history and gave us a lovely room on first floor with a beautiful wiev to the canal.The room was pretty and spacious and the beds were comfortable.We warmly recomend this charming hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel. Got our room upgraded for free. We had an early check in also. The room was clean bathroom was great. Will definitely be returning. Location was ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel ,beautiful view over the canal ..Room modern ,coffee and tea making facilities .Very comfortable bed .. Stairs very steep up to bedrooms ..we had help from the staff to carry up our bags . Overall a very nice place to stay .very happy that I chose this hotel .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.3
    Cosy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Steep stairs are common in Amsterdam I have bad knees so would have preferred a lower floor . Not many facilities if it had breakfast on site and a lift I could rate it much higher . But this aside it’s a good hotel .

    The location is very Central to everything . I liked the staff and owner very helpful during a powercut we were offered alternative accommodation but we opted to stay as showers where still hot and we sleep in the dark anyway. Rooms where clean and tidy .hotel had nice history . Close to Rembrandt square for nightlife etc Beds where awesome and Duvets really warm .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, good location, easy to get to everywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second night room changed (my flight was cancelled and I had to rebook). I lost my lovely snug attic room and got a dark basement room and it was COLD (though the weather was appalling - possibly the room hadn't been used for a bit?)

    First night lovely. Gorgeous attic room on a very cold night. Comfortable and snug.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved it. Hoping to return to Amsterdam and would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like but if you’re staying here you need to be ok on stairs. They are steep. And the pillows are square but very comfy. They just look different that’s all

    Very characteristic property, friendly helpful staff, nice and clean, great location, essentials supplied

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    Hotel was in a very good location and wasn't far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This wasn't a problem for us but people who are no good with stairs this would be the only downside for you, as they are very steep and we were on the top floor so there were 3 flights to walk up, so anyone who has knee problems for example may struggle

    Hotel was in a very good location and wasn't far from the centre maybe a 10 minute walk, staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was clean and very warm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    6.7
    Amsterdam is great, the hotels are in general subpar, when considering value/comfort ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a double room for a couple but actually two separate beds pushed together and which do not stay together so a bummer there..... The hotel is dated and while that is nice for the charm when looking at the building from the outside, it lacked on the inside basic comfort expected in a 4 start hotel costing 90 euro a night and no breakfast. But the biggest problem was the tiny inadequate cold toilet-shower facilities, with no water pressure whatsoever, and a shower handle that can be bought for one euro at the once euro shop.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish the hotel location was closer to Amsterdam centraal as it is about a 20/25 minute walk from the station

    The hotel was really nice and the rooms were bigger than what I expected. Really clean and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, great location, & comfy rooms made for a wonderful first visit to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was forewarned about the steep steps, but they’re quite small steps here. About half of my foot would fit on the step unless I turned sideways to walk up them. Carrying smaller bags like a tote, backpack, duffle, or carryon would be manageable, but any big suitcase would be a nightmare to get up the stairs, so pack accordingly.

    The location was great; super close to Rembrandt Square & the front of the hotel overlooks a canal which was so gorgeous. Bed was very comfy, variety of English & Dutch television shows were available, & the bathroom was clean & bright.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The last day of our staying, the House keeping had combined our two single beds together which is not we asked for. It would be great if there is an option of proper twin room for us to choose. Because at the moment, the two single beds are only less than 10cm apart. But they r still very comfortable.

    Clean and neat with beautiful view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    9.6
    Loved it but don’t use the mini bar|fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like the mini bar. There was a price list in the fridge that’s said water and soft drinks where €3. However, when it came time to check out we got charged €5 each. Then when we went back to the hotel to call a taxi, the man at reception said we still owed €5 which was definitely not the case. This made me quite angry.

    The room was amazing with a fabulous view, we had the room with the canal view. The bed was great, shower was the best shower I have ever had at a hotel. Staff where very pleasant, great place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    7.5
    The stairs - no info provided on this point until the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs - no info provided on this point until the booking was made. As it happened, I was staying with my mum who is 67 and has mobility problems. So, the steepness of the stairs was a big issue. If I'd known, I'd have booked eksewhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with good location - avoid bedrooms at the back .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was at the back of the hotel on the ground floor, just above an alley which backs on to bars in the square behind. In the early hours of the morning we were awoken by staff moving large rubbish containers, including large numbers of bottles - the noise continued for some time ....

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, with good facilities. The hotel is within easy walking distance of lots of the sights, and plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.9
    overall a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    girl on reception seemed reluctant to change our room despite having let me view it, and it was clearly bigger i was told "is it that important for you" well my answer to that is yes as my aunt who i was travelling with wanted a bigger bathroom. also very steep stairs which i fell down on one night so be careful! this is to be expected in a typical dutch property .

    proximity to the square, coffeeshops and eaterys

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you have a room upstairs , pay maximum attention to steps. They were the steepest steps I have ever seen

    Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Hotel is in a central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    9.6
    A fabulous time - would happily repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so incredibly helpful and friendly. They answered many queries by me via email in the run up to our visit and were very helpful and kind when I arrived, a day ahead of my partner. As the stairs are very steep, I was worried about carrying my bag up but before I could even request help, they had someone carrying my bag to my room. The hotel is historic, old, very Dutch and incredibly nice but does come with the quirks of such a tall narrow Dutch building, ie very steep stairs, etc. Once you are prepared for this, it's not a big issue. The room, although small (and who needs a huge hotel room since all you do is sleep there?), was very well appointed - even nicer than I'd imagined it would be. The place had great character and was in the perfect location in an area familiar to us. The room was very clean and had everything we needed and the shower was fabulous. The one small complaint is in regard to the beds, but could easily be resolved. We requested that the 2 single beds be pushed together into a king bed, which I came to understand was how many of the rooms are usually set up anyway. This was done but the 2 mattresses were made up separately with flat sheets and their own duvets. The bed bases stayed together and I presume were latched together, but the mattresses were not. The mattresses actually appeared to be very new and very clean, but were very lightweight and as a result, every turn or movement pushed the 2 mattresses apart, leaving a crevasses in the middle and causing us to have to repeatedly adjust them and push them back together. They were very comfy and this could surely be resolved by putting some kind of plastic latch fitting onto the ends of them that makes them stay together. Other than this, the place was perfect and I would happily stay there again. The staff are very knowledgeable about the city and good with advice and tips.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Best hotel for this Europe trip considering every aspect altogether.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went there with 5 big suitcases. It was quite difficult to bring these luggage down to the basement using the very steep stairway. However, we got help from the hotel staff.

    We had a family room at the basement. We love the room. It's specious with a kitchen and 2 big beds. The reception staffs were very friendly and kind. All staffs were helpful. The hotel is considered very close to Waterlooplain train station. Just less than 10 mins walk. Behind the hotel there are a lot of shops and restaurants (10 mins walk).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    10
    Easy, convenient will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be careful when having a shower, it’s a standing tub. Could be slippery and nothing to hold onto if you do fall.

    Perfectly located in the middle of everywhere you want to be. It’s a 20min walk from each side of Amsterdam. Friendly staff, located close to AH supermarket. House keeping friendly and great quick bites around. Easy to get to, take tram #4 or #9 to Rembrandten and it’s a 3min walk to hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Large room, good desk to work from and fantastic view over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi didnt have great signal or was nonexistent or simply not connect.

    Large room, good desk to work from and fantastic view over the Amstel river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    4.6
    Not a family hotel - beware of room on the alley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    To start, inflexible, unreasonable refund policy and nasty customer service. Then, the family room we had was in the basement on an active, noisy alley. The noise of kitchen staff, garbage men, garbage trucks, scooters all through night. Didn't get any sleep. I understand it's an historic, old building but really, I don't think it's acceptable to put people in a dark, musty basement right on an alley. And for the high price, bad value for money. Some of the other rooms might be nice but not this one. Location is great if you want to be in the middle of the action but was too much of a party scene for us. Families stay away!

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Top quality hotel & central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is a few blocks away in a restaurant, you get 10% off but there are other places closer that are better value for money

    Clean cosy rooms, secure and very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Excellent location which meant we were able to walk to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was extremely small.

    Excellent location which meant we were able to walk to all the sights. Very helpful staff. Although in the centre our room was very quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    10
    Excellent room with a great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very small and dated. The lighting in the room was quite dark.

    The room was very spacious and clean, with very comfy beds. Everything you need was in walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    8.3
    I liked that the hotel was located in a very central, lively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't like the steep stairs. Our room was basically at the top of the building and there is no lift as it is an old building. Luckily we were with the cabin baggages. The staff told us it was a nice room. Unfortunately not with a nice view. We didn't have any view.

    I liked that the hotel was located in a very central, lively place close to the tram stops. Room is renovated and everything is new, also cleaned daily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely trip in Amsterdam, people are so friendly, very safe in there, we will be back sometimes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the step is bit too sharp, but it is Amsterdam style.

    The location is good very esay to get everywhere, WiFi is good very fast, staff are friendly, nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs are narrow and steep and there is no elevator.. This was not a problem for me but anyone with mobility issues should consider staying elsewhere.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of most major attractions and neighbourhoods,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room got hot and stuffy at night. Opening a window resulted in a mosquito bite- probably by the only mosquito in Amsterdam that night! also we could hear an argument from outside, even though we were on the second floor. The toiletries provided were not to my liking and I went out and bought my own

    The location,ambience,old style Dutch house with its winding wood staircase.We could return to leave off shopping bags,change shoes or have a rest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    5.4
    Frustrating to not get the room I reserved and to be treated so poorly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I do not recommend this hotel. After looking at their website and pictures of the rooms, I made a reservation in February 2017 for a room in early October 2017. They gave our room to another party for the first night as they could charge $300 more per night. They put us in a basement room with no view of the canal that was extremely noisy and stuffy. They have a loud pump to pump the sewage up from the basement. Beware! They are in it for profit not customer service. There are a lot of other great hotels on the area.

    This was not a good experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    7.5
    Good area, very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had large room at front of building. The down fall was it's a very noisey area with a lot of pubs in street. People standing in street making lots of noise made it impossible to sleep until about 2am as room was at front. Room at back would be better for noise factor. Also as it's non smoking hotel and no garden People staying at hotel who are Smokers stand on front steps and put front of building and smoke so our room smelt constantly of cigarettes, something I think management could control as was pretty awful 😬

    Lovely old hotel in very central location

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Amstelzicht Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: