Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2 stars

Prinsengracht 328 - 332, Amsterdam City Centre, 1016 HX Amsterdam, Netherlands

#167 of 446 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2861 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    We will certainly be back. Loved the vibe and the original boutique feel it has.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our flight was delayed so we were later than expected getting to the hotel. J had checked in advance that this would be okay, which we were told would be. However we didn’t receive an overly warm welcome on arrival - just a reminder of what the time was and how late it was.

    We had read reviews and asked for a canal view as we knew that would be what we wanted. The hotel told us we had to do it through our booking with booking.com which we never got round to doing. When we arrived, much to our surprise and delight, we had a canal view which was wonderful! Would much rather stay here over a clinical modern hotel further out of the city. The stairs really are not much of a problem contrary to other reviews.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Quaint and comfortable in the heart of the beautiful Jordaan area. We will choose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We only walked up one flight to get to our room, but without a lift, staying on top floors could be a problem for some people.

    Located in a beautiful area of Amsterdam ( the Nine Little Streets) we walked to almost every tourist attraction on our list. Right on a canal and at an affordable price, the Wiechmann is exactly as advertised. The staff was excellent, helpful, and spoke perfect English. Bars and cafes were around every corner and the included breakfast started the day off just right. We will stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Loved our large room with the exceptional view and large windows that opened!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are NO elevators. We had to carry our bags up two floors of narrow and steep steps. The receptionist would have helped if asked but we managed!

    The view of the canal from our window was wonderful. The front staff were very helpful particularly Estancia who helpied us with an emergency.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Great location for tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a canal house. The stairs are very steep for anyone to carry luggage. Anyone who is not good climbing stairs will have a problem here. A dumb waiter system to take luggage up and down would be great.

    The staff was terrific. They were helpful in every way. They helped us with restaurants, directions, carrying luggage, and an emergency situation. The location is within walking distance to most major tourist attractions and front windows give a perfect view of the canal activities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable and yes, we would definitely go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would've been nice to have had tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    It was a continental breakfast which was fine, very nice, but being British I would've liked the choice of bacon/sausage and eggs - it was very good of them to allow us to leave baggage all day despite an early checkout

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only very basic toiletries provided. Canal view is wonderful, but a bit noisy in the night. And the steps...

    Beautiful old building. Rooms are clean and bright with some old furniture. Good location, quiet but not far from the centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay on the canal within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The luggage to and from the upper floor rooms is via very steep stairs. No lift

    Great place to stay on the canal within walking distance to all shops, pubs and museums

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Staff went out of their way to be helpful, printing boarding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are a challenge. This hotel not appropriate for elder or disabled guests.

    Staff went out of their way to be helpful, printing boarding passes, calling cabs etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Getting closer to the culture than in a big chain hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is mostly quiet, but you can hear sounds from close rooms. For instance, you can clearly hear the neighbour cough. Staircase is steep and narrow, just a caution for some people. Don’t think there is an elevator, so getting luggage up and down can be tricky.

    Very nice, helpful staff. Nice European style breakfast. Shower was wonderful. Room cozy, amenities good. Wi-Fi worked well. Nicely situated between the Central Station and the Museum area...about a 25 minute walk to the station, 20 to the Rijks Museum. Good restaurants close by. Pretty area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Can absolutely recommend this hotel. Just be aware it w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Th hotel is very convenient located and beautifully furnished with antiques. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room 239 was very specious, overlooked the canal and brigde and we could have not wanted for better. Beds large and comfortable, bathroom although small, adequate, functional, clean and modern.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Great tim - hotel, area and sunshine. Love it always
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - had stayed here before and loved it. Yes the climb up stairs can be dangerous and daunting - so slow and steady. If you want to have a good break anywhere you have to plan & research and do some more.

    Liked the location, the staff, the 'olde- world feel of an historic building\hotel. Would Mr Weichman be happy with how the ethos and character of his hotel has embraced the evolving future - Yes I I think he really would be. It is clean and tidy - efficient and friendly. But beware like most 17th century Amsterdam buildings - naturally no lift - not good for those carrying mountain bags of luggage, the less-mobile or the age. DO NOT EXPECT LIFTS IN CENTRAL AMSTERDAM - Research - Research - Research - not blind naivety.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Charming Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, there was no bellhop and getting the suitcase up to the second floor was quite a challenge

    This hotel offers picturesque exterior, charming cozy lobby, and great location on the canal within walking distance to museums and shopping. The room was small but comfortable and had all necessary amenities. The bathroom was a good size with all new fixtures.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    The location of this hotel was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location could be better but isn’t awful, the breakfast was poor no choices and poor quality tbh!

    The location of this hotel was ok. Staff were really lovely! Room was clean. Bed wasn’t bad.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    The bed was nice. Location was pretty. The breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived from an overnight flight from the US at 6:30am and got to the hotel at 7am. A nice woman buzzed us in and told us we could leave our luggage (in an open room where anyone would be able to get it). We asked about the possibility of checking in earlier than 2pm. She said “sure! my colleague comes in at 10 as do the cleaners - just have her ask to check in when the room is ready!” So we walked around the canals for three hours, which was lovely, to kill time. We hadn’t slept in 24 hrs so it was helpful that the air was so cold to keep us awake. We returned to the hotel at 10. The new girl behind the desk is there. It takes her quite a while to realize we (and several others) are waiting for her to notice the door is buzzing and to please let us in. When she does, we explained that her colleague from 7am said to ask about checking in- and she cut me off to say “check in is at 2”. I said I realize that, but was told the cleaners start at 10 and that maybe an exception would be made since we have been here since 7am and are very cold and tired. She says “ooooh you’re right I can see who is cleaning that area and yours will be one of the first rooms- should be done by 10:30. Have a seat and I will let you know when it’s ready!” An hour goes by. I fall asleep in the chair in front of her desk, by the front door. My husband asks around 11:30 -“um do we know how much longer?” The girl replied “oh just 20mins. Wait 25, the cleaner wants to take a 5 min break.” An HOUR later we ask again. The girl calls her cleaner friend and says “OH NO! She cleaned the wrong rooms! She isn’t near yours yet!” We were so angry and exhausted with her at this point that we left and sat in a nearby establishment until 2pm. When we FINALLY got into our room hrs later.... The room was not the correct one shown in the photo. Neither of us had the energy to fight this as all we wanted to do now was sleep. We were up and gone first thing in the morning.

    The food was good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing to consider before booking - you need to take your luggage up narrow steep stairs, so if this concerns you, you should reconsider booking this property.

    Our room was large and had a great view of the canals with windows that could be opened for fresh air. The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle with easy access to trams and metro. There are some great places to explore nearby and the breakfast is great. Staff were friendly and helpful and the communal lounge is a nice meeting place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Great budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are STEEP, but there are handrails on both sides. We had chosen a small room which made it a bit difficult to walk around on one side of the bed.

    Great location. Good, plain breakfasts (meats, cheeses, breads, eggs, cereals, etc.). Nice lounge with comfortable chairs.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    The historical side of this side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To early for check out as we arrived very late the evening before. Didn’t really had enough time to enjoy the hotel fully

    The historical side of this side. Really felt like you were in Holland. And the location is excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    The breakfast room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathroom were disappointing.They looked tired. Bedding could be updated.

    The breakfast room was beautiful. Lovely breakfast. Nice day room with hot drinks available. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Lovely decor and interesting things to look at.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Great stay at the Wiechmann
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were a little challenging with suitcases.

    The location was excellent,beautiful view of the canal and walking distance to everything,staff were really friendly and helpful, hotel was very clean and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    We would go back in a heart beat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Everything was lovely! The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable as are the beds, the bathroom was clean and the towels thick and fluffy. The breakfast offered many choices and was all tasty. The only thing to keep in mind is that the stairs are steep...just like all the rest of Amsterdam!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice family hotel, good simple breakfast of which there is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow staircase, older people may find it difficult. They give you the option to leave your cases downstairs

    Nice family hotel, good simple breakfast of which there is plenty. Good size room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Good reasonably priced hotel with charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a bit of street noise, but the view made up for it. If you want a quiet room, don’t choose the canal view.

    The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an historic old building and has plenty of charm. Our room was large and looked out on Prinsengracht canal. The breakfast room was pleasant and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    Mini Amsterdam getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea in the room would’ve been nice. We were on the 3rd floor with no lift, so it’s a bit of a trek to come down to make a coffee when it’s late.

    The location is wonderful. Central Amsterdam, close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was enjoyable and clean, and the staff were smily and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few extra pillows in the room would have been nice, and breakfast could have had a bit more variation.

    The location is lovely and for the price it was clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfy. Our 4 bedroom was snug, no room for splaying, but we all managed fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and centrally located hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't try the breakfast so can't really comment on that. Nothing to complain about. Although as others have mentioned, access to all of the rooms are by some steep steps so take care when going up and down with your suitcase.

    Comfortable and centrally located in the heart of Amsterdam. Easy to walk to the nearby sites. Would stay again. Easy to get to as Bus 397 from the airport drops off 5 minutes walk away. Amsterdam is a great place to visit and this is a good base to see it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Expensive for what it was although location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep stairs to bedroom. Bedroom too warm with no air conditioning. Fan provided but was noisy to use.. Toiletries were like the free sample sachets you get out of magazines. Found some mould on the bread at breakfast time.

    Good location for the purpose of my trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location but really poor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a very average room located up two difficult flights of stairs if you have any luggage to carry and it looked into some inner service / yard area and the windows of similar 2nd rate rooms.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    To find a hotel at reasonable cost in Amsterdam centre with a view over a canal was a good result.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only criticism are steep staircases but this added to the charm.

    A quaint traditional property with all amenities in an excellent location convenient walking distance for the central district. Good breakfast in pleasant dining room. Requested room with canal view which did not disappoint and with functional en suite facilities. Helpful staff and ability to leave luggage on day of departure until required.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location to enjoy all that Amsterdam has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent and the view from the room was awesome. The included breakfast was a nice touch. Staff were very helpful when we needed assistance in planning our day. It exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carrying my 20kg bag to the top floor was challenging but I knew it was accessible by stairs only.

    The room was comfortable and the breakfast great. I had a wonderful view of the canal from my window. They were able to accommodate me with a slightly earlier check in which was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    A great location in the city for a family with Children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a family room for 4 people and the rooms were very large. We had a great view of the canal and the location was great. The staff was very nice and they made it easy for us to leave our bags for the day when we checked out. The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport which made the trip much easier. The breakfast was OK. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location (nearest tram to centraal is 6 minute walk!) , it is NOT a 15 minute walk to the centraal like the hotel advertises, its double the time. the triple room is VERY basic, it was clean but the bed and pillows were so uncomfortable, not what I needed after a long day of walking. For the price I paid I expected more comfort at least.

    the lady in reception was welcoming and lovely. and the mint and toffee bowls in reception!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and not continental, as no pastries. A lot of noise in the evening between 11.00-11.30 pm near the kitchen area below which came up to the first floor. This happened on both nights stayed. The rooms were basic ,old style and need an upgrade.

    Great location near to all the places of interest. Receptionist were fantastic and helpful and we were allowedd leave our bags after checkout as flight was late in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and the price was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to our room were challenging, especially when it came to carrying up and down our luggage. We managed but we probably should have taken up the essentials and left the heavy suitcases in the holding area.

    The hotel gave us a true picture of the living accommodations in Amsterdam. It's location was within walking distance to all major site seeing areas in the city and the included breakfast was an additional bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Very handy location. Book a room on first or second floor overlooking the canal if you can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't realise my room would be on the third floor, and there were no lifts. The stairs were very steep and nobody was there to help with my suitcase. I travel fairly light, but those steep stairs were a challenge indeed! In hindsight I could have left my suitcase downstairs in the storage area and only taken up what I needed, but this wasn't what I really felt comfortable doing. Still, it was a historical building! So no lifts are to be expected - if you know in advance.

    Very nice breakfast. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Historical elements of the hotel were lovely and added to the experience. Location was very good. I could walk everywhere but also only a short walk from the trams.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    very central, charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more options at breakfast would be nice. steep stairs are a problem if you have a lot of luggage.

    staff is very welcoming. all day hot drinks for free in the lobby. the hotel just has a very nice feel to it. the bathroom was newly renovated and quite modern. we will definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location near museums, Anne Frank House, Dam Square - all within walking distance. Lovely building by the side of a canal with great views from the breakfast room. Highly recommended. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Felt like an authentic Amsterdam stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs are a bit imposing, but worth it and add to the Amsterdam charm.

    Nice little hotel with views of the canal. Really enjoyable. Felt like an authentic Amsterdam experience with older European charm, complete with small, very vertical stairs … which added to the experience. If you can’t haul your own luggage up steep narrow stairs, this in not the place for you. If you can, it’s very enjoyable. Room was large with doors that open to the small balcony. Wifi good. European style breakfast was plenty. Wonderful stay. Recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was so helpful And friendly Nothing was too much! It is so unique staying in a 17th century canal home best location on the canal belt. Have stayed here multiple times and always been pleased Will definitely return

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Very traditional and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Good location. Friendly, helpful staff. Beware no lift and VERY steep stairs to first level. Winding narrow stairs to floors two and three. Very quaint, traditional, but tiring. If your room overlooks the canal, which is nice, it can also be quite noisy especially on a Friday night with Windows open. Not too far to canal tours, museums, restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    -Location ,close to many city attractions .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Small room. -No AC -No elevator in the hotel. The stairs are very narrow /steep and16 steps each floors. Definitely no problem for young customers but not for people with mobility issues . -Check in after1430

    -Location ,close to many city attractions . -Charming boutique hotel with relaxed atmosphere in the lobby. -Breakfast not great but enough and beautiful canal view in the dining room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    The location is great. The staff are great. The room not that much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is too small, and lacked the technological aspects. I know it is an old building but adding some gadgets and making some renovations would not hurt.

    I liked the location, it is in the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    A great hotel to stay in, I'd definitely try and book a night or two here again. Hope it stays in th
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very spacious room with great views of the canal. The hotel is timeless which is what I wanted...loved that it is still owned and run by the family. It is located in a lovely part of the city. Staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    A Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - there was no air-conditioning unit in my room and I was staying during the summer when it was so warm. I had an electric fan but it didn't really help a lot. Needed to open the windows for some cool air but it was a bit noisy coz the hotel is beside the roads - the night table was dusty, seemed like it wasn't cleaned for a while - the stairs were steep, not suitable for guests with a lot of belongings with them (no elevators also), for the elderly and kids too

    - the view I had from the room overlooked the canal scenery so it was great! - i love the old furnitures which are still in a very good condition, made of tree and big ones (bed, make-up table, wardrobe cabinet) -the hotel lies in a very good location and I found everything easily with the help of some maps

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    The direct tram station from where they quickly reach to any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The direct tram station from where they quickly reach to any point in the city.Exeptionel location,easy walk to the very center of Amsterdam.Close to Rajksmuseum,Van Goh museum,Anne Frank museum

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment with this hotel is the access. The main entrance does not accommodate a pushchair and the stairs are steep and narrow. Rooms were on the second and third floor which was difficult to get to because of the stairs.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Breakfast had a good variety.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely quaint hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a bit rough around the edges- loose threads on bed sheets, holes in towels, dusty in places- minor things really. Lots of sheets on beds, I think less is more when it comes to bed linen..

    Very quaint building, full of character. Nice big room, comfy beds, TV had great English options, nice staff, good location, quiet. Breakfast was good. Fans were provided which was lovely as it was quite warm. Luggage storage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    great base for an amsterdam visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free tea / coffee / hot chocolate machine in lobby is a nice benefit. Lovely breakfast. Location was excellent. room to store luggage before check-in & after check-out is a great help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    We had a fabulous time. The city is absolutely lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator/lift. We were on the 4th floor and we had to lug our very heavy suitcases up to our room. When I asked if someone could help us, the answer was no - there is no one. Great. The stairs to our room are very narrow and steep. Also, there is no air conditioning. That part didn’t bother me as I enjoy having the window open but it could be an issue for some people.

    Perfect location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    A good place for our short stay except for the scary stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room in the non-elevator building was at the top of four flights of narrow tread circular staircase which made even small luggage a real challenge.

    Lounge area for awaiting friends and great luggage storage area were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Ask for room 121!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ask for room 121! An amazing view of the canal and bridge on the corner. We loved this room and wish we had more time at this location. Out of the crazy busy red light and shopping streets, but only a short walk away. Right next door to a supermarket and many cool places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    If your priority is location and character, this is second to none. Literally, not just as a cliche.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I love this place. It's full of character and its location is the best you could hope for in Amsterdam. That is literally no exaggeration. Don't go here if you're someone who only likes five-star places with all the things. The breakfast is basic in a very Dutch sort of way (I like that, but not everybody does), the rooms small and even cramped, some of them. But its a real gem. I love the people there, the history of it and everything about it. I'd actually like to live there for the rest of my life :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff were excellent very helpful shower was very good WiFi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small but there are probably larger rooms lots of stairs no lift but that’s Amsterdam

    Staff were excellent very helpful shower was very good WiFi excellent Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    I was very disappointed with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very central and within easy reach of All sights. I would return but be more careful with room selected mentioned below.

    I was very disappointed with the room. The room selected from the web site was misleading and this should be made clear when booking. Perhaps the other bedroom on the web site images should have been classified as a superior bedroom. The bed room I got did overlook the canal but that's the only similarity.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Amazing stay in Amsterdam made all the better by the location of our hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very old fashioned hotel (but then of course it is considering where it is located) My bed was hard and the room didn't look like it had been dusted for quite a while. Breakfast was very basic (only just about adequate). I should point out however that its location more than compensated for any other short falls.

    I absolutely loved the location being right by a peaceful canal but still very central. Short walk to everything. But best of all the view from our room was amazing. We had double french doors that opened up to give us an unparalleled view of the street below and the canal. I could have spent hours sitting there watching the world go by. One of best views I've ever had from a hotel room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay, very walkable to all sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back of the hotel, so we had no view.

    Overall an excellent hotel. Lack of an elevator would be challenging for some, but it was fine for us on the second floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, close to many attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The steep stairs were a bit of a struggle. Definately not for people with mobility issues.

    Perfect location, close to many attractions. clean rooms, friendly staff. The free hot drink selection in the lounge is a welcome addition. A lovely relaxed atmosphere in the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Excellent Amsterdam exciting adventures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee not in the rooms but in the lounge however it was nice to sit in the lounge and drink a hot drink instead of going straight to the room

    Clean large rooms . Lovely breakfast ,friendly staff great location 10 min walk from most activities from Dam square to the Hard Rock Cafe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    This location was walking distance to a lot of major...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would’ve liked a mini fridge in my room and other items either in the room or available at the front desk i.e, iron and ironing board

    This location was walking distance to a lot of major attractions!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    I'd like to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs were very steep and I had a hard time carrying my luggage.

    Very good location! The hotel was a short walk (about 5 minutes) from the tram stop, which made it very easy to get around town efficiently. Friendly staff always ready to help, nice breakfast with sunny breakfast room, lovely lounge with free tea and coffee. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    The best weekend with my husband.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like we will definitely be returning.

    The staff were wonderful and friendly. The hotel was perfectly clean. The location couldn't of been any better. We loved it .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel, I would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small but adequate.

    Great location, very clean hotel with friendly helpful staff. I would highly recommend this hotel for all of the reasons given

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    ok for overnight stay and close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs otherwise good.

    A lovely family run hotel, but i requested a lower floor room as my husband is disabled and the stairs are so steep and we were right at the top of the hotel 3rd floor so when you left the room in the morning did not go back to it until it was bedtime. The staff are amazing and carried our suitcases up the stairs. We did have a lovely view over the canal and it was quite central for attractions. breakfast was ok what you expect when abroad . But lovely hotel if your young and fit and have plenty of stanima to get up the steep stairs good work out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Charming traditional-style hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are several steep staircases in the hotel, and, carrying luggage, I mistakenly took the wrong one that led to a backdoor. A 'this way to the reception' plate at all the stairway doors would be great.

    Charming boutique hotel with local character. Friendly staff always ready to help, sunny breakfast room, lovely lounge with free tea and coffee, very comfortable bed. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The least positive part are the stairs but it was not a problem.

    The location is perfect, it's super easy to get anywhere on foot. The hotel is on the edge of the canal and the view is perfect.The staff are super friendly and helped us in all the issues we had.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    We wanted a comfortable, safe place off the beaten track, and Hotel Wiechmann was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a short walk (about 3 minutes) from the tram stop, which made it very easy to get around town efficiently. The character was exactly what we were looking for. We do not stay in big corporate hotels, but much prefer local places that fit within their community. That's exactly what we found at Hotel Wiechmann.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was well located and served a lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was well located and served a lovely breakfast. Since stairs can be difficult for me, I stored my large suitcase in the downstairs closet and only carried up my overnight bag for the one night that we would be there prior to our cruise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable price hotel in the center of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - 4th floor room was hot and stuffy (not even a fan was provided) - steep stairs not nice if one has lots of luggage to haul up or down - showing it age and wear & tear

    + location + breakfast room and breakfast buffet + friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well first thing is that they give me a room that i did not wanna have and not the one i book. It was small and very hot in the room and for air-condition we had to open the windows and you can hear everything from outside. We left the next day because we couldn’t stay there because it suck and it was bad. Don’t get me wrong the people where not unfriendly , just what i wanted when when we got there.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Cute old style home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are very steep and it can be very confusing to get out, some sings might be helpful. Our bathroom smelt of urine, but i’m not sure how you would get rid of the smell out of the tiles. Just a couple of small mones.

    The location was fantastic, with in walking to lots of things. Breakfast view was cool watching everyone biking to work and looking over the canel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It'd be cool to have some air conditioning facilities in rooms.

    The location is great! The best choice to spend a few days near the Amsterdam's city center!:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was the only redeeming feature
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in July. Hot and no fan or aircon to cool room. Curtains did not help cut heat or light. Room cluttered with too much furniture. Continental breakfast was basic and limited. Breakfast room very hot in the morning. Don’t book if steep narrow stairs are an issue.

    Location on canal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there during heatwave!!! No aircon but a good fan available. Rare for this to occur though.

    Location location location! Traditional style canal house. Loved it. Lots of stairs. Great breakfast. Step out to the nicest part of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic old traditional hotel in heart of a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely traditional old hotel in the heart of Amsterdam - plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking of hotel. Staff were lovely, helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble . Rooms clean and tidy. Breakfast buffet was very good too - would highly recommend !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, nice breakfast with great views from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and there’s no air con. This wouldn’t usually be a problem - it just happened to be a heatwave.

    Excellent location, nice breakfast with great views from breakfast room. Nice characterful building.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: