Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw 4 stars

Damrak 93-94, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 LP Amsterdam, Netherlands

#209 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 505 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My refrigerator was broken

    There was construction going on nearby which isn’t the hotels fault but it was still disturbing. One of the guest complained while I was in the lobby and the staff memeber did everything he could to try and limit the noise, he even confronted the construction worker so that was above and beyond! I don’t remember the staff members name but he was wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst experiense ever. Very very very expensive, for smallest room in the World. I will never go there again - and I will take care that none of my friends will never do the same mistake.

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel does not have 4-star hotel facilities . This hotel is very expensive due to the facilities . I paid extra for every night as a tourist tax . For every night, about 12 euros . My room was 408 and was very small.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They are currently redoing the entire restaurant downstairs with makes the entrance hard to find. But this is obviously temporary.

    Right in the center of Amsterdam within walking distance of virtually anything. The staff is superb and speaks English better than most Americans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is too small.

    Great location, free smartphone with unlimited mobile internet access, phone calls and museum/attraction ticket discounts during your stay, free mini bar. Free tea/coffee in the room. Room with a street view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff of the hotel can do better job with re-filling the room's consumables, things like toilet paper, shampoo & etc weren't refilled, I had to ask for that, but when I asked fixed almost immediately.

    I really liked this hotel, started my stay with a quick & easy check in, when I got into the room I discovered a mobile device dedicated to my stay which I could use to navigate the city, buy tickets, ,make calls & etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room was a little smaller than expected - Bathroom was quite small

    - Location - Staff - 'Handy' phone ( although it would be ideal if you could hotspot from the phone?)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small, if you're there for a long period (over a week) you may find it hard to fit all your belongings.

    Cosy, pleasant, great for the value, doesn't feel cheap but offers great prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was that there was no restaurant but it is in the process of being extended to be able to have a restaurant :)

    Couldn't get a better location than this hotel in my opinion!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was not placed in the bathroom - but in the actual room which was a bit strange but didn't cause major issues.

    Staff were extremely friendly and the location of the hotel was superb. The rooms were spotless and comfortable - ideal!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise of building work downstairs during the renovations. Staff not being made aware of late checkout and coming in.

    Staff were very cheerful and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that there was building work going on while we were there as it was quite noisy some morning's

    Rooms were clean and comfy and great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is quite slow

    We loved the size of our room, the facilities provided and where we were in the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent for the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevator was not working. I realize these things happen but we should have received a discount or an offer to move to a lower floor at no charge. We were not told about the complimentary breakfast. We only found out about it when we were checking out.

    Room was very comfortable. Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is under restoration; the only lift was not working, and they gave us a room in a 3rd floor with "dutch stairs" (a.k.a. steep stairs). all for 400 euros/night.

    the positive point is the location. 50 mts. away from the main square; and it's a clean hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working lift. Broken down for a few days before my arrival so they could have let me know. I am a chronic asthmatic and they left me on third floor with six flights of stairs to climb. Luckily my son met me to help me. They didn’t clean my room on the first day, shower flooded the bathroom floor, heating inadequate and room very cold most of the time. Coffee machine broken. Complimentary tea bags and sugar never replaced and mattress kept slipping from bed at night making it easy to slide off! Night staff very unhelpful. Tried to charge me city tax again even though my receipt clearly said it was included. A lot of money for no room service in fact no service.

    No nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. Broken window which was unable to completely close. So it was cool and loudly in the room. 2. The shower curtain is stinky

    The place is good. Side by side from the historical center of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *The electric system in the bedroom - not user friendly - very confusing; *Also - the shower and sower screen in the bathroom were cheap and nasty - water seeped onto the bathroom floor causing a mini flood which could cause an accident. * No alarm in the bathroom if the occupant had an accident, * Towel rails too high - hard to reach.

    Hotel within walking distance of all the sites and amusements provided in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Small rooms - The matrimonial bed was in fact 2 beds. - I found hair on the bed - The bar was not refilled - drinks were missing from it. - The restaurant of the hotel was in renovation.

    - Good location of the hotel, close to main touristic attractions. - Friendly staff - Towels were daily changed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny little room, tiny little bed, way too soft mattress, minibar not refilled, annoying construction noise (think T-Rex running around on the floor above you).

    Very friendly front desk staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction and refurbishement going on to the restaurant and the noise and vibrations

    The hotel restaurant was under construction. During the day this was noisey and disruptive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The location literally could not be better. The hotel is clean and modern. My room was really spotless and the bed super comfy. It was also a really good size for a single room and included a lovely big bath. The staff are wonderful as well, very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I realise that it is difficult, but dealing with the mould on the tile grouting in the bathroom would be of benefit to the apperance.

    Staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad value for money, 3 stars hotel - not 4 as claimed. Tiny room. Massive reconstruction downstairs and noise. !!! And not a single warning about that reconstruction at the hotel page.

    Clean Close to railway station and not far from the canals

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building works meant no foyer or bar/restaurant available Only one lift for whole hotel Had to have expensive breakfast in another hotel We asked for a double bed and got twin beds. The extra pillow in the cupboard was stained. We asked for extra pillows which never arrived. The bathroom light didn't work. The room was very small and at €329 per night very poor value for money. We've paid much less for vastly superior 5star hotels.

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction work was going on which we were not informed about before booking. Room did not have the greatest view but was quiet otherwise.

    Location is super central and very close to main train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no mention of renovations on the hotel restaurant which meant very loud noise and vibrations in our room. We had booked this as our last hotel and wanted something relaxing and indulgent but we were unable to sleep and had to leave the room during the day. Also the room is very tiny and doesn't look at all like the size in the photos. And obviously no room service or breakfast available

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information that the hotel/restaurant is under construction, means no breakfast in the hotel (only in the hotel next door), no possibility to eat or drink in the evening (only outside)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the decor was dated. conversations between rooms can be heard easily. the wifi would partially work in the rooms. there was a pungent odor from the bathroom or exterior.

    the location is excellent. the customer service was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is currently under construction/re-modelling. If i had known this before booking i wouldn't have booked. Drilling every morning that vibrated throughout the whole hotel from 9am onwards. Very small and basic rooms, so small that the bathroom door doesn't fully open because of the bed. Definitely not worth €210 per night. No bar or restaurant as it's under construction. Feel this hotel ruined our trip. I'm sure there's better hotels in this city for the money. This defiantly isn't a 4 star hotel.

    Good location, on Dam square, everything in walking distance. Clean and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unfriendly staff, dirty rooms, rude treatment, trying to make more money than 300 Euros that I paid for a half single bed per night, knocking my door every morning 9 am to make the room and wake me up, knowing at my door in the middle of the night saying im smoking when I ddnt even have cigarettes with me. Noise all day since early morning from construction/restoration of their restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really do not have anything negative to say. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. It was worth the money and would definitely stay there again.

    The front desk staff was welcoming and very helpful. The restaurant was closed for renovation. The hotel was centrally located. We could not have picked a better choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a window to the alley and it was quite noisy from time to time. The restaurant was beeing renovated and therefore not in use. Did not really bother us but if you are a light sleeper and want to have breakfast at the hotel.

    Super friendly staff, top location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was being renovated while I was there and you had to use the one at the hotel a few doors away. Also, there seemed to be a carnival that went until late in Dam Square and this made it quite noisy at night.

    The hotel is centrally located and within close proximity of many shops, restaurants, and historic venues in the central business district. The front desk staff were polite, professional, and went way above and beyond in responding to questions and helping me to find my way around. My room, which faced the main street, was bright and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all faultless and so friendly and helpful it was like staying at a family run hotel. They easily arranged taxis and booked restaurants or gave advice on where to go. Rooms were basic but clean with incredibly comfortable beds! Perfect location and would stay there again or recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very noisy (sound of lift machinery all night). Rooms quite small and bathroom tiny and not very well laid out but I suspect this is par for the course in Amsterdam.

    Excellent location and staff very nice. Excellent coffee machine in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger towels Service the lift property Breakfast would be a good start

    Very clean but spartan budget room Very very small towels Very slow lift Good security Great wi fi connection Good free coffee No breakfast Quiet room considering it's in dam square

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Serious construction was being done at the front of hotel. rooms shouldn't have been given out as there banging made it impossible to rest. this information should have been given out before.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was slow. ,The floor was n my room seemed so never. The floors were bare and seemed uneven. Not sure why..

    The staff was very helpful. It was at a good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price .. I paid a total (accommodation only ) 370€ including all taxes . For two nights .... yes two nights only .. in a room not more than 6 msq . The hotel was having some constructions on the other half of it with some drill sounds in he morning ( not on the weekend ) . But if I come to Amsterdam again .. will compare the price with other hotels .. if price still the same ; I will take the same small room again ..

    So the hotel is really small and hidden .. but location is just perfect . In front of tram stations ( close to it ) and at the fork where you can chose your destination . I didn't try their food as their restaurant was closed for renovation . Rooms were very clean more than just clean . I got the smallest room ever you can imagine , single size bed but it was like a gift box .. clean and cozy .. space was not an issue for me as a solo traveler ..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location, about 10 m from Dam Square; the room was small, but clean and confortable, and had individual temperature controll, what was great; the staff was very kind and helpfull. I strongly recommend it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dusty, especially on top of the units. If I had known about the front of the hotel//restaurant being totally renovated then I would not have booked it.

    Friendly and helpful reception staff, who tried hard despite the renovations going on.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not stated when booking on the Non Refundable web site that the resteraunt was closed for renovationthe Rooms were the smallest I have been in ,in the last 40 years of business travel size wise very poor , Bed excellent

    The Hotel reception were extreamely helpful friendly and spoke excellent English they were 5*** +

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and reception were being renovated, which we weren't informed about before we booked or travelled.

    Superior room was very comfortable, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I apsolutely didn't like the fact we didn't get an email to tell us the hotel lobby and dining area was being refurbished It was my partners birthday on our last morning there and I wanted to treat him to a breakfast in the hotel Disappointing I'm afraid In my opinion and also other guests that I heard comments from this was a major inconvenience and one that was unexpected, warrants compensation

    Warm and cosy Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ve never had the chance to go to the hotel, because of the new years bombing in istanbul. And i was almost going to cancel it, but they were so welcoming and they told me i can visit the hotel whenever suits me. They also said noone should go through what we are going through in istanbul. I respect how much they see everyone as equal humen. Which is a lot more important than the comfort of the bed or the taste of the food or even the hygiene. Because it is the hygiene of a heart. So i checked everything with a point of perfect. Because it is important to be a human. At the end i ve never had the chance to visit the hotel because of another crisis in istanbul. But oh well, i will come and see you guys and thank you in person!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed for renovation and although the hotel had sent me at least 3 emails prior to my stay ,this was not mentioned. Breakfast had to be taken in a hotel next door ( Swiss Hotel)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower tray didn't have a box or curtains, but the pressure was great!

    The staff was very kind and polite. Beds were comfortable and rooms were warm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the stay at the hotel - did request for one double bed numberous times and still received a room with two single beds. However didn't feel the need to complain as the staff managed to check us in early and did everything to help us. Very friendly staff and amazing location right by Dam Square.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but adequate for our needs. Modern and clean room. Bed was comfortable, slept well although there was some noise coming from the corridor. Location of the hotel in the very centre of the city was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not soundproof. I can literally hear all the footsteps and conversations of people passing through the hallway. But we can let it pass, we'll stay here again if ever we'll be back in Amsterdam.

    Helpful and welcoming staff. They got you covered and will assist you in everything, from check in to check out. Location is superb as you are literally near everywhere (main train station, dam square, Madame Tussaud, Red Light district etc). Starbucks, McDonalds, KFC and convenience store are your neighbors.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smells like sewage, it's too small and the towels doesn't look fresh. The mattress is terrible too old and it seems like it hasn't been changed since the opening.

    Location & Staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not fulfill their reservation for a standard (twin) room and instead put me in a very small single room on the top floor. The view was a brick wall. And they said "Well it's already paid and the room difference is only €20 per night..." The Hilton has better rooms and similar rates for a slightly longer walk. The hotel does not have bike rental deals with Black Bike (the biggest in Centraal) and no racks for guests. Though there is great bike parking across the street. The restaurant has good food but my steak and potatoes was not worth €27 and I left with €80 for one person of which €35 was liquor.

    The hotel is on the main road (Damrak) leading from the train station and is within 100m of the palace square. It's a great place to take a walking tour of Amsterdaam center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my 95 mother had fallen and broke her shoulder and we needed to leave a day early. My bookings.com would refund the day but the hotel would not. That was rather disturbing. I would not recommend this hotel to any one.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't experience the restaurant or bar.

    Lovely corner room. Had an upgrade which was great. Nice shower and plenty of space in the room. Really helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - AC unit is not well placed, it blows direct on the bed - extremely small bathroom - generally poor lighting and very poor for sink/shave/makeup area

    - very comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, room furniture is nothing like a hotel, you can hear everything inside the room like the elevator , the room above , the ac made a really loud noise , poor furniture , the toilet felt like a dorm toilet , they do fire alarms which sets off every room on the floor I have been to three starts that have better rooms.

    The hotels location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A mirror over the vanity. The room was nice and clean. The staff was very nice and the restaurant was great.

    The breakfast was good. The bed was hard. The lights were confusing. It would be nice to have a mirror over the desk to use as a vanity.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in few rooms is very small.

    The location is perfect. The hotel is great, staff is welcoming and always willing to assist, rich and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt have hot water all the time, room is poor with amenities, etc

    Location is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different types of electrical plug to ease traveller's life. Mobile phone free of charge enabled for local calls and internet access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed. No bar facilities. No breakfast available.

    Comfortable bed. Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some work being done outside

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    currently restaurant is under renovation - shame. shower v v v small!

    rooms nice, but v small - but that's Amsterdam!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dining facilities due to renovation... would love to visit again when completed.

    Location excellent, room great, bed marshmallow good ;)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ita perfect

    Stuff and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I

    H

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closeness to Dam Square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small. Noisy and not clean enough

    Many shops and restaurants are around

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lighting

    bed was very comfy. Good safe and hanging space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed Poor facilities No iron or ironing board in room Overpriced

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great and close to everything you could need - places to eat, things to do. Rooms are nice and the bed is comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: