Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel 4 stars

Apollolaan 2, Oud Zuid, 1077 BA Amsterdam, Netherlands

#144 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3123 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap of the bathroom was not working for the first day. 2nd day they changed the entire tap.

    Clean rooms, silence hotel (3rd floor room), nice canal view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location. It was about 10 minutes walk to the tram stop to go into central Amsterdam. If you are coming back to the hotel at night, it is very quiet.

    Everything about the room and service was good. The bedroom was a good size and the toilets was comfortable. They provide two water bottles in the fridge which was highly appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two dirty cleaning cloths left in our room , one being in the bed we came back to late at night. it was upsetting and we let the staff know the next day. They were apologetic but didn’t do anything or offer anything to make up for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little bit out, not enough to put me off staying again. But it is a 10 minute walk to the tram. A nice walk though!!!

    Really quirky place and staff are super friendly and always available. Decor is nice and atmosphere is good around the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy parking space but still cheaper than parking lots closer to city center

    Helpful staff, nice room, very comfortable bed. Birthday upgrade and pleasant card / macarons even if I did not tell them anything when booking the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast options were very expensive and did not cater adequately for food intolerances eg. gluten free. coffee making facilities in the room were more like a cheap hotel than a 'luxury' hotel; the floor was not vacuumed when the room was cleaned. Pillows too fat.

    I liked being able to sit out on the terrace to eat or drink in the evenings - great view! Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in this hotel as it was close to the event, we were attending. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and efficient. The location is great. The hotel is located in a quieter area but still walking distance to many places (ie. Rijksmuseum).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hardly anything that we did not like.

    Everything...location - bit away from CBD, which we liked. Well connected. Services - excellent. Facilities- suuuuperb 👍.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, there wasn't anything that we didn't like. We only stayed for three nights (room only with no board) so it wasn't exactly an extensive trip but from start to finish I felt very positive about the hotel. I would maybe suggest looking elsewhere if you want extremely close proximity to the canal belt, but, if, like us, you don't mind a 20 minute walk, then the location is great.

    Every time we arrived back from a walk up to Centrum we were met with smiling faces and a friendly atmosphere. The staff are all smartly dressed and make the effort to interact with you, ensuring a comfortable stay with all the information you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m in my room now having waited 25 minutes to order a glass of wine in the harbour bar and return to find at 3.30pm the room is not cleaned. A focus on one nighters rather than those paying a premium.

    The location is excellent and when we had a problem the reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is nothing not to like

    The staff at the front desk was very nice, welcome us and very helpful. The rooms have a beautiful view over the canals, clean, very good hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surface of the bath that you have your shower in was extremely slippy. Bit of a hazard. They decor downstairs was so beautiful I was surprised to see U.S. city scapes on the walls in our room

    The plants and decor leading to the lift are spectacular. The view from our room over the canal and boat club was gorgeous. Very helpful staff. Walking distance to I Amsterdam sign and all the trams markets and eateries around there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was set up more as a business hotel and we were there to see the touristy sites in the city. this hotel was too far away for our purpose. No fault of the hotel....we just should have researched a closer location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The system of air conditionning is somewhat strange. In fact, air conditioner in the room can not be adjusted locally by the visitors what makes living conditions in the room quite uncomfortable sometimes. For example, the air conditioner is noisy all night and can not be turned off.

    Breakfast is of very high quality. The same is true for the restaurant. The hotel is located near the confluence of 5 canals and the view from many rooms and the terrace of the restaurant is wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one lift was in service and thus we had to wait a long time to get to our 4th floor room in the mornings and afternoons when everyone was using it. But that's pretty nit picky. Generally the place was great.

    This was a very comfortable and convenient Hotel to the RAI and the trams. There are some excellent eateries nearby - I recommend La Falote for dinner if you want a genuine Dutch dinner! The Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful and you felt that they would do anything for you. The room was very clean and serviced well. The beds firm and the airconditioning excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable on bed. Room was a bit dusty (it was very sunny and room was partly Black which showed it up). Had to wait a while to check in and check out.

    Upgraded to a lovely design suite overlooking canal. Small suite but lovely design. Nice walking distance to both Rai conference area and into town. Bed was comfy. Breakfast had good selection and lovely to sit out in sun beside canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not recommend staying in the basement bedrooms as the noice coming from the above bathrooms (shower and water being flushed) is very loud. This is definitely not a good point and not pleasant to hear this loud noise very early in the morning when every room above take their shower.

    The hotel is nice and the staff very friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All fine

    Good location with parking. Tramstop to Old Town only 5mins walk and newsagent with English papers next to it. Excellent staff. Good local restaurants 5 mins walk (not keen on hotel restaurants)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit loud. We could clearly hear whenever somebody was walking by in the hall. Also, the shower booth really needed something to close off the water, since it was splashing all over the bathroom floor.

    The location was decent. We walked to the city centre one day, and a tram station is also nearby. The rooms were fairly new and nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was my second stay at the hotel - I felt that the housekeeping/cleanliness was a little lower as compared to my first visit.

    The staff was friendly & extremely helpful with everything! The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is yummy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to our room, we had to go down several steps with our baggage (I prefer to not use bellman - staff did offer us this). We were told our room was an upgrade due to patio however absolutely no view (which is what I wanted most). Also no outlet in bathroom that worked.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the rooms were not serviced till 1600, this meant that we had to leave the room for 30 mins whilst the employee carried out their duties.

    The staff were great very friendly and helpful.Very good concierge service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything is good as always. It's not my first staying in this hotel and - I'm sure - not the last one. It's good in each detail both for travellers and business guests. Only small recommendation - may be, in future there will be Russian TV-channels too? It is the only thing my colleagueses miss in this hotel during our staying here in business trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in was rather unpersonal and cold.Not very friendly or kind

    The view from the room and the terrasse at the restaurant French restaurant is excellent and service warm and professionnel.A bit expensive but value for money suite acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower head not gd ., house keeping not up to std ( no replacement of water, laundry bag, , room temperature cant control well, bfast is just very normal

    the restaurants are good & staff friendly, concierge very knowledgeable & friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The atmosphere of the hotel can feel austere. When we first walked in we felt uncomfortable and a bit out of place. As soon as we spoke to the staff at reception this initial impression was negated and at when coming and going we encountered a mix of; business professionals, couples (both young and old) and families which put us more at ease. This first impression was my only negative.

    I found that; The beds were comfy. The lobby and bar area were beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and eager to help they suggested less touristy spots for eating and shopping which we appreciated alot. The environment was a bit corporate but we still felt comfortable Being outside the central tourist district was an unexpected bonus as it allowed us to except the hordes of tourists and see more of Amsterdam!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff, they upgraded our room and gave us one with a fabulous canal view. The location is very nice, right next to the Pijp and easy to reach the city centre by tram. Extremelly comfortable bed, big room and bathroom. I would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive breakfast. We went to a local cafe for less than 1/3rd the price. No lock on the toilet door.

    The hotel was very fancy but cheaper than the Holiday Inn. Clean rooms. Helpful staff. Air conditioning. Feels safe. Canal views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty surfaces inside the room. Room and hotel looks much better in photos than they actually are. Very strict policies on checking out. Definetely not a 4star experience

    Location, Breakfast in the lounge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was fab other than a mess up with the price which the hotel charged us extra which I was not best pleased about, and were not very forthcoming when I stated that there had been a mistake.

    The hotel is very lush, staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. The beds were super comfy and the bathtub was heavenly, both my friend and I enjoyed our stay very much. Only downfall was a mix up with the price and the hotel is quite a distance from the city centre (40 minute walk to be exact as both my friend and I found out, not ideal during cold weather!). Absolutely beautiful, big hotel situated on a canal with a stunning canal boat restaurant - the harbour yacht club (would definitely recommend dining here one of the nights!, exclusive to guests only, and it was a bit chilly so bring a nice warm jacket as it only had a storage heater!), desert was 5/5 but dinner (chicken) not so much, and menu was mainly seafood, but overall a nice experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and our room was top quality. We were given a free upgrade to a designer room which was very welcome. We loved the super king-size bed, walk in waterfall shower, and free robes and slippers. All the staff we met were super helpful and friendly. The location in on the edge of De Pijp which has excellent bars and restaurants. We'll be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great decor that makes you feel you are somewhere special rather than a bland sterile hotel. The lighting and ambience in the bar area in particular was exceptional! Very friendly staff and impeccably dressed concierge!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only time we felt uncomfortable was when Yannick was checking us in. he was probably tired but still was very condesending and when I asked him to repeat something he smirked...which wasn't really professional of him.

    we liked the room 22 in the basement because it has a georgeus teracce and room was very clean, altough one day we got only 2 sachets of coffee and another day about a dozen but all in all very nice and cozy stay. all staff exept Yannick was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of the food and drinks were very very expensive. We didn't eat or drink here went out instead.

    It was very classy and a beautiful place. The bedroom was perfect size, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in our room 027 did not work so we had to keep finger on the button to boil. Bathroom walk in shower soaked the bathroom so had to be very carefull and used many towels to soak up floor as and slipped over. The room temperature was hard to work out and was very hot plus noisy in the mornings.

    Lovely and quite room. Very professional staff especially Bette who booked us into an upgraded room. Nice and very thoughtfull surprise of a birthday cake in our room for my partner on our return from a day out celebrating. Beautiful dining area and amazing interior!. Will be returning for sure and recommend to others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had ordered a taxi 3 hrs ahead of time which the concierge forgot causing us to be late for a meeting. The tv did not work but was not seen to during the 2 days stay. The bar closes at 23.00hrs and we were shown the Harbour Club for a nightcap. The excessive noise made us leave very quickly. The bathrooms are small and the shower in the bath tub with glass screen a safety hazard.

    Location is good and the parking is a luxury in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only problem with the hotel was the private parking, it's tooooo small and narrow, car can get scratched easily, but for those who using transpiration, there is no problem, that was our only concern.

    i was on my honeymoon and i picked this hotel and glad i did. - the location is great, room was very clean with a smell of lavender all the time inside the room. - bed was super comfy, balcony was amazing with the view. - Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of done with a few more tea bags and outside patio could of been cleaner but overall was a pleasant stay.

    Nice room, very clean and comfy. Bed was good, bathroom was clean and modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were not enough toothbrushes, the whole set of toilet accessories was, I had to go to the store for toothbrushes

    the room is excellent and soft. the interior in the hotel is stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon check-out we got a little chased out by a cleaning lady eventho we were on time. And parking is 35EUR a days and paying an extra 105EUR for 3 days i thought was a bit much maybe they could have given a discount on the 3 day mark...

    Breakfast was Great. A nice buffet with everything you could want froma Breakfast Buffet. Really appreciated the watermelon slices!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot fault the hotel on any aspect.

    Room excellent, with good facilities and immaculately clean. Soundproofing extremely good, didn't hear any noise at all from other rooms or corridor. Staff wonderfully friendly, nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants in the hotel were expensive.

    The hotel was excellent. The decor around the restaurants was great. Rooms were large and well decorated with nice bathrooms and a range of services such as safety deposit boxes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendliness of all staff. Very comfortable and spacious room, including a room temperature setting that actually worked. Innovative design of the common areas. Good parking on the premisses. Walking distance to much of Amterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the Harbour Club restaurant on the third evening was very slow due to the fact that the hosting staff seemed inexperienced and struggling to cope with the demands even though the restaurant was less than half full

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend had a birthday and i was promissed that at the evening there would be balloons in the room , but there was only a little cake. Everything else was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise of the conditioned air! :-(

    Very nice decoration, nice view over the canal and nice " retro" bicycles available, making our stay in Amsterdam much more fun!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of light everywhere in the hotel, from the room to the restaurant Room very dark (trendy but dark), needed my phone lamp to even open the safe.... Restaurant - same, a bit more light would help, and would still be "romantic"

    Clean, pleasant, good staff, good reataurant (pricey though...)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting time in restaurant.

    Hotel has been modernised, new lobby, restaurants etc. My room was a bit refurbished since my last stay but missed the atmosphere of the renewal from downstairs. Staff is very helpful; reception, lobby and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 40min from centre Trams 7min walk There was mini bar in your room, local shell garage if uou wanted anything! Rooms were very businesslike , shower had no step to stop water from flooding, so they water went everywhere. No milk for the tea/coffee facilities

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things like not changing the bed sheets everyday, it was only done once during our stay, and not replacing the bathrobes (we wore them and they were taken away but not replaced)

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff very accommodating

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the restaurant could be a bit friendlier and attentive

    Our flight was delayed by a day due to horrible weather and the staff were kind enough to amend the dates for us at no additional cost on a very short notice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While I was visiting it was extremely cold and I needed warmer atmosphere when I get into the room. However, no matter how many times I changed the thermostat in the room the temperature never get over 20 C. Only getting on bed under the cover was comfortable.

    Good location, relatively close to the city center and placed next to water. Very nice and relaxing view from the room and interesting design. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a couple of obvious stains on a pillow and bedsheet. Bed was half made two nights in a row and a slight lack of tea and coffee. Lastly it was weird to have a double deluxe room with two single beds put together (although we requested a balcony room and a double wasn’t applicable)

    Almost everything at the hotel was at a high standard. Quick simple and stylish. Staff was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a 55 minute flight, had to wait over 2 hours in the freezing cold at the airport for the shuttle bus which never came. Saw the 'Appollo Ramada' driver 3 times who was helpful at first but then told us that we can't have been there after we had been waiting for 2 hours and coming over to his Appollo bus every time (That was the only Appollo bus that turned up). After this we then had to pay €40 for a taxi to the hotel. We explained what had happened at the front desk and was told by the girl on the desk that she would tell her manager but then we never heard any more.

    Large comfy bed. Room and hotel was nice in general.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service is terrible! only this word is correct. the restaurant of the hotel is trying to be sophisticated, that meant for them only not taking any care of the visitors. for the breakfast the restaurant didn't allow to have coffee in the breakfast zone if you didn;t pay full buffet. at the end i found in the check-out bill the charge of 97 euro for the meal, that i didn't have. i travel a lot for the job but very rare face such combination of bad things like in this hotel.

    the hotel is really nice - as facility. Clean, cosy, very nice view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was awful because we were looking at hotel roof, we were only there a night though so it wasn't that big of a deal. Google had trouble locating on GPS but we found it.

    Everything! Beautiful hotel and great location. Very friendly staff, extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not like the quality of the pillows (very uncomfortable) and the car park was expensive as well (35 Euros / day). Room service was absolutely useless, I had to ring them for about 10 min till someone answered my call. They are also charging 10 Euros for each room service and there are further charges when you take the room keys from the reception.

    We did like the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When having a drink in the bar on the last evening there were 2 mice running around. The heating pipes in the bedroom were really loud.

    Beautiful hotel- the bar and restaurant have lovely views onto the canal. The bed was super comfy! Staff very helpful, always there to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were really narrow. Pillows were square and not very comfortable. Regular room was ok, but quite basic with signs of wear and tear.

    The room was very clean, quiet and the location was just a short walk from trams. Staff was helpful and friendly. Nicely decorated common premises.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like I mentioned above only thing was not good enough was the lighting

    The staff was very helpful especially concierge. The hotel itself was very modern and clean. The room was perfect for us, very cosy and clean. The only thing was not good enough was the lighting in our room, it was slightly to dark in the evening however the rest was just amazing. If we will ever return to Amsterdam will definitely choose the same hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    All the staff team that had constantly try their best to give the best possible services to their guests. The front desk personal greetings & smiles in welcoming back their guests - made us feel like coming back to our 2nd home. The concierge - " Hamid" has been very helpful with all his good advises on the places to visit. Very friendly staff !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a prime location, 15 to 20min walk away from the Van Gogh museum , Rijksmuseum museum , plus a lot of shops and attractions on the way of your walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. We had a room on the ground floor during winter and the floor was freezing cold. Since the heating seems to be only warm air through the aircon did no setting change this. Especially the stone floor in the bathroom was hardly bearable. 2. The cleaning service was rudimentary at best.

    1. The old building has been renovated into a very stylish hotel. 2. The restaurants on site are very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the perfect place for business travel and for those who wish to be away from the largest crowds. It is a slight distance from the city center, but transportation is readily available and the hotel anticipates and gets you where you need easily and comfortably.

    Staff was friendly, attentive, but not overbearing. The room was cozy, comfortable, up-to-date and the bed and pillows were heavenly! The staff anticipated my needs, asking questions and knowing what I needed before I did.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    What a beautiful hotel! The stile, decor and interior was awesome, the bar was fantastic, nice djay music, cool drinks. The restaurant with fireplace, good food and nice view to the Kanaal. Close to the RAI, just few minutes walk...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service needs improvement. There isnt much choice and the food is overpriced. And to charge 10 Euro just for room delivery is ridiculous and a rip off I ordered bbq chicken on our first night and it arrived COLD. On the second night i ordered steak and a boyfriend got a burger. This time we collected it to save €10, except no one called us when the food was ready so by the time we went down our food was just sitting on the side getting cold again!! €33 for the steak. I asked for it to be well done and it arrived RARE. i didnt even eat it. I didnt make this a big scene as i was happy with everything else. But it needs improvement if you want customers to return. The hotel is also a €20-25 cab ride away from the city centre:(

    Loved our suite, room 226. Amazing views. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shuttle for the airport was too soon (9h30) so I had to take a taxi, as my flight was after lunch

    Amazing bed, good location with good places to eat around the hotel, near the center by tram or even by foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It seems every time I stay here there is some minor problem, although it is always dealt with properly by the management, it is an unnecessary inconvenience. This time the receptionist charged us incorrectly for an extra bed for a child, which is supposed to be free, resulting in an angry letter from the management shoved under the door that the bill for the room had exceeded the deposit, and that if not immediately resolved the access to the room would be blocked.

    The location is perfect with easy access to the airport, downtown, museums, and Amstelveen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at harbour view restaurant not competent enough for a high priced place like this. Took a long time to get a menu. Took longer to get our drinks. Not taking order. Asked other waiter. Had to ask twice to get a glass of red wine. The red wine was served after we finished our main course. Basically we did not get any attention unless explicitly asked for. The organization of the waiting staff and execution need to much better if you pretend to be a top restaurant charging top prices.

    Excellent staff at reception Great sashimi at Harbour view restaurant Ambiance in both restaurants is very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was barely warm, plus the stack of plates were also cold, so putting the barely warm breakfast on the plates made the food lose even more heat. It’s a shame they don’t have a plate warmer as in other 4 star hotels. The various restaurants looked really nice, and we would have loved to eat a meal in them as we had planned, however we were ‘priced out’ of them, the food and drinks costs were extremely high for my wallet.

    The room was very clean and tidy, spacious and well laid out.. The hotel location was quite convenient to walk into the city centre, or to catch a tram. The reception staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Big room Cleanliness Comfort and room accessories (Heating and hot water, Very nice and user friendly bathroom design and facilities, Fridge, Office desk, carpet, Comfort Bed mattress and pillows, Wardrobe, room lighting, Very good sound proofing, Restaurant and food)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been a few more tea choices in the room. There were 2 types: black tea with berries and green tea with Jasmin. I would have loved to have some regular black tea or early grey. The lighting of the room was quite dim, but this is quite common in many hotel rooms.

    I booked the hotel last minute because I was stuck in Amsterdam due to a storm and had a conference the next day in the RAI. To the RAI it's about 15 minutes walking, which was perfect for me. The staff were all very friendly. When I checked in the lovely lady at the reception noticed it was my birthday the following day and upgraded my room. The room itself was beautiful and comfortable. The bed and pillows were the perfect firmness for me. I enjoyed my stay immensely!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little far from thw city center, its though one single train from the center and few minuts walk (7 min)

    I was upgraded with kindness because of my honeymoon to the executive room which was amazingly huge, even better view to the lake, We were welcome with a cake which was a surprise to me and my bride.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the designer room which is more expensive is where one would want to stay cz the other rooms are quite ordinary for the price, IMO. some of the staff were very sweet and helpful others were not bad but definitely not willing to go beyond the call of duty. the patio would be very nice during the summer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on 31st of December and were visiting Amsterdam for the New Year. The restaurant was closed for all 3 days/nights of our stay and the bar only sold pastries & macarons. All of the nearby restaurants and bars in the area were also closed leaving us to walk into the city centre while there was a storm outside. Although I can appreciate that it is a holiday for people, I would have imagined that the hotel would at least have an eating facility open. Our bed linen was also not changed throughout the duration of our stay which I also wouldn't expect for the money we paid.

    The hotel decor was lovely both in the lobby and the bar area. It was decorated to a very high standard & was even nicer than the photos online! The rooms were also well decorated and were well kitted out with amenities such as an iron & ironing board, a smart tv, a kettle & tea/coffee, a hair dryer, an alarm radio, and a mini fridge with complimentary bottles of water. The bathroom was decorated to a high standard also and looked fresh and modern. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: