Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apollo Hotel 3 stars

Bisschop Hamerstraat 14, 6511 NB Nijmegen, Netherlands

#27 of 35 hotels in Nijmegen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 560 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy street, but I guess that's the trade-off for a central hotel.

    Centrally located, close to the train station/bars etc. The night was warm but they had provided a portable fan. Helpful stuff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view from window, there is balcony. In room was clean and comfortable. I was pleased when I found out that the room has a bathroom. Big room with coffee, tea, wine (red/white), water and other drinks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, there were some work in progress in a store (ground floor next to the hotel entrance). Lots of noise ... but that should only be temporary!

    Hotel perfectly located to visit the city center. Very nice person at the counter who gave me a great advise for a restaurant for diner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are exceptional. Very accommodating. Room was large enough to hold our two bicycles (carrying them up and down the stairs was a treat). Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choices and all very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shelf to put shampoo etc on in shower. A big room, but not enough storage for clothes - cupboard needed. The toilet and shower room smelt damp although there was no visible damp.

    Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice and nice food. We appreciated the boiled eggs!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt like wet dog, grubby, bed terribly uncomfortable, none of our room keys worked easily on our rooms or the front door

    Got parked fairly easily late at night, very near where we were working. Girl checking us in was really good and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options are limited

    Hospitality is fantastic. They take care of the customer very well. Required arrangements are made Immediately. Very close to station and market. Good number of restaurants around the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with lots of restaurants nearby. Room was very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. Can't fault this hotel for what i needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was agonizingly slow. The pillows were much too large/fluffy for my taste, I would have wanted a second option (and would have asked at the reception had I not been so exhausted).

    Check-in was easy and location convenient for my needs. Room was spacious, thanks to an unexpected upgrade. Simple but nice decor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Checking in and out was a breeze. The staff even offered to keep my bags until I came back to collect them in the afternoon. Loved the coffee!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Indifferent mattress (made me overheat - plastic? And sheets would come adrift) Youths gathered on street corner below my room on Saturday night (to gone 05:30 Sunday) with much noise. Only a problem on the one night.

    Good Wi-Fi Near station and centre Room size spot on for single room Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception closes at 11pm which can be a challenge when you need late evening ataention.

    eds were comfy, location superb the perfect travellers lodge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    To improve upon in room facilities like • Coffee machine was not in working condition, • Windows was not lockable correctly creating chill weather inside the room, • Cupboards was not accessible and poorly lit,

    Central Location and Accessability was very Good, Staff were supportive, language was not a barrier.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy but that was more that it was Saturday night.

    Location was excellent right in the city, and the room was a good size. They had also put in a child cot without being asked!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. I like everything.

    I like everything ranging from the location, the beauty of this place, the light , to the coziness in here. I booked an en-suite room. The bathroom is perfectly fit in the room (not big but clean). Plus, there is a fancy coffee machine in my room. The facility is great. There are fan, umbrella, mini fridge, hair dryer,etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room despite being on the top floor was noisy, it was a particularly hot night so I had to have the window open and the street noise from a busy football final Saturday night woke me up several times including at 5am. Not their fault but if the room had AC I wouldn't have needed the window open. The TV was hard to watch, odd picture quality so gave up on it. The decor was a bit odd, confusing as they had modern chairs in the lounge areas but old fashioned mirrors and carpets.

    The breakfast was great, a good selection and service overall was lovely, relaxed and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside the hotel there is a taxi location and too much noise at night time.

    Excellent spot - walking distance from all sightseeing, shopping and entertainment areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom a bit dirty and breakfast selection poor. However, nothing major and beautiful stay.

    Central position. Close to everything in Nijmegen. Hotel is 10 minutes walking distance from the main station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is close to the railway station, the Vereeniging Concert Hall (the reason for my visit) and the centre of town. There are many nice touches in this small hotel, the people I encountered at reception and breakfast could not have been more helpful. My room was quiet and comfortable with a good bathroom and a new shower. Very nice comfy bed and pillow. Breakfast was very good. Free tea and coffee available. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at around 20.30. The receptionist sort of indicated to hurry-up because was close end of her time. She did not offer and I forgot to ask for Wifi access code. Got its just in time by phone before she left. On saturdays breakfast only would start at 08.00 which meant I had to take later train then planned. Could not turn down/off heating in bedroom, in bathroom (open connection to bedroom) fortunately could close heating and open window (in spite of noise from outside) No window in bedroom !! Hence it became an unpleasant night sleep.

    The breakfast would have been very nice if I could have benefitted. Bad point tea water was heated in combined coffee/tea machine i.e. the water is already light brown from coffee deposit in tube before I put in teabag. Don't ask about the taste ! By 08.10 still not everything was on the buffet. Bed and TV were OK. Room had coffee/tea maker with minimum supplies.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV signal was slightly noisy but I don't really mind.

    Very friendly staff, nice bath and shower. Very good breakfast. Extra possibilities to stay at the hotel and take a shower when we returned from the sport exercise in the city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice clean place for a short overnight stay. Good parking, walking distance from central station and city center. Ask for a room at the back due to streetnoise on the front. Late check-in via a code in a safedeposit box, make sure to get the code before arriving to the place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very poor, not worth the money. Internet was poor. I only had a provisional toilett in my bathroom.

    The location was great, the room was quiet and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was horrible. Two mattresses on a box-bed, sliding on each other. I've found it impossible to sleep. It was also too warm even with the tiny window open and the fan on.

    Breakfast was average but ok, nice old house. Near to the main station and good for exploring the town on foot.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No A/C but it's almost the case with hotels in Nijmegen. But I loved that they put two small fans in the room. They were really handy.

    A spacious clean room. Nice breakfast. Cozy lobby with a free coffee machine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning no lift basic breakfast not worth €12.95 quoted pp expensive for what you get not a 3 star.

    Location is excellent close to train station main shopping street and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately no air conditioning (shame, since we stayed during a warm night. The windows can be opened, but then it is slightly noisy) Great and big flat TV, but signal was analog and signal quality poor. Be aware: no elevator (not a problem for us)

    Old style building, down town, nice and spacious room with very high ceiling, very good bed, separate bathroom and toilet. Nice breakfast buffet. Very affordable public parking garage around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem is the lack of elevator but that is pretty normal in Netherland.

    Easy access by car and parking is close by. The Hotel is close to everything in Nijmegen centrum. The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tad pricy, but understandable given the location. No elevator....I hate hauling bags up flights of stairs.

    An older 18 room hotel located close to the train station and downtown. Well kept small rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Appalling that they still have no air conditioning. On a normal warmish summer day it is really impossible to sleep on second floor underneath due to heat.

    Been coming here for 15 years

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms had no air conditioning, no parking and worst of all NO ELEVATORS.

    great location and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location near central station and right in town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room so air con would have been icing on cake but only minor issue

    Very friendly staff, nice clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIfi was very poor + super hot no AC

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day my room wasn’t clean and on other day didn’t put a shampoo, so...

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friday night crowd was a bit loud.

    Quick and tasty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet connection, traffic noise, poor breakfast

    Spucious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, 10 min distance from Nijmegen central station and very close to the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Will definitely come again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like poop but otherwise thats it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Support from the staff was great! Room was nice and a great location close to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient location, and good bus connections. Many restaurants and caffee shops near by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise at night from the street.

    Great location. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean enough, and the room was dated.

    THE BED EXTRA COMFY

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite some noise from the street, the windows don't close tightly. The bedlinen was not so good it had holes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Good Location, staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location at night, especially on the weekend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 22

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and noisy crowds outside at night.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor plumbing solutions in bathrooms were at times problematic.

    Good central location, friendly staff, breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Het was erg warm in de kamer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    er was geen lift

    Kamer was comfortabel en ruim

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is the absence of an elevator.

    Overall good stay. I am glad i stayed. Very close to the shops is definitely an added advantage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My hair dryer was not working. The Receptionist was some sort of stand-in and could not help me at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    coffee

    All aspects

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing everything was fine

    very comfy bed. room 22 has awesome view from balcony but can be noisy at night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Great Location. They agreed to allow me to check in early.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Friendly staffs. Well-equipped.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Great Location, staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable stay an in an ideal location, near the station and very central.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The senior receptionist could make an effort to be more polite.

    The room was great and clean. The stay was pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of elevator.

    Soft beds, good location, frendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs we're welcoming and the room was nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy location, but it was the start of term for the university ...

    Clean, convenient location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was +40 in the room and no air conditioner. Next to a very noisy street, hard to sleep at night. Breakfast was extremely poor.

    In the city center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't expect not to have elevator and AC for such a hotel nowadays. The facilities do not represent 3 stars hotel.

    Nicely located.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better ventilation needed in rooms, i.e. opening windows

    Sufficient breakfast, and good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives

    Nice room, great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite noisy at night, as I used to sleep with open windows, and the hotel is localized just above the big roundabout.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful staff, facility, and location. Ines, the receptionist was flexible and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is difficult to find close to the hotel.

    Centrally located hotel with very comfortable room. Easy walking distance to restaurant, shopping and the market. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was facing the street, and it was fairly noisy at night with window open, which was needed to cool room.

    Good breakfast. Large, comfortable room. Stairs were easy to climb for an older building. Good service from staff. Several good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Doesn't have an elevator but it's only two floors so it wasn't that difficult!

    There was a coffee machine in the room with complementary espresso capsules, comfortable bed, spacious room and bathroom.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Apollo Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: