Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel ARA Zwijndrecht 4 stars

Veerweg 10, 3336 LM Zwijndrecht, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Zwijndrecht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 532 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went with my family and my kids it’s friendly hotel,the hotel location was perfect had jungle everywhere was green but we had some problem in room because we didn’t had fridge in the room was difficult with kids we had executive suite but the facilities in the room like standard room and breakfast it’s so poor like two stars ⭐️ ⭐️hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive (£16 for adults and £8 for children).

    The rooms were clean and very big. We travelled with two children and had interconnecting rooms. The rooms were massive!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not properly registered, therefore when we arrived the receptionist thought our room was not booked. A small surprise :-)

    Everything is always perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area was flooded. Very slippery. My elderly grandmother could not sit as all chairs were low to the floor.

    Breakfast was excellent. Spoilt for choice. Room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location not that nice altough next to the Maas the area has an industrial feel.Noise factor on christmas morning @ 2 o clock a lot of moving of furniture etc.

    Breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unusual not to have a mini bar inside the room, but there was a really nice bar downstairs. The wellness facilities are minimal, but what they had (one sauna and a pool), was nice and clean.

    The river view and the room was superb! Their restaurant is really good, highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor of the room was dated and overall the room wasn't particularly bright. The lighting in the huge bathroom was gloomy and a bit spooky. There was a coffee machine but no kettle but our excellent reception friend provided us with the latter. We would have thought that a business suite might have a fridge but it didn't. This was disappointing. The breakfast was OK and was extra to our price. In keeping with all the other hotel chains in Holland that we've stayed in over the years, it's not as good an experience as it used to be. Maybe the nadir on this occasion was the egg chef who brought a perfect and a broken fried egg to our table and asked if it was OK. We hadn't the heart to say it wasn't.

    We have visited numerous Van der Valk hotels in the past and we have mostly used Booking.com to make the reservations because they are a Dutch company and we love Holland, a country we have been visiting regularly for 44 years. So, we know Van der Valk (VdV) and we know Booking.com. We have a great respect for both organisations but we also exercise caution with both. The reason is this. Quite often we have noticed that the room we have been allocated at VdV via Booking.com would not have been our first choice of the rooms in the grade we have booked. For example, you might be put at the rear in the dark side or on an interlinked balcony where others walk through or a room with the wrong aspect; one that you did not request. All these have happened to us until we've objected on arrival and to their credit, usually but not always, it's been put right. However it does cause apprehension and stress. So, this time round we were determined to have a view of the Oude Maas from a balcony but we knew that the only way we could guarantee this was to book a (discounted) business suite. There are other rooms with balconies but they don't necessarily have the view. So, it may have cost us more. Maybe we could have contacted the hotel direct but we like the versatility of Booking.com. Even so, we emailed the hotel to confirm that our room had a balcony and they replied that it had. In hindsight, we're a bit put out that they didn't proactively tell us that there were possibly cheaper balcony rooms available with the same aspect. That having been said, the suite was very spacious, clean, well presented and had a small balcony and a great view. The receptionist who met us was first rate, extremely helpful and welcoming. The ambience of the hotel was comfortable and relaxed and gave us a good feeling and the surrounding countryside was superb for cycling which is our chosen form of touring. Finally, the terrace restaurant was delightful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have not yet discovered that part... (The visit was only one day...)

    Enjoyed a diner that was ordered through room service, while enjoying a great view over the river. Nice and friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeat location - a bit of nature after busy day. Good parking and very spacious rooms. On top of that swimming pool, sauna and gym. Good breakfasts. Definitely will stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a Disapointment and need significant upgrades. (look to Denmark to get inspirations)

    The nive environment and access to surrounding. Great pool and fitness area. Great rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is fairly isolated. Aside from public transport, which I haven't the patience for or a taxi which was cost prohibative ( to Rotterdam ) the only option is the hotel facilities. However, the Hotel facilities were very nice and I was content to stay at the hotel after a long day of bicycle riding. I will stay again because The location's advantages outweighed this one issue.

    The location is perfect for bicycle riders. It also has a great view of the shipping channel which is nice to watch from either the balcony of your room or the Restaurant / Bar. I also liked the open style of the shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds in the dining room seem to work automatically shield out the sunshine and daylight and making the room gloomy. Get a window table or stay in summer to use the excellent outdoor seating and dining.

    Helpful friendly staff. Big airy room. Good dinner menu and good breakfast. Situated by water in a park so lovely for walks/ strolls/ cycling.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door key operates the pool and sauna area too - unwisely I changed in the room so had go run the gauntlet of the busy reception to get the electronic key recharged when I got locked out after using the pool

    Full range of everything for breakfast, even the machine coffee is drinkable Its a very well organised restaurant and bar - needs to be in the evening

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little cold specially at night and the climate control only seemed to work for cold setting.

    Great location, right in front of the Oude Maas with a large park in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was overpriced and lukewarm when arrived. It took over 2 hours to serve 2 courses when not particularly busy. Although I would rate this hotel as very good it wouldn't take much more effort to make it excellent. Although i would definately stay there again I would not eat there in the evening.

    Spacious room with river view. Excellent breakfast. Pool and sauna a great bonus

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -The bath was very dirty. I do not know, what happened there, but it was really disgusting. -One of the rented bicycle had a broken lamp, and the seat could not be set to the proper position

    +Breakfast. One of the richest I have ever experienced (in this price category). +Nice surroundings, river, small park etc. +Bicyle renting option, with many available route and map +Parking +Easy to use wifi +Toiletteries +Large room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffe machine not present in room like all other VD VALK places been before

    Rooms good quality and clean noticed currently upgrades of rooms ongoing by laying wooden floor , better when like me have dust allergy..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in room. Only one sink in huge bathroom. Quality of towels could be better. No info folder in room. No fridge or Minibar.

    Location great! Enough free parking. Wifi simple and fast. Rooms very spacious and modern. Big balcony. Airconditioning which is rare in Dutch hotels but absolutely necessary!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working temporarily so unable to have the room originally chosen on 2nd floor. I have reduced mobility. At late breakfast hot food was cold and unpalatable, tables were not reset, we had to clear a table and look for silverware.

    Comfortable beds, spacious room, quietness, view of river from our room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    waitresses at the breakfast have to learn that they can do there job without noise and noisy chatting very bad pillows

    very nice and helpfull people at the front desk

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no Fridge in the room, so had to use the kitchen fridge (for toddler's milk). The location is away from the city, but it wasnt a problem for us

    Very warm people, great service, awesome breakfast. Some additional requests were taken care of nicely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely view from our room of the barges travelling on the River Maas and surrounding countryside. Plenty of parking. Good walking. Pleasant terrace for outside eating, drinking and relaxing. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed atmosphere and very kind staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Latere checkout

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows

    The bedrooms are big and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had no refrigerator or a minibar not good.

    The bed was good and the room also but didn't have everything unfortunately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in this hotel over 15 years ago when it first opened and it was worth going back too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel with great facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Food weas also excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice rooms. Good gym, pool and sauna!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large rooms! Nice staf and a Great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed the Gym and the Spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby at the rooms level is shared with a gym and has no ventilation - What a smell!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike.

    We did not have breakfast, so we cannot comment. we did however have two evening dinners !st Class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not available within room service menu

    The view was wonderful and the location also was good for those who wants to relax

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, restaurant, view was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely pool and terrace bar, overlooking the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No minibar (not even an empty one) to keep your drinks cool

    Breakfast, bed and roomsize were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Lovely breakfast. Excellent pool (nice and warm!!). Fabulous room with excellent TVs. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long beds and huge room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the restaurant is very salty. The butter and french fries are way too salty.

    Nice location Nice big room and bath room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find the scrambled eggs at breakfast.

    Nice spacy room and bathroom nice bar and restaurant Great view from the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get bath robes... Check out time (11 a.m. !)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could be a bit harder

    Excellent staff, clean, nice quiet location, very good breakfast,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms had poor lighting

    Great location, good food and service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent. Pool and sauna first class

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fabulous view of the river and barges

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love to have one big bed in stead of two seperate beds

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything, especially the large room, the breakfast and the great view !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ARA hotel is set in such a beautiful location, twinned with excellent facilities and super staff...I always look forward to my return

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nor applicableexcellent accomodation

    Spacious comfortable room comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was like should be

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Varity on menu. No baggage service.

    Nature, fresh air, and quietness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the restaurant menu .... a little too much complicate ...

    All ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEST HOTEL HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was excellent as was the quiet location. Spacious comfortable bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff and really good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tissues in the bath room, but it is really to find something.......

    Very good room, well equiped, no remarks

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom. The service was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool and sauna after long day of business trip and traveling was great relax.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying for only one night

    The view, the room quality, kind service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toilet brush.

    Nice spacious room. Breakfast with great variety

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food great in lovely quiet countryside but not too far from Dordrecht centre

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds bit too soft and pool could do with.non slip mats around edge as quite slippery when wet

    Nothing was too much bother for the staff and food good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower floor is next to the bath and thus showering means wet bath room floor which is uncomfortable

    we had beautiful weather which helped a lot to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the Oude Maas

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lighting in the bathroom- it was very hard putting on make-up Water pressure in the shower could be improved. Shower floor should have been more sloped towards the drain as the water stayed on the floor.May-be they could provide a squeegee for guests. Signage on the road was very poor.

    The selection of food was fantastic. Smoked Salmon for Breakfast WOW. The beds were very, very comfy. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Watching the boat traffic on the river was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My partner slipped over on the swimming pool side due to water pooling and the flooring tiles being very slippery by design. She hurt her hip upon falling and she still has a large bruise from her fall. The water drainage and tiles need to be rectified before someone has an even more serious accident.

    This was our second stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was woken up at around 0330 two mornings running by the cleaner downstairs. I complained and was immediate moved to another room where I wasn't disturbed again.

    Very smart and modern facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Loved everything. The room was superb. The staff always helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We also used the swimming pool and sauna. Faultless and will be using the hotel again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    All absolutely fine!

    We were unfortunate enough to arrive late when food was no longer served, however the receptionist and bar staff made us extremely welcome and prepared a meal for us - thanks!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and comfortable room,excellent bed,I slept till checkout time,too late for breakfast...I had a late check in,bar was closed soon. But able to buy beer in de corridors all night!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - some personell of the restaurant were not very helpfull (I had to find out that there was a dish of the day by myself) - the shower in the bathroom is a bit inconvenient

    large rooms, lot of space, very good breakfast, good beds, nice area

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I cannot think of anything.

    Excellent room, staff and especially breakfast. The hotel is in a quite and very nice location, I really enjoyed my time there (2 days). I will return for sure.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel ARA Zwijndrecht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: