Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Arena 4 stars

's-Gravesandestraat 55, Oost, 1092 AA Amsterdam, Netherlands

#257 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1153 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor niggle was the twin room was a bit small, but there was a mezzanine floor with a desk, fridge and seating, so this didn’t affect our overall rating of the hotel.

    Delighted to have found Hotel Arena, an excellent choice for a stay in Amsterdam. Great location overlooking Oosterpark and although not city centre, the tram links really quickly to all other parts of the city. Just 15 minutes or so from the station. The hotel is in an old building, but has a spacious, relaxed feel and been sympathetically updated in a contemporary style. It has a good p, friendly atmosphere. The rooms were very comfortable, well equipped and had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Reception was welcoming and helpful, the bar and terrace were lovely places to spend an enjoyable evening. Would thoroughly recommend, it exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    while we specifically requested a quiet room we were put in a street side room on check-in. Very noisy, stuffy with windows closed, and too cold (no way to adjust temperature) when airco activated. Terrible night. Fortunately we were moved to a nice room on inside of hotel during next 2 of our 3 night stay, and slept well with open windows. My recommendation: hotel should more carefully consider requests of guests when booking is made.

    location and friendliness staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some tablets found underneath the bed which made it seem as if the room wasn’t thoroughly cleaned after the last guest. Lifts are extremely slow. But apart from those two small things - unreal hotel

    Perfect location, set amongst a beautiful park with easy access to all the main places to visit in Amsterdam Rooms were extremely spacious and great value for money, mostly clean Staff were lovely and helpful They have amazing luggage storing system if checking in/out early and needing somewhere safe for belongings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the hotel. The staff was not accommodating. No business center. Too expensive. No water to drink.

    The property’s park and surroundings is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the property location being in a beautiful park! The hotel and restaurant staff was great. Delicious food, and when we were late to breakfast (5mins to closing) they sat us and fed us anyway with a smile!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room should have been cleaner, under the bed it was very dirty. Otherwise the bed was way too soft.

    The stuff was perfect, we wanted separated beds and it was not a problem for them to afford us a new room. Whatever we wanted, they helped and gave good informations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I didn't like that much is the layout of the bedroom. The bathroom was glass made and next to one of the beds so it wasn't very comfortable. But overall, good experience.

    The hotel was beautiful. Right in front of Osterpark, a very nice park. Decent walking distance to both subway station and bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room cleaning was late everyday- coming back 3pm not taken cared yet. Amenity was not filled and cleaned but other than that front staff was friendly. Others were not so friendly, maybe the culture??

    Hotel interior is stylish and comfortable. Nature and park is great for relaxing :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room on the other hand left a little to be desired, for the price. Small, cramped, & minimal amenities. I had a room with a window looking out at another wing of the building, with an area in between that the hotel used for private parties, or overflow from the bar (not sure which), so it was noisy. I sleep like a rock so it didn't bother me, but anyone who is a light sleeper, and who may not like to stay up late, may be bothered by the noise.

    The hotel and its location are just wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are below average for a 4 star hotel. A bad smell after having a shower in the bathroom was easily understood and solved by the hotel team as clearly it’s a problem that they are facing quite often. Simple things that you would not think about taking with you to a 4 star hotel that they are pretty standard, such as a conditioner, was missing. Basically the room belonged to a 3 star hotel max.

    The park next to the hotel was great- felt like a big garden belonged to the hotel A nice ambience at the enterance of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a stay! The room was super tiny with no space for opening any luggage. The cleanliness of the room was pretty poor with hand prints on the wardrobe door, marks and dust on the skirting, stains on carpet, musty smell in the room, we could even hear people talking in the corridor outside our bedroom because the door were really hollow. The photos advertised on booking.com are do much nicer and better than reality. The room was outdated and dirty.

    Location was pretty good and staff where friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was quite high for one night, but it is Amsterdam. All prices are crazy here.

    The layout of the room was pretty great. It was on two floors and all to myself. The washroom was super modern and the bed very comfortable. The hotel itself is in a beautiful park in the east of the city, and the location is great. I really liked the entrance of the hotel, very elegant and magical.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bit cramped in the room. The only flaw. You can also see into the bathroom from sitting on the couch may not be to everyones liking 😂

    Loved the idea of the bed on the second floor of the room. Bed was so comfortable. Received clean towels daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsure if this hotel knows what clean is, the bathroom was the worst I have ever experienced, mould and soap grime layered everywhere, I couldn’t stand staring at it that I got a towel to wipe and see if it would come off and sure enough the towel was covered in grime. The cleaners are to busy banging doors all morning rather than actually cleaning. Noise in the hallways is all night and day, no good for a light sleeper.

    Bed was comfy and the park was nice to walk in the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of a hike to get to from the centre. €4 for a litre of bottled water is a tad expensive.

    Beautiful old hotel in a wonderful park. Very nice laid out rooms. Uber is by far the best and most convenient way of getting in and out of the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this holiday for my boyfriends birthday and was so gutted,Room was not tidy or clean there was stains on curtains and floor, empty pots of food left in the fridge room was a disappointment compared to the pictures, there was cables hanging out the back of the tv, staff was Rude and not very helpful. Would not go back.

    Was a lovely location loved the park and the views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service could of been a better standard

    Really special experience staying at hotel arena, if you’re looking for something a bit different in a laid back location this is the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep stairs with no external rail in some of the duplex rooms.

    We’ve stayed here a few times before when it first opened but upon returning this time it is much much improved. You now enter from the park side and the outside seating area is fabulous with views out in to the park and fountains. Staff were excellent. We had a problem with our room and we were upgraded immediately and comped a breakfast and late check out. They also helped with booking evening entertainment and tickets. Food was great. Despite previous reviews we found the breakfast lovely and if you compare it with eating out at one of our favourite breakfast places in Amsterdam, it’s slightly cheaper and again cheaper than you’d pay in a 4 star in the UK. We will definitely return on our next trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looked rather badly kept, paint was flaking, the floor was dusty, holes in the curtains, marks on the bath tub. When we arrived the TV in the room wasn't working, the shower drain was badly clogged, the bath taps weren't fully working and we had a lamp in the room that the plug point didn't match any of the plug sockets. All of these issues were fixed very quickly by staff but it's a little disappointing that we came into the room and found these issues rather than having a seamless stay.

    The hotel is in a gorgeous location, right inside Oosterpark and has a lovely terrace for the evenings. The staff were very eager to help and when we asked for help they were quick to provide us with what we needed. I requested a certain style of suite for the bath tub and the staff ensured we got the room we requested. The room was pretty with lots of sunlight coming in and the bath tub was the highlight of the room. I mentioned that we were celebrating and we were welcomed to the room with a bottle of prosecco and balloons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had trouble checking in - the room wasn’t ready by 3 PM and we had to wait 1 more hour. However we were offered a free drink at the bar while we were waiting and eventually we got a room upgrade, so it wasn’t a problem.

    Our room had really comfy bed and all that we needed during our stay. The location is quite nice - in the park, quite close to the center of Amsterdam but still reasonably priced. The design of the hotel is beautiful and the drinks at the bar were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charged £30 more than agreed price. Plus had to pay an additional 30 euros tourist tax despite the booking stating including all taxes and fees! Unhappy with this but not negotiable!

    Quirky hotel. V. comfortable beds. Staff helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Large King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late bedroom cleaning on Saturday but staff were very friendly in getting us fresh towels.

    They were very accommodating for my pregnant wife. An excellent location with shops and attractions close by. Very professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although friendly, the staff did not seem knowledgable or highly trained. I visited the front desk a handful of times and each member was unable to provide in depth information regarding my questions about the facilities (i.e. bike hire, room deposit, breakfast prices). After the first night, we were unimpressed with the room layout, the cleanliness of the room and the shower which did not drain. A polite, but naive member of staff took notes of a scruffy notepad which made me question whether those notes got taken any further; I assume not, because neither one of our problems were addressed during our stay. The hotel looks fantastic on first glance, but nothing seemed to function on closer inspection, be it the showers, the bar staff service, the front desk help, the coffee machine, the lift, the room cards not unlocking to our corridor and rooms, to name a few. The breakfast buffet was extremely overpriced for bland and low-quality food. I usually enjoy a continental breakfast but this was nothing to shout about. The coffee machine spat out only milk, the scrambled eggs were soggy, the bread stale, and a member of staff leant directly over me whilst I was eating without acknowledging me or to say "excuse me”. The bar area was clean and had a great interior design, but the service was slow and quality of beverages were lacking. I ordered a coffee from the bar. The first cappuccino I ordered was a black coffee which took 15 minutes to make...I sent it back. The second coffee took another 15 minutes and was 98% milk...I got up and left. We found mould in bathroom, attracting silverfish insects that were crawling the floor, which clarifies the room was damp. I would expect there to be a few wares and tares in a hotel room due to amount of use it gets, but there were a significant amount of imperfections to the furniture. The daily cleaning with the beds and towels however were acceptable.

    The interior design in the lobby and restaurant was on point, but unfortunately this didn't continue up into the hotel bedrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is not big enough. With the living room in upstairs, I can't enjoy the living room very much, because after a whole day tour, I don't want go upstairs with my tired body. It will be better if there is switch of sleeping area and living area. Apart from it, there is a huge problem in toilet, the shower area is not an enclosed area. The toilet is total flooded after a rainforest shower and rainforest shower is the only option to bath.

    The hotel is fantastic in outlook, can enjoy to view of the park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was a little further to walk into the city centre than I expected. Took about 20 minutes But this was not a problem as we enjoyed the walk and lots of bars along the way to stop for a rest and a drink.

    Nice clean room. Friendly staff. Bar has a nice vibe. Lots of outdoor seating area for dining or evening drinks. Lovely location on the edge of the park. Good shower and TV had English channels, BBC1 and BBC2

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of our room. The furniture was really old and when when house keeping came in they just fluffed up are pillows and took the trash. They kept the dirty sheets in the bed and didn’t give us new towels after taking the dirty ones away.

    Location was amazing. Loved the park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was a bit over priced. You're better off just ordering a la carte breakfast.

    The staff we dealt with were outstanding throughout. The decor is modern and stylish all over and the location by the park is beautiful It's an extremely well connected area for getting to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is quite far from a city center the hotel puts your booking fee plus a 100 euro on authorisation hold on arrival (though it may be an Amsterdam thing) pretty much everything in the room (the cheapest one): I was promised a bathtub- it wasn't there, water pressure in the shower was pathetic. Empty minibar, no bathrobe or slippers (in a 4* hotel), absolutely no soundproofing whatsoever (at one point I've heard a phone vibrating(!) next door, a super soft mattress (matter of taste). The room was overall worn-out, by the look of it was new and shiny like 10 years ago

    the hotel is located in a lovely park the common areas of the hotel are very grand didn't go to the restaurant but it seemed nice the two-floor room plan tea-making facilities bonus point - it has its own iamsterdam sign

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to locate front entry and not advised room was a bedroom loft setup with very steep stairs down to bathroom- no railing either Would suit younger guests only

    Location and outdoor area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am nearly 70 years old and was not expecting a narrow winding staircase up to the bedroom. I felt very insecure climbing up and down these stairs especially with no railing. Also, we were the room just beyond the locked door and had to put up with constant slamming of the door at all hours. We had to travel quite a distance to get into the heart of the city.

    The surroundings were lovely-a park with water etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its 15-20 min drive by car from hotel to city center (damsquare & trainstation). Tram takes about the same time. Everything else is perfect.

    Spacious, clean, comfy bed, big hotel with terrace bar and restaurant overlooking a park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit far away from the centre of the city and you had to take transit to get to most attractions. The room was quite basic, but comfortable. There was some confusion on the taxes as I was told in advance (via an email from the hotel) that they were included in the fees I paid to Booking.com, but then I was charged for them again when we checked out.

    The hotel is in a beautiful old building and it was a really unique property. It also backed onto a large park, which had many lovely walking trails, and also made it a very quiet area. It was so nice to be able to get a locker when we arrived to store our stuff before we were able to check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was only at the hotel for 1 night, but it was nice and comfortable. Free fast WiFi which was great as worked remotely from the hotel restaurant. Hotel is no more than 9 minutes walk from the nearest metro station Weesperplein. And to top it off, you have Oosterpark right at the door step.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit of a negative surprise not to have any view at all as there were only skylight, specially with these prices

    Bathroom with a bath for two was amazing and one of our rooms was really spacious. Restaurant was comfortable and nice to sit around on a rainy day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No vegan options in the restaurant or room service menu

    we had room 275 and it was amazing! the view was crazy and we loved our stay, the staff were kind and very helpful, already coming back in november

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough storage space for clothes , we felt it was aesthetics over practicality, for the size of the room and what we paid.

    Location was good very close to tram stops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side we had a court yard view room, and the court yard was quite untidy and unmaintained. But this did not affect the quality of the room because that was lovely.

    Property was very clean, bathroom was amazing the bath is something not to be missed. Staff were brilliant, and couldn’t help us enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of any import.

    The bar & restaurant areas were very relaxed and well presented. Had a holiday sort of vibe about them. The food and service were of a high standard to and the breakfast was tremendous. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent as everywhere was relatively easily accessible by tram. The building itself is also a bit of a treasure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff members were so friendly and helpful with directions and information. Room was quiet and comfortable. It is in a great location and we enjoyed walking in the lovely park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i could say is that i was not able to stay longer

    The location was ideal for travelling around the city. The hotel staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel entrance is through the park, somewhat difficult to go through when you have large suitcases. and i dont really see a porter service anywhere. I got the wrong impression from the photos as the room i stayed in was pretty small in size and with a very small window.

    quirky interesting design. located amidst lush greeneries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like how small the room was, the room also smelt quite bad (like mould or like dead rat) window was locked so couldn’t even air it out

    I really liked the big bathroom , comfortable bed and the park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy , doors being slammed and some other random noises , but that was the only thing . The walls are quite thin I think

    Loved everything , the location , the design , the breakfast , the staff working here was extremely helpful and lovely . The rooms are simply beautiful and the building as well , it has a lot of history and beautiful structure . If you re looking for a simple ,beautiful ,bohemian ,clean style hotel , this is def the place to be . Plus the park it s located at it s perfect if you re in the mood for a run or just being outside . Easy to access in the city by tram , everything is 2-4 km away from everything . I ve been walking everywhere from the hotel and found it super easy and lovely to get around xx it s super close to the Oud Zuid area and very close to the city centre too . Highly recommending it to everyone who s looking to have a lovely stay here . Will def come back here in my next trip xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness of hotel and room wasn't up to scratch - seemed as if they were understaffed in the cleaning department. Empty glasses and trays standing around in hallways and corridors, dusty surfaces in hotel room, dirty floor. Minibar system doesn't work properly - you have to take your water/drinks/snacks from the reception area and bill it to the room, instead of having it in the fridge in your room. At the very least the room should have water.

    The design of the room is so unique - a duplex with room at the top and the rest at the bottom. The massive windows were lovely, with a stunning view. The hotel's interior design is super trendy. Staff are all really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was not very clean. Requested double bed had two single pushed together with separate covers. We called up and they gave us a double cover for bed. The walls were very thin and could hear every movement from nearby guests in their room and corridors. When we checked out we told receptionist of our problems of the room but she did not seem too bothered.

    The communal areas were nice and place to leave luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is some distance away from the very center - approximately 40 minutes walk from the central railway station. However, the metro stop is very close and therefore getting there by public transport.

    The hotel was situated with a lovely park in the city. The rooms were of a good size and the hotel itself was grand. The park was lovely and great for walking or running around. Despite being outside the center there were still restaurants and cafes close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is like a matchbox...you can barely walk in there and always 1 has to wait till the other one does what he has to do. Very small rooms for the price and also we had to walk 30 minutes to the city center so not quite in the city center

    Hotel lobby is amazing, breakfast is amazing and overall the staff at the restaurant is very warm and frendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wardrobes in the room so unable to hang up clothes

    The decor of this hotel is incredible so instyle now with gorgerous greenery everywhere. The hotel is in a lovely park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not slippers at our room

    We like the stuff and the facilities, it was like a big college campus in a nice park. You have a really positive energy when you re in hotel and also when you get out of the hotel to its yard. It s really close to the tram and bus stops to the centraal station. And also there s a big supermarket about 5 mins by walking and a little one which is open to 2 pm.we highly recommend this nice hotel to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can see the shower and toilet from the bed through darkened glass. Uncomfortable if you travel with friends. The fan in the garden (probably air conditioning of the hotel?!) was pretty loud and we could hear it throughout the night.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door in the bathroom was broken! Nobody wanted to fix it(( The kitchen closes during the day, - it is not comfortable for tourists. The bar closes at midnight even on Saturdays((

    The location is very good) Comfortable bar, nice barmen) Food is also very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Issues with payment, noise from the street, distance to the metro station, long walk to the room (a lot of stairs and extremely slow elevator)

    Extra large bed. The room we stayed in, was an upgrade due to the payment transaction issues. Large windows, a lot of light. Sealings very very high. Generally a good room. The sheets were very tidy and fresh, which is always nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the room and style of the room.

    Our room which was an “upgrade” was not at all usable. It was a loft style, narrow staircase up to the bed so there was no way to get the suitcases upstairs. So the floor downstairs was littered with luggage. The location of the room was terrible as well. Once we go to the room it had a nice view but the entrance was quite a distance up and down stairs from the elevator. Sort of made us feel like we were on the outskirts of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had no storage space..not one chest of drawers. I had to ask for clean towels..housekeeping was very lax.

    We liked the historical building..and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could do with power outlets in more accessible places. Both nights were quite noisy as I could hear the guests in the room behind mine walking around, talking, using power outlets, shutting doors etc.

    We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Arena and I'd love to come back again. My bed was very big and very comfortable. The room itself had so much daylight due to the double height window, and the whole hotel is in a beautiful historic building with fantastic staircases and architectural details. The bar and restaurant is stunning, full of greenery, fresh food, friendly service and great views of the park. The location really is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience was great and the room was dreamy! Quite sad to leave to be honest. All hotel’s installations were great, specially the restaurant/bar. Great atmosphere and relaxing with the park right in front of it. We would love to come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was soulless, in need of repairs and in-room facilities were extremely basic. It felt like an upmarket hostel. Not good value for money.

    Lovely friendly staff. Peaceful part of Amsterdam away from the tourists and with a beautiful park on the doorstep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower still had hair and human bits and bobs on the floor. There was no water bottles or milk in the fridge upstairs. The noise that came out of the walls at around 2AM every night meant me and my partner could not sleep at all. Cleaners wake you up at 7am cleaning outside the room.

    The bed was comfy, room was nice. Coffee downstairs is amazing made my the baristas. The location you could not dislike!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor maid service, tea and coffee not refilled, bed not made, coffee mugs not cleared or replaced. No plugs for kettle or coffee machine, went to reception and they said we would get extension plug which never came so had to plug kettle in bathroom hairdryer plug! Staff didn’t seem bothered about our complaints.

    Jacuzzi bath in room. Close to tram station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and surroundings are great. The restaurant was lovely and having this fire pit and out door space made it much better than a typical hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we did not like that there where no water in the fridge and there where no flip flops provided.

    modern design and very nice location in front of the park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The laundry service was not satisfactory online/slip in room tells you can be done in a day, but staff was saying it would take three days to get done bringing us the weekend and then that would be an additional fee. We were utilizing this service in particular because we had no clothes visiting two other countries prior and needed clean clothes before we went to France.

    Location of hotel near Amsterdam College. Rooms were spectacular: stylish-Dutch influenced. Natural lighting in the rooms makes it cozy. The restaurant was chic, urban and has a coffee bar! Free breakfast as it says when you book through booking is not included with rooms-be cautious of spending more!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite expensive, there wasn't much to choose from :(

    The fact that the staff were really friendly, and that they had lockers that you could leave your bags in until check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 double and a twin room through booking.com but unfortunately they weren't informed about it and they only got double bedrooms ( was a bit awkward for my brother and my best friend )

    I loved the young and vibrant style and the helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very quirky! Extremely clean, and the bed was amazingly comfy. The food in the park bar was lovely, and very friendly staff. Highly recommend this hotel. Close to the tram stations and not far from Amsterdams attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived to check in our room wasn't ready which is fine as it was only 11am so we set off to explore the city. We returned to the hotel at 6pm to get our room. When we arrived at our room it hadn't been cleaned properly. Bathroom still had last guests towels on hook and floor. There were half full cups of coffee in the lounge area and dirt on the floors. Complained to reception and they promptly moved us to another room. So what could have been a downfall was quickly rectified !!! Didn't impact our stay or lessen our view of the hotel !! Maybe just keep an eye on cleaners over busy weekends.

    Hotel Arena is in a great location. Tram/ metro is 5 mins from hotel. Setting is really nice in the park. We had drinks in the bar each night and breakfast one morning. All were great and staff were really nice. Complementary umbrellas at reception were great to have. The hotel itself is looks great. Very modern in an old building. Nice gesture of the free souvenir gift on check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not clean. For a hotel of this standing they need to do a whole lot more on hygiene

    The hotel is gorgeous, super well designed with impeccable taste in decoration. being in the park is also really nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We threw our bags in and went into the city and when we came back later on that night we just realised there was hair shavings all over the stairs and juice spilt down beside the sofa that had clearly been there for quite some time as it was really sticky/hard. (We didn’t say because we thought they would have thought it was us as it was 8-9 hours after we checked in we realised) Black hand prints on the wall. Room was very warm even with the heating off especially at night. Very noisy, can hear people next door. Quite scary in the middle of the night when they’re going up and down the stairs and you think it’s in your room.

    Good location, easy access to public transport for the city. Lovely seating areas outside, unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there so didn’t get to use this. Food in restaurant was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not like the soft bed - But that is a personal choice. The room was cold although the heater was on maximum. The black film on glass separating the bathroom from the bedroom in my room had faded a bit and you could see the person in the shower. I shared the room was with my wife so no issues, but was also travelling with relatives who were in another room. They could not come into our room and had to leave the room every time one of us went for a shower. The TV did not work in my relatives room. However a technician was sent to fix it the next day.

    The Location - The main entrance is through a park which is beautiful and refreshing. It is just outside the main areas of Amsterdam, but well connected by tram. Would have walked to the city center if not too cold. The staff - were all very helpful. Especially Anna (hope I got the name correct) who checked us in. The same same goes for Jojo at the time of check out who also assisted us with getting a taxi. Did not use the restaurant but its a beautiful place to sit and eat overlooking the park and it has a lovely fire pit. The toilet and bathing room was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like the darkness of the corridor where our room was located.

    Quite a strange hotel when you get behind the facade of the reception/restaurant area. It was more than adequate but not luxurious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a pity that the hotel is not a bit closer to the centre, although the 30 min walk was good exercise!

    The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood in a lovely park. The building is fabulous with great old and new parts mixed together. The restaurant had a wood-fire which gave a cosy feel and the food and service was great, with lovely views of the park. Our bedroom was spacious with a lovely modern bathroom. We asked on booking for a double bed, but ended up with 2 single beds pushed together. The mattresses were not similar which made the beds move apart during the night. When we complained, the staff immediately gave us a new luxury room with a double bed. We will most probably stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating at the bathroom did not operate, there was a problem with the lighting of the room

    Nice restaurant at the hotel, nice decoration, green park near the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms ok but bathroom was a nightmare flooded twice & 2nd day no cold water - so shower boiling hot, couldn't flush loo! or clean teeth etc...

    Beautiful hotel, nice location, lovely front grounds-park like, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that we got offered was a maisonette style with the bed upstairs (very steep) and the bathroom/toilet downstairs. Also, the bed was a double bed and I wanted a twin bedroom. We asked and finally after lots of arguing with staff we were given a studio flat, which was better. The view was not good. The windows were high up and we couldn't see much except for other buildings. The shower was leaking all over the floor. We had to have towels on the floor all over the bathroom. I skidded and could have had an accident. The staff said that they would send someone to have a look. They came and seemed to have cleaned the bathroom, remove the towels, but the following day, it leaked just as bad. The drain cover was filthy. I checked and it was full of hairs, etc. Disgusting. The fridge smelled really badly as though nasty food had been left there. We went to the bar to wait for the room to be ready until after 3:00. When we were there, the waitress knocked a beer all over me. I asked reception to get it dry cleaned. They told me that they could do it, but it wouldn't be ready until Monday, which was well after our leaving the hotel. They said that if I could find a dry cleaners around, they could pay for it. I didn't know the city and found that a disappointing action. They offered breakfast on the house one day, which I wasn't happy with, but I couldn't do anything else. The staff were telling us that they knew also about the horrible smells around the hotel and about the drains and flooding showers. They felt that they couldn't do anything either. I didn't feel that was a 4 star hotel at all. The location was also poor, far away from the centre, but the prices that we paid were the same as those around the centre.

    I liked the fact that the hotel was close to a park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower has not a door. Bathroom floor gets wet easily.

    Staff is helpful and smiling. Restaurant is very nice. Room is large sufficiently. Tram stop is 2-3 minuets by walking. Bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Arena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: