Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Armada Hotel 3 stars

Keizersgracht 713 - 715, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 DX Amsterdam, Netherlands

#349 of 447 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1646 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    2.9
    Never ever again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was appalling .... damp and mould covering most of the walls and the strench of the room was stomach-churning! Refused to sleep in it so very reluctantly given a second room which wasn’t quite as bad but far from meeting expectations as it still had obvious damp issues, shown in photo. Thank god it was only one night! We’ve stayed in some lovely places in and around this area previously, many at a lower cost, where we’ve had good value for money and great experiences. Beautiful city that we’ll return to, just not at this place.

    Absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    5.0
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped room. No ventilation..no sunlight. Very dated. Bathroom flooded each time you had a shower.

    Location was fantastic. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.3
    The property and room was spotless, staff constantly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, although there was a thermostat on the wall there wasn’t actually an air con system. Which meant keeping the window open to stay cool on a very loud street in the early hours of the morning.

    The property and room was spotless, staff constantly cleaning even in the hallways. The bed was comfy and the bathroom facilities were great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not in the main hotel but the building next door- was not at all like a hotel should be! Was more like a hostel type accommodation. Rooms were very old,dark,cold & tired,old stained carpet & old university type couch & furniture. We had 4 nights here & the room was never cleaned properly-vacuum ed etc. For the price it was definitely not worth it.

    Great location. Very helpful & friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 2 in the basement. ALL the electrical outlets are wired to the ceiling light. So to charge your phone or watch the TV the main light has to be on. It was so frustrating we charge our phones overnight so couldn't as everything turned off when you switched the light off. Even the side lights 🙈

    Hotel was modern and relatively clean. Location was perfect!! You could walk everywhere from here. Staff were helpful at check in & out and we were able to stow our luggage until out room was ready. I would stay again definitely, we booked last minute so paid a little more than I thought it was worth but it was good overall 👍

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasent and quite location with a lot of restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasent and quite location with a lot of restaurants nearby. The room was well-equipped and clean. General expression was much higher than we had expected

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    The location and staff were really great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was actually two beds, with a mattress over them, but they were really easy to move around by mistake. The room was small but ok for just sleeping in. However, it was very cold in the room and only half of the heather was working.

    The location and staff were really great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    Price of 4 stars, but actually is a 1 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That's the worst hotel I've ever stayed. I complained about the smell of cigar in my room (room number 006) and the smell of cigar in my pillow and they haven't changed our room and neither provided another pillow. The walls are very very dirty. The radiator was terribly dirty too, gumming and disgusting. Do not touch that in any case. The room wasn't clean at the check-in (a lot of hair on the floor). The shower makes the whole bathroom wet. The bathroom sink is so small you can easily clash your head at the wall when brushing your teeth. The neighbor guest accidentally flooded his room and mine too, so my room got a lot of water on the floor. At the end, the conclusion is that this hotel has the worst cost x benefit, I expected much more. The only benefit of this hotel is the location, and I have a lot of cons to complain. If you have more than 200 euros to spend in an hotel (that's the price I paid per night), do not choose this one.

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    Rather deceived by Armada Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness was not to the level. Very small room. Bath & toilet very small and water spills everywhere. No late check out was accepted. No single bed provided by the hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Location was great, only a few minutes from Rembrandtplein.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Several steep steps in front of the hotel. Bathroom glass is small. The shower floods the bathroom.

    Location was great, only a few minutes from Rembrandtplein. Tram #4 stop is only a few steps away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    The receptionist who had only been working for 4 days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a mess when i arrived and stunk heavily of cigarette or damp

    The receptionist who had only been working for 4 days. Had little info on how things work and there was a power cut 🤷🏾‍♂️ but i appreciated his tenacity

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Tiny room with only basic amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "small double room" was indeed the size of a shoebox, with a matchbox-size bathroom. No protection from water from the shower splashing all over the bathroom floor. A kettle and tea bags available, yet no mugs. Bedsheets clean but visibly worn and old. Not comfortable even just when staying in for the night.

    Location is great, few minutes from the opera house, nice restaurants and cafes in the area. Staff very polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean and fit for purpose. Room very small but we were out all day and didn't need to hang around in it. Fridge in reception for guests use was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.0
    The location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service and facilities. When we visited the hotel, there was no hot water and for a small period no electricity. The staff/manager refused to offer any sort of compensation.

    The location of the hotel. Located in the centre of Amsterdam, it is very convenient for walking around and exploring the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is perfect for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom drain is not well designed, can be easily flooded. Can be noisy due to the movement on the street. They do not have air conditioning in the room, may have some issue during hot summer. But this time, it is no problem.

    The location is perfect for a city trip. Yet, this location will not provide quietness :P. The room is equipped with simple facilities. The bed is comfortable. The staffs are helpful. They have responded to my request and provided related solution.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location. modern, comfy and clean room. would definetly stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only complaint would be that there were no chairs in the room, only two small stools. I would have preferred one with a back

    The room was clean, modern and comfy. shower was decent. No problems with noise outside at night, I was on the ground floor. The big powerful fan was very welcome as well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Location as good in walking distance of everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really small but for a 2 day trip it's enough fit a base and somewhere to sleep

    Location as good in walking distance of everything you need

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Great trip in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our kettle didn't work and there was no tea/coffee provided. The bathroom was very small, an adequate size for a few days but any longer and you may struggle.

    Upon arrival the staff on the from desk were really friendly and helpful. Our room had a canal view which was beautiful and it was around a 15 minute walk to the centre so the location was ideal. The bed was comfy and overall our stay was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Poor experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were dirty. I was first assigned a room that was visually very nice and spacious but it was awfully dirty. The sheets had stains (the kind that remain after you wash them), the toilet was dirty (it had not been thoroughly cleaned) and the carpet looked dirty as well (when you know that despite having vacuum-cleaned it, there were still areas that needed further cleaning). I complained with the staff and then immediately changed my room. The new one was better but still needed some major cleaning.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The hotel is approximately 10 blocks or less away from downtown Amsterdam. There are bars and restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    The towels is looks like 20 years old the all walls in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels is looks like 20 years old the all walls in the room is very dirty. I never see in any hotel what the towels is so bad. I never recommend this hotel. But location is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Within walking distance of all local attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small and don’t have AC. WHen we stayed it was particularly hot and he room was like a suntrap. Also, the beds are very thin so not comfortable

    Within walking distance of all local attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    clean. well equipped friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    receptionist was friendly an informative hotel very clean, excellent showe room had a great view over canal . facility to look aft case on check out too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Nice staff clean modern rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That parking charges wasn’t stated as I was told I can park outside then ended up having to pay €373 to get my car back. Night staff should be more clear on wat happens i asked him Spanish man work he said no clamp or tow they stop doing that 2 years ago which clearly isn’t case

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    We stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like was a lovely place and lady at reception was very friendly

    I liked that the tram was literally outside the hotel that took us straight to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great spot, good location, guest friendly, would recommend to young travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC was not working in the room during our stay :( apparently they had an issue with the AC but we kept windows open and the weather was decent

    Overall cosy, guest friendly and flexiable attitude of the hotel makes it a nice spot for young travelers.I have visited Amsterdam a few times now and I can say Armada Hotel is one of the best hotels I've stayed in, definitely will stay there again. The staff were so nice and warm, there was a blonde girl (can't remember her name) and Roberto who were both very friendly. We forgot a plastic bag with our things when we checked out and Roberto helped me find it, they kept it safe for us even though we were gone to a festival for 3 days and they didn't hear from us. Clean and comfortable rooms and location was great too. Haven't tried the breakfast, but we were told we can keep food in the fridge and use the microwave if needed. They have elevators so no need to drag ur luggage up and down stairs as with most hotels in the city. Locationwise it was great too as it was still very central but a few streets down from Damn Square so it wasn't noisy or annoying.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I my daughter's forgot their head rest for the plane in the room they refused to allow her to up to get it those ones costed me a fortune

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    An ideal location to stay in budget and get best accessibility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small as compared to the standard room at other locations and there was a spike in price when we tried to book for the next day. When I tried to extend my stay for another day (Friday) the price was double.

    Awesome location, helping staff, clean room. the best accessibility to almost all famous destinations. You can literally walk to nightlife and other famous places of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice view from 3rd floor over canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view from 3rd floor over canal. Only view from lower ground room (005) was the pavement, road, refuse bins and traffic all of which were very noisy all day and most of the night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay beside beautiful Amsterdam canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location beside a canal & super near tram stops. Prefer this area over being too close to Central Station, it's less crowded & more pleasant here. Abundant choices of food nearby. Supermarket a short walk away. They have a lift!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved if there was a small fridge in the room just to hold few drinks

    The hotel was very central we were able to walk to the ice bar , heineken experience, dam square, the van gogh museum and the amsterdam dungeons from our hotel . We had small double room over looking the canal the room was small but it was lovely and clean and i like that , we had clean towels everyday and the people working at reception were always very good to send us in right direction when we were going places . There is a starbucks around the corner but there is also lovely cafe beside hotel that had breakfast and good beer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    I love Amsterdam and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water not on for my first shower but staff sorted quickly. No tea, coffee or milk to go with the kettle and mugs.

    Big bed for single room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Kettle and mugs in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small rooms compared to the price.They should reduce price.The staff kept changing but they were helpful except the girl on day of our departure,very rude.

    good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    It was within an easy walk of the city centre and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was next door to a bar and it was a little noisy in our ground floor room. Possibly not a problem if you were staying higher up.

    It was within an easy walk of the city centre and it was very near to lots of bars and restaurants. It was clean and the staff were very helpful. There was also good free WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect if you want to be cosy and not spending a fortune
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is a simple hotel but cosy and right close to one of the tram stops, right out the door. It is also close to many nice shops and pubs. The best value for money i found, It is nothing fancy but if what you are looking for is a comfy and clean place than this is the one. I would not recommend having breakfast at the pub next door because it is not that good and overpriced, but you can find lots of other coffee shops nearby for that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    Best thing about it was only Location Location again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleaning Crew did the worst job everyday. I Had to beg for towels pretty much. Sheet never got changed through my stay . Bed were mad such in a fake manner, they might as well stop pretending & just leave it as is ....! Front desk is a hit or miss. Ignorant fox sitting at desk sometimes get impatient when yo ask a question . Make you feel so unwelcomed It needs some series Customer services 101

    Best thing about it was only Location Location again location .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location...patio doors need to be refurbished, and housekeeping to air the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a single traveller,I was attracted by the single traveller recommendation. The first room that I got , had old doors onto a veranda, which didn't shut or lock,due to wooden doors having swollen with age. When I asked to be moved, I got a smaller room, which reeked of hash,and looked onto an internal wall, with little air circulating.On the third try, I got the same size room,i.e. small, but no pong!I then changed rooms the following day, to the original sized room, with the patio doors shut...I didn't attempt to open them! There was no apology forthcoming from the polite receptionists,and I was made to feel that I was being unduly fussy...I presume the security of their rooms should be a priority for the hotel...but obviously not the case here. Also,there was no instruction on the telephone in the room advising how to reach the reception...neither 0 nor 9 connected with reception, hence extra trips from room to reception.The receptionist would not leave the desk until the third room was on offer.

    Great location,close to all sights,but quiet road. Jazz in cafe bar next door on Sunday night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and tidy. The location is perfect if this is your first time visiting Amsterdam. Overall 10/10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Plus: location, staff friendliness, easiness of Check in and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air co / wifi

    Plus: location, staff friendliness, easiness of Check in and Check out, canal view Minus: A/C not working, wifi barely working, extrême my small rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Location wise really good just on the edge of busy loud...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small for the money. We had to change rooms on the first night as ‘room 101’ is a sweat box with no natural light. Staff didn’t have a problem and next room was bright and airy. But room 101 should not be given to paying customers

    Location wise really good just on the edge of busy loud areas but far enough it’s quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant and helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't soundproof as written. The room was in a building next to the one with reception (a bit strange but ok). Would be nice to have the breakfast option.

    I had a single room. I was positively surprised how big it was :D I appreciated the electric kettle and big comfortable bed. Very good internet connection. 15-20 min walk to the city center. 6 min walk to the Rembrandt Square which is full of nice bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    We were within walking distance of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault it at all.

    We were within walking distance of everything. 20min walk from the Amsterdam central station. Lovely area, even at midnight there were no issues. There’s a little cafe next door that is open all day that does food and drink. There’s no where to get food on site apart from a vending machine, which if your a young couple is good enough as we ate out every day/night. We even arrived earlier than we thought and instead of waiting about for checkin time we got put into a room straight away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.2
    Cleaning is very poor and no comfortable facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning is very poor and no comfortable facilities and service also wifi is very weak room all in all is not even reach comparing to the other hotels with the same value and staff is not helpful only the location is the good thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Roberto= at the front desk was very kind and very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small but cozy , Room should have a small fridge Room should have a air condition was a very hot day in Amsterdam Bathroom sink to little difficult to was your face and for the shower the water was running all over the floor

    Roberto= at the front desk was very kind and very helpful, and very much accommodated Hotel is very central and easy to go around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    It was lovely! Great value. In a really great part of town. The cafe next door is delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a basement room. It would have been. I’ve to have a better view without paying more. But I understand why they would price it that way. So I can’t complain too much! It was a great value for what we paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were amazing, very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small but that’s it :)

    The staff were amazing, very friendly & helpful. The hotel is really clean. We liked that there was secure storage for our bags when we couldn’t check in/have to check out early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Tiny and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was impossibly small. The towels was hard, thin and scratchy. Definitely not the standard that we paid for. Not good value for money.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. It was walking distance to everything we wanted. It had a lift to take our luggage up and down.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    It made my tour in Nrtherlands just more exciting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The regulation of water flow. As I have no Ph. D. in engineering, all the installation in the bathroom seemed to me too complicated. But that might be common in Netherlands, so it is not a flaw of the hotel.

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Thank you for a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was quite small, although overall we thought our room was very nice.

    Thank you for a great stay. This hotel is in a great location and we enjoyed our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location, not central but close to plenty of cafes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next door to a cafe/bar so a bit noisy late nights on the weekend but nothing thst ear plugs couldn't help!

    Good location, not central but close to plenty of cafes and food places. A nice walk to the center anyway. Nice room, not overly big but plenty for what we needed, cleaned every day of wanted. Staff seemed friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Very noisy, badly maintained, overpriced but clean room in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window was placed right next to a pub, less than a foot/meter away, not only it would be extremely noisy all night long but people would smoke weed just outside and all the smell would just come inside through huge gaps in the window frames. When the people would finally go to sleep, the garbage trucks and cleaning services would show up. Less than ideal light, the door was very poor at isolating sounds as well. Water would seep into the room from the bathroom and the door was screeching louder than you have ever imagined. Never been oiled in its life. Bathroom fan had inches of dust and I doubt it was working. Room had ventilation control but didn't get to see the actual ventilation holes. I think it was a dummy control. Cost was 175 Eur/ night, which is more than what I have paid at 4 star Golden Tulip and Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam previously. Huge cost to pay just to be able to walk home in the evening.

    Walking distance from city center, neat, cozy room, on the most perfect tram route in the city. Bed was comfortable and clean and cleaning services did a very good job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall brilliant stay for what we needed - Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not very clean in places - Dust on wallpaper & other places View from room given was onto a courtyard/ smoking area - was untidy and full of rubbish Was a lot of noise in mornings from 7am (drilling / loud banging etc) - think this was due to building works which is probably no fault of hotel to be honest

    Brilliant Location Great shower & clean bathroom Easy Check In / Check Out - Locked Cupboard available to keep luggage Tram stop nearby (No.4 takes you to and from central Dam every 10mins)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff and great location I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were VERY THIN! We could hear the people talking next door and when their tv was on. I was woken up at 3am when they came in because of the noise. Our room didn’t have a window as we were down stairs in the basement. But apart from that it was a lovely stay.

    The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful as we arrived at 11am and she made sure that our room was cleaned and ready first for us so we didn’t have to wait too long. Comfortable beds and the shower was great. I loved that the room had an English plug in the wall. It’s in a great location. It’s just outside the center but I preferred this as it was a lot quieter, cleaner and nicer. The number 4 tram stops just outside the hotel which is very handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Bed was really comfortable, location fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite small - but this is typical for amsterdam I think. The shower was just open so when you showered the whole bathroom around the sink and toilet will be wet - maybe this is also typical amsterdam I think. I found it not a great value for the price I paid but all the accomdation was expensive in the city center.

    Bed was really comfortable, location fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Fine, but important things sis not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV remote control did not work properly. The bathroom is not adequately fitted, but should be excellent when finished. The switch for the light in the hallway is impossible to find in the dark, and is needed to get down the stairs safely. There was a telephone cable but no telephone. The staff was cooperative, and I supplied this comments to them.

    Location, right next to a tram stop. The room was in an adjacent building which seems to be under renovation, and will be very good when finished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Could not have asked for a better location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing bad!

    Could not have asked for a better location. My girlfriend and I went for the weekend and it was absolutely amazing, 5 metres from the no.4 tram, took us straight from Central Station to the hotel! Incredible location, definately would go back! Super easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Great location, clean and simple room for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy outside on our first night as we were above a bar and then someone decided to burn off and repaint the lines on the road at 1:30am. None of these issues were anything that the hotel could help with though. There was nothing else that was an issue and the hotel couldn’t do enough to help.

    Really friendly staff on arrival - gave us an upgrade as we were due to be in the basement. Room was great with everything you would need. We stayed here two nights and then came back for one more as we’d used Amsterdam as a stopover for our return. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Great property with a messed up staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Asian girl was extremely rude asked my friend who was visiting me at the hotel to leave and when asked for giving me the category of the room I booked she charged me extra money (€100)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    No breakfast option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast option. No coffee or tea in room. Had to get it yourself from reception (not pleasant either!) no glasses for water. No fridge. Room walls were dirty. Shower was hanging off the wall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location, clean modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got a very small room but it didn't bother me that much yet I know there are people out there that would complain.

    Amsterdam is very expensive and this was the cheapest hotel I could find for my dates! Staff was very friendly throughout my entire stay. Hotel is located in the city center, everything is nearby you wouldn't need a taxi to travel anywhere in my opinion. I was very surprised because hotel looks very old from the outside but rooms are actually very modern in my opinion and clean. I'm surprised this hotel has so many bad reviews people must be very picky or maybe I got lucky during my stay. Can't really say a bad thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room nr.12 was very small but ok for us because we just spent time sleeping there 😊 toilet/shower room is very narrow...barely ok for normal size person. Sound proofing is not very good...street noice and talking from other rooms can be heard...did not bother us thou!

    Good location...everything in walking distance + tram stop next to the hotel, nice and helpfull staff, nice room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    If you get given room 004- I'm sorry for you! only stay here if last resort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Our room was in the cellar basically. -Bikes and cars chained to our 'window' / parked right outside. -room very dark and depressing. - shower literally soaks the whole bathroom, then drips down onto the bedroom floor puddling up. - mold and damp all around the room, down the walls etc. - VERY VERY noisy!!!!! window is paper thin and can see daylight through it- with it being so close to the center a lot of human and vehicle traffic passing, woken up both nights we stayed by loud drunken conversations around 5/6am. - mugs had mold in them and only one sugar and tea bag, not that we would of used the mugs anyway! -390 gbp for 2 nights for this room. Fair to say i was less than impressed. - hairs on the pillows upon arrival and the floors hadnt been cleaned prior to our arrival. - towels didnt get replaced, just hung back up, -Girlfriends folded clothes were screwed up on the dressing table???

    The location was good. 5 min tram from centraal- tram station right outside the door. Vending machine in lobby (although out of order half our stay)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room overlooking canal, good location & friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room overlooking canal, good location & friendly helpful staff. Nice bar next door & close to lively square. 20 min walk to central station & tram stop just outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable but very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are extremely small for 2 people, there wasnt space for us to both hang clothes. The shower also didn't have a door so the bathroom got soaked every time you shower.

    Comfortable bed, clean and good range of tv channels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Rooms were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was in an extended part of the hotel i believe. The rooms were good, but communal areas made you feel like - where have I booked. Room was bright but for a keen eye was not super clean on the carpet etc I would only book this if I just needed a place to sleep, but not for a regular trip

    Rooms were good. View from teh room was of a park next door, was good too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent price and location, very pleasant rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you're in the shower it doesn't drain very well so the floor is a bit wet if you go to the toilet but if you put a towel down you'll be fine it wasn't a too much of an issue

    Amazing price, lovely staff who help accommodate you and location is ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    3.3
    Extremly Disappointed with BOOKING.COM for recommending this Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, one of the worst experiences and pretty disappointed. My first experience that the choice on Booking.com has gone wrong. - extremely unhygienic places I ever stayed. Absolutely bad carpets, bed covers etc. etc. - pathetic service, Towels were BAD. Not changed regularly even room was not cleaned at all - light fitting sub standard - no lifts and had to carry my bag on first floor, my room was in other apartment block so away from main Hotel -

    Only Location one of the worst places I have ever stayed. Disappointed with BOOKING.com recommendation for this place. When I paid 120 Euros per day just for basic room without breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can't think of anything I'd like to have changed.

    Locatuon was great, we walked everywhere and didn't need to catch any form of transportation for the whole of our stay apart from the tram to our hotel, we could of walked but it was raining so choose not to. Staff were very friendly and gave us a map of the city and showed us how to get back to the hotel if we ever got lost, the room exceeded expectations very modern especially the bathroom, the room wasn't big but we only used it to sleep in so that didn't bother us. We were literally in walking distance of restaurants, boat trips, coffee shops, sovonire shops and so much more. On our doors was a box that showed four different options such as do not disturb and room service so that the maids knew if we needed our room cleaning and new towels or not which i'd never seen before, there is a lift so easy access to the third floor, when we looked yo see if we could book again for a few months time it was mostly all booked up and a lot more than what we paid for, we really did get a bargain, I'd read a lot of negatives about the hotel so was a bit sceptical, I couldn't fault it and that's why I've made my review so long as I find some people not pick at such small things and make places look bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know we booked a small room but we wasn’t expecting it to be that small!?!! Plus the heating in our room wasn’t working properly and it was -8 degrees outside.....

    ?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    It is good place for short stay for budget traveler in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not proper screen for shower and room was a bit too dark.

    Helpful staff, big, very quiet and warm room, bed was very comfortable, widescreen TV, excellent place, good transport. It was very good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    When I first saw the rating , I was doubtful but I am...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first saw the rating , I was doubtful but I am extremely happy I picked the place and will definitely choose it on my next visit, it has the perfect location, staff were friendly and rooms were clean and tidy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice, little room for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit too cold in the room. Check-out could be later.

    The room was small but convenient and tidy. Bathroom was clean and shower spacious. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When on arrival the room was clean looking unto we moved the bed out of the road to find dirt and kfc receipts that had been lieing there for months it was disgusting throughout the night the room was freezing and woke up the next morning to discover there wasn't even a facecloth to get washed we won't be back

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Would use this hotel again over the other 3 we've used in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff were so young, a young female child that couldn't understand English and came in whilst we was using the bathroom but we couldn't communicate and ask her to come back at a later time

    The window, mirror, shower and bed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    2.9
    Worst place ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room . The room is with dimension of badroom. Badroom is smaller then wc.No view, Very expensive . Maximum 1+ star. No restaurant or buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.0
    Staff are really nice, the room was clean and around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Souterrain
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We was made to believe that this hotel was situated in the centre, but it is about a 40 minute walk in to the centre. The view from our room was nothing special at all... We opened the window to see a brick wall inhabited by pigeons! However, despite the bad view and small(ish) room- we still had an amazing time and the room was really clean and pleasant.

    Staff are really nice, the room was clean and around the corner from Rembrant Square.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Armada Hotel traveller photo gallery