Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Museum Lane Hotel 2 stars

Weteringschans 67, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 RX Amsterdam, Netherlands

#388 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1502 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    5.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    The location is great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff doesn't speak Dutch (they are very friendly) We had a very simple room in the basement, with no view. Some things in the room where broken and the tv didn't work.

    The location is great! Everything is there the second you walk out of the hotel. You pay for the location. Great location to explore Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Good locaction - helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    O.k firstly the room was dirty. Carpet was not vacuumed or poorly done so. Hair in the shower tray from previous occupant, mildew on the tiles in the shower. The tap in our room literally came apart in my hand. As there was no drinking water or a glass, we had to buy water (not available in the hotel). No breakfast. Loud room - could hear every everything our noisy neighbour did - at 5am. The room was very stuffy, there was no air conditioning and the window was held open by a trash can. For €263 no excuses for a dirty, noisy, dated room. Do better Museum Lane Hotel.

    Good locaction - helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    Not worth of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small. There is no room to unpack our stuff. Not worth of what we've paid.

    Clean and comfy bathroom. The property allowed us to leave our luggage as we arrived earlier than check in time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation will be booking again for January 2019
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mosquito bites from the hot weather i assume, at first thort it was fleas, however this is not the case.

    I liked the view out of my window which was on the forth floor, which provided an excellent view below.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    Better to pay a little more - worse than expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I already expected that the hotel wouldnt be all that based on the review, but I didnt expect the matrass to be so old with lots of humps in it, all crooked and the pillows to be so gross. I slept with the towels wrapped around the pillow. It was really a bit gross, plus super noisy. But if you're not picky at all, it'd be okay.

    The location is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower flooded regularly. The bed was not very comfortable. The most unfortunate experience was that the reception was often closed for extended periods of time. We were locked out of our room a number of times as the reception was closed and upon check out we missed our transport to our next destination as we had to wait 20 minutes for someone to arrive at reception.

    Fantastic location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, very basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets werent’t changed for three days. Thin walls you can hear a lot of noise from other rooms. We were supposed to get the room with a view to the Rijks, but instead we got a room with a view to the another room. Very steep stairs (could be a problem if you have a big suitcase) The TV was not working.

    Location was perfect. 3min to Rijksmuseum and Leidseplen. Very good and easy connection to central station. Good wi fi. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly staff, nice bed and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and towels condition could have been a bit better. Towels looked old and a bit dirty. The floor looked a bit dirty too. The air quality was bad but we were able to open the windows so that was okey then. The safety locker wasn't attached to anything so it could have been taken from the room easily if somebody would have broke into the room.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, nice bed and the room's pricing was right. Check-in and check-out were easy and fast. Quiet place for relaxing. Shared bathroom was always free when we needed it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.9
    Shocking. AVOID AT ALL COSTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was disgusting, not fit for an animal. Not clean at all, found litter behind curtains and underneath the bed. The whole room smelt like sewage. Windows didn't open. No toilet roll or and toiletries, only just about had running water.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Room was clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Tv didn’t work.

    Room was clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and nothing fancy but nice, location was great just across from the museums and a 2 minute walk from the trams. Staff were friendly and helpful. And a nice view from the balcony and a quiet ish area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Very nice hotel friendly staff with lots of languages spoken...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exposed wires in bedside lamp and no warning so could’ve have been live!?

    Very nice hotel friendly staff with lots of languages spoken location good for centre of Amsterdam

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value hotel for a small comfortable room close to museums and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about - it was a very small room but that was made clear on the booking site. I like small rooms. It was hot but there was a fan. The bathroom was just a little bit smelly, probably because of the heat and the drains etc. It didn't bother me.

    The location is outstanding, the booking process and checking in etc was very easy, the room was clean and there was a fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    It’s not the Ritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay, I think a lot of the reviews on here are overly harsh, it’s not amazing by any standards. However nor does it claim to be. It wasn’t particularly clean and I think the photos are misleading it is in need of a lick of paint. There was no air con which made an uncomfortable stay as there was a heat wave and we were on the 3rd floor at 37 Celsius. I wouldn’t recommend to stay here, but I wouldn’t advise against it as a stop over.

    Location is good and there is a 24 hour reception. It’s a lot cheaper than a lot of hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice location and affordable hotel for overnight stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are few things that were not too good. There was no elevator and very steep stairs. The room was clean but not enough, the floor was dirty but bed linen and towels were always clean and replacement for new. And we had one problem there, our toilet was clogged and not repaired all day.

    The best of this hotel is its location. We had a view on Rijksmuseum! There were many museums, restaurants, bakerys, etc. and Vondel park near by. You can easily go to the centre about 10 minutes. Staff was really helpful and kind. The room was good, there were towels, soap, hair dryer, coffeemachine, TV, small table with chairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.8
    The location and nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything, the rooms were filthy, we had to handover our keys at night which we weren’t comfortable with, the staff were patronising.

    The location and nothing else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    Location is the only good thing in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So, initially we booked a twin room, the room they gave us was a couple. Two single beds tougher on a single base is not a twin room, is a double room, when asked for a proper twin room they informed me all the rooms were like that, so apparently they don't have room they advertised on booking. We booked the room with balcony, and they didn't give us saying it was fully booked. The room is small. They talk in the website about a rooftop, when we asked how to get there, they said that nobody is allowed. Why are them announcing this if in the end nobody can go there? That's absolutely ridiculous. In the website it also said there was a TV in the room. It really had a the TV on, but it's such a bad quality that I prefered to watch the final of the cup in my phone in a poor quality website. Stairs are very small and there's no lift. If you're traveling with big luggages, you'll probably have problems to go upstairs carrying it. No breakfast.

    The location is great. That's it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was great and it was easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property did not have a lift! So we had to drag our suitcases two levels up to our room. The staff offered help in bringing them up to our room though. Lesson: please thoroughly ask about the facilities on the next trip.

    The location was great and it was easy to find. It was next to the Rijksmuseum and other attractions. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Too expensive for the things it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a room in the first floor two months prior to our arrival because my mother has some problems in her leg and they wrote to us they were going to do everything they can to comply with that request. When we arrived at the hotel they told as that all the room in the first and second floors were full so we were staying all way up, in the third floor. The TV didn’t work and when we told the staff about it, they just said that they didn’t know what to do. Also the sink in the room was so noisy, every time someone in the whole building use the water, our sink started to make loud noises.

    The staff was really nice with us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    2.5
    Extremely disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost evrything Micro sized room - bathroom half the size of the room. Bwd against wall , one foot one the other sode ad 2 feet to the bathroom. Spiral steircase so narrow. Impossible to get luggage upstairs. TV not functional - no hel[p to fix. Bathroom drain not work ,, flooding At EURO 150 per nught - a very poor experience Booking .com or the hotel should consider some compensatiopn

    NOTHING

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Shabby but okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby and in need of modernisation. Furniture, floor and walls stained. Noisy at night. Sometimes only given hand towels. The photographs make it look nicer than it is.

    Staff friendly and helpful, good location. It was generally clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    An extremely disappointing experience, which left me feeling that I had wasted my money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very poor value for money. For 130 Euros per night it was in a very poor state of decoration. The sink was hanging off the wall. The electrical sockets were in very bad condition. The carpets were both stained and had loose dirt on them. The television was wired up in a very haphazard way and, although the attendant was able to make it work, it would have been impossible for any guest. In addition, the curtain would not

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Close to Leidseplein.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom need a paint job

    Close to Leidseplein. small hotel but more than enough for a weekend stay when your plan is to be outside and experience Amsterdam. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    Tiny room, terrible bed, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was TINY...you could hardly fit any luggage! And they only gave us small hand towels to dry off after the shower! But the worst thing was the bed...it was so soft it was like a waterbed and I have had a painful back for the whole week since then. Good location but sadly not worth it.

    The location was the best thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    very unpleasant stay partialy due to situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet in our room has stucked during first night and personel was not able to offer any help except to offer toilet in the hall. Hotel is without lift and stairway is - say - dangerous. During our stay the facade has being reconstructed so there was construction in front of our windows at the arrival I told the staff that it was not announced and theyt let me pay extra for nicer view. They told me it is being dismantled tomorrow- guess what happened :D

    Good possition

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needed lots of freshening up - our window was held open with a screwdriver! Also a working safe in the room would be preferred.

    The property was basic but if you are just looking for a clean and safe place to sleep then this is the place! The location was absolutely superb, would recommend to young couples and backpackers. Also staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    HORRIBILE
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Staff was so rude and unhelpful. The rooms do not reflect the pictures shown. Had to use a shared bathroom but not on our own floor yet the sink was working. Stairs are SO steep. On our last night, a customer was unhappy with their room and all of a sudden we heard screaming and yelling and them threatening to call the police. The owner was yelling and being very mean. Very unprofessional. Will not be staying again.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.5
    I wouldn't stay there for free
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst nightmare had to leave! The first surprise was the renovations at the facade of the building. Our room had a beautiful view towards the scaffolding of the renovations that were going on. Probably in the morning, we would wake up to somebody at the window. Our room was claustrophobic, bunk beds and one of us had to leave so the other could get dressed. It was impossible to open your arms inside. Anyway, the worst part was dirty. There were hair and stains all over the bed sheets, DISGUSTING! The shared bathroom was also dirty with disgusting plastic curtains. Besides that, you MUST leave the keys at the reception. The receptionist will shout once you are going down the narrow stairs so you don't forget. Btw, DON'T try to use the stairs if you are drunk or high, it is the worst I've seen... We could not spend the night, it was just too disgusting to stay! We simply paid A LOT and left! I wouldn't stay there for free, but on top of all, we had to pay a ridiculous almost 100 Euros!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    Staff was incredibly rude and would not let us check in when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was incredibly rude and would not let us check in when we arrived because we could not provide a copy of the credit card used for payment. Although it was never specified on the website or in the emails that we needed to give them a copy of the card (it only says that the person who made the payment needed to be there). Then they did again the same at check-out, would not let us leave without giving them a print copy of the credit card. It sounded more like a scam than anything else, and even if I had had the card with me I would have never trusted them considering how rude they were. Hotel was old, dirty and very overpriced. Would not recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    So disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scaffolding outside our room at 6am. Pre warning would have been nice. Mix up in our rooms without any prior warning at all despite the hotel having all our contact details. The beds are very uncomfortable, all of us left with back pains.

    Rooms were clean. Showers were nice. Good location for exploring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got the basement room, so I was not expecting something very nice. There was no cold water from the washbasin, just a very burning-hot, so I needed to use the shower to wash my hands for example.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    The room was 'basic' at most, however, that was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was 'basic' at most, however, that was not the problem. It was dirty, the room was dirty, the sheets were dirty, and when I went down to requst clean sheets they just gave me less dirty sheets. They were telling me that was no smoking hotel and every evening the corridors smelled of weed smoke. Awful stay, wouldnt do it again no matter the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    I’d stay here again if I could have the balcony room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night receptionist who was very rude in the morning

    I liked that I had a small balcony. Only a couple of rooms with balcony. Without balcony it would have been quite depressing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    The location is immediately adjacent to tram stop and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the hotel was way higher than the room was worth. Paid 1200$ for a 5 night stay. Room was in basement and had mold on the cieling. Definitely not worth the price I paid.

    The location is immediately adjacent to tram stop and numerous museums

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.9
    Awful, dirty and old. Never will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness, the size of the room, the broken shower, the smell, the wood louse in the room, the old stained towels, and it costing £180 per night! Worse hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    2.5
    Disappointed with the dirty room, the dirty bathroom, the non helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven't been so disappointed before. The room was very small, but the worst thing is that it was very dirty. The sheets and the towels had yellow disgusting spots, the sink was full of spit marks and it was like they had never used the vacuum cleaner. Under the bed there were garbage like empty bottles of water. The bathroom was shared but they never cleaned it. Used and dirty towels were laying down on the floor ,and the toilet seat was dirty all the time. The staff was ok except for the man who did the check in for us. When we arrived he wasn't at the hotel so we had to wait for him outside with some other people who stayed at the same hotel because he had their room keys. When he arrived after 20 minutes he apologised and said this would never happen again but it did happen again twice at the same day. When we saw all the dirt in the room and complained to the same guy, he said he couldn't do anything and he that he would bring to us some new sheets and towels but he didn't so we had to go ask again. All this experience ruined my holidays

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Full beds are two singles. One bed was thicker than the other making it uncomfortable for two people to sleep together

    It was pricey but seemed like a deal in amsterdam

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay here , Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink leaked directly onto the floor , But as it was a wet room it wasn't much of an issue

    The bed was extremely comfortable after the miles and miles we had walked on our visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Location close to public transportation and turist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs very small and up right. Rooms are not as warm as the reception.

    Location close to public transportation and turist attractions. Staff, excellent speak english well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    It's worth it just for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dirty. There were stains on the sheets and dust all over the nightstand. The bathroom needs a serious update since there was rust everywhere. The bed was pretty uncomfortable as well. Also we couldn't open the window.

    The location is very good - next to great museums. There were also some nice cafe and restaurants near by. The best thing about the location is that there are tram and busstops just a minute away from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    Bed was quite comfortable
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small Bathroom rather small Shower dripped through the night Dusty in some areas Tv did not work Curtains stained Door to room didn't seem secure One key to room (was a plastic key)

    Bed was quite comfortable Friendly staff members Very close by to Paradiso (main reason for choice of this hotel) Heating worked well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.6
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed had damp that was dripping from the Celin. The bathroom was filthy and the sheets smelt bad. What ever you don’t book the basement.

    Didn’t like anything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs are very steep to get up. Don't book if you have difficulty walking etc...

    Very friendly staff. Good location, 15-20 mins walk to centre of town. Right beside major museums. Area near hotel (Leidseplein) had a lot of great, cheap restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Just ok, the place could be amazing with a little love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t cleaned very well (there was rubbish under the bed and clothes left in the wardrobe). Safe didn’t work and neither did the TV. ‘Twin’ room consisted of two single beds next to each other. We stayed as a couple however this would be very ‘cosy’ for friends! The place in general is in need of some TLC.

    Good location. Comfy beds and big windows with blackout curtains so it was easy to get a good night’s sleep. Free WiFi was a nice extra.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean, hole in the wall, luggage just left in reception and could be taken by anyone, had to give key in to reception which anyone could access, outdated and unhygienic bathroom

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Basic but charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A "double bed room" was two single beds pushed together, not ideal. The shower was simply a wet room. And they tried to charge us an extra €450 for 4 extra nights whereas the overall price for our original stay (5 nights) was only €300. Not fair. There was a number of short hairs on the bed on arrival. Needed to be very careful with the shower as it sprays near boiling water from the hot tap, find a balance with cold. Balcony door didn't close correctly either and the safe was broken.

    Beds were extremely comfortable. Staff members were pleasant enough. Location was okay as it was only at max a 30 mins walk to near enough anywhere. Location was stunning at night as the trees around the canal were fairy lit. Food places were all very tasty and there was a friendly night club, No.129, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    This hotel was good for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doors slam so could do with looking at. place is quite run down but for what we wanted was perfect. Would not recommend for a romantic break, but with friends it is ideal.

    This hotel was good for what we wanted. My trip was just myself and a friend going out for a few beers etc so was purely a place to sleep. The place is quite run down as a whole but the bunk beds were comfy and the place was in a great location. Staff were great and very helpful in booking taxis etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, nice staff but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was broken, there was tape stuck to it to hold it in place. You can't take your room key with you when you leave and they a very strict about it. Noisy building. Bathroom is a wet room but after one shower the place is saturated, not good if there's two of you.

    Lovely staff, great location, comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room; almost no movement possible. Bathroom floor was tilted so that shower water would not drain. Staircase (in old building) excessively steep, making it difficult to take baggage upstairs. One staff member was not helpful at all.

    Location is excellent. Near museums and trams that lead to center. One staff member was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. Satisfactory shower could’ve been better. Water got everywhere and I shower curtain went missing and wasn’t replaced on the last day.

    great location. Near airport express bus stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel in the center of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say.

    I loved the location of the hotel, it is in the middle of everything, close to tramway stations and Amsterdam Centraal. The hosts are really nice and ready to help you. I would definitely go back to this hotel if I come back to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    Find something else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - There was mold on the bathroom walls and ceiling - The whole room didn’t seem to be cleaned in a long time - Not very secure (everybody could get someone else key at the reception) - The room was very small and the bed filled almost the whole room (not a large bed) - The bed was old and saggy (but relatively clean) - No breakfast option The price is way to high for that! I’m not coming back.

    - Great location - Staff was friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay here! EVER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like everything - we stayed for 2 nights in the Twin room - basement. The room we stayed in did not get tided or a change of towels during our stay. Firstly for those that live in England and think 'basement' means downstairs it doesn't here! It was up 4 flights of extremely tiny barely stepable stairs the pictures don't show just how thin they was and dangerous getting luggage up! The blinds where broken, windows where broken letting cold and noise in all day&nights, fag ends where outside the windows, the bathroom locks got stuck (in our previous room that we stayed in here the bathroom door handle actually broke completely and our stuff was stuck in there until we fiddled with it and released it) You have to leave your room key EVERY time you leave the hotel which causes SO much waiting around and hassle! It also makes you feel uneasy about your valuables!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.8
    Disgusting - don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filth. We had booked twice for this hotel so tried out 2 different rooms the first was a double room with a private bathroom, the window wouldn't open and there was barely any space to move. The smell from the toilets wasn't good on the second floor and the other rooms had there shared toilet directly outside our door so we woke up numerous times, if we hadn't already paid for a revisit we 100000% would never ever ever stay again. - other room comment is on a separate review

    Not a lot, maybe the location was the best thing?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Dirty old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask to a non comprehensive staff to change our room as the one given to us at first was extremely dirty. Not acceptable. The second one was fair enough but really old and with a disfunctioning heating machine.

    Only the good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    The location was good as it was short walk or tram ride...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel could be lovely, but no money is being spent on repairs. There were so many Health and safety issues. No light on landing on 3rd floor, no railing on 3rd floor stairs, exposed wires in the bathroom... the safe didn’t work, no lightbulbs in bedside lamps. It’s could be a nice boutique hotel with a bit of TLC, especially for the price we paid for our room. We were woken up by the cleaner every morning shouting across the landing and banging the doors around.

    The location was good as it was short walk or tram ride into the Centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Location is great but it comes at a price! The price being cleanliness and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Floor was a mix match of different carpets. It was filthy dirty. The bed had stains all over it. The shower was broken and fired water in every direction. Bed has fluff bobbles all over it and was super weird to lay on. The window doesn't close and is locked open via a metal lock. When you leave they want you to hand back your room key which has the safe key attached. We refused and then was told if we lose it, there's a fee. My stuff had clearly been looked through by the cleaner or whoever was in there when we were out. Nothing was taken however.

    Not a huge amount. The location of the hotel was very good to get to LeidSuplin and some of our other fav areas. The bed was comfy to lay on but so soft after 5 days it did my back in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, damaged walls bathroom had mould. The whole hotel stunk of stale smoke. THe safe didn’t work so nowhere secure for your belongings

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Tiny rooms. Good when alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty crap. Location for what i wanted was far from ce trum but i knew that when booking. £45 cant moan

    The staff member i saw was friendly. The room was cosy (small, glad i was alone)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.0
    This is the worst hotel ever and shouldn't even be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the worst hotel ever and shouldn't even be called a hotel- its a hostel. such a scam and waste of money looks like an entirely different place in the photos. TOTAL SCAM. There was holes in the walls and stains on the floor. Literally disgusting. Had to wear shoes in the bathroom cause I didn't want to get a foot fungus. Don't waste your money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    2.5
    Was having a great time until I arrived at this hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The experience , the service, was guilt tripped so they could try make yo feel bad when you point out mold and brown liquid stains with mildew in the shower, tobacco stains on the sheets, noise like you wont believe, a water pipe that ran through the room over the bed sounding like it would burst illegally. The fact your credit cards numbers and financial documents are stored outside the safe on the floor, lack of security, I managed to recreate the key they use to enter the doors easily. But hey GOD bless.

    Gosh , how do you compliment when nothing to compliment?:) They are good at deceiving you and taking your money! Filing for charges of International Theft now. Then may sue for extra due to emotional damages.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4th floor room with no lift. I went with my parents who are little bit older and was annoying to go upstairs. But the view was amazing instead.

    Location. Near I amsterdam and tran station which means you can go anywhere in Amsterdam

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    3.8
    Horrible nightmare !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safety in the rooms i got robbed ! Very Noisy Smoking smell all over the rooms Bad hospitality No telephone in the rooms Rooms are too small ! Stairs are horrible specially when it comes to lifting luggages No lobby in the hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall, very good value for money, good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs was too steep and we had to climb 4 flights of stairs to reach our room. No lift. One of the steps fell off on one of our ways down. The beds were also too soft that you fell off if you leaned to far over. Shower was very weak and overflowed into the rest of the bathroom making it very wet.

    The location was very central which we loved. Staff were friendly. Room was warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    3.3
    Terrible, will never use this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small box size room with bunk bed. No chair supplied and hardly any room to stand up, and TV does not work. NO LIFT, three floors to climb on very very steep steps. Communal bathroom, description very poor on the booking.com page. Room also smelled of detergents!

    Nothing good to say about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall a very enjoyable stay with comfy beds to rest after a long day sightseeing in the fab city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were a bit of a nightmare but obviously cannot be helped by the staff or the owners. It was like climbing ladders the whole way up but I suppose a bonus is that it was good exercise for the few days we were there!

    The bed was super comfy and was made better with the view of the museum directly outside the window. The staff were friendly and very helpful with information on public transport and the discount tags in the hallway were a lovely feature to have in the hotel for the guests to pick up as they were heading out for the day sightseeing or going for a meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds where perfect. The view was very nice. You didn’t hear a lot of noise from the big streeth in front of the hotel. Bedroom was very modern en clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.6
    Thiefs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners thiefs! Stayed in room 103 on arrival man on check in desk was rude, went to our room was awoken early due to loud banging on first morning me and my partner counted money before we left for the day went back to room to find 20euro was missing out of both of our piles of money! Didnt say anything as it was our own fault as we didnt use the safe didnt realise cleaners would go in the rooms so soon. They dont clean tho just change ur bed and leave all rubbish if its not in the bin. On our last day after we left I went into my bag and realised 25english pounds has gone missing was just emergency money for arrival back to uk for snacks etc still not the point. More angry they went threw personal belongings dont Ever Stay Here!

    The bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.3
    It was near to amenities and transport .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic twin room with bunk bed and shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very basic ..I know u get what u pay for but I paid for a room with bunk beds and they didn't have a ladder and there were exposed wires where there were supposed to be plugs and there was a lamp with exposed wires too

    It was near to amenities and transport ..we loved the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    2.5
    am just surprised we didnt get scabies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I, in all honesty, would straight up recommend that noone stay in this hotel. I recently stayed in this hotel for two nights. I actually wanted to cancel but I had accidentally chosen non-refundable and, despite finding a cheaper hotel in a better location, we had no choice but to stay here. Our arrival in the hotel was standard enough. They charged me an extra 2.36 as the city tax on accommodation had gone up one percent`, which I thought was mangey and just stingey in general, but we got on with it. The receptionist then gave us our room key. We were told that every time we left the hotel we were expected to hand our key into reception when we left the hotel and we could collect it again when we returned. I, naively, didnt question this until my boyfriend pointed out that it was not very safe to be giving someone our key and telling them we were going to be out. The room when we walked in was straight away below standard. the door jam was damaged and broken where wear and tear had worked for what looked like years. It was either that or the door had been kicked in forty times, but I preferred to believe the former. The wall by the bed was marked and scratched and was in severe need of a repaint. The carpet on the floor was, instead of being one piece of fabric, was lots of little squares of fabric. Little 1.5ft x 1.5ft squares of mismatched pieces fabric that moved and you could see the wooden floor underneath. The curtains were clean but creased and were coming off their rails. I sat down on the bed and felt thousands of these prominent lumps om the mattress. I pulled back the sheet, which wasnt fitted, and the mattress was covered in those little baubles you get on cotton or woolen clothes. I dont know why we didnt complain at this point but we didnt. I decided to go for a shower. The bathroom was like a lockerroom shower. There was no towel rack so I left the towels on the toilet.

    am just surprised we didnt get scabies

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    2.9
    Free WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the most horrendous hotel I've ever stayed in, it's dirty, TV don't work staff are not interested, as for the bathroom couldn't bring myself to use it terrible

    Free WiFi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly & helpful staff willing to go beyond their...
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls very thin, could here other guests conversations within the room.

    Very friendly & helpful staff willing to go beyond their role to accommodate us. Very comfortable bed. Central location. 24hr reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location but narrow staircases that lead to the rooms are a bit of a pain !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with museum view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The very narrow staircases that lead to the rooms!

    Excellent location, but do select the museum view as it is stunning! The only thing to be aware of is the very narrow staircases that lead to the rooms!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.4
    One of the worst hotels I have stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable, they forced us to move rooms, our food went missing from the fridge, the staff wasn't very helpful, there are no shower curtains so a gigantic mess gets made in the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    Basic, probably cheaper elsewhere for same standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside and in corridors all through night, beds very uncomfortable and I’m sure we had bed bugs. Bedside lamp didn’t work and all plugs hanging off wall. On check out morning we were told we had until 11 however at around half 10 we had people banging on the door, felt rushed. Staff were supposed to be there 24/7 but weren’t there to leave key with multiple times over 2 days.

    Fairly close to centre, about 20mins walk to centrum. Room size okay for short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Hotel Staff were very welcoming, hotel was clean and tidy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking as with everywhere in Amsterdam is awful, but the hotel staff gave me a print out with the local P&R to park the car in over the stay and gave us details of ways to get back to the hotel using the tram service.

    Hotel Staff were very welcoming, hotel was clean and tidy with good facilities. It is in a great location with public transport easily accesible

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Museum Lane Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: