Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Assen 4 stars

Balkenweg 1, 9405 CC Assen, Netherlands

#3 of 9 hotels in Assen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1885 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Like all Van der Valk hotels very good all round
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moved the duvet to find some black beetles which scurried away. Also I was bitten by something in the bed.

    Like all Van der Valk hotels very good all round

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable two nights in Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little confusing arriving after dark - on website called Van der Valk but sign on hotel said Hotel Assen (look for the toucan!). Hotel bar on first night very busy with large and very noisy groups of men - hard to hear what we were saying . Possibly there for an event as gone by next evening.

    Very comfortable, spacious room with balcony overlooking lovely gardens. Excellent breakfast although rather pricy. Easy access to restaurants in centre of Assen (need a car).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent experience and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything bad about our stay

    Free car parking, all your needs for catered for. Breakfast was good eggs, omelettes, waffles cooked by chef in front of you. Hotel fully booked but had no problems getting table at breakfast and no queues checking in or out. Rooms emaculate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful four star hotel with excellent service and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As per usual we got a Booking Room, now on the third floor without elevator access between second and third floor. Heavy suitcase for 72 year is difficult to carry upstairs. Terrace with view and noise of the autoroute.

    Beautiful four star hotel with excellent service and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    What a Pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the traffic from the freeway but the hotel offers earplugs, if its to much to sleep.

    Everything! Beautiful hotel with great and very clean rooms, really good food at the restaurant, easy access to the freeway and city and friendly staff. Would love to stay at Van der Valk Hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    we enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    because there is one big balcony with no seperation between the rooms you can't sleep with the door open at night

    room and breakfast and the possibility to eat outside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    This Toucan hotel doesn't disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The buffet was good both at dinner and breakfast. Quite big rooms and my kid had lots of fun in the indoor play ground. The location close to the motorway makes it handy for traveling around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel and the food is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When in the reception there are no signs to show you how to get to the rooms. There is a very inconspicuous sign saying ‘hotel’ direction when you are actually standing in the hotel. I found that rather confusing on arrival.

    I had a great room with a. Kew on the forest - the food in the restaurant is surprisingly good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfy, big rooms and next to nice park
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only complaint is the gym. I'd like to see a rowing machine added at a minimum, and in a perfect world some free weights and a barbell for squatting/deadlifting.

    Comfy beds, great bathrooms, huge balconies. The rooms here are very nice and I regularly stay here for work for 3-5 nights. Huge park next to the hotel that is great for going for a walk/run. You can also rent city bikes to get around Assen which is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in Asssen
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very big hotel and the numbering of rooms is not structured so takes some time to find your way through the maze. Restaurant service too some time

    Hotel rooms were very luxurious. bed was very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was very good. Wifi was good and free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    All in all good, but the reception team needs to be trained for customer friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inflexible, non-experienced reception staff . I asked before arrival to be able to check in 1.5-2 hours earlier as we had a baby with us who had to sleep. First they refused it, then they said it is possible but we need to pay extra 10 Euro per hour. Never heard any hotel charging for this, even might be the policy. Finally some supervisor arranged, but this gave us bad feeling to arrive to the hotel. Also our check-in was not smooth. The window door in our room was broken, could not close it, so cold was coming in.

    Excellent dinner and breakfast. Big room, with nice renovated bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and big. Restaurant personnel very friendly and helpful. Nice decorations and cosy atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Very nice stay in a friendly place.
    • Couple
    • Wellness Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To find your room the first time can be a bit confusing.

    The service and staff was very professional and friendly. They tried their best to make you feel welcomed. Very nice experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    AMAZING! Loved it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Gym description didn’t match with the real machines found there, but nothing you cannot manage to work with.

    Everything is exceptional, from the breakfast, to the rooms, bathrooms, facilities (lounge, restaurant, etc.), ending in the staff personnel, one of the best and most beautiful hotels I’ve ever been! Definitely coming back!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked these rooms very early as I have for the last 4 years but made a mistake and booked rooms that had to be paid for straight away I asked if these could be cancelled and re-booked as payment on arrival rooms as my son races and if he was injured ie broken leg or arm etc we may not have been able to go. But the Hotel wouldn't so I was not happy about this.

    Close to Assen race circuit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant welcome again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Once again, the staff and hotel facilities didn't disappoint. Greeted by friendly staff on reception who had the history of my previous stays here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were small and could have been better. Had a luxury room so should have had a dressing gowns !

    Comfy bed , plenty of space good breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Great for our bike season visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unable to park motorcycles in the under ground garage an is the reason we choose hotel. Park now on roof area although with camera is not as good still be stolen.not enough sugar in room for drinks, room was not cleaned one day during stay when was asked the cleaner to clean.a empty l wallet lucky disappeared from next to kettle. Some service on the Sunday afternoon was slow, and asked for a coke and a orange never arrived, so we left earlier.

    Staff reception blonde girl was super lovely and excellent and fun. Food beer services from lads behind bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Excellent all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff really friendly especially in the bar Restaurant food excellent and good value, likewise, the breakfasts. Rooms very spacious and have everything you need. Come every year for the BSB. Track easy to get to. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Van der Valk has the advantage
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs more choice on the new restaurant menu for those staying more than a day or two. Also, starters priced at pretty much at least 11 euros is very expensive.

    Great location, spotless rooms and public areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Decent place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pathetic "gym" though. I sometimes opt for other hotels just because of that. VdV needs to seriously evaluate having a proper gym on site! Breakfast is so boring and not much of variety.

    Generally good place. Friendly staff. fast check in/out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel for a stoppover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ./.

    Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Great beds. Super breakfast. Easy parking. Just what one needs for a stoppover during a long drive. Excellent food in restaurant, too. We will definitely stay again if we need a night in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Comfy, clean, conveniently located hotel with fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, very reasonably priced. Fantastic breakfast buffet, great selection of cold and hot food (especially loved the mini pancakes and syrup and the coffee machines!). The staff are friendly, the room is spacious and comfy with a shared balcony. It's very clean and the bathroom is lovely, with a lovely shower. It's easy to find, close to the motorway, and the car park is huge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    breakfast choices were fantastic, something for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast choices were fantastic, something for everyone. Evening meals fabulous, staff couldn't have been nicer or more efficient - all round a great place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking out was a very slow process. Only two desk-persons were available while telephone calls interrupted the checking. For such a great and fine hotel NOT DONE.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Recommended - well priced & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reasonable pricing. Availability of a 3 person room - which is quite rare. Nice quiet setting with trees around. Abundant parking. The clean towels did not stink - which I often find in hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay in upgraded Wellness Suite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think everything is actually quite good the way it is, especially for a 4* hotel.

    We stayed for one night and booked the Luxury Twin Room, when we arrived at the hotel to check in they told us we got given an upgrade to a "Wellness Suite". We had a Sauna, Steam Shower and Jacuzzi bath in our room, so we decided to test it all and I must say it was fabulous. Your own little wellness in your own big suite. We also took the breakfast, very wide choice as it is a buffet. English breakfast, French breakfast, cereals, fresh fruit, fresh juices,... everything really! The staff is super friendly as well, and always ready to help you. If you have a phone call to make or have to print out something they won't charge you for it, real service for a 4* hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Lavish accommodation in Assen, with a compellingly satisfying breakfast (at additional cost).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I booked- a junior suite, I believe- I got at something of a steal, which was luxury that quite exceeded my expectations for the amount I'd been quoted. As a matter of fact, I went back to the front desk just hours later, to ask if I might be able to extend my stay (which I luckily could, albeit at a slightly higher price for the second night than the first). The pictures of the junior suite in the listing provide a thorough and accurate impression of the room, so I don't shan't clutter the listing by uploading my own inferior ones. Serviceable beds, a spotless white bathroom, a sturdy wooden bar desk of comfortable length for work, and a solid wireless connection. Even considering all the other creature comforts, I think the breakfast buffet might have been the highlight here for me; I'd gone several mornings without hot food at the time, and rather shamelessly loaded up on scrambled eggs, baked beans, sausages, potatoes, little pastries, oatmeal, cereal, pulpy fruit juice, and yoghurts. I'm sure the selection extended beyond the items I've listed, but I'd quite filled up by the time I'd eaten everything I'd somewhat indiscriminately corraled onto my plate(s).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Staying with two grandchildren it was nice to have adjacient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took long before the main course was served and it was only warm, not hot enough. Mentioning this, the staff said: we can warm it up for you???

    Staying with two grandchildren it was nice to have adjacient rooms with a connecting door

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    nicely furnitured and very clean rooms with air conditioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is located near the highway which makes it noisy outside. The sound insulation could be better.

    nicely furnitured and very clean rooms with air conditioning, mini bar and a big flatscreen TV with international channels

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room: the carpet might need a thorough cleaning.

    Reception: nice and friendly. Room "Deluxe Comfort": cosy, spacious, comfortable, with airco, huge bathroom, view from the room on trees and nature. Breakfast: big choice, very good quality. Diner: à la carte: very good, friendly service. Parking: no problem parking your car with a bike carrier. We definitely enjoyed our stay at this hotel, very close to the hunebedden (Borger, Emmen) and to the Waddenzee (Menkemaborg)! Thanks to all the staff there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel choice while I was traveling through the Netherlands
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait at reception as there was only one person serving Room had road noise but it did not keep me awake, I guess the traffic reduces as the time of the evening goes on.

    As with all the Van Der Valk hotels that I have recently stayed at they appear to offer a good size of room with a great bathroom, an extensive buffet breakfast with hot and cold produce, good parking facilities, good on site restaurant and a bar and well maintained properties with polite staff. Very nice restaurant and a separate lounge bar with outside seating Very large hotel. Used a lot for business customer judging by the amount of meeting rooms Rooms had all the required facilities + free Wi-Fi and were very clean, rest of hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Modern, friendly and good location !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excercise / fitness room facilities could have more equipment, or be bigger.

    The space of the room is great.The room I had on lower floor with patio outside overlooking trees and grass , added to the relaxed feeling

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, but to menmtion one tiny point: The signalisation in the hotel can be improved: First time I tried to get from my room (137) back to the reception, I must have missed a direction sign and got completely lost in the middle of nowhere. On my way back, I noticed that there are info-signs missing at strategic places. Anyway, no big issue but this can be simply improved.

    Everything just great, including the star-worthy restaurant 28Dining!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Visit for the WBK TT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurants within walking distance. Assen town centre is a 10+ euro ride away so 20 to 25 euro return & if you are here for a few days it gets expensive.

    We were here for the World Super bikes & the TT circuit is less than 10 mins drive & very accessible from different angles. The hotel is really good & we would visit again. Couple of restaurants & bar food available. All staff spoke excellent English & very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    great experiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant again decor very nice, however waited over an hour and 20 minutes for dinner to find the order never made it to the kitchen!!!. we were seated by the staff to a table not laid and with a half bottle of water on the table. After we had our meal which was excellent we found the following morning they had charged us 5.95 euros for a bottle of water we never ordered despite they said it was half drunk..............yes by other diners.

    location excellent, hotel looks great externally lots of parking nice gardens very clean, internally excellent decor to a high standard lovely decorative furniture throughout, rooms are large and again decor to a high standard with balcony's. bathroom to a very high standard and all very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Best Hotel in Assen, The Netherlands
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Breakfast was excellent! Like being in Heaven, everything you could ask for was there. Room was perfect and Large, Beds were also great. Bathroom, wish I had this in my House.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and modern hotel with friendly staff, all of them spoke perfect English. We would defi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our second night we had very noisy neighbours out on the shared balcony till 4am shouting and scraping chairs. But that can happen anywhere, we think it was the local Dingles by the look of them.

    Lovely rooms, the bathroom was exceptional, bath and shower with underfloor heating. Free wi-fi and safety deposit box asa well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Excellent and worth every penny. Conditions of hotel and friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the mini bar

    Was a brilliant hotel and will be booking next year for the Dutch open. Classy hotel and brilliant food as well as friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Everything was amazing! Even better than in the photos. We stayed in the junior suite and it was so cozy and perfect. We had such a great time there

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.3
    The rooms are modern, especially the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just a personal thing, but we don't like the twin beds, instead of king/queen mattress. It would be an even better service to offer both options at time of booking, so guests can choose.

    The rooms are modern, especially the bathroom. Big bathtub, rain shower. They give out many bathroom supplies. Food at the restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Staying here was just a great pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A sign in the bathroom said, if you use your towel again hang it up, when it's ready for laundry just drop it on the floor. Dropping towels on the floor I think it's rude to do, it gives me a feeling to offence someone. Why not a laundry basket?

    Loved the bathtub and my bed. Toast was lovely and the fruit was real fresh.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Excellent choice for one or 2 nights stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little confusing as the hotel consists of so many parts and buildings.

    Hotel staff is super friendly and nice. Plenty of free parking. Bathroom was very luxurious in our category. Juice variety at breakfast was excellent, generally breakfast fast ok.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Efficient hotel, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very large "conference" hotel with potentially long walk to central facilities typical of this chain. Room + window opened onto common balcony which reduces privacy & security.

    This hotel has the most extensive breakfast buffet of any I have experienced: wide choice, fresh, plentiful! Good restaurant for dinner, and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in Bathroom, entrance very noisy ( different music from various arias and table football next to desk with check in?)

    Spacious room and bathroom, new

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    perfect for the TT course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we tried to find out what the restaurant served at night to try and make a choice if to eat in or not we asked at reception and were told there were some in the bar but we could not find one. it would be nice to have one around in the morning so you can plan your day.

    the hotel is lovely in a great location easy to get to as it is just off the motorway. the breakfast was great with lots to chose from. the room is really good comfy and with great facilities. there is free parking which is safe they also have a dedicated bike park for motorcycles which is good to see.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Great Hotel, Brilliant Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very little to dislike, maybe some additional leisure facilities for those staying on holiday rather than work

    friendly and welcoming staff, free wifi, good food and drink, not expensive, great location for TT Circuit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Great stay in Assen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location for the Superbike racing. Cleanliness of hotel in all areas. Hotel staff really helpful and friendly. Spacious room with good shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Bed very comfy room and bathroom large
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the route from the reception to the room

    Bed very comfy room and bathroom large

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Large spacious bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    Large spacious bedroom and bathroom. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Not to recomend
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for a luxeurios room but get a room smelling tobacco, and in addition poorly cleaned

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    All OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All OK

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    close to the circuit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to the circuit helpful staff good menu at the bar/restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    De kamer vooral de douche gelegenheid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles was perfect

    De kamer vooral de douche gelegenheid

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    good parking comfortable room and beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cost of food and drink, no where to wash clothes

    good parking comfortable room and beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    My stay was very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very nice and the room was exceptional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Location and Quite place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything excellent

    Location and Quite place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    All was fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were large and comfortable, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very good choice of food available if you are vegetarian.

    The rooms were large and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous breakfast, friendly personel and a great place to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fabulous breakfast, friendly personel and a great place to relax and enjoy the wonderful nature nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    RELAXING AND VERY NICE HOTEL AND TOP QUALITY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE CUP OF TEA WE FOUND DIRTY THE SHOWER DRAINAGE IS BLOCKED AFTER END OF SHOWER

    ALL IS V V GOOD

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Had a great stay during the TT Moto races.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great stay during the TT Moto races. Nice bar and patio area, staff were very polite and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Catered for all my needs. Restaurant refurbishment May be better performed in low season?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a long walk to room 41

    Rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Luxury hotel at a Budget price. The buffet dinner was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Well presented property, I would recommend and definitely...
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well presented property, I would recommend and definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Good at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad at front desk service Only buffet dinner, no choice

    Good at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Reall enjoyed our stay. Staff was lovely ☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished it was a closer to town

    It is a great place to meet family and friends. Lots of cosy areas to talk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Good wuality rooms and friendly stafg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was being renovated, which wsd not shown on bookng.com

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Good location, modern, large room and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, big room with a balcony. Breakfast fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Property going under renovation,Pneumatic drills being...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Wellness Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property going under renovation,Pneumatic drills being usedthrough the night. No la a cart menu available only buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was 3xcellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was 3xcellent Room suite as per expectations outlook less interesting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Simple, value for money is ok, long stretched upt building give long walking to your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the highway is nosy in the Eastside forom hotel. It will be better when you ask for a room in West.

    Perfect bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is amazing. Rooms are superbly comfortable in this price range

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Assen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: