Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 3 stars

Emmaweg 13, 2202 CP Noordwijk aan Zee, Netherlands

#22 of 23 hotels in Noordwijk aan Zee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 499 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    I got to freshly squeeze orange juice in the juicer every...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffe making facilities in the room. Had to wait until the restaurant open in the morning at 7:30.

    I got to freshly squeeze orange juice in the juicer every morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    We really liked that the hotel was affordable, but we also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having a better options for families would be nice, rather than having to split into 2 rooms.

    We really liked that the hotel was affordable, but we also got to experience the amenities at a more expensive location (very nice pool/sauna!). The walk was not too long to the beach and made for a perfect experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    first we was dissapointed that the pool is not in the hotel like it says at the pictures ,the cleaners was so loud wile they was cleaning the rooms,talking loud even listening music on they phones wile we was trying to fall a sleep after breakfest and unther the bed was so much dust.

    only the breakfest

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Great little spot but needs decor updating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned in room. Old tired furniture needs updating. Wallpaper abysmal but just personal opinion. TV kept losing English channels - poor signal.

    Location and quietness of the area. Comfortable room but dated. Close to all shops bars restaurants and beach yet no noise at night. Situated on a quiet residential street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    an average hotel, good value and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had trouble finding the hotel - didnt realise I had to book a meal before 4pm on the day i needed to eat in the evening

    friendly - large room - free parking - clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Close to the beach and great staff!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little confusing but once we figured it out, it was easy

    Our stay at the Hotel Astoria was perfect. My first time to Noordwijk and Aaf and Noel were wonderful hosts. Our rooms were tidy and clean and great internet. The breakfast was especially made perfect with croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon and some of the BEST coffee in all Nederland! Superb Close to the beach within walking distance of great restaurants too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff are exceptionally kind, also on the phone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are too soft, and breakfast could do with some fresh fruit in addition to orange squash. I asked to have the invoice sent by email, and they haven't followed up yet.

    Staff are exceptionally kind, also on the phone. It is also a quiet area, easy to reach with public transport. Beach, shops and restaurants are all nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have selected this hotel because it came up with pool requirement in the search filter. It has no pool, it is offered off premises, which is not the same. If I would know that, I would select another hotel, even if it would be pricier. In addition, they are switching off the heating from 22 till 7, and it was uncomfortably cold in the night. Upon complaint, they denied it and did nothing. I am not going there again, at least not in the winter time. I have never got served coffee at the breakfast and I did not bother to wait for staff to notice me or try to get their attention and it shouldn't be necessary.

    Cosy little hotel, well maintained, room nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no major complains. The breakfast officially starts a bit late (8 AM) if you are on business, but they were already open well before 8.

    Very good value. Room was clean, quiet and adequate to my needs. Wifi worked well. Good Dutch breakfast. Efficient staff. Nice location in Noorwdijk aan Zee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Good relation price / worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay parking at the hotel, but at least they explain why :) (the reason is that, in case the space that they have is filled with cars, then you can park for free in a private garage near to the hotel (because parking in the street is also paid)

    I loved the arrangement that they have with the hotel van oranje, that allowed us to use swimming pool and sauna of that hotel for free. Also the stuff were very friendly, coffee was good and the view from my room was really amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Simple, but clean hotel in the center of Noordwijk aan Zee.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charge you a supplement if you pay by credit card.

    Simple, but clean hotel in the center of Noordwijk aan Zee. Large room, food wifi, kettle in the room. Breakfast was OK. In general a good value, often stay there for business trips. Parking not free, but cheap (6.50/day).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Good Value at Friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No English TV, which was a bit surprising for Holland.

    Great breakfast, and well located just a few minutes from the beach. Plus the added bonus of having the use of the swimming pool at Orange Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Great swimming pool and close to restaurants and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room overlooked the parking lot so it didn't allow for us to get much fresh air!

    Great swimming pool and close to restaurants and the beachside. The room itself was clean and the breakfast was varied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.8
    Not so happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance door locked system has a fault that you need to input the code many times before it open. The hallway to the room is very tiny and its so hard to get into the lift cause of the small space to move. No parking avail for the hotel so you need to go around the town ctr to find one.

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    Overall, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice with bacon or sausages to go with the omelette and beans for breakfasf. It took awhile for the shower to heat up. Didn't get new bath gel and shampoo for my second day of stat.

    Overall fair breakfast buffet spread and I like that I had my own coffee pot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    4.2
    Low-profile hotel to save money for your stay in Noordwijk
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture is old-fashioned, needing modernization. Very noisy housekeepers in the morning. The breakfast offers both sweet and savory, but there were few options.

    Although the hotel is somewhat isolated from the center of Noorwijk, shop and restaurant area can be reached in 10 minutes walking. At the entrance there is a sunny patio (in the afternoon) with two comfortable sofas. There is elevator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.5
    Good wifi, decent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really cold when I arrived. The bathroom could have been cleaned better.

    Good wifi, decent breakfast. Large room with a nice view (top floor). Kettle to make a tea available in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.2
    The only thing I really liked was the fresh orange juice at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness: one cotton bud stick has been under the bed for the whole 3 days visit (I do not use them, I do not know for how long it has been there) Room: no air conditioning was OK but at least I would have liked to open the window, to get some fresh air ... but I was at street level and the window opened where people could easily walk. Room: fortunately was summer: the long side of the bed was all along the heather ... I do not think it would have been nice to have it on. And the room was very small.

    The only thing I really liked was the fresh orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Very good for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot and the rooms have no AC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Very nice, friendly people and awsome beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffe, tea and electric kettle in room.

    Perfect location few minutes from beach and sea :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent facility if pool/sauna access at the Hotel de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facility if pool/sauna access at the Hotel de Orangie

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Very quiet outside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Small room and barhroom. Noise insulation not very good in the hotel

    Very quiet outside. Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    had a great stay for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a bit smaller than expected from the photos

    very nice staff, friendly and very clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Very close to beach and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, but within value for price.

    Very close to beach and town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Possible to stay again in Summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking garage space is limited.

    Location, close to sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Possible to stay again in Summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking space was limited.

    Close to sea, nice restaurant area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay. Hotel had a coach party in and the breakfast items did not get replenished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a fridge. Not having air conditioning.

    Quietness, friendliness and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    The eiderdown was very bad and It was cold in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The eiderdown was very bad and It was cold in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    the room was cold despite the heater on
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was cold despite the heater on

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    love the place, I shall return. Thank you.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not have cold water, only hot. The cold water faucet was broken. I could barley shower...

    Small, cute and fancy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Good location. Rooms kind of old but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was very slow and needs service. Rooms need to be updated.

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.0
    work time in noordwijk in ESA seat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom was dirty, and the room very small

    good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Overall a very nice stay , good size room, clean, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall a very nice stay , good size room, clean, good breakfast, WiFi, coffee available. Very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    9.6
    The beds were really comfy everything clean and staff were...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    We used the swimming facilities that are based in another hotel and paid 10 euros each to use the sauna jaccuzi etc but when we got there you couldn't wear swimwear and had to go in naked which I didn't use its not very practical to share the facilities when travelling with your adult children who don't want to see parents naked was not impressed

    The beds were really comfy everything clean and staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    7.9
    Good value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Good value for the money. Hotel is well maintained, room clean, breakfast is very nice. Internet worked OK. Close to the beach/transport. I often use this hotel for business trips.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.9
    The room was clean, nicely furnished with a large work desk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very cold even with heating at full power (in December). I would have liked a kettle in the room, but it was possible to get a the at the bar.

    The room was clean, nicely furnished with a large work desk. Wifi worked OK. Good breakfast served since 7:30. Hotel operates a bar.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.8
    We arrived really late and there was a problem with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived really late and there was a problem with our booking caused by me. The staff went beyond their ways and really tried hard to find a solution and my wife and I ended up having a great stay. Thanks to the wonderful and humorous staff who managed to sort everything out.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.3
    I think the title of the review is enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NA

    I think the title of the review is enough. For its location, staff and contract with Azzuro I have only applauses. It's a well managed family hotel, with nice breakfast and clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    The location was close to beach and all resort factilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was close to beach and all resort factilities. It was also close to the bulbfields which we cycled to see. The staff were helpful and indeed one of us having left something behind continue to be helpful in organising the return of the items.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    8.8
    Great location, nice staff, quiet area, good restaurants...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although not announced on the website, they charge an additional 1.5% on top of your bill when you pay with a credit card.

    Great location, nice staff, quiet area, good restaurants closeby, tasty breakfast with fresh orange juice and tasty bread.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.5
    Price marked up for Blomencorso, otherwise ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price marked up for Blomencorso, otherwise ok

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    7.5
    Quiet at night, good curtains
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet at night, good curtains

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.5
    Free ticket to spa center nearby.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free ticket to spa center nearby.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    7.1
    Room very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room very small

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    7.1
    Swimming pool entrance within the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed !!! I still have pain on my back...

    Swimming pool entrance within the price

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: