Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Atlas Hotel 3 stars

Nieuweweg 7, 6301 ES Valkenburg, Netherlands

#35 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1254 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    had to pay for parking, also had to check out a day early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had to pay for parking, also had to check out a day early due to personal reasons , informed booking.com who told us to inform tell the hotel at check in ,which we did but they refused and insisted we still pay for the night we didnt stay. not happy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Quality,inexpensive and a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was excellent

    Excellent location, very comfy rooms/beds, secure car parking and gluten free breakfast-a great hotel, in a lovely location providing excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Staff friendliness was great compensation but I don't think I will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tiny singleroom and shower. Photos on booking.com led me to think that the rooms had been enlarged! Fortunately I am quite a small person so could fit in the shower but still frequently turned the tap hotter, colder and/or off as I turned around. Room cleaning was haphazard....some days it was done, others not or only partially. Unable to sit at desk as no space for chair. Not suitable for a 7 night stay. No space for luggage. etc., etc.

    Staff are helpful and friendly. Hotel has been refurbished. Clean and fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We will be coming back to the Atlas hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of much to improve our stay

    Friendly Staff, Great welcome, Helpful information when we asked, rates were good value, food was varied and fresh, situation of hotel just right for the towns activities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasent relaxing long weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only minor quibble would be no tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Close to rail/bus station and 5-10 min walk to town centre. Pleasent friendly staff. Reliable wi-fi. Room clean, comfortable; all fittings worked. Breakfast selection good and nice evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    We were content.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unexpected the restaurant was closed.But we found a good alternative in towncentre

    Comfortable bed .Small room.There is a problem with space for luggage. Even the bathroom is small and clean!! Huge parking lot next to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok, so so
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too tiny I just need a bed to rest, but this was a silly single bed

    Room was claustrophobically small, unlike last year same month of March, around the same event I came for. I assumed a double bed. I got a single which is very very sad idea. The mere idea. Single bed. Shower area was so tiny, tiny! I am very slender yet too tiny. The toilet was tucked right next to the wash basin, if you’re single and big, this would not work at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    All in all my stay was fine, this is the second time staying at this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had gone out to dinner on the last night of my stay, I returned to the hotel at around 0930 and my key did not work. All the hotel's entrance doors were locked and there was no-one at the front desk. Someone let me into the lobby but I could not reach anybody for about 30 minutes. It was pretty upsetting, as I thought I'd have to spend the night at another hotel. Finally, someone showed up and issued another key. Moral of story, please give extra keys or have a way to contact someone in the evenings.

    Front desk check-in was fine. They let me check into my room earlier than their advertised time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some issues with unpleasant smells from our bathroom, a sewage smell. Overpowering when first entering room, slept with window open. Was told room had been recently renovated so not sure where smell was coming from. They were friendly but no solution.

    Staff very friendly. Great location between train station and town. It was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Loved Valkenburg, loved the short walk into town + the access to public transport and access roads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very little area for clothing storage, there were no side cabinets or drawers, a very small clothes cupboard, no door hooks for coats, jackets or wet clothing. no safe, a very poor 'old' collapsing shower screen,- it urgently needs updating as water flows all over the floor. It would be easy to rectify what I have mentioned in this negative section.

    Great location, near the town of Valkenburg, station and buses within 200 meters. Easy 500 metre walk into town and the shops plus Christmas Markets. Bar Staff were nice and friendly. Rooms were a decent size and the beds comfy. Bathroom a good size.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Stay at hotel was great. Staff helpful and friendly. Like that parking was on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came for Xmas market in caves. Was disappointed. Cost 7 euro to get in. They didn’t tell us we would not have time to do both. Inside there wasn’t a lot of stuff. Was not impressed with booths but cave drawings were cool but a lot blocked by booths.

    Great location. Easy walk to get to shops food etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Loved the Xmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning regime wasn't so good Our bin in the bathroom wasn't emptied at all over the 4 nights we stayed and the lift needed vacuuming. Unfortunately the lift also broke down the morning we left making life difficult. It's no fun negotiating 2 flights of steep narrow stairs with cases and bags, There was no-one to help.

    Location is good for town centre and the railway station. Staff were friendly and helpful Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    It's location is nice btween the market and the train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in the bathroom. Bathroom was not cleaned everyday and they did not vacuum the room for 5 days.

    It's location is nice btween the market and the train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel Very Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra charge for parking

    Well located in the centre of Valkenburg, good local transport i.e. train station and fabulous restaurants, large carpark but beware it's 5 Euros a day,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Great breatkfast, steady and stable WiFi, and most...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole interior (corridor and the rooms) is a bit outdated. Also their bathrooms could be better equiped.

    Great breatkfast, steady and stable WiFi, and most importantely really friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    A good choice for staying in an attractive tourist town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the two mattresses has seen better days. The bathroom still needs light above the sink, some hooks and other small finishings. I was told this will be fixed soon. The room might be improved with a little fridge and coffee/tea maker.

    Atlas is a pleasant and well-organised hotel-restaurant. Our room was clean, quiet, and spacious, with a good size bed and an adequate bathroom. Parking is on the premises with enough space. Center town is less than a ten minutes' walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for me for my requirements & also late check in available (01:00 am).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One member of staff was extremely abrupt - shouting at me to tell me not to leave my offsite purchases in clear view of other hotel guests (even though I was going to drink my bottle of water in the room - which I tried to tell him).

    Location was excellent for my purpose.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    It's close to train station and historical center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's overpriced.

    It's close to train station and historical center of Valkenburg, and it is easy to go to Maastricht. Breakfast is ok, room is ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Good place and surrondings. Train service amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Some times personal was not so helpfull one day I missed breakfast (I alkready paid) because no one was there to set the place.

    generally everything... all was into my expectations...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning in room, limited opening of window (family-room 228), so a bit warm in the summer. Limited wardrobe space for 3 persons when you stay for several nights.

    Spacious Room for a family of 3; very helpful staff; good affordable breakfast; excellent wifi; located in city centre; good value parking at hotel (5 Euro p/night). My choice again for my next visit to Valkenburg!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Het was erg schoon en de ligging was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Het was erg schoon en de ligging was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast, gluten free available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities

    Breakfast, gluten free available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in room no tea or coffee in room

    Clean friendly staff nice food good size room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    nice stay around the corner from the trainstation and close to lovely restaurants and touristy thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower being over the bathtub

    very nice breakfast,good selection

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast, comfortable beds and very helpful and friendly staff. The location is ideal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    No kettle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee,or tea in the room, and no fridge.

    Nice, but very small room overlooking the mainstreet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    3.8
    Bad value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    Fine for a quick stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small and automatic lights in the bathroom were confusing. Separate quilts were a bit too small.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Big room clean showers good food and a helpfull staff
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room clean showers good food and a helpfull staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Historic hotel in Valkenburg center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly bathroom

    Great location and beautiful 100 year old property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property had been recently updated and decorated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable lovely place and enjoyed the snow the Christmas market was good too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all ok

    We couldn't fault anything was all ok friendly staff and very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    Very basic hotel not really pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic hotel not really pleasant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect clean well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer did not work so good

    Renovated ropms, quitte small but clean, breakfast was good and wide varity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the option of a hot breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to town, good breakfast and lift

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    very new looking hotel, new beds were very comfy, bath was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could have had a bit more choice

    very new looking hotel, new beds were very comfy, bath was comfy too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    nice spacious room and close to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice spacious room and close to centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: