Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of A-Train Hotel 3 stars

Prins Hendrikkade 23, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 TM Amsterdam, Netherlands

#122 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2138 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall I pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive and there wasn’t much selection for the breakfast.

    The location is amazing! The breakfast is good but nothing special! It was too expensive maybe because of the location. It was a good hotel, clean, breakfast was ok. I would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    If you like trains, the hotel is the best choice for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you like trains, the hotel is the best choice for you. Trains are everywhere, in interior design elements, books, board games, arts. Hundreds of model trains displays. Even special TV channel about worldwide railroads. We stayed in bi-level family suite, it's just great for... (surprise!) for families. The suite equipped with little kitchen and toy storage, full of... (surprise2!) of toys, including little trains, of course. Staff helped us in all cases. Thanks to all of them. Location is great, next to Centraal station, channel cruises, tram stops and bike rent shop. Breakfast was nice, fresh and tasty, but menu wasn't variety due to a tiny buffet area. Excellent coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend to friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were some basic stuff missing like an outlet and a light switch near the bed, but that's not a big deal

    The staff was really really nice and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location and a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t drain properly but so long as we didn’t put it on full blast it was fine. When we told the staff the next morning they assured us it would be looked at.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location near the train station was excellent. Despite its location near the train station and busy road, I heard no noise at all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and nice theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much probably breakfast was too basic. But this is not my highest priority though.

    Size of family room and location. The train theme was interesting and my kids love it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location within walking distance to the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms are facing a main road and the sound insulation of the windows is quite poor. If necessary, one must wear ear plugs to reduce the noise from the traffic

    Convenient location within walking distance to the central station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Just closed to the Amestrdam center station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms and very small bed , and no minibar , no water .... For breakfast during 4days it’s same foods only (chees, bread , eggs ) noooo more options , no facilities inside of room Comparing with the facilities in A-train hotel the prices is too high

    Just closed to the Amestrdam center station Others no advantage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money in very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really friendly staff. Good selection of food for breakfast and the train theme throughout was nicely done. Small room was still spacious and more than adequate for one person. Location just opposite the railway station is really convenient. My room on the first floor at the back of the hotel was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Location to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient and easy to find and return to.

    Location to the train station. In the heart of Amsterdam, so I you lose you bearing its easy to find and return to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit lacking but that was expected for the price I paid. It was enough to get us to lunch time though. The shower was a bit small and the showerhead was a bit "weak". Meaning the water wasn't a decent spread. The reading lamps at the head of the bed were not very bright.

    The bedroom was very nice. The television was okay but we didn't use it much apart from the evenings. The bed was very comfortable and has plenty of room. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value. Clean place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small, but that is too be expected in Europe. I was a little disappointed to find strands of hair on the sheets of the bed. Where the sheets not changed or was this the housekeepers hair?

    Great location and very comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location 5 minutes walk from central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit pricey. The breakfast could have been a bit more imaginative.

    Excellent location 5 minutes walk from central station. Helpful staff. Rooms spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Location a real plus, friendly staff, many restaurants close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit too small, bed up against wall, street noise despite being on 4th floor, late servicing of room

    Location great, breakfast good, supermarket close by, staff very obliging

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay on a brief visit to Amsterdam city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been a little cleaner. Don't get me wrong it wasn't filthy or anything, but just a little more care whilst cleaning would have been extra icing on the cake.

    The location of A Train is excellent, very close to central station, and just a short walk into the heart of the city centre. All the staff at A train were very friendly and welcoming, and would happily make time for you. A nice touch for us (traveling with a one year old) was the fridge I hadn't known would be in the room when booked, meaning we could keep milk and other snacks for our daughter. All the little pictures and items on the walls were fun and interesting to look at too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    We would book at A-Train again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location equated to noise.... Tram and crowd noise until midnight and beginning again at 6a. As we are not city people, the noise was hard to get accustomed to. We were offered a room at the back of the building which would have been quieter, but we opted for light, view, and, unfortunately, some noise. Not the Hotel's fault that we are noise sensitive!

    Staff was wonderful! Cordial and responsive to all concerns. Very accommodating. Location is terrific. Rooms were tidy, clean, and cute. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    A high end hostel, not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft. Had the room been larger I would have slept on the floor. The twin room was 2 small for 2 people; for this reason I would say this is a high end hostel, not a hotel.

    It was very clean and quiet. I wish there had been a refrigerator in the room and a food prep area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    A very quirky hotel right acrossfrom the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything in the room was bolted down as if they trusted no-one!

    A very quirky hotel right across from the station with very pleasant and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.

    We loved staying here. It was close to everything and right across the road from the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included and it was very good! An extra bonus was the lovely pub next door, restaurant and a convenience store.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    The rooms are very small and it would have been nice if...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small and it would have been nice if there was some sort of pastries at breakfast. Also, it would have been nice to have water at breakfast. Also, it was very loud with people checking in much later than midnight and slamming doors repeatedly. This happened every night of my stay. Otherwise, it was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    It was a great place to stay, I would recommend it to anyone and gladly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    External neighbours were a little close to my room, wasn’t an issue but felt obliged to keep the curtains closed.

    Staff were exceptionally lovely, location was absolutely ideal. Was everything I needed for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Rip off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is so small and zero amenities!!! Location is great, however the price is so high the taxi driver laughed I paid over 100 Euro's per night. You have to leave your room key when you leave, and I put the do not disturb sign when I left my room and someone had gone in and shut off my TV without permission. I would stay any other place than this dump!!! Beds are so small and the room is tiny. It is clean and a great location but stay anywhere else!!! Trust me!! You cannot bring in guests after 10pm and there are tons of other ridiculous rules.

    Location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Decent location, kind of far from anything fun.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of a far walk from things and the property is kind of dated and not really well kept for the price.

    Decent location, kind of far from anything fun. But close to the train station. Loved the girl who ran the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice and cosy, the theme of trains was present in the dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite a small room but it was more of a traditional Amsterdam building.

    Nice and cosy, the theme of trains was present in the dining area, staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Minimalist but comfortable! Location is great! Will stay there again when in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can be improved, I think, variety on eggs perhaps?

    The bed was great, more than what I expected. It was comfortable. The bathroom is clean. Everything is minimalist, but the essentials are there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Minimalist but comfortable! Location is great! Will stay there again when in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be improved with choices of eggs, perhaps, not just boiled.

    The bed is great, more than I expected, comfortable. The bathroom is clean, very important, minimalist but the essentials are there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location for sightseeing, short stay only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Old Dutch 'Suite'
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - breakfast lacks hot items. Machine coffee is tasteless. - sewage of dutch suite on ground floor is not too smooth. Water gathers and stays when you take a shower or use the sink but will go away gradually.

    - convenient location. - appreciate very much the newly installed air conditioning system which can work proerly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Old Dutch 'Suite'
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Staff very helpful. Right in the center of everything. I had a great stay, lovered Amsterdam, hope to get back some day.Lovered it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    It would be the best location for people who will take the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is tiny, didn’t have too much space. And the breakfast is not good.........barely have choice.

    It would be the best location for people who will take the train from central station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very quaint hotel, clean, friendly staff. Loved the train theme with all of the photos and model trains. Definately would stay again if I travel to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    OK for 1 night if you need to be near the Centraal Station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not worth eating (I had only a cup of tea and slice of melon.). Tasteless bread and tasteless apples and mandarin oranges also available at breakfast in April 2018.

    Very pleasant front desk staff. Room very clean but without character. First room, the lights did not work. Front desk quickly found a similar room where everything worked. Train theme is kind of cute (for example, railroad track pattern wood set into the wood flooring from front desk to rear elevator). Location is excellent if you need to be close to Centraal Station. Back rooms are quiet enough. Front rooms have too much street light and noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the bathroom is small, one or two more towel racks will be more convenient to the guests

    Property style, free breakfast and perfect location to tourists agency and to transportation stops

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for a long weekend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ... would’ve appreciated croissants and a wider range of fruit ( or indeed anything dried fruit )

    Excellent bedding . Fun ambience . Excellent views .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Rail travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good but varies little from day to day.

    Location near central train station , buses, trams and metro. Loved decor and theme of trains, including train trips across the world even when having breakfast. Room sizes vary from comfortable roof top garret to at least large rooms for three as pictured on web. Friendly and helpful 24 hour front desk . Even has rail tracks from front of lobby to elevators!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Clean, perfect location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m pretty happy with everything, thank you!

    Lovely hotel with Train theme, it was clean and very close to Amsterdam Central (5’ walk). Room was good size for 2 persons and good value of money compared to other properties nearby. The breakfast was surprisingly good in the train-themed dining room and the staffs were really welcomed and helpful. They also offered free luggage storage which made it easier to spend your last day around Amsterdam before going to Schipol or other cities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    I would stay here again! :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A-Train hotel staff was absolutely accommodating and a pleasure to work with! We had a group of 9 people, and the service was excellent! Very close to Amsterdam Central Station, bike rentals, yoga studio, great restaurants, and the city center! I would reccommend this hotel for anyone headed to msterdam! You won't be disappointed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is really nice and very charming. Rooms were modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some hotels when I traveled abroad had US wall outlets along with the European outlets. That would be a plus to this hotel since North American Travels wouldn't need adapters. But is is really not such a big deal.

    This hotel is cozy, quaint, an in a great location just across from Amsterdam Central Station. The breakfast was good and the dining facilities was decorated in railroad memorabilia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Very near to Amsterdam Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room that we had was very small. Whenever we arrived from our tour, our room still not clean. My daughter had some bites on her body.

    Very near to Amsterdam Central Station. Staff are very accommodating and pleasant. There is a grocery shop beside the hotel and plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    If the prices ( hotel fee ) had been a little bit cheaper, it would be wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was good, but there aren't many kinds to choose; especially bread and fruit.

    Location and interior design! I'm a mania of railroad. A lot of model trains and pictures of train and goods concerned railway really fascinated me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    WE enjoyed the breakfast,quiet room and nearness to Central station. Also ,good safety rules!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was a bit dim. Especially in the bathroom.

    The hotel was clean, very nicely decorated with train momentous for children. The breakfast was cozy and adequate. The no smoking policy was appreciated. Our room was very quiet !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel, small rooms but great for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't that great. Room was on the first floor and close to the dining room so you can hear everyone in the morning at breakfast.

    Was very cute hotel, great location directly across from central station and near many shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Seems like this hotel has really friendly family atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view from our room wasn't the best (inner side of the house with trash and more), can't say anything about other rooms, maybe we were a little bit unlucky

    Seems like this hotel has really friendly family atmosphere. Also it happened we visited it during Easter time, so there were small benefits and decorations. The room was small, although it had very tall ceiling and huge windows, sort of Amsterdam experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Fun train styled hotel close to the centre with great wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The handing in the key before we went out took a bit to get used to, but it is a great system and we didn't have to worry about losing the keys

    Great wifi, easy to find as opposite central station, quiet and cozy. Breakfast was basic but appreciated, we enjoyed sitting in the train booths! We enjoyed our stay and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    friendly clean and quirky fabulous little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower could have been hotter but it wasn't cold so only a little gripe

    we got a really warm welcome from all the staff and the hotel was very clean and quirky with all the train memorabilia

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.3
    Low Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Money was spent only for the location the rest was minimal.

    Expected more for the money.cold floors, cold shower, and few more things.not a good value for money charged

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    We had a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little dated and dark.

    Staff was fantastic; helpful and friendly. You could not possibly beat the location, we were located right across from the Central Train Station, close to Trams, within walking distance of everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one drawback the mattress was so soft I didn't sleep for the time I stayed

    Spotless and comfortable Friendly helpful staff Excellent facilities for price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Will be back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of hotel a bit noisy but you are in a busy city so expected.

    Staff were super friendly, no kettle in room mentioned to check in guy and by the time we came back from being out there was a kettle, cups, tea coffee in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    When we arrived in the morning, the room was vacant so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived in the morning, the room was vacant so we checked early. The flight was overnight so it was delightful that we could check in. We were offered the breakfast buffet at that time. The desk staff were pleasant and answered any questions we had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Welcoming, Very Clean, Spacious, Great Breakfast and steps away from Amsterdam Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the family room for 3 adult guests but the room was incredible. It's a duplex with 4 beds and a child's bed/area that had a whole play area for kids. It really was like an apt; incredibly spacious and immaculately clean. Staff was incredibly warm and welcoming. Free Breakfast Buffett included way more options than at our previous hotels on this trip. We checked in several hours early to drop off luggage and were told if we waited 20min in the lounge we could have the room sooner. Then we were offered coffee while we waited. It was incredible customer service and hospitality. I highly recommend and plan on returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom freezing cold every morning the radiator totally inadequate causing the bathroom to be dripping in condensation after every hot shower.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in a great location, right across from the train station. It had an en-suite, which many rooms in Amsterdam don't. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Chosen primarily for its location knowing that I would only be staying 2 nights. Got what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very basic.

    Room was small but that was expected. Great location just across the road from Centraal Station. Easy walking distance to everything in the old city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Take the A Train
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of a single thing I didn’t like about it...

    The location was superb, the staff were super friendly, and in this hotel there are smoking rooms! Wonderful eclectic decor, great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Very central, very clean, brilliant hotel to stay in to explore Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small though this would not put us off going again

    Very clean, staff brilliant Jay on reception was amazing, liked 24 hours opening too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Authentic Dutch experience with decent facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Old Dutch 'Suite'
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bar.

    Not a huge train enthusiast, but I thought the novelty was tasteful and not at all overpowering. Brilliant authentic rustic Dutch vibe throughout. Just missing a bar, otherwise it's a perfect hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    The room was nice and clean and the staff really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located on the ground floor so there were some noise at night and early in the morning. But it was tolerable

    The room was nice and clean and the staff really friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient and practical Lots of shops canals and eateries within short walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Confidently located across from the train station in the center of the city Very easy to get to when traveling on the train. A bonus was its train like feel. Very warm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly and accommodating, we even got to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were quite thin so we got woken up early because of our neighbours. Room a little small but good value for money overall

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating, we even got to check in early! Room was small but clean and hotel was a great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    Never again at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is terrible. We were told that you can eat as much breakfast as possible!! But there was only toast cheese and ham. Small fruit and juice . Some cereals!!! The same thing everyday. Not nice pillows where awllfull

    Where the hotel is situated

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay central for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had there was no comfy seating in the room although there was 3 wooden chairs but not comfy enough after a days site seeing .

    The hotel was clean, beds very comfy the great bonus was having a fridge good for keeping the drinks cold...the room we stayed in was in a quiet part of the hotel so very little street noise. A bonus for famlies there was toys for the children which occupied our 7 year old daughter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. It was all good. Don't expect fancy, just great value for a clean, well located hotel

    The hotel is basic as is the breakfast. What sets this place apart is the staff. They are great. nothing is too much trouble and they are so chatty and friendly. Funky train related decor and right across from central station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Been to this hotel before staff really helpful and friendly continental breakfast but really nice got a free upgrade for a returning customer and location is excellentwould recommend for a few nights in Amsterdam

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Excellent option
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast did not have too many options but anyways it is well prepared.

    The staff was great from the instant we arrived. The location is amazing. Just across the main train station and near to all the atractions. The room was big and was clean. The Wifi connection was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent small hotel opposite main station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing adverse. Single rooms are very small but that's normal in Amsterdam.

    Have stayed here many times. Great location opposite the station. Nice railway themed decor. Rooms are small and basic but quite comfortable. Excellent breakfast included in the price, reliable wifi, friendly reception staff. Reasonably priced - book early to avoid disappointment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Very close to everything in downtown Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in staff was a bit rude/not welcoming, but once the front desk attendant was changed during the day it got better.

    Very close to everything in downtown Amsterdam! Nice breakfast and room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant say anything that I didn't like

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and as it was a treat for my granddaughters 16th birthday they made it special nothing I can say bad about it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Dank je en tot ziens, Ali.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just right for 4 of us on a weekend trip. Opposite centraal station, easy to get to and close to a wide range of bars and cafes. Straightforward, comfortable and ok breakfast selection. Folks were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Centrally-located, train-themed wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been bigger and the bathroom fixutres are a bit dated. But this is not enough to stop me from staying here again.

    Everything was great! Wonderful staff, really cute decoration, impeccable cleanliness and a good breakfast. I couldn't ask for anything more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic little unique hotel with lots of character very central located in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our family room had two doors that could be locked but also be opened without a key. However, security downstairs was good (nobody could pass the reception without being seen).

    Breakfast was nice and plenty. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Hotel is central and in walking distance of most attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    We loved the hotel and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view but not dark.

    The really friendly staff and helpful. Basic but very clean room. Charming and quirky breakfast/lounge with railway theme which was available all day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Overall a great stay,hope to visit again soon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot fault this hotel..

    The A Train is situated across the road from central station,making its location ideal for taking in all the local attractions.Great helpful staff who make your stay that bit more special.Inside it has very pleasant surroundings,rooms are exceptionally clean with comfortable beds and spotless shower room.Good all round breakfast and facilities to store luggage inbetween going to and from the hotel.A+++++++++++

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.0
    It's very difficult to rate the A-Train because the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed bugs sort of ruin the experience.

    It's very difficult to rate the A-Train because the staff was terrific, we loved the room, breakfast was excellent BUT woke up with numerous bed bug bites!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything. Only thing missing was a light near the full length mirror but that is me being fussy (and a bit vain!)

    Excellent staff, really unique hotel - beautiful theme was kept up through out the hotel. Location was also superb for anyone travelling by train.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with new towels.

    Close to the station, nothing fancy, but a comfortable stay. We had a little"flat" on the third floor, kids had 3 beds in a loft, little kitchen and a place to sit down to eat. Bathroom is small and basic, but sufficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.5
    leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 members of staff displayed threatening behaviour towards my wife and myself, when you make mistakes apologise, don't continue to talk your way out of your mistake, I shouldn't have to explain myself or feel threatened in paid accomodation, for all my years travelling I can't recall meeting such ignorant individuals, I'm glad my wife didn't travel alone, they might have thrown her out on the cold streets.

    leaving

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse A-Train Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: