Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of l'Auberge Damhotel 3 stars

Keizersgracht 1, 1135 AZ Edam, Netherlands

#3 of 5 hotels in Edam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside Door handle of room kept falling off-just mentioning. Otherwise nothing.

    We know the fine dining restaurant is excellent but this time we dined in the bar and it was lovely-lots of choice, good service and wonderful atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location

    I was very disappointed.i ordered through "booking " romantic suite for 2 nights. It was nothing like this. (Happy that she didn't leave me. ) second floor under the roof No tv ( unless you call a screen smaller then my laptop a tv.) no fridge.no kettle.( of course no coffee or tea at room). No view. Why did we pay 330 euro ?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was two separate single beds pushed together with separate duvets. It was cold in the room in the night and the air conditioning didn't warm the room up. Shower was intermittent in temperature.

    Location was great and so were the staff. Nice towels, dressing gowns and toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small crowed room with a rabbit warren of corridors.

    Excellent hotel in the middle of Edam. Room was on the small and crowded side and we hid some cushions and ornaments, to give us some space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    Great location, right in the middle of Edam. Beautiful building inside and outside. Comfortable and clean rooms, nicely decorated in a vintage style. Spacious and clean bathroom. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can’t think of anything. This is charm plus.

    Conveniently located near Amsterdam yet far enough away to get the feel of local Dutch neighborhoods. Very quaint and lovely town. Safe to walk the streets along the canals and visit little shops. The hotel has “angel” statuary everywhere. . . .inside the check-in area, bar, restaurant. I just happen to LOVE angels (graduated from Meredith College, Raleigh, NC, a woman’s college known as the “angel farm.”) It is fascinating to look at the life size angels and after inquiring about them, I learned they were from a closed, non-operating church. The angels give a very special look and feeling to the property. There are only 12 or so rooms, each with a theme. We had the romantic honeymoon suite, Romeo and Juliet, for our 35th anniversary! This will remain one of my favorite traveling memories .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the bedroom's stylish, rather flamboyant and dramatic colour and fabric-based decor. The chandeliers were stunnng. The well-chosen antique beds, cabinets, tables and chairs are not something we see much of in North America. Loved the location and quaintess. Enjoyed the food. Scafolding on the hotel exterior and resultant lack of view was not the fault of the hotel, as upkeep must be done. Room was a tad small, but didn't care because of its gorgeous furnishings and ambience. Would have preferred a tub to a shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift and steep stairs but staff took luggage to and from rooms for us. Room was a bit small and darkly decorated. TV was small and lacked English language stations.

    Traditional Dutch breakfast. Tasty cold-cuts, boiled eggs, great breads, plus classic continental breakfast items like yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc. Dinner selections were excellent and well priced.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was next to the stairs therefore was very noisy during the night. The room itself was almost as big as the bathroom, that is a good news for those who like relatively big bathrooms, on the other hand bad news for those like having a normal sized room. All in all was okay.

    Excellent location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is excellent and the hotel staff very attentive. The location is about 20km from central Amsterdam, we usually rent bikes for around €10 a day and ride in Amsterdam as the cycle path from Edam is excellent and easy to follow. If you want to use public transport there are around 4-5 buses per hour from Edam to Amsterdam. The Hotel itself is a fantastic place with each bedroom being given a name rather than a number, and each room is designed differently. We have been coming back to this hotel every year for the past 8 years and thankfully it has maintained the excellent atmosphere we loved the first time we visited. If you are looking for a great place to stay whilst visiting Holland and don't want to be based in busy Amsterdam this place makes a great alternative.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was lovely, but seriously, why do people who think they're interior design experts, feel the need to bestow the bed with a 1000 pillows. I mean, who uses this many pillows? People with incredibly long necks? We ended up placing the 998 on the floor (which was a shame, we didn't use them, but they probably still had to be cleaned anyway, which is a bit of a waste).

    It's presence. In Edam, this monument building ignites your imagination, conjuring up images of historical grandeur and nostalgic excellence. It's a beautiful building, however, it's subjective regarding the modernisation of the interior. The barman who also doubled up as a hotel reception person, was very helpful and friendly, considering he was on a long day and night shift. The sleeping rooms are above the restaurant and bar...which we were apprehensive about due to possible gabble and unwanted noises from the bar/restaurant, however, we were lucky enough to get a room that had adequate sound proofing from fellow guests, who perhaps were unaware that their vocals were being projected towards other peoples sleeping quarters. We had a lovely room with a view over the canal, amazing October sunset, blazed across Edam with all it's rouge. The ensuite was contemporary and clean. Overall, it was a nice experience, but we only stayed one night and I think that's all you would need.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn´t work well in the room. There is a restaurant downstairs, so sometimes it can be noisy when the people are coming out of it. I consider it pretty expensive.

    Nice ammenities in the room. Decoration was not our style, but still nice. Staff was correct, but not very nice. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more facilities in the room as tea/coffee facilities would have been nice. MMore local products for breakfast as well rather than supermarket yogurt or cereals

    very quiet room, good bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only comment i have is that the internet connection is a bit shaky on the rooms.

    great, warm atmosphere, beautiful place and Edam is just fantastic. I liked the personnel a lot, the food is good. I had a very early check out and they've prepared my breakfast package for the road and put it ready for me at checkout to go. Awesome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small so cramped when have a couple of suitcases, but it is an old building. Quite steep stairs to carry bags if they are heavy. Breakfast pretty ordinary.

    Well located

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and room (in the suite) a bit small. Nice bathroom

    Great and extensive breakfast. We had an early flight and the staff organised early breakfast especially for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views from the room were to a nondescript roof, and air was a bit stuffy, not sure if there was air conditioning.

    Breakfast was quite nice, and the room was personally decorated with modern high quality bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs to the rooms. No specific hotel staff to check you in. You check in at the bar. The room was tiny. Nowhere to put your bags. The bed was ultra soft (too saggy). Lighting is poor. Very expensive.

    You can't beat the location. The breakfast was excellent as was the other restaurant food. Bathrobe.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was absolutely perfect. Rooms are clean and quite. Bathroom pretty cool. Nice stuff in the whole hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One very dark room.

    Steep stairs - no elevator.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tricky

    Both the service levels and quality of the food was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cozy oasis to get away from big city life. Friendly staff, great food and comfortable room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night

    Comfy bed, great helpful staff, very good location, stunning restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard.

    Every room had Dutch theme. We got the Rembrandt room. Great location in center of Edam. Wonderful staff and excellent food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great place to stay in the centre of town. Rooms are small but very well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was good but not great. Breakfast was lovely

    Lovely property. Well appointed and very luxurious rooms. Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the smallest room I ever stayed

    very good restaurant - you can sit outside in font of Edam museum having your breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honeymoon suite not really a 'suite'.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely - but rather small

    Great central location in historic Edam

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't really like Coco pops at breakfast

    Location good, decor beautiful, food delicious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member off start wasn't particularly helpful....the rest were great!

    Surroundings!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to park our car could do with some reserved spaces for hotel guests

    Food was good staff were helpful and friendly and kept hotel clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bridal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food, fairytale room and a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the atmosphere in the hotel and rooms. Great staff. Very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice setting, comfy room though a little smallish. Excellent dinner in Michelin Bib gourmand restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is superb for touring the area. Breakfast was very good and the staff polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/ Double Room- Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little bit small.

    Very nice restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room- side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome. Staff very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. Wonderful atmosphere in central location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Originally, when I arrived they could not find my booking! Fortunately, I had printed off a hard copy & had it with me.

    Good staff presence. Attentive.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep and small below standard stairs to first floor. Our room was an attic type room with ceilings slanted on both sides. We are both tall and thus difficult to get around to open shutter or change heat. No place to put luggage that was convenient. We used the ottomans instead. No reading light.

    Bathroom was new with both tub and separate shower. Bed very comfortable. Our room had lovely decorating touches. Beautiful chandelier over the bed. Nice to have very good breakfast when we wanted it in the morning. Dinners were excellent. Staff very helpful. Wonderful location in Edam.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was a wedding party in the restaurant and noisy music continued until the midnight. I couldn't sleep at all...

    The location is perfect! Staffs are very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would recommend to travel without too much luggage due to the stairs.

    Great experience! Although we arrived at the hotel quite late, it not only wasn't any problem but we were really welcome. Our room was amazing, we found new elements every second. The hotel -and of course its breakfast- will make your experience in Edam even better. We will never forget it!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are expensively and quirkily furnished. Ours was a surprise at first, having a very dark palette. The furniture could be a slightly smaller. Palatial in a not so palatial room. But! That did not detract from our enjoyment of the hotel. The food is excellent, Michelin standard. We had very tasty Dutch style breakfasts. The hotel is situated nicely in the centre of Edam. Very convenient for travelling by road and there is a bus to Amsterdam every 15 mins from the bus station, which is just a few minutes walk. A great weekend in a great place.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was rather small compare to others but it was not an issue, just wished to have better armchairs in my room. Missed coffee/tea facilities in the room but we got it after request so not big issue. The bathroom was very nice and clean but the lamp over the bed was very dusty, may be an issue for people with allergy. Otherwise, just very nice, peaceful atmosphere.

    Very nice and friendly staff, very comfortable beds, fantastic location, very, interesting decoration. Room was very cozy and warm despite of very cold and rainy weather outside. Really nice restaurant, fantastic for dinners. Once again, extremely friendly and professional staff. We definitely recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Staying 6 days we were treated like house guests rather than hotel guests. The food was delicious in both the restaurant and the bistro.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything! This is our second time here at the hotel. Beautifully decorated, lovely food in the restaurant and very helpful, friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nobody took 'ownership' of the hotel as far as greeting you on arrival or explaining how the restaurant meals/menus worked. The feeling was that there was nobody to relate to or ask about things; we felt like anonymous bystanders, not guests who belonged to the hotel.

    We particularly liked the location and small size of the hotel as well as the charming style. The food was very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress a bit uncomfortable.

    Excellent luxury toiletries! Fantastic breakfast. This is an ideal hotel for a romantic escape from the hustle of Amsterdam.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We hadden denkelijk de kleinste kamer (nr2), voor een nacht niet erg. Maar voor langer verblijf niet handig. Wifi werkte matig. En bed was wat aan de zachte kant. Maar willen daar zeker niet te zwaar aan tillen. Het was namelijk gezellig!

    Het is een leuk pittoresk hotel met een, als je er van houd, gezellige inrichting. Personeel is zeer vriendelijk en het ontbijt een keertje geen buffet maar een etagère vol met "warme" broodjes, beleg, fruit, en yoghurt. Ook tal van zoetigheden. Kortom verrassend uitgebreid. En centraal gelegen in het leuke plaatsje Edam.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location of the room (view on a panorama of chimneys and quasi-industrial facilities) / breakfast rather substandard

    location of the hotel right in the middle of a beautiful and picturesque village

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    none

    The staff is really friendly, it is really well located in the city center of Edam. If you stay there, you can also have dinner, the food is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La restauration et le personnel

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    Very central, friendly staff and characterful bedrooms. Great place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no lounge area for guests to sit.

    The decor and the setting.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff where so comadating Thanks! Jake & Judy

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse l'Auberge Damhotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: