Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Augusta Hotel 3 stars

Oranjestraat 98, 1975 DD IJmuiden, Netherlands

#3 of 8 hotels in IJmuiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful old Building with super sized room and bathroom. Extremely helpful and lovely staff. I was there for meetings and they couldn't have been more helpful to give details of who to contact for affordable taxi service, bike hire and directions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful end to my cycling tour and just what I needed after a mishap a few days earlier. Very warm welcome by staff. Fantastic building many of the original features. I had a huge comfy chic room with panoramic views. Brilliant bar area with outside terrace. The restaurant was closed (think it was a staff holiday) but I was still able to order snacks/tapas. Safe secure internal bike storage. Its 5 minutes to the ferry terminal and 10/15 minute walk to the centre of town. Breakfast was AMAZING!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    I really liked Augusta Hotel, it had an old world charm with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single bedroom that I had was pretty small, about 8m2.

    I really liked Augusta Hotel, it had an old world charm with the communal spaces on the ground floor, restaurant, bar and breakfast room all very spacious and well decorated. It was by far the best establishment that I encountered in my visit to Ijmuiden. The staff were excellent and the breakfast and the shower were both very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Cute boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was so-so. It felt so wasteful, having everything brought to my table, rather than me being able to pick what I wanted to eat from a buffet. I also noticed that I did not get the same pastry selection as other guests (distinct absence of croissants from my pastry basket!!).

    The room was a good size for a single room, and the bed super comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Sadly I was disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was really noisy at night. They propose to give earplugs if you are bothered by seagulls, but they did not bother me; there is just basically no soundproofing - I could hear people talking in other rooms and in corridor, and there was this weird constant noise - like either running water in the pipes or outdated air conditioning. The bed was uncomfortable - the mattress was too soft and kept sliding on the bed, so I felt like falling. There are also very few sockets in the room and their positioning is inconvenient. For example. there is no socket by the bed to charge your devices and still be able to use them in bed.

    Staff was nice and friendly on the check-in and check-out. Bathroom in the room had a spacious bath and it was wonderful to relax there after being in rainy cold weather. Bus stop is in 70 meters from the hotel, so it is easy to travel around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfort, elegance, value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny, cramped shower over bathtub in my room, with the taps intruding so much that you couldn't stand comfortably. No lift, and steep stairs to my 3rd floor room.

    Fine, elegant historic hotel. Wonderful staff. Located away from the main crowd, in the seaport part of town. Style & character of rooms are nice, with very comfortable bed. If you prefer not to stay in the centre of everything and have a car, then this is a great choice, with very easy access to everything you'd possibly want.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Looking forward to see you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are to small. Better an apartment

    Was our second stay at Augusta Hotel. Beautiful place and amazing services. Dutch breackfast was fabulous! 😘

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    An historic piece of IJmuiden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't park under the trees or your car will be full of bird doodoo. However the hotel has a bucket of soapy water for you.

    An historic piece of IJmuiden. Tradition and excellent service is top. The food is fantastic. On the other hand there is no lift. It's old fashioned but alive and well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Okay for a day.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant at the hotel gets closed at 9:30 PM. So, I had to look outside for dinner and two nearby restaurants were also closed their kitchen by that time. Finally managed to get a Turkish takeaway. It was the smallest room I stayed in any hotel ever! Expected a tea/coffee making facility in the room. Also, I didn't find a trash-bin in the room!

    Friendly staffs. The breakfast was very nice; I found it far better than the buffet breakfast most of the hotels have. The restaurant was looking nice but didn't have a chance to taste dinner as it get closed at 9:30 PM. But my colleagues mentioned, it was great. Toiletries in bathroom with toothbrush and toothpaste (in case you forget your own).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.4
    Our booking wasn't well planned, too late getting ok...
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the fireplace had been working it would be even better. Buses run regularly (half hour), taxi a bit expensive and not that easy (book and wait), if there was bikes to rent/borrow nearly that would have been helpful.

    Our booking wasn't well planned, too late getting ok rooms in Wijk aan Zee. Really surprised by this find. We will probably stay here next year as well, despite a bit cumbersome to get to and from the Tata Steel Chess. Outstanding food. Good clean rooms. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable and welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street and surrounding streets are very nice. It is however in quite an industrial area in general

    Very friendly staff and nice large rooms. Large delicious continental breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice staff and well decorated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff and well decorated hotel. Good atmosphere, surprise "in the industrial" environment in IJmuiden. Recommend if you need to be in Haarlem!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay in IJmuiden!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was a perfect stay before taking the ferry the following day.

    The dinner in the hotel restaurant is fabulous! Not to be missed. The breakfast is large and varied. All of the staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. I rode one of the bikes on the morning of my departure and wasn't even charged a rental fee. So glad I went to the Augusta.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The fact that the hotel does not change to the latest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that the hotel does not change to the latest short-lived frenzies or ultimate comfort quests and resisted through time as it was conceived in 1907. A nobel house, a grande dame, with staff incorporating its grandeur. Do not change anything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no elevators in the hotel, so only accessible by stairs. The free breakfast was not a lot, just standard Dutch breakfast consisting of bread, cheese, ham etc.

    Staff was very friendly and the authentic interior of the hotel was astonishing. Everything looked very clean and it had a great atmosphere. There is also a cafe and a restaurant besides the hotel, which is also owned by Augusta. Free breakfast is from 8 till 10 am. The hotel has busline 74 on a few meter distance, so this is easily reachable by public transport, but Ijmuiden has no train station. Everything is on walking distance. If you want to go to the sea (Ijmuiden aan Zee), then you need to walk for 13 minutes and take a bus for 5 minutes. The bus stop is called Kromhoutstraat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    A once in a lifetime experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alltogether: Hotel Augusta is a jewel of a hotel and restaurant as well. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are taking you times back. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are prepared with love and high quality food. And the wonderful cozy bar ? You don't want to miss for a good night drink. This hotel is almost too nice to share it with other travelers. Thanks to the entire Augusta team for making our stay so special !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Rural living on the outskirts of Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is a bit old, you have to climb up 2 sets of stairs going around corners, opening the front and the room door requires herculean muscles, as the springs for automatic closing of the doors are very powerful. The bed was way too soft - your pelvis kind of sinks down, leaving your legs and head elevated.

    Personally, I liked the all-wood decor of the rooms, though my gf, normally a wood fan, found everything a bit old. The gentleman at the reception immediately offered to carry up our luggage 2 sets of stairs. This was a nice touch. The beach is about 5 km away, and there are lots of seafood restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel but not-so-great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location isn't great, since the harbour surrounding is fully commercial in nature and is not a visual treat. It requires a 45-min train journey to reach Amsterdam (Costs approx. 20 euros for a return ticket) although the trains run till very late at night and parking outside the station seemed safe and free.

    Spacious rooms, quirky interior, good breakfast with a surprise pastry at the end (different for everyone but all looked good)! They have a very friendly staff who also kindly and willingly acted as local guides. Bike hire option is also very handy. The village hasn't got much but would highly recommend a half-day trip to Haarlem at a 15-min car ride. It was a pleasant surprise to visit such an old, cozy and pretty town!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel with cosy atmosphere and non standard style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice cosy bedrooms , great breakfast and very friendly staff. Easy to drive to Amsterdam, several restaurants nearby and the beach a few minutes by car. Quiet area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Augusta Hotel was Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Super friendly hotel staff. Local public transportation (buses) personal people very helpfull. Location within 10 minute easy walk to the ferry going to Newcastle. All in all I loved this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Here is the hotel for a quiet, peaceful holiday near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Avoid parking under the trees to prevent sea gull droppings on the vehicle

    The staff was very welcoming and hospitable. They were always ready to help when asked for information. My wife loves her cups of tea in the room. A staff member gave her a tea pot, tea and sugar so she could make her tea in our room. The parking was available in front of the hotel, making it very convenient to take the luggage into the hotel. A staff member even carried our luggage up the steep steps to our room. The hotel was close to the beach making it an ideal hotel for summer guests that want to go to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Great atmosphere and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually nothing, but the 'plastic' under sheets which you find in almost all hotels make the bed to warm an far less confortable.

    Great atmosphere throughout the hotel with the most attentive staff I've encountered so far. Next to that they have an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Very cosy hotel with spacious room and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taking a shower in the bad tub with a shower curtain is not in line with the comfort/quality of the room and the rest of the hotel.

    The size of the room was good and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.2
    The food in the restaurant was, and have always been, to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be a bit better, but I like the concept.

    The food in the restaurant was, and have always been, to perfection. Very friendly and service minded staff. And I always sleep like a baby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.7
    If you are making a dash for the ferry to Newcastle it's fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are pretty dreadful. Dark and dated.

    Ideal location for the ferry port to Newcastle otherwise in a bit of a wasteland. The staff were lovely and the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to climb a few stairs to get to your room

    Nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff, quiet and clean hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location is not well connected to public transport

    Friendly staff, quiet and clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    It was a very welcoming atmosphere and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very welcoming atmosphere and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Lovely property with pleasant rooms and helpful, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property with pleasant rooms and helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable beds, good sized bedrooms and clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed fresh air in corridors

    Very comfortable beds, good sized bedrooms and clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from because by public transportation

    Everything else

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Cozy hotel, breakfast is very tasty
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bed - quite a narrow one.

    Clean and cozy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    The room rate is better than others
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator

    The room rate is better than others

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff friendliness; quiet neighbourhood; breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    No refrigerator in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No refrigerator in the room No power socket near the bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice old-style hotel, very friendly staff, quiet location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice old-style hotel, very friendly staff, quiet location, good-size room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Honeymoon
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bin in the room. And a safe

    Fantastic building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs to room very uncomfortable, no elevator,

    Staff pro and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    I prefer bufet type breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer bufet type breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Elegant atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed too soft

    Elegant atmosphere. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Time stand still, the hotel is equipped with a lot of love.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Time stand still, the hotel is equipped with a lot of love. Ideal for a freshly in love couple to stay and dream. A huge breakfast per person.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice calm location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the room

    Friendliness of staff and helpful receptionist

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough variety on food menu

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Great atmosphere.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere. People who like Vintage will love to have a drink in front of the fireplace. Outstanding staff!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice authentic atmosphere lining up with the period the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly dusty. I Would suggest the curtains to be washed

    Nice authentic atmosphere lining up with the period the property was build

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    (Y)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not turtles.

    I like turtles.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Overall an excellent hotel, clean, friendly helpful staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Overall an excellent hotel, clean, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Single Bedroom was really small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single Bedroom was really small

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Going back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a bit small

    Old style hotel really cosy. Nice bar and breakfast area. Nice and Friendly Staff. Super nice Ductch breackfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    The most beautiful hotel in the area. We never ate in the restaurant but it looks amazing...next tim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee making facilities would have been nice!!

    Very comfy bed...superb room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    I felt very at home
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was too short

    The staff are wonderful, the food is delicious and the hotel itself is absolutely delightful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Well run and comfortable hotel and only a short didstance from yjr ferry to Newcastle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People at outside tables chatting noisily top o1oo hours.Could not get enough sleep.

    Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    It was a nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a nice place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Good price to quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located near the port. No view.

    Good price to quality. Nice breakfast. Spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Accomodatie was top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodatie was top

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Awesome place with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of personality. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    The style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style..Dutch colonial..art-deco

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice breakfast served at the table.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast served at the table. Old building with a Nice athmosfere. Personal touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture not new. No lift. No transportation to clise city.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    The place was amazing and the breakfast too!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevetor and wifi connection trouble

    The place was amazing and the breakfast too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed consisted of a mattress on top of a couch.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    VERY GOOD HOTEL - FEEL AT HOME
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the weather (-:

    Excellent Breakfast, comfortable Bar, nice Restaurant, most friendly Staff, easy Parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Very helpfull staff, spacious room, nicely decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpfull staff, spacious room, nicely decorated

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    First class accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice and clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unreliable wifi.

    Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Best hotel I have ever stayed in, Owners, Staff, Food & overall experience was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Complaints

    There is nothing not to like about this hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Smashing hotel with character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smashing hotel with character.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It took a while before I understand how the breakfest worked ;). They serve you bread, eggs etc but when you walk in that's not clear, so that could be more clear.

    Very friendly staff! Nice breakfest.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly and cooperative staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Elevator is missing, especially if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor.

    Very friendly and cooperative staff. Good and fresh breakfast. Very silent place to be.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.3
    Very nice building in (original) art deco style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no elevator and we had to drag our suitcases to the highest floor.

    Very nice building in (original) art deco style. Really made an effort of their (served) breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    Lots of character and the staff was outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in a very nice residential area so little else around for shops or entertainment.

    Lots of character and the staff was outstanding! Perfect hotel for anyone taking a cruise originating out of Ijmuiden.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Excellent and friendly staff, that went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent and friendly staff, that went out of their way to make our stay as good as possible. Beautifully decorated room with very good beds. The breakfast was one the best we had, and no buffet but personal service at the table.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    We were amazed by this sweet hotel which gave us a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I didn't like.

    We were amazed by this sweet hotel which gave us a great deal in the high season on a saturday. The room was perfect: very comfy bed, a newly made bathroom, nice and really modern decorations. The best: the breakfast the next morning, that completely blew us away. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Charming hotel that respects it's delightful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Charming hotel that respects it's delightful building. My room had a really modern bathroom and an extremely comfortable bed but had delightful slightly battered antique furniture which completely suited the room. I loved the bar, part of which was furnished with bookcases making you feel that you were having a drink in the library of a private house. The staff were friendly and helpful (and patient with my fledgling Dutch). I loved it.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Cozy room with a character, nice breakfast and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located at short distance from cement mills and what seems refineries, air smelled bad. Room got warm during the night and keeping window open was not the ideal option for the smell and noise

    Cozy room with a character, nice breakfast and friendly helpful staff

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: