Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna 4 stars

Hoorn 65, 2404 HG Alphen aan den Rijn, Netherlands

#4 of 5 hotels in Alphen aan den Rijn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1266 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything I didn't like,

    Excellent room, great size, very clean, comfy bed, nice bathroom, and excellent value for the money, The staff are really friendly and helpful and can't do enough for you, The breakfast is served as a buffet style with a really wide choice on offer, Would recommend it to anyone,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Quiet at night. Spacious inside the room. Location is just outside the bird park and you have free entrance to the park during your stay including check-in and check-out date, totally worth the stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    Not up to current 'Van der Valk standards'.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - no clear signs where is the parking/reception - very strong perfume smell in the room; no solution offered for this - reception, hotel and restaurant in different buildings - smoking area right in front of doors hotel building

    good parking with possibility to charge el./hybrid car

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient for my purposes, lots of parking
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit fragmented....reception one building, rooms another and restaurant another. Not sure whether it was a case of ‘not seeing the wood for the trees’ but had difficult knowing where I should be, especially as the park entrance is also located in and among

    Convenient for my purposes, lots of parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Pleasantly adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The restaurant was a separate building 2. The standard of complimentary room drink was poor. Paper cups, limited choice, no biscuit. We didn't even bother.

    Size of room was good. Bathroom had a shower, bath and shower over the bath. Lighting to the mirror is wrong, both in location and type.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Large room, friendly and efficient staff and I received free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit dated and quite warm. The window didn't open very far.

    Large room, friendly and efficient staff and I received free entry to the park with my reservation. The room was clean, I had both a shower and a bath. The breakfast buffet was large.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    The hotel also has a beautiful park inside, you can spend a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel also has a beautiful park inside, you can spend a whole day there. It also contains casino and nice restaurant. The room itself was very nice with very large bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Dissapointing this time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we checked in and went to room we found it already occupied and had to be given another room . We ate in restaurant and service was slow , not very friendly and they forgot our starters and bought the main course out . Having stayed here before over a number of years It is obvious the hotel is a bit tired eg cracked tiles in bathroom etc and cleanliness is not what it was .

    Rooms are comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    If you like birds go there. Otherwise not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dust in the room was unusual for a Van der Valk hotel. The restaurant was gloomy and the breakfast was second rate compared to the many other Van der Valks that we have stayed in. The choice was poor and the display was uninviting. We didn't dine there because we didn't like the look of the restaurant compared to Assen, Harderwijk, Eindhoven, Zwijndrecht and Volendam. Also the noise from the bar carried on until 1am and we could smell the cigarette smoke from the guy on the first floor who was leaning out of his window. The whole complex didn't meet the usual Van der Valk standard. Never again.

    The room was well equipped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay, beautiful town nearby ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was a little hot in the room and no a/c,no fan , when you open the window you get some spiders in the room ..

    The location near the birdzoo ... free car park ...big Room...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    The extended opening hours of the zoo for the residents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar in the room.

    The extended opening hours of the zoo for the residents. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious. The staff is friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Need a car I think, but an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They supply paper cups and plastic sticks for stirrers when they profess to be a 'green key' hotel Smoking discouraged in rooms - but quite obvious looking out on the roof in front of our room that people smoke and throw their butts out on to the roof.

    The size of the bed was great as was the shower. The bird park was amazing and free for hotel guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Room very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it was an economy room, it should have had a fridge. Also paper cups not acceptable or sustainable for environment.

    Room very comfortable. Set in a lovely garden and restaurant very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    nice place to stay near by the Leiden city also Dan hog and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    house keeping poor there was no one help us in arrived and while checked out.

    nice place to stay near by the Leiden city also Dan hog and Rotterdam bountiful view specially my kids enjoyed while stay over there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Well-established hotel next to a bird park and near the airport. what more could you ask for?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds and room are comfortable and free entry to the adjacent bird park is an extra bonus, would recommend to anyone seeking a quiet friendly hotel near Schiphol airport. it was hot but they gave us a fan and we could open the window to let in cool breeze

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant terrace was nice but would have liked a few basic items along with the more creative dishes.

    We had a family room. Great space for 3 adults and two teens. Being able to access the bird park both during and after regular hours was amazing. Loved the bird show and being able to sit still and have lemurs crawl over us was a unique experience. Nice decor in room and comfortable beds. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Very satisfactory. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a centre light in the bedroom. Had difficulty in locating the entrance to the hotel.

    The large choice at breakfast. The fee entry into Avifauna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a visit to Avifauna Vogelpark
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning - cooler room would have kept the mozzies away. Canal boat trip organised daily from the hotel is cheap, but relatively boring.

    Location was everything, as far as a zoo visit was concerned. Good hotel restaurant next door. Zoo opening times are great for hotel residents - longer hours than for the general public.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Practical solution for our purposes with added bonus of beautiful bird sanctuary.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reliant on limited bus service as taxis very expensive. Rooms lack character.

    The access to the Avifauna park, which was much more interesting than expected, within the price of the room. The plentiful breakfast served in pleasant surroundings. Functional, good value room with separate shower booth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location with great staff and restaurant on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AIr conditioning. Our room was stuffy, not being from a humid climate. Room climate control would have been nice. We were able to open up the door, but that didn’t take away the muggy air.

    Great location with a great addition of the aviary on site. Great restaurant and beautiful along the canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended for famiky with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff taking time to entertain us during check-in eventhough there were 3 staffs doing nothing at the counter.

    Location..free parking..free entrance to the bird zoo

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Good experience. Convenient if have a car to go to keukenhof gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a kitchen, but apart from a kettle, nothing was there. I was expecting atleast a hot plate to cook something. Or atleast microwave.

    Large rooms and comfortable beds. Large bathroom. Surrounding greenery.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay for family of five
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We absolutely loved this hotel. It was perfect for our kids. Having the bird park right there was a huge bonus. The staff was super friendly, and even left a fan in the room for us. Great place to stay with a family!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    No minimum eminities and no room service. Only a temporary night sleep over place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel service yet all in this hotel. Looks too less staff and many rooms. (For my impession only 2 staff members). No room service yet all possible. Also nothing in the hotel room. Even no minimum eminities like tea/coffee cups, spoons etc... When you call the reception, they ask us to go personally to restaurant and get it. Restaurant nearly 100 meters away from hotel. You feel like really embraced as guest. Service here is less than any hostel. I was completely disappointed and felt embraced. For my impression food etc.. are forced to take only from their own restaurant. If you want to rent a bike, they charge 17,50 euro, but their website says 10 euro per day. Even you rent bike, they can't provide any info on possible bike trips or roots etc...

    Restaurant, breakfast and brid park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Great value in a good location for Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was missing a headboard. The radiator in one bedroom was noisy and we had to turn it off which made the room slightly chilly and it would have been quite cold in the winter.

    The location next to a bird park was a nice experience. The hotel rate included a visit to the bird park and it was well worth a visit - we expected to only spend an hour or so and we were there for several hours. The adventure playground is really good for young and older kids. The family room was split over 2 floors which gave us and our older children some privacy from each other. There was also a small kitchen area with tea/coffee making and a very useful fridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst room in The hotel they gave me. No power sucket near bed . No water in room. I sent before I need iron and say yes. Nothing in the room. Trible . Very very bad.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    We were satisfied to get the usual high value for good price, as usual by Van der Valk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far to walk to center (though we weren't surprised, it's clear from the map).

    Easy checkin/out, friendly staff, cleanliness at a very affordable price. Cozy restaurant with excellent food!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good standard
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice to have a mini-bar in the room

    The location is adjacent to the old Rhine river and a 20 minute stroll to centre of the town. The associated bird park is very pleasant and great for kids. The onsite restaurant is a good standard and the bar is very cosy. Rooms are clean functional and the bed if very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our breakfast (and our dinner the night before).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying in a family room: we could hear what was going on next door: * kids running up the stairs and the "father?" making it just on time to reach the toilet up the stairs.... :) -'thin' walls

    We enjoyed our breakfast (and our dinner the night before). Food is good! Friendly staff! This time we were able to visit the AviFauna and we really enjoyed our walk there with its habitants!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    A poor choice of hotel and I will not be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dark and badly designed, inadequate number of electrical sockets and some of the switches were in my view dangerous...directly behind the pillows/bed and not to the side of the bed. No coffee or tea making facilities, no fridge. The hotel insisted I pay for the room at arrival and then did not leave the card open to allow me put my evening meal at the hotels restaurant on my bill. One of the waiting staff insisted on accompanying me to the reception after my meal!! This hotel has no great confidence/trust in its guests! Note, I very rarely write a negative review but I definitely would not come back to this hotel.

    Easy to get to, very near the industrial estate I was visiting, the Avifauna park was interesting for a quick walk although the weather was poor that day. Breakfast was very good. This was the only positive for my visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    Okay for 2 nights
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Con: The standard room looked very outdated, in our opinion, so we had it upgraded to a Comfort room. Even though this was a bit more modern, it still showed signs of little care, like brown scuff marks on the white bathroom radiator and yellow stains on the white curtains. I expected higher standards to come with the Van der Valk reputation.

    Pro: Staff was friendly and available We normally have the room cleaned every other day when we stay longer than one night; this is the first hotel that gives you a bonus voucher for this environmentally-friendly attitude The room came with a free ticket to the bird park (unfortunately, we did not have time to visit it)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay for two nights with free parnikg
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad smell in the bathroom and expensive breakfast 11€ per person

    Easy to come by car with plenty of free parking.It was close to Amsterdam by car . There is a restaurant next to hotel ( we didnt use it) and a shopping center with super markets , very close and you can reach the center of the city where you can find many bars , restaurants and cafe . Nice to stay if you want to explore near places. Interesting was the bird zoo with a free ticket from the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    The family suite met our needs nicely, for a reasonable price, and visiting the adjacent bird park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was rather dirty (and there was even a dirty bandage stuck to the bedroom floor. Yuck. But everything else seemed to have been adequately cleaned.

    The family suite setup was perfect for traveling with young children. The bathroom was very nice, and the beds were quite comfortable; the rug could have been cleaner, but otherwise the suite seemed clean and visiting the bird park, with its amazing playground, made the stay very pleasant for our children

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    There is an amazing bird park just outside the hotel door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only drawback I would say is the location. I think it’s a little too far to stay here if going to Amsterdam for a weekend. We arrived at night so I could be wrong, but seemed like there’s not much else around other than offices. Regardless, if we were ever visiting anywhere within the area we would definitely stay here again.

    There is an amazing bird park just outside the hotel door. Admission is normally about 15 euro but is free if staying at the hotel. Our kids loved it! The room was larger than any other ‘family room’ we’ve stayed at in Europe. The staff was great, parking easy and breakfast was better than what you’d get in most European hotels. We ate dinner there also which was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful, relaxing, carefree
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was perfect size and so spacious. The view from the back window was so pretty if the bird park. The beds were very comfortable

    The bird park was awesom! I the only bad things were the narrow staircases and the WiFi, the bathroom was a little smelly but other than that it was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I really like how it had an upstairs to our apartment! And the breakfast could have had a few more options but it was delicious and not even that expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very different from other Van der Valk Hotels: it wasn't so nice to stay here. We spent only one night, but there was some problem with the heating system on that day so we had no hot water for hours. Finally after 10.30 pm came back the hot water. There are (party?) boats in front of the hotel, and we listened to the loud music during the evening. Next morning we listened to the noises of a reconstruction works in hotel building. The room was not really clean, the shower was outdated and dirty so we used only bath. The breakfast wasn't cheap and it was very poor (we tried previously breakfast in other Van de Valk hotel in Leiden, it was really excellent).

    The only good thing was the bird park next to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Family weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fold down beds in the family room have a large gap down one side where small children will fall. we ended up putting the mattress on the floor for our son to sleep on. Maybe something could be wedged down the side?

    Family room is great with kids and even has a stair gate if needed. Beds were comfy and room was clean and quiet. Having the bird park in the grounds makes this a fantastic family location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Just brilliant!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just everything!!!

    The food was excellent. Our room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the bird sanctuary was also excellent and private. Hotel situated only a 4 min drive from our kids. Will recommend this to everyone. See you again in 2019!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location to get to attractions in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When it's hot outside the room is impossible as there is no air con. The stairs in the room are not good with small infants. The bed is very uncomfortable.

    Good location to get to attractions in the area. Free entrance to the bird park where there is also a playground for the kids to use. In the birone center near by there are plenty of choices for lunch/dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful bathroom, with both shower and bathtub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit high for what was offered (no breakfast included), even if was included the entrance to the avifauna park. Most of the electricity plugs in the room didn't work

    Beautiful bathroom, with both shower and bathtub. Comfortable room. Very good position.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Loved the bird sanctuary next to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the bird sanctuary next to the hotel. I'm a bird enthusiast and it was one of a kind and a complete surprise - I didn't realize it was there until we booked the hotel. The hotel was well located so that one could travel to either Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam or the surrounding areas, which were really pretty with the green fields, grazing livestock and windmills. The manager of the hotel, Vincent was very hospitable and personally took me to a local car rental place and helped me reserve a car. My daughters loved the loft in our room. It was their favorite hotel on our trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Free entrance for the hotel guests to awesome bird park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free entrance for the hotel guests to awesome bird park! Child bed was in out room for 1 year and 8 month baby. I realy like room. It was clean and comfortable. There were teapot, tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    A great chance encounter with a delightful hotel and bird park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small criticisms only: Sign posting to hotel and parking could have been better. Information about where to book boat trips was not clear and we had to go back and join a queue after waiting at the landing! We would have appreciated more information about the wildlife in the bird park in English.

    The room was spacious as was the bath and shower room. The bird park was really a small zoo and was great to wander round in the early evening when it was quiet. Also had access all the next day although we had to leave to get the Amsterdam- Newcastle ferry. The 3 course July evening meal special menu seemed expensive (26 euros per person) but was excellent. Enjoyed an hour boat trip seeing another side of Holland. This was a really good stop off after 400mile drive with a chance to relax before heading for the afternoon ferry the next day. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be crazy not to like this place.

    Amazing, perfect, outstanding!! Wow! Such a beautiful place! Clean, comfortable, exotic. The food is so good! Amazed!! We will return for sure

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains in the curtains and bed, dead bugs in the room.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. The bird park was very nice witch had free entrance for guests. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent stay in a beautiful bird park with astonishing bird shows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reaching out to hotel through public transportation

    The hotel has an attached bird park. Superb. The bird shows at the park is unique and a worth sight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Poor service from Reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV on the upstairs room didn't work and there was no remote control. There were two remote controls downstairs 1 didn't have a back to it so batteries exposed which isn't very safe when they know children are staying in the room and the other remote didn't have any batteries in at all. When I advised the receptionist the next morning she advised me I should have phoned the reception in the middle of the night to report this and not left it to when we checked out. No apology was offered and then said that a guest may have stolen the batteries as it has been happening a lot.

    Beds were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    why it is so dark in this hotel ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very dark room, almost no light in the room in the evening - only a few low energy bulbs. I tried to work, but it was so dark, that I couldn't see the keyboard of my laptop. It is a shame that for that price they don't give even one normal lamp. No vegetables on breakfest. Bread was covered with a very wet fabric, what was a bit disgusting.

    Very nice staff, big room, nice view from the room, very nice evening bar, very good a'la carte restaurant, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Our Avifauna stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room under a saddle roof had no airco and with 20 degrees it was already warm in the Summer this will be a problem specially for foreigners who are used to airco hotels. The safe was placed wrong very difficult to put a number in so we did not use it , while otherwise I always do.

    The room and bathroom were fine and clean. The restaurant and the park were very nice food was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    a wonderful, unique 2 night stay location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no problems.

    my grown daughter and I loved walking through the bird park after visitors, except those staying at the hotel, were allowed to do so. I also enjoyed hearing the birds from the hotel window until they settled in at night. the restaurant was good and the young staff, delightful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Great base from which to visit Holland's sites, comfortable large rooms though little dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The casino was in close vicinity to our room which had customers leaving chatting outside room in the car park and starting cars, slamming car doors, keeping us awake on the first night. Rooms also not very sound proof..... Hotel used during the week by companies running courses which meant large groups taking over the seating in the bar area. At weekends its busy with families with young children visiting the bird park. We had twin beds and my husbands bed creaked very loudly whenever he turned over though the bed was comfortable.

    Large comfortable room with large bathroom with seperate Bath and shower cubicle, balcony and outside space, raised area for suitcase. Ground floor room. Nice comfortable bar and terrace area right into the parc. Free tickets to go round Avifauna. Ferry trips available directly outside the hotel. Breakfast very good but at 11 euros you would expect it to be! Fixtures and fittings were good quality at the time they were fitted, little dated for 2017. Good wifi and TV channels. Plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice place for a weekend with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything perfect ! It was a little bit 80´s style , but not shabby.

    The suit was perfect for the 5 of us , beds very comfortly, tea and coffee gratis in the room , lots of space , big bathroom ! And the birdpark free entrance on two days ,great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    A very nice, centrally located hotel near a bird park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are no night reading lamps near the double bed at the lower level room (a disadvantage for people who like to read in bed). We asked the staff and they provided a lamp, which we used, but since it did not fit into the niche near the bed it was not very comfortable.

    Excellent hotel. The room was spacious, clean. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was helpful and readily available 24/7. The breakfasts were excellent: plentiful, with a lot of variety and of a very good quality. The WiFi was strong most of the time. An additional advantage of the hotel is the free entrance to the adjacent Avifauna bird park, a very nice attraction that even mine grown up children, who are basically beyond the age of zoo and the like visits, enjoyed very much. Moreover, the staff allows hotel residents a free access to the park after the opening hours (until dark). The hotel is centrally located in the western Netherland and we were able to easily access the Hague, Utrecht, Rotterdam and other areas around. There is also a very convenient public transportation to Amsterdam from nearby the hotel. Bus No. 370 to Schiphol ( about 10 min walk from the hotel and train from there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    hotel in the middle from cities(Ams, Rotterdam and so on)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    water pressure in bath could be better

    bed is comfortable breakfast rich and good zoopark on side, free entrance for guests 30 min from Amsterdam bar and restaurant on site

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Great family holiday base for exploring Den Haag
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the main restaurant was slow & a bit pricey, but food&buffet breakfast was good. No cycle hire availability for kids which was a bit disappointing so need to take your own or hire elsewhere (plenty of alternative hire shops in holland, some even deliver).

    Great location for visiting Den Haag, the bird park is great and our children (11&9) loved the freedom of the play park and the variety of rides &activities on offer. Don't miss feeding the parrots & the best lemur walk we have done. Family suite ideal, lots of space to spread out. Lots of nice restaurants in the nearby town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.4
    Dated and over-priced but friendly staff and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel. Room interior and whole hotel need an upgrade. It's stuck in the 80's. Over-priced. No safe and coffee/tea making facilities in room.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice location but needs to improve on some basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we did not have any tea or coffee making facilities in our room and we did not have air conditioning which I would expect would be needed in summer. we visited in January

    We were able to enter the bird park for free which was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.7
    Good enough for a night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant, as well as the reception were outside the hotel. It is very inconvenient to use the restaurant in an other building. Breakfast was poor.

    The rooms are big, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    good visit ....no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too much large furniture in the room ,(room 321) a large unusable settee made getting into bed on the left hand side difficult

    bar staff very friendly . It is on an excellent bus route .the bus terminates at the train and bus stations

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    5.0
    The hotel is in the best possible location for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs upgrading. Room was not very clean, some parts even filthy. Old bathrooms, terrible matress, bugs in the bathtub, hair dryer quit working after 2 seconds accompanied with a weird smell and gave the impression of having been installed in the 90s. We would not go back if it wasn't for the location. Other van der Valk hotels are way better.

    The hotel is in the best possible location for our needs. The restaurant on the premises is quite nice. They give a lot of free bathroom supplies.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.9
    Not bad but very srange place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What is not good: - very strange room (for 3 people) - the space for 3rd bed is not enought (under roof slope) - very small TV set ..... with big locker on it - low low low light level in the room and in the washroom/toilet - the bed is good but pillow only one and very unconfortable and cannot be changed - very strange warning on parking that cars are not guarded and all goods from car can be stolen

    What is good: - Location (part of Avifauna Park) - Breakfast - free parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.5
    A friendly experience with the added bonus of a bird zoo on the doorstep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs quite dangerous in room. Smell of paint from the workmen in corridor. Access to breakfast via car park, thankfully it wasn't raining.

    Family room with tea and coffee making facilities, Excellent breakfast choice. As a receptionist myself it was good to see such friendly staff on reception!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    5.8
    The restaurant next to the hotel is pretty nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are fairly old and the shower is tiny. The matresses drift apart at night which is very annoying.

    The restaurant next to the hotel is pretty nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    The service goes up as you take the more expensive rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During my last morning an emplyee suddenly entered my room while he was on his cellphone, saw me and left immediately without saying anithing to me. I was chocked (what if I had been still in the jackuzi?) but apparently an alarm had gone off somewhere in the hotel and they were investigating (he was unaware that my room wasn't vacant yet)

    I got a private tour by the manager as the room was just refurbished and barnd new. I got the star treatment (The complemtary bottle of sparkling wine that comes with a suite was not as I though a small one-person botlle but a .75 cl one. Also the manager oofered me alift back tho the station atthe end of my stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.5
    The nice hotel in the bird park with a few remarks regarding food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fresh vegetables and fruits on breakfest - why ? Eggs marked "2" what means they are from birdcage farms - a big shame in Avifauna as a bird park !!!

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Entrance of the park after closing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance of the park after closing time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    4.2
    Kamers verouderd en rumoerig
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kamers verouderd en rumoerig

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Grate stuff and grate hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grate stuff and grate hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.8
    Not worth money, in need of refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got bug bites over night. No AC and HVAC not sufficient

    Reception when checking in and out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable rooms everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so helpful nothing is too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Spacious room. Very clean. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Holiday at amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AC in the rooms, We request fan but they provide small one

    Location, close to birds park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    A lovely place with friendly helpful staff the room was good beds very comfy clean everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, if too warm for sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel would be better if it had air conditioning

    Breakfast was good as was the evening restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Very good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was magnificent. Very clean, and helpfull staff. The Birds Park & shows.....great !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Avifauna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: