Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Herengracht 21

Herengracht 21, Amsterdam City Centre, 1015 BA Amsterdam, Netherlands

#63 of 250 B&Bs and Inns in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Delightful stay, supplemented by the loveliness of the hosts and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection from upstairs could be faster.

    The house itself is very charming and the hosts are lovely, helpful people. The view of the canal from the room is wonderful and the location is perfect! It is in a prime spot, and it was truly our pleasure to stay there. The breakfast served was plentiful, fresh and thoughtful. To my knowledge, there's only one other room in addition to ours available for booking so this made for an intimate, exclusive stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and toilet are like they are in a cupboard/closet. Ceiling in bedroom quite low. Stairs very difficult with luggage.

    Location, clean and well equipped, breakfast and hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice location, typical Amsterdam athmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice, if the breakfast was more varied.

    The location is superb - in a typical Amsterdam house, next to a canal, close to the railway station, Dam square, and the Red-Light district. There was no noise from the outside, the bed was very comfortable. We were fascinated by the old-fashioned athmosphere and furniture, and the nearby Monday-market. The hosts were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in charming period canal house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom including toilet and shower were in closet-like spaces in the room

    Beautifully decorated. Charming. Besy breakfast ever! Location is unbeatable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay for a flying visit to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast left a lot to be desired but was suffificient 1 egg, bread, cheese and a fruit bowl. The spiral narrow stair case to the room is a bit awkward and not easy to access for larger/tall people. Our room didn’t have a view of the canal which I was disappointed about.

    Good location to central Amsterdam, very clean and comfy room with lots of light, has a hair dryer, fridge, lots of space and you can come and go as you please with your key.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous, authentic Amsterdam house with a warm welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Happy with everything.

    Owners were very friendly and helpful. Very relaxed atmosphere. Lovely breakfast wth local produce and great coffee! Location is fantastic and Loes advised us of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great & cosy appartment in a perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to complain.

    The location of the apartment was brilliant. Only a short walking distance away from the main railway station. It is also located nearby the shopping and restaurant area but still a very quit place. The apartment is in the back which makes it even more quit. A real place to feel home away from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    perfect spot to walk through old amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a hotel- very simple ( dutch) breakfast. toilet in entrance- no privacy. no airconditioning- on hot days may not be easy to be in... expensive!

    perfect spot to walk through old amsterdam. near trainstation. room on canal-huge window. old dutch things in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great place, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has tons of character and is located in a prime part of Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to spend some time in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Had a large room with a huge window overlooking the canal. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a function of the location would recommend taking a train to Amsterdam Parking an issue everywhere Parked in a garage 15 minute walk

    Very friendly owners great location beautiful property made to order breakfast Artsy and antique filled home

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Friendly, relaxing, interesting art displays in unspoilt period canal side property with breakfasts to suit our diets and situated just outside the central area. Will return on our next visit, if available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Amsyerdam Canal house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to train station and downtown. It's a treat to be in a canal house with a view of the passing boat traffic from the room! There's a large bathtub!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great stay in a quirky and beautiful B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This B&B was amazing. The room was beautiful and had great views of the canal. The whole place is quite quirky, but in a lovely way and the hosts were really friendly and welcoming. It is in a really nice part of Amsterdam and well located for travelling from central station (5-10 min walk) and to all of the sights. I would definitely stay here again and would thoroughly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location in the city for this charming family run, small bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dis-like but we stayed in the bedroom at the back of the house and the stairs up to it and the stairs then from the apartment's lounge to the bedroom are steep and narrow so may not suit everyone's climbing abilities.

    Lovely old Dutch house with some quirky artwork collected by the owner. The owner wasn't there but we were very well looked after by her sister.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    I had to leave very early on the morning to catch my flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave very early on the morning to catch my flight. The host left a cold breakfast out for me to eat and take with me. The house is very old -- it has a lot of Dutch character. It also has narrow winding staircases, so be prepared for them. My room (actually a kitchen and living room on one floor and a bed/bath above it) was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    With the exception of the spiral staircase this is a very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were surprised by the very narrow spiral staircase. With 4 heavy pieces of luggage it was a struggle getting our bags to our room on the 3rd floor, but the building was built in 1593 and most "homes" have narrow spiral staircases.

    Really nice couple running the B&B! Friendly and accommodating. Excellent European breakfast. The B&B is on the canal where you can watch boats go by. Close to the Center of the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Like a house in the fairytales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase is challenging for big luggages

    Wonderful hosts! They kept our bags until we depart for the airport in the evening. The place is like an art collection. Very yummy and generous breakfast. Good location that is close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    The owner of the B & B was very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs to the bedroom were impossible, we could not bring the suitcase up. The ceiling for the bedroom was slanted, you had to bend in half to get into bed.

    The owner of the B & B was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Authentic Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the Canal room was beautiful and the room itself charming and comfortable. Staying in Herengracht 21 gave an authentic experience of Amsterdam. The location is excellent, we could walk to all the attractions and there are many lovely bars and restaurants nearby. The owners relaxed, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    WORTH VISITING BACK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A BIT SMALL SHOWER ROOM BUT STILL OK, IT IS NOT A HOTEL!

    WARM WELCOMING COSY BED & PEACEFUL VIEW. CLOSE FROM THE CENTRAAL. AND NICE RECOMMENDATION FOR SANDWICH SHOP AND RESTAURANT AROUND B&B,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Well situated location in an authentic canal house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The canal room was lovely but didn't like the open toilet by the door.

    Beautiful old canal home with gracious, helpful hosts. Comfortable bed and great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Quiet location, and good host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location, and good host

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Location and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, old, boutique canal house. Very clean, fab breakfast and brilliant view of canal from front bedroom. Very helpful hosts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit cold in the apartment. It was November.

    People who owned place were very friendly and helpful, loved the art work and style of apartment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing, beautiful, cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee wasn't strong enough :)

    Yummy breakfast, very dedicated and respectful hosts, beautiful cosy house, easy to locate

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful hosts. We had a great time and our accommodation was great! Very happy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay and good location, but not enough time in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people that run it, very helpful and provide great place for us to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Bed & food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed & food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Traditionally Dutch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far out

    Vintage

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Cleanliness, host, location, great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Canal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, host, location, great food!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The owner made us feel very welcome and right at home. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful spacious apartments, friendly hosts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful spacious apartments, friendly hosts

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Nostalgisch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prepaid

    Ons house Nice living room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was to small.

    The bedroom was different but very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice living
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is easy to chat with the hosts and they are very nice. The room is good and commodious and it has a good view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    Great room split over two floors with the bed right under...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shame we couldn't have stayed longer!

    Great room split over two floors with the bed right under the roof of a glorious canalside town house. Lovely breakfast and hosts who genuinely found nothing too much trouble. We have been to Amsterdam many times and now wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    We stayed in the canal room and it was very spacious -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Yes, the stairs were steep and narrow. Yes, the shower ran cold at times and could have been better. But would I stay here again? Absolutely!

    We stayed in the canal room and it was very spacious - especially for an Amsterdam location. The view was perfect and the neighborhood very quiet. The location couldn't have been better as it was conveniently located close to the train station as well as good pubs, restaurants, and other amenities. Loes was a perfect hostess and went out of her way to help make our stay wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    Fantastic room, very spacious bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a great experience but nothing negative at all.

    Fantastic room, very spacious bedroom. The bed was queen size, very comfy with lovely comfy quilt. The en-suite bathroom was huge. plenty of hot water and towels which were replaced regularly. Our hosts were very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Good breakfast with a good variety of products to eat from bacon and eggs, fresh croissants, assorted breads, homemade jams, fruit, cheeses, unlimited tea and coffee.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    6.7
    The proximity to the station is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It should be pointed out beforehand about the narrow spiral staircase because of any mobility problems. Also that there is no facility for a card payment which necessitated finding a bank so that we had enough cash. We would consider that there wasn't enough comfortable seating for two in the bedroom.

    The proximity to the station is excellent. Being able to stay in a traditional house and overlooking the Herengracht was a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    the breakfast was terrific - the host was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    the breakfast was terrific - the host was extremely accommodating and the location close to the train station was unbeatable. Also, the room was huge, amazing value for the money

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Lovely old house with loads of character in a perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely old house with loads of character in a perfect location.We were in the canal room and had a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. Breakfast was good and the owner very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Great location, lovely house overlooking one of the nicest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, lovely house overlooking one of the nicest canals. Room and bathroom very comfortable and plenty of room, good facilities. Owners very helpful and welcoming. Would go back.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.7
    This is a canal house in the downtown area of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some things that need improvement: 1) Breakfast is served AFTER 8:30am. Makes arranging tours and such a bit difficult. 2) The B&B is run by a couple and our seats were chosen for us at the table (despite the fact that there was no one else eating). 3) Only 1 egg per person alongside 2 slices of bacon and 1 glass of orange juice at breakfast. 4) They continually went into our room when we weren't there. 5) Toiletries were never replaced. 6) Asked us if we could pack-up early because they were going away the next day. Biggest challenge - if you're choosing this place for the breakfast look for somewhere else. Also feels like you're staying at a friend's house where you don't know them so it's a bit awkward to ask for stuff.

    This is a canal house in the downtown area of Amsterdam. The location is great! Also thought the decorating was unique.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Loes & Ton, were wonderful hosts, really enjoyed our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Dislikes

    Loes & Ton, were wonderful hosts, really enjoyed our stay, they us feel right at home, we would definately stay here again in the future & recommend to our friends & family the location was excellent as well, Thank you Loes & Ton, for your warm welcome, cheers & hugs Steve & Leslie Lee Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    6.3
    The location was OK for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a house with different rooms. What you like or don't depends, perhaps, on what room you get. The one I had was with (right, not a real shock for Amsterdam) a toilet with a ridiculous low ceilling , a shower with no hanger, and with many stairs normally you don't need.

    The location was OK for me. The owners were pretty nice. Breakfest was acceptable, or perhaps better.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    8.3
    The rooms were described perfectly and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful breakfast of bread, cheese, egg, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee the first morning. Tom forgot to inform Loes that we had an early morning flight the 2nd day and didn't leave a simple breakfast out for us. We grabbed something at the train station.

    The rooms were described perfectly and the location was ideal. The hosts were very nice and pleasant to talk to. We left our big suitcases in the breakfast room and took our overnight bags upstairs.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The host was polite but a bit cold, and the room too cold, the heater too weak

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.3
    breakfast, location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom

    breakfast, location and staff

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    so much better than a boring generic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    so much better than a boring generic hotel. Lovely hosts. Authentic amsterdam.. Unpretentious. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Very warm welcome,lovely rustic apartment, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very warm welcome,lovely rustic apartment, very close to central Amsterdam.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were staying in the attic room which had limited space.

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful House

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    8.8
    The location, the friendliness that a smaller family owned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location, the friendliness that a smaller family owned accommodation offers, the view.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    Clean and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and inviting. Owners were very helpful. We will stay there again

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse B&B Herengracht 21 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: