Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Baars 4 stars

Smeepoortstraat 52, 3841 EJ Harderwijk, Netherlands

#7 of 8 hotels in Harderwijk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 749 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Everything ok
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed (double) was very narrow; the room located in the loft was very warm (was there end of June) an had no AC

    Very kind personnel; everything was clean and well arranged

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Good restaurant, Neat and tidy room. It was too hot in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pretty warm in the room when i arrived, due to the hot weather. Around 28 degrees celsius.

    I liked the diversity of the tasty assortment. The room was neat and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Dated room sand in need of refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    How dated the hotel was. One room we were given had a whirlpool bath which was new; but the shower head was only suitable if you are 4ft tall. The worst thing about the hotel was how thin the walls were - we could hear everything and this meant we couldn't sleep the first night until 2:30am after banging on the room opposite asking them to be quiet. No staff anywhere. Then we came back one day and one of the room doors was left wide open by the cleaner, clothes, ipad, passport and everything just sitting in the room.

    The location and ability to park outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    An early check in was possible for all our friends and...
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An early check in was possible for all our friends and guests. so that was great advantage to be able to prepare for a family event! There are no doors in the shower corner in the JUNIORSVIT, thus the whole bathroom had wet floor. I called to reception to ask for the tools to clean/dry the floor and to get hotel flip flops. And I gotback a strange comment from the receptionist like if "you want extra service for your room, you need to pay for it".... I did not dare to call them again and ask for coffee delivery to the room.... We also had to pay for the morning rocks. 15 EURO...I think that for 120 EURO per night they could make them available in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Another pleasant short stay in this hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival we found that our safe had been left locked, so we could not use it. We asked for it to be opened, but this never got done.

    The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The hotel reception area, restaurant and breakfast area were all beautifully decorated for Christmas, and looked lovely. We did not eat in the restaurant, but the breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Not my prefered hotel in Harderwijk, but a good 3rd place if need to stay in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is really annoying to enter your room for the first time and the TV switches on to welcome you. Also it is done with just the last name which is not very polite. The problem with the TV is that the music is annoying and you have to search for the remote control to switch it off.

    Nice hotel with good beds. The rooms are spacious enough and clean. Staff is wonderful (most of them).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Quaint friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night porter very grumpy. A little more info on rooms etc would have helped. I had 4 rooms booked and could not be told which were twins or doubles...was told to look myself. Rooms had a few issues but nothing serious. Waiter for dinner was rude. Fish of the day was frozen and watery when cooked.

    Day staff were great and very friendly. A little more training would have been helpful but overall really friendly. Rooms are comfy. The morning staff were really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan extractor noise from bed room above made sleeping difficult and mattress old and dipped in the middle so not comfortable also over priced

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good choice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The electronic door key system did not work smoothly. I needed several, or many, tries to get the door to unlock, and then to stay unlocked for long enough for me to turn the door handle.

    Everything was fine, except the door key.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Big rooms, nice people, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a free upgrade because the regular rooms where free. So i guess i should not really complain. But i did notice that the airco in the room i got was not working.

    Big rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    3.3
    The room we booked was not the same interior as we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was not the same interior as we stayed. This is one of the room which is not renovated. We arrived around 8pm. We were just to tired to raised the issue. Because we only stay for one night. But not satisfied about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    A one night wonder
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small problem. No air condtioning in room. Problem solved with a free stand top quality fan (ventilator ) unfortunately it was very loud during operation so couldnt be used at night. However gofr the 2 weeks per year that it is needed not a major problem. Did i mention the great breakfast

    Bucks fizz for breakfast - breakfast and the size of the room. Helpfull staff. Great breakfast. Extra bed placed in room. Good parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a calm area just few hundred meters away from dolfinarium
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a couple of really small issues which could be improved on. The bathroom had molds on the top, thought not too bad. The fan in the room wasn't working and we realized it in night when the reception was closed. The locker in one of the rooms wasn't working.

    Location, friendly and helpful staff, beds were comfortable. Parking facility is good, there is a garage parking available, you can also park for free a few 100 meters away from location. The dolfinarium is less than a km away. The staff offered us a free room upgrade.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay at Best Western Hotel Baars
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the corridors in the early hours of the morning.

    We enjoyed the variety of food available at breakfast. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay in Harderwijk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is average quality, could be better with few efforts.

    Ideal situation close to Harderwijk centre and beach. Large rooms and large beds, confortable and quiet. Free car park few meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.7
    The potential was there, the finishing not
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The remote didn't work. The lock on the bathroom door was broken off and lost. Not that it mattered but still...

    Nice TV and computer system. Bath was big enough and the view was cozy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    It's a good hotel, the price is reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room is too small.

    Godd location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Friendly personal and very clean combined with a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly personal and very clean combined with a good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Nice place, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place, clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff, rooms, location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need sound proofing, it's possible to hear all nearby rooms and the street.

    Nice staff, rooms, location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable stay - had everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable stay - had everything we needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    There was a fan humming non-stop in my bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a fan humming non-stop in my bathroom. I was unable to stop it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    It was great
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything bath bed diner..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    lovely hotel and area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parked in nearby car park that turned out to be school playground the next day!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel: wonderful, friendly, helpful staff. Great, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor needs upgrading, a little tired.

    Staff are excellent, friendly & helpful. Location great, very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Very expensive for the quality of the rooms
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses old and dipped in the middle very expensive for the quality of the rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely perfect nothing was to much trouble
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being really picky needed better selection of starters

    The staff are great nothing to much trouble

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Check in staff extra helpful, bar staff who knew how to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in staff extra helpful, bar staff who knew how to make drinks, excellent location in town. Fantastic mussel dishes! The food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.6
    old fashioned and worn interior, not a competitive offer at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old fashioned and worn interior, not a competitive offer at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Noise from hallway,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from hallway,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Predictably good Best Western standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All fine

    Normal Best Western standard. Predictably OK. Quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet comfortable place to sit and read

    The staff are friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Would defnitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious room, bed very comfortable, large bathroom with separate toilet. Excellent breakfast, good choice of food in restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Garage available for parking car or motorbike
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Garage available for parking car or motorbike

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff very helpful, nice location, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was quite warm at night. No air conditioning. Also, at least the room I stayed needed renovation.

    Staff very helpful, nice location, clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    for a Best Western hotel very mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was stifling hot in the room with no airco. Parking was 5 to 10 minutes walking (depending on your abilities) from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms polite staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive. Rooms should be refurbished. Too old furniture and toilet.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Midden in Harderwijk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about :)

    really good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Parking your car takes some minutes walk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking your car takes some minutes walk

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Very good hotel with very friendly staff. Located very close to the shopping center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent reception and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Short but very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very helpful, room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    A fab venue near to where I wanted to be which offered a great place to eat and stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Venue and facilities were exactly what was required.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in the centre of this small town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is excellent but a bit too expensive

    Lovely hotel in the centre of this small town. Food was excellent. Staff is also very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Location and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Good stay on a nice location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I woke up with a little back ache. Maybe due to the bed?

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent helpful team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent helpful team. Simple hotel. Nice town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Given rooms side by side which was great as we were in two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot and noise from street meant you couldn't leave the windows open

    Given rooms side by side which was great as we were in two rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.8
    Staff very helpful and friendly-Good parking(Secure)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful and friendly-Good parking(Secure)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    9.2
    Nice Hotel people let us park our Tandem in the conference...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice Hotel people let us park our Tandem in the conference room. Made us very happy indeed : ). Great location. Avoid the terrible tapas bar down the street !.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Central location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us a walk in shower would have been better than a shower in the bath. We hadn't asked for a walk in shower so that was our own fault.

    Central location and friendly staff. We had one of the better rooms which was at the back of the hotel and had quiet nights sleep. The town is very busy over the weekends and can be a bit noisy but we were not disturbed

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    5.0
    The location is great since its very close to the centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked here because it was the only hotel in town that had one double bed rooms. In my reservation I requested if possible a room with a bathtub. At the reception we found out that there's no such combination available so the personnel took the liberty to choose whatever suited them best so we ended up sleeping in separate beds. Also, the internet was awful we could not work at all...And this was in a deluxe room with only one small window for which we paid 30 euros extra. We couldn't really see any difference between our upgrade and a standard.

    The location is great since its very close to the centre and to the bus station. In 15 minutes you can get to the dolphinarium or to the zwaluwhoeve.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel with decent breakfast and helpful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is rather a 3 star hotel but then excellent than a 4 star hotel.

    Good hotel with decent breakfast and helpful personnel. Good location and easy parking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Our rooms were beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our rooms were beautiful! Really big, spacious and lovely. Beds comfy, beautiful bathroom. The staff were lovely and helpful ! Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    5.8
    Very friendly staff, nice bar and restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    7,50€ for 24h of lousy WLAN is an absolute no-go in 2015. shower only drips the whole place needs renovation. This is not a 4 star hotel.

    Very friendly staff, nice bar and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.1
    walking distance to station and Dolfinarium and city beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the noise at night was terrible, right on a street with lots of nightlife traffic. Hot, no airco

    walking distance to station and Dolfinarium and city beach friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    5.4
    nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    as we entered we were told that the car park was full. we had to park in the supermarket car park near by. i would advise this to anyone wishing to stay here.

    nothing. as the car park was actually not there even though the advert said it included car park. we had to go to the supermarket to park the car for free.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.4
    My room was in the 3rd floor, very hot inside, could not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was in the 3rd floor, very hot inside, could not slepp with window closed, when opened, the noise from the street was enormous, all night long shouting, engine roar, even firecrackers at 3 a.m. Impossible to sleep. I was awake for 2 nights. Never again. Not really the mistake of the hotel, but still very unpleasant.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    Pleasant and relaxed atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like about this hotel.

    Pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. Knew the hotel before it became best western and was pleasantly surprised at the standards. Staff were superb. Definitely recommend to any weary traveler :-)

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.9
    Personal very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a hotel were several clients are in business trip, the internet service should be of better quality (speed and signal power and stability) and without extra cost.

    Personal very friendly Location is very good

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Great location near to restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wi-fi in the room although it was free in the hotel bar.

    Great location near to restaurants and bars. Quiet comfortable room. Very pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    7.1
    Good excellent and not expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This day and age Wifi should be FREE always. Parking charge and could be hard in the summer.

    Good excellent and not expensive. Room clean. Breakfast ok.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.9
    covered parking for the car across the hotel which is very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A mini bar in the room would have been nice .

    covered parking for the car across the hotel which is very convenient in harderwijk.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    The staff was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was awesome!!! A

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    6.7
    Very simpel breafast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very simpel breafast. Room had very dirty carpet

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    9.2
    very friendly staff, nice room & bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a bit noisy, as we got a room facing the street, even though we had asked for a quiet room specifically.

    very friendly staff, nice room & bathroom

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    5.4
    Not clean for a 4 star definitely 3 star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not clean

    Not clean for a 4 star definitely 3 star!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.9
    I don not understand anything, questions should be in English
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I don not understand anything, questions should be in English

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff were superb very friendly and professional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Staff were superb very friendly and professional Food was superb value for money

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff, nice town centre location but quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly, helpful staff, nice town centre location but quiet too, great family room, garage to store our bikes - all very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Staff friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not keen on continental breakfasts in Europe

    Staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Center location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints.

    Center location. Good breakfast. Nice, cosy hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Quiet, large, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not excellent

    Quiet, large, spacious room

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Hotel Baars traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: