Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Badhotel Bruin

Dorpsstraat 88, 8899 AL Oost-Vlieland, Netherlands

#8 of 18 hotels in Oost-Vlieland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1167 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, small but beautiful wellness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of bed was poor, it had a huge ditch in one of the beds. Room was very noisy. Small bathroom but efficient.

    Nice staff, small but beautiful wellness. Nice patio.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    The hospitality was very friendly and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of teenagers had a nice time under our window around 2.00am. Kept us from sleeping well.

    The hospitality was very friendly and the breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Rooms, service, attention to detail was all you might expect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms, service, attention to detail was all you might expect from a top hotel - but we were unprepared for the comfort, and atmosphere of the lounges, lobby, terrace and restaurant (which is probably the best on the island). This is a place where you really can relax. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoy life at Bruin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen in the apartment is functional but basic. The type of matras (hard) was different from what we are used to. We were somewhat unlucky that construction workers started their day very early at the other site of the street, causing quite some noise.

    Warm welcome, child- and dog-friendly (including dog-facilities in the room /apartment), clean apartment, well equipped and comfortable bathroom. Excellent location for dinner or drinks, either inside or making use of the perfect Bruin-terras.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place in Vlieland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some light switches did not work. Some cooking pots not matching the induction hot plate

    Quiet. New. Clean. Good service. Free wellness from 17.00. Close to the ferry. Very happy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is really small and noisy. You could hear the literal conversation of your neighbors. Doors slamming etc. The space is enough for your bags and yourself, but no room left for anything else. The welness is beatiful, but only free in the evenings when you share with other guests. The hotel is fine for a weekend. But for this price, I’d expect a whole lot more!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely and detail-minded hotel. Well done design. Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to elevator and stairs. Also cleaning staff gathered at that point. So a lot of traffic and thus noise. And no views from this room

    Elaborate breakfast with fresh bread and many options

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Great for people watching.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit pricey for size of room especially the bathroom.

    Very nice, well looked after hotel. Breakfast perfectly fine. Lovely terrace with some very comfortable loungers - perfect for people watching. Restaurant in hotel also worthwhile.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Nice, cosy and comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in the classic room is a little bit small, but okay.

    The hotel is located in the main street. You can hire a bike and go anywhere on the island. Nice terrace to sit, drink and eat something. Dinner was also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel in a good location for local amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited and very much directed toward Dutch tastes.

    Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Bedroom was a bit on the small side and the double bed had two single duvets on it rather than a proper size one. However the bed/ pillows were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful island, hotel a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointing. We booked the expensive room at the back, with terrace overlooking the garden, because we wanted peace and quiet. What we got was an expensive 'apartment', unlike the other rooms with breakfast not included, located at the back, right on top of the load in and load out area, the noise waking us up every morning.

    Our first visit to Vlieland, out of season so extremely peaceful and calm. A surprisingly beautiful island. Great for cycling and long walks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel in the middle of the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    looking out off the window is a brick wall a meter away. No view at all. Breakfast was OK but the scrambled eggs looked like they came out of a can and further only boiled eggs available, no eggs cooked to order. Checkout already at 10:30. Late checkout only at additional funds.

    clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.1
    Did not live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed annoyed with having to explain things to people staying for the first time and told us a few times "we are really busy" which, as a guest, is not my concern. We were told to go down the street for bike rentals so that is the first "missing" amenity. It should be noted that the spa can only be used from 5pm IF there is availability. Towels, bathrobe, and slippers are not provided, and you don't know who you end up with (we had a 6-person family including 4 kids). In the end we did not make use of the amenities which we "paid" for in the higher hotel price. The room was tiny and the we could hear the conversations happening in the room next door. Dinner was terrible in terms of service and good in terms of the food. Expect to be ignored for 3 hours for a 3 course meal! Advertising as a boutique hotel is great, but we book boutique hotels for that added little touch and absolutely did not get that at Badhuis Bruin.

    The beds were extremely comfortable and the location was convenient as it is a short walk from the ferry terminal. Breakfast was delicious - a good mix of local specialties and classic breakfast foods.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    A not so quiet weekend at Vlieland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were quite small. Fine only for a weekend, when travelling without much luggage. Staff seemed uninterested and too busy with the computer to attend to us. Did not show us where the rooms were. There is wifi, but code not available in the room. Make sure you ask before going up! Rooms on the front side are quite noisy, we experience loud music from opposite cafe's until late.

    Rooms were comfortable and designed with a fresh, modern look

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    4.6
    Badhotel Bruin is very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -3 course menu was very little and I am really not a great eater. - glass wine I ordered came after main course. - bathroom was not cleaned properly twice. - when they cleaned extra in afternoon the door was left unlocked. - I had to wait for more than 10 minutes for a glass of wine. Waiter forgot again. - had dinner on terrace. ordered a soup and said I would decide later if I would some more. I am a small eater. It took half an hour before they took away my empty bowl and did not ask if I wanted something more. After 20 minutes I asked for the manager. Got the restaurant manager. He asked what he could do finally. I said give me main course for free. He agreed. Then again main course was not good and I said something about it. General Manager came and wanted to talk to me in private. Wrote down some complaints and stopped writing at some point. No results. Arrogant little kid. My meal was completely cold and I did not eat it, thought that they would pay anyway. Next day when I had to pay the bill, it turned out that I had to pay for the main course anyway, because I had complained too much. When I had my meal 2 people who just wanted to have dinner (no hotel guests) cancelled everything because they waited far too long to get their drink. Another couple, also not stayers, had their main course, but did not get their supplements. The manager even called Booking.com that I would not be welcome anymore as a guest. A customer is king according to me. I will do everything I can do to give this hotel a very bad review.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Paradise in downtown Oost-Vlieland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Besides a broken coffee machine in one of the rooms and one or two tiny maintenance issues (carpentry) - there was nothing annoying - and that's saying something!

    Everything was great - staff, reception, rooms, drinks, location, facilities, you name it; perfect for a short stay on Vlieland, a Dutch-exotic island paradise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Wellness and bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    Wellness and bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and tasteful with a great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    No real issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have some fridge. Elevator is medieva

    No real issues..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    good breakfast, beautiful presentation, nice lounge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all

    good breakfast, beautiful presentation, nice lounge facilities, beautiful spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great spa, friendly staff. More than just 3 stars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a relaxing weekend get-away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator

    Great service, friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Nice sauna facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast, clean rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, noisy. Heat was not very well controllable so temperature not always comfortable

    Good breakfast, clean rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Room a bit small for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small for the price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a bit small.

    Breakfast was great!! Wellness was relaxing and clean. Bed was super.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Location was top.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    be vigilant as booking.com charges you with 20euros pet fee without the option to unselect this extra charge!

    Location was top.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Nice staff and beautiful accomodation
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Møre keys because we were with 4 persons and perhaps a little refrigarator

    The beds and the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Good hotel in Vlieland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small, for the rest the hotel is excellent.

    Nice breakfast and very clean and tidy room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Superb Breakfast , Wellness fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was the best I ever had. Loads of things to choose from ,egg / fruits / bread etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    The cozyness of the lobby and the lounges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not that much, especial the quality of the coffee did not make me happy. It was ok but not great.

    The cozyness of the lobby and the lounges. And the wonderful bed!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    Location, good bed, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was not clean, especially the toilet. Rooms are small. Shower is even smaller. Sink looks nice but is not practical. You spill water easily.

    Location, good bed, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.5
    A good location in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a bit noisy from the other guests. Assigned tables at breakfast is too rigid/confining.

    A good location in the middle of town. A clean comfortable hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    The location is ideal for a short stay and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit iffy and bathroom (room #3) definitely not for tall people because of the extreme sloping roof.

    The location is ideal for a short stay and the breakfast was very nice. The hotel has lots of space to sit down quietly and relax.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.3
    Nice breakfast, great location and very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms without airco and rooms could do with a little redecoration ( wall paper coming little off etc). Rooms not extreme big

    Nice breakfast, great location and very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.3
    De inrichting van het hotel, het eten, het terras, de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Vriendelijkheid van het personeel is er wel maar mag wat persoonlijker. Een praatje met de gasten is wel zo aardig. Ook misten wij de mogelijkheid om 's ochtends een gebakken eitje te bestellen bij het ontbijt. Dit was niet mogelijk. Alleen (hard) gekookte eieren van het buffet. Dit hebben wij nog niet veel meegemaakt in hotels. Er kan met moeite gebruik worden gemaakt van de Spa. Deze kan net zo goed worden gesloten. Niemand gebruikt het en kinderen < 18 jaar zijn niet toegestaan.

    De inrichting van het hotel, het eten, het terras, de locatie, de bedden.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Everything is perfekt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is perfekt. We love this Hotel! There is not nothing to improve.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.5
    seperate blankets and matress:-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    seperate blankets and matress:-(

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    4.2
    Bar and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little space in room and bathroom, very noisy too

    Bar and restaurant

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: