Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budget Hotel Barbacan 2 stars

Plantage Muidergracht 89, Amsterdam City Centre, 1018 TN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#384 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1311 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Felt like we were more at a hostel than a hotel and will most likely not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, did not look like the photos at all and the shared bathroom smelt like feet most of the time and it was very hot in our room which we had no air con.

    The pizza places and the city was very beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No desk or table to work on. The hotel is not meant for people on business trip and would like to have some work done while in their room

    Location was good. There were places to park the car on the street

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Very poor hotel, but helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated. Definatley in need for renovations. The overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke from when you go in the front door, all the way up to the second floor was not nice. The walls between the rooms seem very thin and you can hear everything that next door are saying. The bed was very uncomfortable and small as was the room in general.

    The location of the hotel is brilliant. 2 stops from central Amsterdam and also 1 minute walk from the zoo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    -We really liked the italian restuarnt next to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The location wasn't that great. -The sheets were not being changed everyday even if though they had stains on them. -No one tried to help us with our luggages... at one time i got stuck in the stair case with the luggages and then one of staff came and helped me out. -everystep was heard from our room -booked a taxi to the airport from the hotel.... we were told that it is going to be €37 while we were charged €45 -the room was too small, we barely had room to move around. We had to put our luggages on top of each other

    -We really liked the italian restuarnt next to the hotel -everytime we got in and out of the hotel, the room was always ready

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stairs, the price. its def way too expensive

    we only stayed for 3 nights, so it was okay for us. the staff was really nice and helpful. its near the centre, you walk for like 20mins, easy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    The hospitality and the staff are really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink is almost impossible to use (too small). Although Amsterdam is expensive but the value was higher than it deserve.

    The hospitality and the staff are really nice. The location was pretty good. The lady on the reception was so nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.0
    Location is quite and near by play ground for kids and tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    over priced for rather humidified and old room at 245 euro per night .

    Location is quite and near by play ground for kids and tram 14 (4 stops from citycentre). Also nice couples of Italian and Japanese restaurants just 50 meters from the hotels entrance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    some of the guests were being a little noisy and coarsely behaved, but the hotel cannot be blamed for this.

    VERY friendly and helpful staff, everyone from frontdesk to cleaning staff were great!!!!!!!!!!! probably one of the best parts of the stay incredibly clean, good shower sweet kitty kat that lives there location is good, not too far from the city, and also away the expensive and touristy places....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall, not bad at all considering the location and price of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a large brown stain on the wall, there was also poor ventilation in the bathroom and the bathroom ceiling leaked.

    Staff were very helpful, our bathroom ceiling leaked and they got another room for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    bed was clean and comfortable - the reviews online were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't like a shared shower but can't do anything about that in the space they have. would have liked more than one power point so I could charge my phone without having to turn off the fan

    bed was clean and comfortable - the reviews online were terrible and we hadn't looked until the day before going so were terrified it would be the worst experience ever! It was fine, it was the cheapest hotel available the staff were great and the rooms were comfy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Close to the Center and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the Center and good value for money. Clean and simple room, good if you just need a bed for a few nights! The staff were very friendly and helpful and they the hotel cat was very friendly too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Did not like the smell of cigarettesmoking as we had to hold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the smell of cigarettesmoking as we had to hold our breth going in/out... even smelled in the room... On the door it said «no smoking in this hotell» - obviously some other kind of smoke....?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Location to center of city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was like a cupboard. No A/C and by leaving window open all night we encountered noisy residents smoking on rooftop outside. Wifi was very difficult to log into

    Location to center of city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for one overnight stay in my tiny room. Maybe other rooms and baths are more enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny, on the top floor with just one window. Shared bath was very basic. The directions on Booking.com are wrong. They take you to a distant Metro stop, with a zig zag confusing walk to the hotel. There is actually a tram stop near the hotel, a direct line from the train station.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff were very nice. It is located on edge of beautiful residential neighborhood, with just enough street life to make it enjoyable. Hotel is well outside the area overrun with tourists. It is a short walk to more central areas. Very close to tram stop for direct access to Central Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Had exactly everything you needed in the room with enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had exactly everything you needed in the room with enough floor space as well. Excellent location, not in the centre but not too far away with an easy walk to the centre. Also with the zoo 5mins away makes a great day out and easily accessible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    The location and staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress of the room were are nightmare... me and my family finished with a big back pain. It was like sleep in a table.

    The location and staff were great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced, but not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size quite small, problems with the water, there was no shampoo nor anything else a part from the towels and they didn't clean the room - I stayed 3 nights. Overpriced.

    Nice location, 20 mins walking to the centre, in a quite area, nice view on the street from the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay here if you want sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable, you can hear people walking around all night and it sounds like they are in the same room because of how thin the walls and floors are. Windows don't lock properly, did not like the fact that our shower and toilet was shared with everyone on our floor. Beds creaked even if you breathed. My friends door looked as if it had been kicked in and repaired. Definitely not worth what we paid. It was so bad I burst into tears when I got into our room. This hotel should not be advertised on booking.com.

    The staff were incredibly welcoming. Not a lot of other good things I can say about it really

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sooo small we could not open our bags. The tiny tv did not work. The water in the shower was cold. The bathroom was full of black mold, and a health hazard!! The manager was very very rude. The hotel was disgusting and old! Very expensive for the horrible quality. I would give this hotel the lowest rating possible

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.6
    Should be 1* and no one should pay more than £20 for a night here.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was scandalously priced for the what guests are offered. It’s basic and even at that there are real health and safety concerns. I got a 4* hotel the following night for the same price. It just felt a bit gross. The kind of place where you don’t want to touch the hand railings going up and down the stairs. They quite literally paint over the cracks of the hotel...

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    The hotel cat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel insisted on cash payment but this wasn't possible so every night we came back to the hotel our key card wouldn't work...at one point even refusing to allow entry to room unless passport was handed over...finally took card payment on check out.

    The hotel cat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, good location :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar wasn’t open as advertised which was disappointing. Very steep stairs so be careful if disabled/hard of walking.

    Great space. Good size bathroom. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Swimming pool in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, the walls too thin (I could hear all the people talking and walking around) and the bed sheets wasn't clean at all (I even found unknown hair in the sheets). The shower curtains were small and the whole toilet got wet after shower. And the shower drain wasn't working properly so I had to unclog it by myself otherwise I'd have a swimming pool In the room. There was no air conditioner or fan and the room was so hot and sultry that I couldn't even breathe or sleep. I could open the window but I leads to a access roof and I was afraid that someone could enter in my room while I was sleeping.

    The staff was quite friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is absolutely one of the best, especially concerning the low/average price for the stay! Such lovely and Amsterdamish vibes in this area! Totally recommend this quiet yet centre small paradise for others!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    Staff were OK but hotel was horrid damp no food no drinking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp room very bad decor and there wasn't any food or dining not even access to drinking water free or in the machine, very poor standard. Worse hotel I have ever been.

    Staff were OK but hotel was horrid damp no food no drinking water no nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Most of the staff were really nice, the bed was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, we could hardly even fit 2 people with our suitcases, felt a bit like Harry Potter staying in a cupboard. The tv plug was broken and the toilet didn't flush either which is not good especially for it being a shared bathroom. We also arrived on a really hot day and there was no air conditioning or a fan and the heat was unbearable.

    Most of the staff were really nice, the bed was extremely comfortable. Brilliant location as it is away from all the madness but still close to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location, OK stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction next door started quite early, waking us up rather early. The interior smelled heavily of smoke and it was quite stuffy. The walls are rather thin so we could hear our neighbors returning at 03:00 to 05:00 a.m. in the mornings and vomiting their lungs out.

    It was close to a convenient tram line and located centrally but quieter area of Amsterdam. It was convenient when not having an onsuit bathroom to have a washbasin in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    The location is 10 minute walk from the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were unable to pay by card due to their card machine being cut off so we had to find a bank to withdraw the cash which was very inconvenient and they kept cutting our room cards off until we were able to get to a bank so we had to keep getting them to re-activate the cards. They were worried about us leaving without paying although we booked through booking.com which has all my details on, I even offered to leave my passport behind the desk.

    The location is 10 minute walk from the center. The hotel owners are lovely and leave you to your own devices which is very pleasant when you just want to enjoy a trip with your friends or want a giggle in your room. We have a family room of 5 people and we were a group of friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible hotel building and staffs: due to bad construction maintenance, the water dropped in the room and one piece of ceiling fell down on our head and face at 3:00 early morning during our sleeping. Our room Nummer: 11. It is not safe to stay there!! We complained immediately about and asked for at least one day hotel fee back. it but no one cared about it with unacceptable attitude. We will definitely continue to complain and claim our right through Booking.com!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bad thing for me was the hotel was situated a long walk out of the heart of the city.At least one mile.A long walk into town and back.

    Clean and tidy,and friendly hotel,basic,but just what I need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    very decent, would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator, we had to carry our luggage upstairs, good thing our room was on the 1st floor. The sink pipe was leaking in our room, we asked the reception to fix it. No bathroom mat, had to use one of our towels. No blackout curtains.

    The location was great, only a couple tram stops away from the center. Calm but lively neighbourhood. The staff was very helpful and the cat is great! The room was clean with no bed bugs (room 16), quadruple room fit the 4 of us very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, there was a horrible rude man who lived next door though thats not the propertys fault

    Everything, very comfortable place, clean and the lady who runs the place was so friendly helpful and kind and made sure we had everything we needed,would recommend 100%

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    My husband and I stayed for two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I stayed for two nights. Our room was clean, we had a small shower and toilet which were clean and perfectly functionable. The room had a small closet and a tv. A few charging points for phones. A chair and a table and a full length mirror on the wall. The bed was comfortable. A light duvet provided and that's all that was needed as the room was warm. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The lad behind the reception pointed us to some great local spots hand marked on a map he gave us a for free. The manager was More than happy to hold our bags for us after checkout so we could explore the city luggage free until our flight. Location is perfect. Short tram ride to dam square. No tea making facilities at the hotel but well priced cafe at the end of the street. All in all perfect hotel for the price. We will definitely be staying there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Great position but long overdue for renovation. Suit backpackers, pot smokers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Long list - not hotel's fault but jack hammers in street early morning, not good, worse because windows wouldn't shut properly. Shabby, tiny room, only handbasin, toilets and shower separate and shared. Overall primitive, really third world, not what is expected in a European city. Strong smell of marijuana in public areas. No lift, steep stairs, if you can't carry your case forget it. We wouldn't return again.

    Position. Clean, comfortable bed, room cleaned daily with fresh towels. Good value for Amsterdam. Helpful, friendly staff. Next to Botanic Garden and Zoo. Secure locks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Cute and clean accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower’s extractor fan wouldn’t stay on for the entire length of our shower so would end up with steamy mirrors in the shower room.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and fairly spacious too. This place is perfect for a short stay where you’re not expecting to stay in the hotel longer than to sleep and shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    3.8
    Total nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the room is tiny and the towels as well. The shower was leaking so every time you took a shower, you had to avoid both boiling and freezing water dripping on you. The maid walked in without knocking twice (both times I was naked) and you could never sleep longer than noon since the maid started vacuuming the hallway every morning at 10-11 am and the walls are thin like paper so if anyone is outside your door, trust me you’ll know. The washing machine must have been in a room located above our room because for 3 straight hours(early in the morning of course), the noises from it were unbearable and our room was literally shaking. I’m assuming there were some bed bugs since both of us woke up with red spots but that really doesn’t surprise me. The stairs are very narrow so its difficult to drag your luggage upstairs and also the bar was closed the entire time and the vending machine had like 3 bars of chocolate and 2 bags of chips. There is no way that I’m coming back.

    The location was okay if you don’t mind taking long walks but theres also a tram station 2 mins away. Thats literally the only nice thing about this “hotel”.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    I didn't like staff's attitude with guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like staff's attitude with guests. They didn't respect new guests. I didn't like when they changed payment methods to cash payment. They have to tell it before we arrive. It was unfair.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t informed I would have to pay cash at the property luckily I had spotted it on a previous review property was a bit tired and run down but was expected for the price

    The value for money and clean enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Basic but pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room did not look like the pictures and was very basic. No hair dryer. There was a cat that lived there and it meow'ed a lot and scratched our door to try and get in at night. Smells like fags.

    Our bed was very comfy and the room was warm!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    clean and convenient location in a friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very basic room with no shower gels and small towels and the t.v was very dated, i think the place needs a little upgrade in general.

    the staff were very good and helpful the room was clean and warm and it was in easy walking distance to get the tram into town, the zoo was close by and there were a few places to eat breakfast and have a coffee or a pizza place and chinese place as well as having a few bars in walking distance. also a couple of local shops and cash atm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    You want better. Spend more. Alright little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv too small - no remote. Room on the small side. Bed not overly comfortable. But manageable. Little bit noise from out side where construction work was but can't be helped.

    No bed bugs :) we were in room 26. Can't speak on behalf of any other rooms. Staff were very friendly and the cat is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice and simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I would recommend to have small shampoos because it only provided with liquid soap. It is not a good idea to wash your hair with that, gets all too dry. Also, the towels where very small, not the appropriate size in order to cover your body. Lastly, the heat was off and we didnt know how to turn it on. This hadn't happen the previous time though.

    I' ve been there once more. It's simple and comfortable, providing the basics. If you just want a nice and quite place to stay at night, this is a very good option since it is quite affordable, without being a hostel, which means you don't sucrifice your privacy. P.s. Loved the cat <3

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.6
    Save yourself the money and book elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What did i like.. we were placed on top floor which is 7 flights and as you can imagine after a space cake or 5.. thats diffucult. Our key cards stooped working, had to have a new key card every day. The shared bathroom opposite our bedroom, of course didnt work which meant we had to walk down 2 flights of stairs to get to bathroom. When we walked into our room it felt like our room was on a slope but we put that down to us just being stoned but when we woke up next morning, it turns out the room infact was on a slant. The bed may aswell not have had a mattress cause i felt the bed slats whole time i slept on it. I woke up the morning after arrival and thought id had breakfast delivered to my room, nope turns out it was just the pillows.. flat as pancakes! The vending machines for drinks kept swallowing money and were sold out by day 2 of our trip and werent refilled. Staff were alrite, seemed friendly enough but thats probably only good thing i have to stay. The hotel is in Artis which is 13 euro in a taxi or you can just get a tram which takes about 8 mins to get into dam square. The 'hotel' is basically a hostel.

    Quiet area it was in

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was so dim very hard to do make up for girls. Heating was a little too high even when turned down and there wasn’t an option to turn it off.

    The staff were amazing very friendly and helpful! It was basic but definitely comfortable and pretty clean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    2.9
    dont stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room the bathrooms the hotel was a big let down could not pay with card had to be cash only and the hotel key did not work and was locked our for over half an hour in the cold befor some one opened the door

    did not like our stay here the hotel is not like the photos we seen and the hotel was falling apart will not stay here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location for sight seeing- Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price could of been cheaper for what we received. Sent hotel an email before coming but unfortunately didn’t hear back.

    Double room was just the right size for two sharing- clean sheets and fresh towels everyday 😀 I was previously concerned about the amount of “bed bug” reviews I had read.. but not a single one to be seen during the stay. Toilet in our room did flush throughout the stay- but to have a private bathroom - I’d put up with that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    The place is exactly how described - a budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is exactly how described - a budget hotel. Not cozy but very clean and in super location. The people were very friendly and helpful. I like it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    4.2
    not a good experience, the only good think was a polite staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    steep steps, smells in the halls, dirty carpets, small room (with bed, putting 2 suitcases, unpacking, etc there was not a lot of space to walk to door), tv not working, windows on the wall and sky.

    very polite staff, bedding sheets were clean, bed comfortable, there was a telephone

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    Overall good, but too pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning could've been a bit better, would have appreciated if the cleaning staff could have taken our trash for example but no... Basically only the beds were made, barely.

    Great location, very friendly staff and comfy beds.. Still overpriced though considering it felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    2.5
    The location is good, although a shooting nearby put us...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs all over the room we stayed in. No.16. We hadn't even slept in the room before we noticed them. Crawling all over the beds, walls, curtains. We immediately asked to change rooms. The man at the desk didn't seem concerned or even surprised that we had found them. He gave us a new room which was fine but tiny for 3 adults. The bathroom didn't have a door on and was very inconvenient for 3 adults trying to have a shower or even change clothes. I am very disappointed and it did ruin the whole trip for me. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

    The location is good, although a shooting nearby put us completely of the surrounding area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    A comfortable stay until an alarming last night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff complained to us about a fire alarm that wasn't fixed properly or something but if it's not fixed properly that should be there problem not ours and also they accused us of smokinh in the room I have never smoked in my life! We could smell up the stairs that other people had been though! Also there was no remote for the tv so it was stuck on mtv. A kettle in the room would have been nice too to make tea :)

    Central location, the cat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets could have been cleaner and more comfortable. Shower ran out of hot water sometimes.

    Property was very nice and in a quiet area. Shower was big and clean. Staff were very helpful and spoke perfect English. The hotel cat is so cute! Also there is a vending machine with cold drinks which is perfect for when you're thirsty in the middle of the night!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    It had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had everything we needed. It was clean, comfortable and had a cute kitty at reception. Close to the centre in a nice area. A couple of good food spots nearby also. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    Cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Mattress was paper thin. Could hear every step being in the room next to the stairs. Hardly any plugs and missing a mirror in the bedroom

    Cheap. Clean towels and bedding. Good Tele in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    Was ok, have stayed in nicer places for cheaper. But the staff seemed very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other people staying at the hotel very noisy, woke up every night to people talking outside the room. The toilet continuously made noises.

    The staff seemed friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    Comfy bed, decent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room really didn’t look anything like the pictures at all. The communal bathroom was tiny and the floor was often flooded making it easy to slip. There was a resident cat which isn’t mentioned online, I have a bad cat allergy and suffered with allergy symptoms throughout the stay.

    Comfy bed, decent location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Underwhelmed. Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities. No card payment so had to get cash to pay. No iron to use, was told to arrange our own. No tea/coffee in the room. No breakfast option, no bar. The hotel stunk of cigarette smoke each morning. Very expensive for what it is. Payed the same price for an additional night at a much nicer hotel.

    Staff were welcoming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Cosy, clean and comfortable. Also the cat was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I think would be appreciated by everyone staying at the hotel is if you add a small fridge in the rooms. Everything else was great.

    Really cosy, clean and the beds are incredibly comfortable. I am a huge cat fan so the cat that was walking around the hotel was a huge plus for me :D The bathroom is small but very clean. The temperature in the room was great, it was not cold at all considering that there was a snowy storm in Amsterdam at the time. I would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    2.5
    Terrible hotel and taxi service all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty and I was in one of the best rooms, taxi from airport to here cost me €75 and nothing I could say about it even though I got told it only cost €32.50 absolute junk wouldn’t advise this hotel

    Some of the staff was polite owner was horrid

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    Cheap, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best furnishings in room. Mattress was uncomfortable and had to pay with cash so incurred bank charges.

    Clean and good standard shower. Easy to get to and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Do not stay here even though is well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Unconfortable bed. I hardly slept. The mattress was very unconfortable, you could feel the springs and it made noise every time I turned. The sheets were washed (I could tell from the smell), but the linen had hairs on it. 2) Terrible free wifi, you are forced to login through facebook, and the connection falls all the time 3) Smelly toilet. It was clean, but the smell from the sewage invaded the room. 4) The second day I woke up with pimples around my neck and hands. Most probably fleas - as disgusting as this might seem. Never happened to me before. 5) I only chose this hotel because it was close to the venue and I assumed that there is a minimum level of comfort when you pay 100 euros/night in a European city - it was a naive assumption.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Was good fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't really anything bad. Did find that using a communal bathroom was hard especially being 3 of us I think we would have benefitted from a bathroom massively. Especially due to certain guests letting down the standards of cleanliness but that isn't personal to the hotel. It's something that can't be helped. Was happy with the small toilet though and found the majority of the time was kept very clean.

    The room was nice and clean so couldn't complain. Had a sink for doing teeth and a general wash etc. Even had a tv too but didn't look very healthy when switched on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Good will sometimes is not enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arriving at the reception unfortunately the room (double) we paid for wasn't available, so we we're put in a twin bed room. After one night they changed us to the right room. It was a pity that there not even the TV was working. There was no shampoo, no hair dryer, no hangers, no TV remote, the room was very, very small and we even had to pay cash at arriving. There was not even the option that we could have breakfast there. We paid nearly 300€/3 nights, definitely way too expensive for this accomodation.

    When we arrived at the hotel we we're pretty pleased that it was so close to the city center, but still in a calm neibourhood. We could walk to the hotel in between 20 min. People there were very nice and it was not too noisy in the night time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Great stay apart from noisy drills on a Sunday morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were rudely disturbed on a Sunday morning with drills and banging on the Sunday morning in the room right through the wall. Everything was great expect the noise on the Sunday.

    Nice staff, comfy bed, good location and value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    hi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of building could do with painting.

    We were on the ground floor so we didn't have to climb any stairs.The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Terrible because of bed bugs and staff behaviour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had been at Barbacan for 3 nights and in the second night we had been assulted by bed bugs. Our legs and arms were full of bites and there was no one to report to until the morning. The day after the manager said that she will settle the problem but the only thing she did was change the sheets. We experinced again the same problem the night after. We have asked for the money back but the way she dealt with it was completely unprofessional. After calling her several times, she said that we couldn't have our money back because we would leave a bad review after having the money.

    Was close to the central area!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    Not a great stay. Fine once but would not stay there again. The advertising was extremely misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disgusting. The rooms did not look like the pictures advertised online. The room was dimly lit and uncomfortable. It was not clear upon booking that we had a communal bathroom and it was extremely sketchy. We saw reports of bed bugs and were extremely careful. We checked all of the beds. Not a great stay.

    There were a lot of free tokens for activities around Amsterdam.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was abit cold in the bedrooms, everytime I tried putting the radiator on, there was no heat coming out.

    Staff was really friendly and very helpful, we got our own bathroom which was a bonus! The bedroom was very clean. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    narrow stairs and very thin walls

    Good location, quiet street with restaurants near by. About 10 min walk to center of Amsterdam the room was ok for the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet location. 20 minutes walk to city centre and tram stops just around the corner. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but clean, comfortable and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    No breakfast or coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast or coffee. Room tiny but ok. Good size window. Bathroom very tiny. Good hot water. Bed comforable. Staircase narrow and reception cramped. Sraff helpful. Location nice and quite central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    2.9
    3 flights of stairs to get to your room smelly room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    4 of us checked in the lady was nice but the hotel not very nice . my room was so small and stank of sewerage i could hardly breath it was that bad . the lady the next day did move us to a better and bigger room the bed in the first room was no good clean bed but the mattress was about 3 inches in height

    staff were ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    It does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the beds was fairly uncomfortable & our room was on the top floor (lots of stairs, no elevator - no problem for us but for older people might be an issue). Walls are paper thin. Also distinct lack of plug sockets? I think our room had 1. Could do with a tiny bit of TLC and it'd boost reviews tremendously. Overall though I'd say this place is worth it if you can get a good deal.

    Polite & helpful staff, great location - right next to a tram stop & only a 10-15 minute walk to central. Stayed for 5 nights, the place is very small/basic and I can understand some of the negative reviews - however if you are just looking for a clean place to sleep in a good location then this is ideal. Towels were changed every day, shower & toilet facilities worked well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for what we wanted/needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was situated about 10 minutes walk from the main streets of Amsterdam, making it quiet enough to sleep peacefully, but close enough to not miss anything. The street was quiet and the hotel was clean, safe & perfect for 4 friends. With food close by and easy access to everything we needed/wanted, we were all very happy with hotel, it's facilities & location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting place with bed bugs, do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has bed bugs. We had to relocate in the middle of the night and throw out a lot of our belongings. The hotel will not answer us now. Do not stay here.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: