Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Collection Barbizon Palace Apartments

Prins Hendrikkade 59 - 72, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#214 of 548 Holiday rentals in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    The nice friendly Spanish guy who tidied the apartment was better than your Reception Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. We arrived 2 hours early and we were told that we would have to wait and someone would tell us when the apartment would be ready. The official time was supposed to be 3 pm. but it was 3-30 pm when I checked with the reception for the 3rd time that we were given the card for the apartment. 2. I was asked for a 100 Euro Deposit but after returning home and checking a week later, this has still not been cleared from my Credit Card. 3. Before leaving I was asked to pay 49 Euros Tax when this had already been paid previously when I paid in full, a month before I booked the apartment. It was included on my receipt. I explained this and was told it was just a mistake.

    The little extra things like shampoo, hand cream were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Would not recommend during spring or summer months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    These apartments have no air conditioning even though it is advertised as having it. The windows are so heavy and there was no way to keep them open. Some of the windows did not open at all. The room was sweltering, and ultimately we departed early.

    Location is great. Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    The apartment is very well appointed and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from the street at night There's no lift in the building and the staircase is very narrow. The hotel did send a young man who very kindly took our suitcase upstairs.

    The apartment is very well appointed and the location is very convenient. Only five minutes walk from Central Station. The hotel provides bath towels, slippers, plenty of towels. There's a microwave oven too. The were three types of pillows to choose from and the bed is very comfortable. On Thursday night there was a performance stage set up outside our apartment, unfortunately our bedroom was too close to the stage. I rung the hotel and they kindly let us stayed in their nice quiet hotel room and we had a good night sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Good stay, more dissapointing than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was quite unhappy as we requested room cleaning on our first night of 3 nights and the person at the front desk ensured that we would get cleaning, the gentleman who escorted us to our suite ensured it as well and in addition, we called prior to leaving to ensure that it was in their system. We were out for the majority of the day and my husband and I were looking forward to coming to a clean room, however, no one had come to clean the room. This was quite upsetting and when I called to ask front desk, the lady had indicated that maybe they were busy on checkout. I also didnt like the mouse traps that were postitioned by the curtains, I had to advise my husband to be careful as he stepped extremely close to it when attemting open the curtains. Very dangerous, do not recommend the apartments if kids are there!

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic and will definitely be coming again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointing part of the weekend and the apartment was that the windows didn’t open, and because it was beautiful weather the weekend we were there the room was very hot and stuffy with no air, if the windows could’ve been opened even just slightly it would have made all the difference.

    Absolutely loved our stay at your apartments. It was more than what we expected! The bed was super comfy and the facilities in the room were fab too! The view from the huge window looking straight onto the canal was superb. We would definitely come back and stay here again and again! The staff at the main reception in the hotel were very efficient and friendly, very welcoming, we were even given 2 free drinks each in the bar because our room was going to be a little longer to be finished being cleaned for us to check in, and the gentleman who we dealt with at reception had outstanding customer service. He was very apologetic and helpful, even tho it wasn’t actually a big deal to us, we were happy enough to walk around, they even kept our bags for us so we didn’t have to take them with us. Another member of reception staff even walked us round to the apartments and took my bags for me! The apartments which is just around the corner from the main hotel was immaculate and clean, the bedding and bathrobes were fresh and there were spares in the cupboard, not a thing out of place! The loacation was exactly where we wanted to be! Anywhere we wanted to go was within walking distance! Restaurants, bars, coffee shops, everything was a walk away. We would most definitely come back here to stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Good choise for a short stat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn’t have elevator Old room with old furniture Not service room included for apartments

    Location was perfect. A view of our aprtment was perfect, Easy access to everywhere Good facilities in room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location in the heart of historic Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic building; had narrow winding steps to reach the apartment. The bedroom was on the street side (entrance) of the building and was a bit noisy.

    Excellent location! Spacious and unique. The apartment accomodations had a seperate kitchen and living area. World class view of canal from main living area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Great Apartment , best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night the Street in front gets quite busy and it was very noisy , we had some troubles to sleep .

    Location is great, right next to Central’s station , you can walk anywhere from the hotel. Staff was super helpful , excellent service .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    It was a nice clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not clear during reservation that the room I was given it was not in the main building but at an appartment building nearby. I have a health problem and I had to climb stairs to the 2nd floor (no elevator).

    It was a nice clean room. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Staff are excellent and go out there way to make you’re stay even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snacks and drinks at entrance not covered needs supervising more breakfast prices need looking at to expensive

    The best thing by a million miles are the staff above exceklent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great place and great services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    water temperature in my apartment wasn't stable. Hot water runs only for a minute and it turn to cold water. Too bad.

    Located strategically across the center of public transport. Plenty of good food behind the hotel. Spacious apartment with reasonable prices. Walking distance to many tourist attractions. Concierge was super efficient and they are very kind to help me to carry 2 big luggages up to 3rd floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    It was absolutely fantastic and will definitely be back, only in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of dust under the bed and because that's where I put my bag, my bag was covered in dust. I would have loved a better view but it wasn't an issue. And the weather haha.

    The staff were very helpful and made me feel welcome. The location was incredible, you could get to all the main attraction by foot, for example the red light district + many more. Spoiled for choice on fantastic restaurants and 2 small supermarkets with in a 5-10 minute walk. The first view of the room totally blew me away, i couldn't believe the size of it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Things to solve in Amsterdam, people to meet - perfect appartment for this purpose.
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Big windows not tight, therefore noise from the street is perfectly clear inside, especially in weekend nights, during parties, or mornings with trolley sound from tourists going to Central Station or garbage machines ...

    It is a very good location, close to Central train station and in the old Amsterdam City. Close transportation to any direction. Many places to eat around, small but good apartment, with everything needed. Very good services, very nice people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location but noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is too small. Night time was too noisy. We stayed there for 11 nights and they just came to clean our room the last day of our stay.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights did not function, noise from street throughout the night, installation of duel pane glass would have prevented this, room cleaning service was only once a week, should be more frequent.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    3.8
    Centrally located but lots of noise 24/7, mice in the apartment. Horrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lots and lots of noise. Fire alarm went off couple of times. There were mice in the room! Room has no atmosphere, not cozy at all. Worst stay ever

    apartments centrally located

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    It had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two rooms that we requested to be beside each other, for my children (ages 21 & 19), were the same price. The problem that I had was that their room was much smaller than ours, so the cost of their room should have been less. The second issue was, the cost per person, for the buffet breakfast, was too pricey for what was provided.

    The location was perfectly convenient for tourist excursions, tram and station. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and very accommodating. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    NH Collection Apartment great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location has a lot of noise from bar patrons. Nevertheless, the noise wasn't bad enough to interfere with sleeping. The apartment has NO A/C; need to open windows and prop them open for cool air in the evenings. Check the expected temperatures for period of your stay; if cool evenings you should be OK. City streets - particularly in the central entertainment district area - were not kept clean. Cigarette butts all over.

    Property couldn't be more centrally located. Traveled from airport to Central Station by train. Host is the NH Collection Barbazon Hotel viewable from Central Station across the canal; about 3-blocks' walk. Check-in/-out is 24/day; got the keys and were taken to the apartment by a bellman. Size of apartment is ample; floor plan is eclectic. Would accommodate another couple in fold-out in living room. Located at the foot of the canal at the center of the Red Light district. Bars, restaurants and "entertainment" in immediate vicinity. Thai carry-out restaraunt a few blocks away; pick up a meal for $12, bring to apartment and spit it. Trams and busses converge at Central Station so travel throughout the city is cheap and easy. Strongly recommend the IAMsterdam museum+transport card; great value and convenience. Book Ann Frank museum at least 2 months in advance; OR, check a couple times per day on the internet and see if a cancellation makes a ticket available on the same/next day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed stay with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only cleaned the room once for the week but it may because we stayed in an apartment. On Sunday morning around 9 they kept testing the buzzer because od electrical work

    Great location. People were nice. Fridge in room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    nice stay if you don't mind to clean the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the microwave didn't work and the room was extremely dusty as no one cleaned it for a month, but the was a vacuum cleaner in the room no room service and the room was very very very noisy

    the stuff was good and helpful the room size was good and has all the equipment and Huge TV

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Lots of places to see in Amsterdam and surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We happened to be in Amsterdam during Kings Day. Partying lasted for 2-3 days and late at night 'till 3 AM. The garbage and litter left afterwards was pretty bad but city crews cleaned most of debris up after a few days.

    The apartment was very centrally located. Easy to access trams around Amsterdam and trains to airport. A short walk to Amsterdam Central (5 mins). The apartment was spacious and had good amenities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.8
    The security guard who worked at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security guard who worked at night. Tall and of Egyptian decendance according to him. He was verh aggrrssive and rude. He used the F word several times and forced us to leave for being loud. Such unprofessionalism should not be toleraed by management. Such an individual should not represent NH Hotels. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    All of the requests that were made by me were met with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the room was not ready at check in time of 3pm. It was disconcerning not knowing if we were gonna be able to get situated or not after a long overseas flight.

    All of the requests that were made by me were met with professional attention

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    4.2
    Cleaning of the apartments is once a week, there is no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of the apartments is once a week, there is no problem with that. But no cleaning of the floor in the apartment. Dust and traces of food under the tabletter during the whole stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.4
    Nice but dont go thinking your going to have an early night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there could be more lights found it quite dark to work, and the noise from the downstairs bar an kitchen spoils your early nights.

    the shower was very powerful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Good value: a little noisey, but godd value
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Could open no windows :-( The location comes with a down-side ... noise. But location is a major bonus.

    Location was great - close to station, close to city centre. Apartment good, and roomy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't beat the location and the staff were friendly and helpful. They let me check in early and they were very helpful throughout my 8 days stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.3
    Apartment is not connected to hotel - totally different location all together
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Here's the deal... The 'apartments' are in a totally different building - not even attached to the hotel. You have to leave the hotel, go around the corner, across the street, then up several flights of teeny tiny stairs and no elevator. The apartment is then 2 floors itself with an even tinier staircase. This was in no way going to work for over a weeks stay for business. The apartment had 4 very small areas split between both floors. I asked immediately to change and for a room in the actual hotel. They were very accommodating (I've stayed at the hotel before) and the hotel itself is great. Have no idea how often they rent the apartments. Would never do it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    6.7
    the location is absolutely great , in center of town , in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were actually just some metal frames with rigid mattresses , the sheets were other dimensions than neccessary , the windows we kept open support in the beer cans because they had no opening system, radiators are old paint skinned, carpet chewed and discolored, curtains hang at the windows. I paid 156 eur / night but only location worth this price. For the rest, a fair price would be 80 eur per night. In a stay of seven nights I had only twice apartment cleaning and once bedding changed . Website photo's obvious that these things not seen. Only in China had happened so.

    the location is absolutely great , in center of town , in the middle of action . The staff is very kind and polite , in August , Amsterdam is a real place for vacation .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    the is no AC and the window can't open it was too warm :(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the is no AC and the window can't open it was too warm :(

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible odor and musty.

    Large and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great comfortable stay. Will return happily!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed at the apartments in annex. Everything was just fine. Congrats to your Conscierge, especially Caroline!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small for the price we paid. Narrow stairs were a nightmare.

    Location was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location and property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location and property! Spotlessly clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Very confortable, classy , we were at the centre of all activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like a cloud, we had too mich extra towels and toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Good stay but too expensive for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and kitchen were always clogged and the bad smell coming from the pipes was all over the building

    Location, staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Room was not cleaned daily even though requested
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned daily even though requested

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    It’s a great place.I would go back and try to get the same apartment. It felt like home :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the apartment, the location and the apartment itself was so comfy and cozy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    From arrival to leaving was a pleasure. Staff from top to bottom make you’re stay pleasurable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The staff are fantastic especially twon. And Caroline 2 of the most wonderful people I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    We loved the location and the amount of space in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location and the amount of space in the apartment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location and great hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could use some new furniture.

    The hosts were great and the location was fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff, very good locaition

    Great stuff , enjoybale place to stay in

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing

    the view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Excellent staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    No smoking room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.2
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and price were excellent. Will book with booking.com again for sure

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.4
    Excellent location, easy access to Central station with much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    So much to not like about these apartments...my recommendation is if you're willing to pay £1000 (€1400) then shop around and find somewhere else that is clean (our bedding was not changed in 8 nights) and the apartment itself did not reflect the ones advertised on this site, ours was small, damp and poorly equipped for self catering. Definitely a 3 star building at best!!

    Excellent location, easy access to Central station with much of Amsterdam within walking distance, tram stops nearby if you want to travel further. Hotel itself seems to have excellent facilities, reception area is impressive and bar service and food were both good.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    The apartment, the location, the staff, everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. we did not have their breakfast as we were in an apartment and I don't eat breakfast, so cannot comment.

    The apartment, the location, the staff, everything.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    Proximity to transport and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fresh air required the lifting of heavy windows. Then a second person is needed to insert the timber that keeps the windows open.

    Proximity to transport and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    3.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No worth at all for money. Worst choice for hotel my life. Very loud area (though the hotel provides the ear plug), facilities are very old, no detailed service; no soap and even a brush in kitchen.. I won't consider this hotel for myself nor suggesting for people.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -Wifi is horrible -The rooms are really getting old and need a major renovation.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.9
    The location was Perfect, and the size of the Apartment was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We got thrown out for smoking. But they did give us 3 strikes.

    The location was Perfect, and the size of the Apartment was great!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    6.3
    The the center of all and exactly looking over the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The the center of all and exactly looking over the main Central Station

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.2
    Location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location and value for money.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: