Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest 3 stars

Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 , Slotervaart, 1058 GC Amsterdam, Netherlands

#298 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1168 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was a bit high, you could find cheaper hotels of similar quality more central

    Coffee machines in the rooms. Staff also gave us a free coffee while we watched the football in their restaurant. They also didn't charge us for parking but I don't know if its the same for all guests or just because we were using motorbikes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The bathroom was not comfortable. There was a narrow sink, and the shelf above it was too low, and covered most of the sink. It was uncomfortable to use the sink and the tap. 2. No shelf in the shower cabin for soap and shampoo 3. Located far from tourist attractions, but that didn't bother us, because we came for other purposes

    1. The room modern design 2. Bed sheets were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was not properly cleaned, it has a previous urine smell. The lobby in front of the room was not airy On the bath, you don't find a support for the soap A little pricey

    Quiet, a good room for couple of days, the bed was clean. You can stay alone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air condition was incredibly noisy. We tried calling the hotel before showing up to see if our room would be available before 15:00 but the receptionist didn't even bother checking, and when we showed up the receptionist checked us into a room booked for an entirely different person (and leaked that person's full name in the process). The door to our hotel room was difficult to close properly.

    Fairly close to the tram, about 10 minutes of walking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not entirely clean As the hotel is a bit out of the way I had some left over pizza for the next day and when I came back to the hotel they had taken it. It was in the desk not on the floor or on the bin. I feel that they cannot just remove food from you room without checking.

    The reception staff was very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great for festival until it was located but wasn’t a problem because there is transports just Up the road to go In and around the city! Their is a Lidl not far for essentials, staff were very helpful. Rooms where clean and tidy lovely bathroom, Would stay again for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add here

    Clean and comfortable rooms, perfect for short term stay in the city. A little bit far from the center but for those who feel tired and want to rest from the noisy crowded places this is the right choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer a double room that has a double bed rather than two singles

    Great room within our budget. Clean new bathroom. Little fridge. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, not much- friend of mine disappointed with breakfast but, at the end of the day ... that’s not issue!

    I would definitely come back and recommend Bastion Hotel. All was good, location, welcome staff, just simple but cosy.;) oooo SECURED car park and SAFE our Motorcycles - HellYeah thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very nice

    the location 10 minutes by tram that was just by the hotel or 1 hours walk and 5 minutes from the motorway and they had a safe closed car park at 15€ per day which is the cheapest in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is quite far from center, on map it looked closer for me :D

    Car parking was good, also hotel's surrounding is not very full (park nearby), helpful stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we appreciated possibility of making coffee in the room and also the smoking lounge at the reception. They also offer you a welcome drink. I totally reccomend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn't pretty. Rooms are a bit noisy and the beds are soft, so if you're used to a firm mattress this might be a problem for your night rest.

    Great shower, good coffee machine, small but clean and no sore on the eyes. Public transportation is nearby, 10 min walk to station Lelylaan.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was nice to have a tiny omelette cooked for us but we felt the breakfast was a bit expensive. It was cheaper in town.

    The sound proofing of the rooms was very good. There is nothing worse than being woken by noisy doors or people moving around. Also having a few English speaking programs on the TV. The evening meal we had was good and quite enormous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel for a short-term stay. Mainly for comfortable overnight sleeping with privacy. Really good value for money. That was the best and lowest price (344 euroes for 2 night for 2 people) we found for the weekend on a descent hotel in the city that had all the stuff we needed: mainly privacy, comfortable double room/twin room with private bathroom, towels, coffee and mineral water in the room, 24-hour reception, freindly dutch girl on the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and dinning room where next to the smoking area, so the smell of smoke was horrible. Luckily this did not go into the rooms, which were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located away from the craziness of central Amsterdam. One would expect the price of the room to reflect the distance. It was 20-25min on the bicycle. Quite pricey for what it is.

    It was difficult to find a room for one night so it was one of the only choices

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy inner door to hallway - loud banging when trying to sleep (room 80) Bed had indentation from use; time for replacement. Requested a four person room for three of us meeting there but did not get an answer.

    The staff were courteous and helpful when assisting with taxi for airport at 5 am, and using the voucher for free drink. Also did not find our request to change room from main floor too much of a bother.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom a little confusing - couldn't find the switch at first. Sink in bathroom awkward - hard to use without spilling water on floor or hitting head on shelf. Also, it would be helpful to have a small shelf to hold soap or shampoo in the shower

    Helpful staff, clean rooms, easy to access by public transportation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality and quantity of a 14€ breakfast at the hotel is honestly too much, I paid the same amount in other hotels but there were definitely more choices and the quality was way more better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that they don't provide milk in the room for tea or coffee but that could just be me been Irish.I was able to get it at reception.

    The beds were really great staff very helpful and friendly.Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor in the room wasn't quite clean. Kettle was dirty inside but had been replaced on demand.

    The room was good equipped with everything necessary for living. Good location close to Metro and Tram stations. Nice personnel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit away from the center of the city, though easily reachable by tram.

    Rather spacious room compared to many locations in Amsterdam. Everything seemed clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of builders drinking heavily and loudly at the bar was a minus + breakfast could be improved

    good altogether, the stand out is the super multi tasked and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The aircondition started non stop even do i turned it off 50 times, i told them in reception so i hope its fixed to next time :)

    Staff was friendly, the bed very good, second time i am here and not the last time :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was decent size, but the bathroom is very small The shower is very small an the sink is ridiculous. Very small and placed under a shelf. That makes it very very hard to even wash your face.

    The hotel is OK, nothing fancy but it does the job. The staff was good and provided all the necessary information. Not right in the center, but relatively easy to get there by tram(700m away from the tram stop).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful- even spoke very good English which for us is always a very pleasant surprise! Breakfast was lovely. Conveniently located with a 5min walk to the tram then approx 4 stops til you’re in the middle of the major sites! Secure Parking was also available (for an extra cost- but worth it) as well as being easily accessible from the highway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't say I like the location very much, it takes 10 mins walking from the train station, and surrounding some construction plant. Tram station is also 6-8 mins away. The floor is not very clean, I can easily find hairs. BTW, the bed may be too soft for Asians.

    Friendly staff, the breakfast is fairly acceptable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy to reach from the airport (approx.time 25min). The hotel is far from the city center but very well connected (by tram 1 or 17). Educated and gentle staff, clean rooms and bathroom, very nice experience in general.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor dinner. The breakfast too expensive with a few things to eat. Didn’t like the last day the waiter making pressures for a little delay for breakfast. The room is very small

    The bed was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is so professional and caring. We reached early and they allowed me to checkin as it was too cold outside due to poor weather. We felt so thankful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aircondition fan was really noisy and there were no light bulb in the entrance of the room. I found it a bit irritating that at night you need to wait for the personel to open the front door for you. The tram station is about 5-10min walk from the hotel, but there is no machine to buy a ticket on this stop, so better prepare yourself beforhand.

    We stayed in the hotel for a weekend with a friend. We booked last minute and the price was a bargain, so the value for money was good! The room itself had a decent size, with cozy bathroom. The photo wallpaper was a nice touch, we even found the exact spot where the picture from our room was made :) The staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices are too high for a 3* hotel having this location and w/o breakfast. The bathroom is very small, towels are rather worn out.

    Location is not so bad - if you use the public transportation you rich the central area in about 20 min. Also, airport connectivity is convenient and fast - direct train from Schiphol to Lelylaan station. Room is clean and breakfast is fair; internet is also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff. Nothing near by the hotel.

    Unhelpful staff. They over charged my card then gave a refund. I was charged a lot by the bank on both sets of money. . The hotel refused to respond to this.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very small, not clean, the beds also small and the bathroom was impossible. A very little tiny space and even more tiny the sink - practically everything that you did was on your feet because you did not have enough space to clean your face or your teeth...

    The staff was trying to be friendly and helpful everytime.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, no shower tray which means all the shower water floods the bathroom, only one set of pillows, food and drink expensive, not much breakfast choice

    Modern decor, clean rooms and bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in the price, however it was provided for an additional E28 per couple. It was an expensive hotel for breakfast not to be included.

    They did have a coffee/tea making facilities in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Perfect location, next to a park to relax in the evenings and it was close to public transport to easily get to the centre. Also gifted us a bottle of wine for my birthday which was unexpected! The complimentary bottles of water and a mini fridge is an excellent idea - will definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not drain well and water leaked all over he bathroom floor which was VERY slippery. The hot water pot had slime and mold inside of it, it was unuseable and the coffee cups were dirty inside.

    It was very easy to reach the hotel via public transport. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The WiFi worked well and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had urine smell, for one day staying we did not bother to complain. Exit to parking place do not make sense at all, you have to get out of parking to get in or out the parking place, looks like the neighborhood is not nice to park outside (break-in), so it should have a door connecting the hotel and parking (or at least tell customers where to find it).

    Based on location, the price is really good, very fast and easy to go and come with public transportation. Breakfast is nice too. Staff was always nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does not serve food, only had a vending machine.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, the hotel staff were helpful and also had good transport facilities. I would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 150 euros a night you would expect better location, and included breakfast. The location was not that great and not that close to public transportation.

    Its okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No lift to 6 floor (my room) 2. No capet 3. Very small face bath 4. No shelf for soap or shampoo in shower room. 5. Show breakfast in the receipt (we do not need cause my company policy) 6. There is sound when other room open the door due to there is cap between our door.

    Location near transportation and price Shower good temperature and can control

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shelf in the shower. AC turned on itself all the time. After cleaning cups were durty with coffee spots. For sensitive people noise from the road can be a problem.

    Location: good acces to the center, restaurants nearby. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You'll need some walking to get to a store or a restaurant.

    Nice hotel with fantastic and helpful staff. Location is OK with great public transport around, but not really very close to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small safe box on the room to place an ipad. Lack of safe box in the reception to keep laptop (that couldn't be placed in room's safe) Lack of tissue (paper towel) in the room Far from city center and tram station

    Free fridge in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most niggles that I have with the hotel are related to value for money, for the price I paid for the room, facilities were very basic - beds, desk and an 'average' bathroom behind a frosted glass door (Bastion Hotels being another victim to this weird trend). Breakfast was frankly extortionate for what was offered at €14 per person for a fairly limited buffet. We were locked out of the hotel one evening and were unable to get back inside as the entrance did not have a card reader. I sound as though I'm being unreasonably negative and my overall experience was by no means a "bad" one, but for more than €100 per night, I would have expected a few sprinklings of luxury to accompany the unreasonable price tag.

    The checking in process was easy enough and the bar was well stocked with draught lager and spirits. The handful of staff on each shift were helpful and the entire property was clean and well-maintained. Whilst the location was rather far from the city centre, getting to and from the hotel via tram was relatively simple.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service is very slow. The Dinner - I ordered Tandori - has nothing to do with Tandori. Really bad quality food. They are using names for plates that doesn't fit with what they deliver. The breakfast is very simple and to expensive for what they deliver.

    Secured parking place and free WLAN.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, clean, close access to shiphol express, railway and tram stations. In 5min walking distance a nice residential area (somelike Latin district in Paris) Restaurants in the neighbourhood quite expensive and few.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had some complaints about the room. It felt like the staff receiving our complaints had problems with accepting our opinion. The walls in the first room were dirty (could use some paint) and there was a party noise on the floor above and in the hallway in the night (of course not the hotels fault). But would have liked more understanding of the situation. In the end we got another room and the second night was better.

    The location was good. Most of the staff was nice. The second room we got was more clean and more calm than the other and made the stay in the hotel better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shelf over sink makes it difficult to brush teeth as sink too narrow. No shelf in shower so have to keep toiletries on floor. No tissues available in room. Limited supplies left in room for making tea/coffee and two tiny bottles of water. No biscuits left in room though we saw them on cleaning trolley.

    Very comfortable beds. Most staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom wasn't clean when we arrived (but we asked for the cleaning and then it was ok)

    Very friendly staff, comfort room, good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit pricey for being fair distance from town but understandably was a national holiday weekend ,

    clean rooms , onsite bar & restaurant, quite close to all public transport links , staff polite and approachable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, the bathroom and the sink was small and the tiles in the shower stall were slippery when wet. There was also no soap holder in the shower stall.

    Bottled water was topped up each day and there was a kettle to prepare hot water for tea, coffee (which was provided as well).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast is not good. It was expensive. The first room was the old tabacco- smelling. it was very bad. the room were exchanged. Maybe a little bit too expensive for the price.

    Friendly staff. The room deposit was successful as soon as it was released. Good beds. got a good nap. good sound insulation. good transport links.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is very far away from the city centre. You can go by tram (20 min. approximately), but the tram stop is 5-10 min walk from the hotel.

    The room was ok and the staff was nice and willing to help.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This booking was completely waste for me. first of all I checked in one day later in the hotel because I missed my flight to Amsterdam and after giving him the complete details I requested them to waive one day money but they didn't help me at all. The next thing is about the hotel which I don't like, 1. the rooms are kinda Ok. 2. The bathroom was so small. Looks like this was made for super thin guy. 3. You have to walk for almost 800 m to get local commute. 4. Last but not the least, your AC is super noisy, bring ear bud with you if you book this hotel.

    I don't like anything in this property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so far from central of the town about 30 minutes on tram to the cithy centre

    It was nice and clean quite location staff were friendly very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not clean enough - probably the poorest quality of cleanliness I have experienced - on arrival the toilet was smelly and not cleaned thoroughly; the floor was a bit dirty; the TV didn't have BBC1 and BBC2; I had dinner one night, a Caesar Salad, it was absolutely appalling and even the staff had to agree; the cutlery in the dining area and cups weren't very clean; the breakfast was limited; the location wasn't great - nothing interesting nearby, or shops and transport was a good walk away; it was overpriced for a 3 star hotel - booking.com said it was almost full and came up with a figure of 110 euros per night when they usually charge only 61 euros and they were not full. It was a lie. I don't think they should be charging more than 50 euros top.

    the staff were nice, the other guests were interesting

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening staff would have suited a smile on her face.

    Clean, reasonably quiet. The evening staff was a bit grumpy, but the morning staff were friendly enough. Next to a big Road, not necessarily the best if you want to enjoy the views. OK for business and shorter stays I would say.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not worth spending money at all !!! i really regretted that we stayed there and in future would double check Booking.com rates on other websites. Some of our duslikes are as follows: -staff is not hospitale or even welcoming at all (even rude). didn't help with large buhhage of an elderly woman (no courtesy at all). Behave as if we owe them something; - it is hardly to find such a poor breakfast - the same eggs, the same cheese and sausages. we constantly asked for tea cups because the staff did't put it there. the glass for juice had visible marks on it (must be dried water or something like that); - the rooms are cold, there is a heating, but not in every room; - the system of locking the hall doors cause complications when visitors had buggage in hands; - the locking system of room doors needs to be repaired; - no slippers or bathrobe (even for sale)....

    Actually nothing. Even hard to say simple "thank you" !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Clean and tidy rooms, quiet, close to Centraal and easy access to public transportation (and also to Airport). Nice rooms, very good Wi-Fi access. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a slight smell of cigarettes in the halls but this does not reach the rooms (mine was number 23 on the ground floor) but if you stay in a hotel with a smoking lounge you can't expect it not to smell a little bit like smoke!

    Excellent hotel, helpful staff (not sure what some people's issues are with the staff, maybe it says a little more about how they were acting with the staff!), not far from Station Lelylaan which has a few direct tram links to Centraal Station so you can be there in 20 minutes. This is a basic hotel but is very modern and well-kept. Definitely great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff needs to do a better job of controlling the kids who come to party. On two of my three nights, I was woken at 4 am to parties in the hallways which seemed to have no staff intervention. So, not a very restful or relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unskilled staff at check in and the cleanliness of the hotel premisses could have been better. We found better rates within more central solutions.

    All the basic services one should find at a city hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -It seemed most of the tourists were Dutch people presumably from other parts of the Netherlands. That was weird. -Argh! The smell of weed in the hallways. Fortunately, once in the room you couldn't smell it anymore. It did not seem that anyway was enforcing the non-smoking policy. - The rooms could have been cleaned a bit better. We are generally tidy so not too much of a mess. When we first entered the room there was a can of Red Bull sitting on the top of the headboard of the bed. Mirrors could have been cleaned better.

    -WiFi access was pretty darned good. Was able to stream Netflix without any trouble. -Staff were generally friendly and definitely helpful -Location is not the best (there isn't much for buildings or residences but this is very close to a sketchy part of Amsterdam, walking at night is fine but be very aware (especially women)) but it is easy to get to public transport (10 minute walk) -Room was tidied each day (not really cleaned) and towels were refreshed as needed. For those with children, they include hot chocolate packs, which is nice. Also there is an empty mini refrigerator that you can use to store food for breakfast, for instance -Restaurant onsite. We ate dinner there one night and it was pretty decent. Definitely overpriced for what you get. You can find much better in city center

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot of noise(not sound proof) and every door opened seemed to be ours(so disturbing all night). The cleaning lady knocked at every door to confirm if we are leaving(very disturbing when hotel knows about our booking and checkout). No free parking.

    Room was quite comfortable. Good wifii connection. Far from city centre but quite manageable by trams(10 min walk). Reception was good too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could definitely improve the reception service. The main door had to be opened by the receptionist and we waited almost 10 minutes in the cold outside until someone opened the door for us even though we were hotel guests. Same goes for the gate of the parking area. Whenever we rang, it took almost every time 5 minutes until someone opened.

    I really liked the location of the hotel because the tram station was easy to reach and rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking being hotel resident guests. Also a bit far from the city center. But if you like a calm neighbourhood great place which is near Vondelpark

    The check in was fast. Also the breakfast was o.k and a nice thing was they also had a live egg cooking station. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient for an unexpected layover in AMS. One stop from airport on train (plus an 8min walk) makes it an easy hop back to catch a flight. Convenient to trams to city center. Lovely and clean interior. Efficient layout of room/bath and free coffee/tea/water was a nice touch. Staff was very helpful and patient to answer lots of questions. Outside of building hides the delightful surprise of modern decor and warmth awaiting the guest inside. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom has an uncomfortable smell that goes to the room itself Is a little further away from downtown

    breakfast is good restaurant and lounge are cozy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The staff did not know what the name of the nearest metro stop, it took us forever to find your place. Ridiculous. - No free coffee (at least) - we stayed there for 3 nights. The worker never change our bed sheets.

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra charge for the car park.and no mention of it when I booked it online that I would have to pay for parking .

    Nice hotel but Iv one complaint I was'nt aware I had to pay 10 extra euro for the parking that shoud have been included when I booked it online there was no mention I had the option or not but the car was safe so mention it to customers next time round.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and smelled bad. The sink was tiny so the floor would get wet when washing one's face.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location of the hotel was well connected to the centre by tram.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little far from tram stations but not so far to make it undesirable.

    The staff were second to none! The beds were super comfortable, really appreciated the complementary bottles of water in the hall to take out as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: