Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bastion Hotel Haarlem Velsen 3 stars

Vlietweg 20, 2071 KW Santpoort-Noord, Netherlands

#2 of 3 hotels in Santpoort-Noord

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 776 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom floor could do with extra cleaning

    very close to the place I had to work the next day, easy to find next to the main road, but no noise from the road or the next door Mc Donalds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room's windows were to small compared to the room's dimension and the bathroom was absolutely to small.

    The staff was kind and well prepared. There is a billiard room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor door near our room continuosly made a loud noise, it disturbed us. Already two times told the employee but no response. One employee tried to change our room but we did not take it because it was our last day. The cleaning service did not clean our room properly.

    Only the place, near to Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Den Haag, Keukenhof.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom very small - shower door couldn't be opened fully as knocked against basin which in itself was so small not easy to use - couldn't find plug for electric razor only had a coffe machine no kettle in room

    location - free parking - bus stop very near and easy to get into Amsterdam by bus and rail

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was particularly small, for two people sharing the room it would not really be sufficient. There was also a poorly positioned shelf above the sink with made it difficult to wash your face or brush your teeth.

    The room was of a reasonable size and was well furnished with a pair of comfortable chairs, a small fridge, and coffee making facilities. The beds were exceptionally comfortable allowing for a good night's rest and the access to the hotel was easy from the nearby motorway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Visitors of the nearby MacDonalds tend to be a little loud; try and get a room on the opposite side of MacDonalds!

    Convenient place to stay over for a single night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a kettle and tea making facilities in the room. The water for the coffee only heated up to very warm.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar is limited but that's a small point. The location has very little there but it's near major roads.

    Clean, modern, very comfy beds, quiet rooms and great breakfast. Egg station, smoked salmon, good protein and bread mixture. Very impressed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of men in the hotel (must of been for stag doo's or stopping over night etc) all staring at my partner which made her feel a little uncomfortable so we decided not to eat at the hotel again but I don't think that's something the hotel could control.

    Value for money was great, travel into central of Haarlem was 10 minutes via bus (every 15 minutes) and 15 minutes into Amsterdam Central so it was overall great. We eat for food one night and it was okay. Rooms were clean and a decent size, nice hot shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a ventilar noise the all night, i don't know where it was coming from and how i can stop it! It was a nightmare, i can't sleep till late.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small and so are the toilets. No toiletries except a soap. Strange smell in the rooms are corridors. Less choices of food in the restaurant. I'd like to avoid this hotel in future.

    They server breakfast from 6am and had fair choices of bread, bacons, eggs. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were so comfortable and clean x room the right size x shower hot and powerful x staff were very nice and helpful x would definitely recommend it xxx

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could be wider

    As I have said before, the staff are extremely helpful and attentive. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and the staff are amongst the best

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel : budget facility at four star prices. Small room. Tiny bathroom. See through towels.

    Location was OK to visit Haarlem : free parking at the hotel and convenient bus nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows don't open what we could have known from other reviews here.

    Very friendly staff, pleasant music in the lobby, walk-in shower and two sinks, Elevator, big breakfast room, comfy seats, quality cutlery, variety at breakfast. Every day free water in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff are fab, room was clean comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. WiFi worked in the room and in the bar area. Reception is 24 hours which is great if you arrive late. We stayed the night before our return on the Newcastle Ijmuiden ferry (10 minutes drive away) and I will book our last night here next time we do that ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were bad. Breakfast very boring. No real juice, bread not freshly baked, had to ask for missing things at the buffet, like no glas, no bacon, no butter, no sugar etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing such...

    On arrival it was warm greeting by Manager Dianne and all informations asked were answered to the best ability and were offered free upgrades to Dulux Rooms came as a pleasant surprise 😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had Lots of dirt on the floors...No carpets.... Last persons bottles and cans were still on the shelves ...Mc Donalds sign Glaring in the window and was open till 3am with kids allover the parking lot....Overall one of the Worst rooms i have Ever stayed in.

    not much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C unit was very noisy on first night. Fine on second. Reception did say they would investigate. The lobby area stairwell and lift smells of cigarettes and is rather off putting.

    Room was mostly clean. Did find someone's nose stud on floor!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive breakfast and 30% more expensive cost of stay extension (one more night) via hotel reception in compare to price in Booking.com

    Silent and very clean rooms, fast Wi-Fi, parking space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of hair in the drain of the shower, which caused flooding of our bathroom floor within a few minutes. When we left some expensive products in the bathroom after our stay, and called to pick them up the same evening, the cleaning service all ready threw them away.... so much for the hygiene and the service.

    The girl who helped us with our checkin was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff Clean rooms Accessible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from the city center.

    Nice staff, very clean room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor mat at the toilet need to be put in. Water kettle may be added

    Excellent room; neat and clean and perfect size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the visitors of the nearby MacDonalds

    Easy to book

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Away from Amsterdam

    Good Parking Space, Mc Donald is nearby, Good Room,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Silent clean and comfortable room, the hotel is located ten minutes drive from Harlem City center. The free car parking is a great plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were very uncomfortable and the hallways smelt of smoke.

    Clean hotel, close to travel links

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cab fare to get there from airport and back was more than cost of one night

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds we really comfortable and staff was really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Room was clean and to standards. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wietgeur en agressieve stelletje in de gang

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Extra comfortable beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong permanent noise from air vent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Lovely hotel lovely food good location friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't working in the room and their was no soap holder on the shower

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly & helpful I was travelling with a 2 year old & they were very accommodating & great with her & our needs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with more choice for evening meals . But food was good quality .

    Easy access clean friendly helpful staff . Great breakfast selection .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed were a little thin, but still comfortable

    The staff in the hotel need a special mention, they could not be better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little narroe

    The staff were excellent, special note to Patrick. They did everything required and more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Telly was goog. no snow or invisability of films. Fast check out incl invoice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the food and environment

    The bed was not stable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food was not good quality - but we are in Holland. Beer was very good.

    Room was quiet and clean. Not far from Zandvoort race circuit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I skipped breakfast, it's not worth the €14,- in Bastion

    quit rooms. free parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you dont want them to clean your room they will put new towels next

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was really efficient and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    single beds - uncomfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A everything was great

    It was what we expected. very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cost

    Cleanlness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds wouldnt stay together...No Carpets

    easy-quick check in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cook egg front of me!!!! Breakfast, location, peace full room. Etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Perfection!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really outside Amsterdam but otherwise... Nothing really... Everything was good!

    Nice staff and good room Good internet connexion

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning fan made a racket, kept us awake all night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower was terrible ,stood in water ,floor badly designed

    ALES WAS NAAR ZIN

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive breakfast

    Very clean rooms & bathroom, fast Wi-Fi connection, silent & quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satisfied

    Close to frequent bus service, comfortable room and helpful and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    washing table to small, water shower vere poor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is a good choice for people who wants to stay close to Harlem and/or Amsterdam, close to the train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lot dust around the window area and dust bedside light.

    Love having shower in morning with nice hot water quick access to Internet and where we stay in fifth floor quite quiet. Staff are very friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smoke all through the ground floor, including the eating areas. The same chip was lying on the lift floor for all three days we were there - poor cleanliness

    Convenience

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no designated place to park scooter or bicycle Room wasn't cleaned correctly every day, some days garbage left in the bins, and bathroom left not completely clean. the corridor looks dark and industrial like. Bed not comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the corridor is dark, and looks bad. The floor was dirty and covered with sand, when I walked barefoot didn't feel comfortable. I think the previous guest had sand and it wasn't cleaned correctly.

    Easy to arrive and park by car.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If given a choice don't take a room on the ground floor. Every time someone came through the security door they let it slam behind them.

    Very good value for money breakfast. Excellent, polite and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff very slow to deal with guests, and not particularly friendly. However, in her defence, the woman at reception when we arrived was alone and having to cope with check-in and the bar.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool table in the smoking room needs to be renewed.

    Smoking area was well placed. The staff was able to take all challenges with a smile and a good solution. You are next to the freeway, but can't hear the noise from it. Aircondition/heating worked well. You needed your roomkey to get into our floor before you got in to your room. Great security for me. Safe in the room that had a good size. There is a MCDonalds right next to the hotel. good for our teenager. Fridge in the room to keep cold drinks. 15 minute walk to supermarket.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cesar salad with cream dressing, and my steak was sad and dry/crispy roasted on one side and okay on the othe. room 41 has a corridor door right out side make a lot of noise. . .

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Windows cannot be opened due to safety measures and the room would not cool below 18 degrees. Hence the fan in the room should have been more powerful. Was a bit too warm in the morning.

    Staff was really friendly. I Dropped the complimentary drink that was offered. The y gave me another one and did not make me feel bad at all.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    two issues , requested double bed but got singles. And more serious somebody entered our locked door whilst we were sleeping , switch on our light and ran off laughing, How could this happen?

    Very tasty evening meal in hotel restaurant. Sound proofing to room was amazing

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had the feeling we sleep into a workershotel. Also the rooms where very noisy, small and ugly.Fine when you pay 50 euro. Not 126 euro!

    the quality of the beds where okay, but two small-single beds.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's totally out of Amsterdam.. So if you have purchased a day ticket for Amsterdam, then throw it because it will take additional 7-8 euros to reach hotel.

    Staff was lovely, kind and very helping. Rooms were just great. Facilities were also well provided.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room just next to the corridor door and lift is very noisy waken up several time by this bum sound until 2 o clock in the morning next day we asked to change the room it was better

    free parking

There are also 54 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: