Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden 3 stars

Legedijk 6, 8935 DG Leeuwarden, Netherlands

#17 of 22 hotels in Leeuwarden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean & tidy, good room, excellent bathroom, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea in the room would have been nice. A bit off the city centre

    Good sized room, comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom with two sinks and walk-in shower. Coffee maker. Excellent self service breakfast. Staff helpful and spoke good English. Everything clean & tidy. Nice & quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Extremely quiet hotel on the border of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel wasn't in the city centre. More or less a 30 minute walk from the train station. Quite a nice walk along the houses with cute gardens and for us not a problem. But perhaps older guests my not be up for a walk. There are busses if necessary.

    The hotel has been recently renovated in my opinion because the room and bathroom appeared to be brand new. There was a great walk-in shower, two sinks, shampoo, soap and a hair-drier. And it just looked stylish. The room was perfect. There were good and comfy beds, there was a little coffee machine (I could have done with more than 1 creamer though ;-) ). And even though the hotel is next to a main road, there is not the least bit of noise because of the 2 triple glass windows that BLOCK ALL the noise. That is a big plus for me. There was also a tv and a little fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Not the ideal place to stay in Leeuwarden, but not too bad. All staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like the distance away from the binnenstadt (the old section of the city) but it was within walking distance (25 minutes or so). We didn't like how hard it was to open the bathroom door and the loud shrieking from the hinges that accompanied the opening of both the bathroom door and the door to the corridor. I had to wedge one of my bags in the barhroom door so we could slip in and out without having to endure the shrieking of the hinges. Surely the staff should have noticed that and seen to it? It just needed a bit of oil, after all. It made our 4 day stay a misery.

    We liked the size of the room for twin beds (enough room to lay out our extensive luggage), and liked the pleasant, modern, well-designed bathroom. And the fridge, although it was unnecessarily small, we thought.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Out of town but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew that hotel was a km or so away fron the centre station and city centre. But what I didn't know was that there are no restaurants or food shops anywhere near.

    Well appointed. Comfortable with double glazing. Bus stops nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a double bed instead of singles but that’s all the hotel has and we knew that from the start. There’s not much to do in the area but it’s easy and quick to get into town (by car).

    Everything was ok, the room was spacious, beds were comfortable, the bathroom was also ok. The complimentary coffee was also very good. We were offered a welcome drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    The room has everything you need, even a small fridge to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room has everything you need, even a small fridge to store private grocery shops/medicines. Between the hotel and the ceter there is a nice streets with all the shops you may need. We came by train and rent a bike at the station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean comfortable room. About 10-15 minutes walk from train station- would definitely book again. Can't comment on the food as we didn't use the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stay just out of town with ample free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No small shops nearby to buy snacks etc. Not a problem as lots further away.

    Friendly staff, good parking. Easy to find location and signs from the main road to clarify access.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, spacious, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location may turn some people off. It was an easy 15 minute walk from the closest shops including food, and a 25 minute walk into the centre of town.

    Very friendly staff. The room was spacious and looked newly remodelled. The bathroom was also a good size, very clean, looked newly remodelled and included a large shower. Overall a pleasant stay for one night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    Close to the city center, plenty of parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning only once a day in the early morning hours, if you're still in bed then tough luck; your room won't be cleaned that day

    Close to the city center, plenty of parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable & good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 15mins easy walking distance from the nearest shopping strip and food and 25mins walk from the city centre. The walk is easy and safe however if you want to stay right in the centre then the distance is something to keep in mind.

    Very friendly staff, clean comfortable and spacious rooms and bathrooms which looked newly remodelled. Restaurant on site serving breakfast, lunch packs and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel, with some improvements needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stuff was really rude. We have booked 1 king bed and we got 2 separate beds. The Breakfast was 9 euro, but they wanted to charge us with 14 euros. * it is about the principle, why i didn't took Breakfast. everything else was ok. i can not complain

    Good Value for the money, clean and 30 min with the car from the kite spot in Workum. That is all i can say about this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    a great weekend in Leeuwarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the price for breakfast was a bit steep.

    beds are great, the hotel seem to have undergone an upgrade in the last year or so. Rooms are nice and the aircon works good! :) breakfast was ok with fresh eggs and bread, not too much but nice. Great bar/ restaurant area. nice and quiet area close to the city centre( 20 minute walk), easy to get to and from by car ( 5 min drive). much better then the over rated Campanile that is only 500 metres away!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay for a short visit and very affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is within easy reach from the highway, but it is also on a nice walking distance from the centre. The room is small but very nicely set out. Everything you need and very pleasant. Very nice staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    basic hotel but very friendly reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fairly basic room directions to the hotel were difficult to follow in the rain and night

    very friendly and knowledgeable receptionist nice breakfast service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.1
    You charged my bank account prior to the stay in the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like at all that Booking.com used our credit card for payment prior to our stay in the hotel. You guaranteed the number of the credit card for payment LATER at the hotel. We were very surprised. We requested our bank to return the amount to our bank account and they did so. ICS was not happy with my action. Please explain to me your credit card payment conditions in a clear way and make such statement also clear on the booking confirmation.

    Beds and breakfast were o.k. However 14 euros per person for a breakfast is a rather high price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    5.4
    Come on, you can do better!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hated the bed. Way too small. For a hotel in The Netherlands, tallest people in the world, the single beds are way too small. Narrow and short. Not comfortable. But what bugged me the most was the little ridge in the room. Situated right next to your head while sleeping, it was like having a running generator in the room. No way of sleeping with that noise. Easy fix is to unplug the damn thing. So did just that. But never had issues like that in different hotels. Sink in bathroom is a disaster! Luckily I was still dressed in my underwear when I used the sink. If you turn on the water it will spill all over your pants!!! Whoever came up with that setup, clearly wasn’t thinking…….. The speed of the WIFI was like going back to 2000. Used my 4g connection instead.

    Breakfast was OK. Fresh and tasty. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was extremely small and not heated. Rooms could have been a bit larger.

    Friendly staff. Ample and safe parking. Easy to find, but not close to town centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    Good. But could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not included. Prices to high for breakfast. (13 euro) Buying online is cheaoer. But hotel should make it more interesting to buy in hotel.

    Rooms (new once) are good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, free-parking, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows too soft, didn’t sleep well.

    Friendly staff, free-parking, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fried eggs available for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Room was dirty and dusty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and dusty. A bit overpriced for what you get.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    FAR AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTRE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    FAR AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTRE

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    The room and bed were very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bed were very small. Especially the bathroom and shower...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Good stay for weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Comfortable, easy parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Basic but clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Clean, good bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    Good area for walking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    My credit card was charged upfront while I preferred other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My credit card was charged upfront while I preferred other methods for payment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Hotel with no flaws
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Great stay and nice breakfast..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and great breakfast...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    incredibly small sink!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    incredibly small sink! water poured his border!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    A short stay in Leeuwarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very happy, helpful and efficient. The room was clean and the beds are very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    3.8
    Avoid this hotel. Find something else!
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not willing to help in any way. Cleaning is not good. Would suggest to find other hotel. I will. Sorry.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.5
    the price is amazing comparing with what they have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    its kinda hard to back after midnight, you will have long time outside wait them till they open the door for you !!

    the price is amazing comparing with what they have.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.6
    a really modern and comfortable room, we were met with a...
    • Family with older children

    a really modern and comfortable room, we were met with a very kind reception, delicious and rich choice at breakfast, quiet room despite of the huge road in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    Basic hotel providing the standard facilities satisfactorily
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was next to front door so couldn't have window open as all smokers congregate here and smokey air gets into room.

    Basic hotel providing the standard facilities satisfactorily

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    8.8
    Excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Excellent service

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast, fresh eggs!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, fresh eggs! Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    6.5
    Nice room and good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Under the bed was thick dust and disgusting. Staff apologised.

    Nice room and good beds. Quiet area, very pleasant...

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    6.3
    In a quiet residential area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were not soundproof at all.

    In a quiet residential area

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    good room, good personnel, no noise from outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit noisy from the corridor; the location, but we knew it

    good room, good personnel, no noise from outside

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    5.0
    Staff was friendly, shower very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dirty socks of the previous guest!

    Staff was friendly, shower very nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff room all good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location a bit off the beaten path, but good signage, and found by gps.

    Staff room all good.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    The Hospitality of the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room #35 smells :( Had to sleep with open window which was not secured.

    The Hospitality of the staff Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Calm surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    The rooms were clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's better suited for people with cars, as there are few busses and they don't drive by frequently.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    the hotel staff location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    the hotel staff location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    5.8
    Voor twee nachten werd er de tweede dag nauwelijks gereinigd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Voor twee nachten werd er de tweede dag nauwelijks gereinigd

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.1
    Polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Building work

    Polite staff. Nice food.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to not like

    Friendly staff. all facilities. Great food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    10
    The friendliness of the staff - they were all exceptional in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The friendliness of the staff - they were all exceptional in their efforts to communicate in English and to assist.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: