Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten 3 stars

Voorschoterweg 8, 2324 NE Leiden, Netherlands

#17 of 17 hotels in Leiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 648 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    A functional pit stop.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pressure in shower was feeble. Dinner was pricey and rather average. Understaffed with one friendly receptionist doubling at the working the bar and waitressing. The hallway ceiling was leaking badly as we left.

    Comfy bed. Easy to find. Reasonably priced for an overnight stop in the area. WiFi worked ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Efficient staff, convenient position, excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Booking.com listing had air-conditioning included. The hotel told us that this wasn't the case and that Booking.com had been told, the listing had been up-dated but air-conditioning was included again some time later. The situation was dealt with very well by the staff but we were still disappointed as the weather was very hot at the time of our visit and we specifically wanted air-con.

    All the staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was very good indeed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Good parking facilities & the reception staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had no air conditioning & the bathroom facilities could do with a bit of a facelift

    Good parking facilities & the reception staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value, pleasant and helpful staff, reasonable food and comfort. Lots of parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Recommend more attention to making plates and water glasses available before guests request. 2. The bain marie was stamped 'eggs & bacon' which had no bacon, only small pork sausages which consistently ran out before the end of breakfast. There could have been chicken sausages or vegetarian sausages additionally. 3. More attention to detail in ensuring correct towels in room. 4. Several lights in room, especially good bedside lights, but overall room lighting dim.

    Reasonable choice e.g. fresh omlettes or fried eggs made to order. Service staff friendly and helpful. Good range of cereals. Deli items adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.8
    remote location, basic and unfriendly day staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed sheets/throw soiled, and crumbs on carpet when reported to front of house. the soiled bedding was removed and stuffed in the wardrobe and carpet left for the following morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Friendly value for money Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small weekend menu for food. Although the staff were very friendly there was only 1 guy there who was doing the reception, the bar and cooking.

    Very friendly staff. Good value for money. Clean room with a very comfy bed. They also have a pool table!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff was great and the food in the restaurant was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dark and the window could just open a little - so no fresh air. I will call it a typically 70's room.

    The staff was great and the food in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    I really enjoyed my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was no ideal, rather far from Leiden city center.

    I really enjoyed my stay. The room was nice and clean and the hotel staff were friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need laundry facility and iron board. Microwave at room will be great. Now checking in at Bastion Zoetermeer hope the same situation with no laundry and microwave

    Ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    the beds were surprisingly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little bit far from the centre, and the prices were higher than advertised, but I guess it was a very busy weekend!

    the beds were surprisingly comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only negative thing I saw was the lighting of the room, a bit too dark, other than that everything was great. It isn't so close to the city center but the bus service is really good and the bus stop is just a few meters from the hotel.

    The room was exactly as shown in the pictures. It is possible to move the bed table located between the two beds and make them a "double" bed. The staff was really friendly and helpful. They helped me with many things, not only booking a cab, but also things like suggestions about websites to look for apartments to rent (I was moving to the city) and indications of bigger supermarkets nearby. It was also possible to leave my big luggages there until the end of the day in my checkout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Once in a lifetime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably you will not have all the facilities that you can have in a private room. So, I think that the price is a little bit high for what the hotel offers but it's something different. Worth once in a lifetime.

    If you are looking for something new, once in a lifetime, this is exactly what you need. We met excellent staff, Luigi at the reception is very helpful and funny. Recommended for one or two nights, maybe not more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Did the job at a decent price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking. Didn't feel entirely comfortable with where I had to pak, although car was fine when I came down in the morning.

    Friendly, comfortable and clean. On site restaurant good enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    Arrived just after the night shift had started, in the bar...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived just after the night shift had started, in the bar they had been smoking (nice welcome smell) and 6 obvious quite drunk youngsters were hanging around and getting pretty annoyed because they were not served by the reception anymore. My key card was handed out but since the roomnumber had been corrected I was not sure if it was a 1 or 6, the nightwatch confirmed the 1. The door did not open nor did the room with the 6 in the roomnumber. Went down and asked if he could check the number programmed in the card, was not possible because the computer was already switched off. He went with me and opened the first door where he found out a couple was in bed (nice privacy) so he said it must be the other room, and indeed this one was mine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Great breakfast, good beds, no climate control and dinner was mwa.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC could not be turned off, Heating could not be turned off so I had a very dry throat. I opened the windown in the middle of the night to keep it manageable. Road is VERY loud so if you are a light sleeper you might skip this hotel/location. Burger was good in the evening, Fries very mediocre (not baked properly, I had only some the rest I left) and no veggies at all even though its advertised.

    Breakfast was great, fresh baked eggs. Bacon was crunchy and not soggy. Yoghurt was too warm (not cooled at all, might be better to keep this in the fridge). Room was clean, enough space, parking spaces for free available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.0
    Only good location
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff try to take money for dinner which we didn`t take. It was the smallest room which i saw. Very dark in the room especially on the ground floor.

    Only good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    An okay stopover
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the nicest area and quite expensive for what it was

    The staff were good,the room was a standard Bastion one but not as nice as some, lots of parking which was good and a bar/restaurant which served nice food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location, great staff, reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is really good, with ommelette made to order, yet makes the total price of 130 Euro for one night expensive.

    Great staff, clean room, good beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Very pretty town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situated on about 10 minuits drive from the town centre the hotel has very helpful staff who went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Parking very easy and safe. This is a decent basic hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Typical road hotel with free car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room and quite noisy in the morning. Used towels thrown down by the maid on the whole hallway on our way to the reception.

    Next to the highway. Easy car parking with no extra cost. Wellkoming drinks (water/tea/coffee).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.9
    Ohhhh helll nooooooooo!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good vibes at all...biggest nasty thing is. We left our towels on the floor to be changed, as the sign on the wall stated. We left and when we returned the towels were picked off the floor folded and placed on the nightstand...dust and random gross looking stains all over. I'm not a really wild sleeper but if you wiggle you big toe the wrong way the sheets will expose the weird gross looking mattress . The staff was very direct and not very pleasant to speak with and the breakfast that's way over priced could be purchased at the local grocery store for 25% of the price. Bread and cheese and stale coffee.

    The pool table was free. Walking distance to the bus and train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    not so lovely hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too small and dark room, the window was too little and it wasn´nt possibile to open it,the breakfast was poor,for 1 small bottle of water+1 beer I´ve payed 8Eur

    our room was in the neighborhoods, quiet and the bedroom was ok...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Convenient hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing I can think of

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Made a change from the staff at other budget hotels we have experienced in the UK. Location was very accessible giving access to Leiden as well as the motorway network. My daughter was sailing in an event and hotel was exactly what we needed only about 20 minutes away from the sailing club.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money and would be happy to go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was a little bit away from the city centre.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Good car parking onsite which was free. Friendly helpful staff. Quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    3.3
    If that is a Bastion Hotel don't go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what you got. Room not vacuumed, unkemp, bedspread not on after 2nd day. Last night walked into a room that looked like someone had slept in it and that night they raised our rate 299 euros. One little bar of soap given. Everything had to be unlocked by staff using keys while waiting on us. Had dinner first night and there was no wrapper for wrap only ingredients. They asked if they could substitute bread instead. Had a bar but they had no gin, vodka and slim choices. Very odd especially the key business

    One staff member upon arrival filling in was very nice. She was apologetic about Neal and trying to set up extra day for us but computer was not working. We think her name was Stacy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.8
    Reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were old and scratchy. Insulation very thin. Could hear everything happening in the hall way and there were several late night, loud parties that hung out talking (nearly yelling) at each other nightly before entering their own rooms. This woke me up several times nightly. Refrigerator in room was not working.

    Reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced-accept that pricing reflected a busy period. Travel Inn quality at Holiday Inn prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were pleasant and obliging but clueless. No local maps available and unable to impart any local knowledge (such as how to get to the town centre) as the standard response was "Sorry I'm not from round here"

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    A basic level hotel with a decent breakfast, easy parking and very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very little furniture and space for luggage in the room. Evening menu not as good as the breakfast so only ate there once

    Chose this in part due to need for car parking and this was plentiful at the time. It might get crowded if sports events are going on adjacent. Breakfast was quite OK and plenty of it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.2
    Left a night early!
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was extremely bad. €150 per night for a very small room with very little facilities. The bathroom was old and didnt feel clean. The beds were small and the room was stuffy. The price of this room per night did not include breakfast or dinner. Due to a poor first night sleep we left a day early.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.0
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping was very disappointing. Our room was not cleaned for our entire stay and it was quite dusty.

    I loved and enjoyed the free unlimited wifi!! The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Good price/quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is fairly practical but a bit boring.

    Comfy beds. Quiet (with the windows closed; it is along a busy street). Coffee in the room. Friendly staff. Easy to reach by bus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.9
    Clean, no frills hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a bit out of the way, and there is nothing much nearby. It's about a 25 minute walk to the town center.

    The staff were friendly. Although the room was old, it was clean and functional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.3
    Suitable for cheap night without too much needs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom are old fashioned. No dryer available in the rooms

    Reasonable for the cost they are asking. Good location between Den Haag and Amsterdam Airport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Clean & friendly budget hotel a convenient bus ride away from the centre of Leiden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A clean and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Smoker friendly with an indoor smoking room with pool table, dart board & TV. Just a 10 min bus ride from the centre with the no.45 bus stooping just 2 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    My stay in Leiden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was lovely and quiet. Easy to get to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    quiet room
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    14 euro for breakfast, too much! Bed not brilliant, but ok. Bit expensive.

    quiet room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    The room was accessible for disabled, despite not being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was accessible for disabled, despite not being declared as such.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    General review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition

    Breakfast is fine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    not good not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    non renovated rooms

    The plus is the location, but indeed it is quite hard to find the hotel even with a navigation. Helpful personal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a little soft

    Quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Fridge in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More coffee pods in room. Air conditioning or bigger windows

    Fridge in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Great staff & reasonable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of town centre to walk in

    Staff were excellent & friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    The location not good for tourists on feet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location not good for tourists on feet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Localization and price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    after 7 am you can not sleep anymore due to very light (need a good courtains)

    Localization and price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    the room is not so clean and a bit dusty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is not so clean and a bit dusty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    A good place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A problem with the plumbing : some water dropped from the sink

    Well desserve by bus. Calm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Nice Hotel, Quite and Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit far from Central Station

    Bedroom were excellent and quite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Comvenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small

    Comvenience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    It served well for my purposes
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Matrasses not so good. Could be replaced by new ones!

    Location, Nice people at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Leiden 07/2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is remote from the centre of town, but an excellent bus service.

    Clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    The food was so good , loved the chocolate mousse as dessert...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the room was a bit too dim

    The food was so good , loved the chocolate mousse as dessert and the crispy bacon at breakfast also

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    value for money hotel on a very god bus route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints at all

    We enjoyed the freshly cooked eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    It was quite difficult to find the hotel as we were arriving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite difficult to find the hotel as we were arriving by bicycle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    There was an odour of urine in the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an odour of urine in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no hairdryer in the bathroom

    very good breakfast, friendly and helpfully staff, quit and clean room, free parking available

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.3
    Coziness and warm reception
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater could have been a lot better

    Coziness and warm reception

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    A stay full of amusement and excitement.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality of the staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.5
    Nice hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow a bit too big

    Staff helpful. Quiet location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.5
    Okay-ish, but wouldn't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small (bath)room, and water hardly flushed down the sink It was semi clean, definately not spotless

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    The assistant Manager Fabian was a terrific host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The assistant Manager Fabian was a terrific host. The room was neat and the price reasonable. There is plenty of parking space and the city centre is a 5min bustour away. Recomendacion

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff were excellent and very helpful / friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were excellent and very helpful / friendly. Was travelling by car so location convenient for me. Noted previous comment re hair dryer however had one in my room. Good value hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    5.0
    Arnold & his young lady assistant on front of house =...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel needs a good "spring clean" and upgrading

    Arnold & his young lady assistant on front of house = very good, helpful, polite & friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    4.6
    Friendly front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were very dirty with the worst housekeeping I have ever had. Poorly lit and getting pretty run down.

    Friendly front desk. Easy access to highway and close to cit center.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    4.6
    On arrival I was presented with a free gift of a Hot water...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Never before was a gift so necessary as the hotel room was like a fridge!! You could hang meet in there it was so cold!!! I could not sleep with the cold temperature of my room and did wake on several occasions through the night. Unfortunately the heating was not set to work during the night resulting in artic conditions.

    On arrival I was presented with a free gift of a Hot water bottle!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Bright, clean and inviting place and very welcoming,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need new cues for the pool table.

    Bright, clean and inviting place and very welcoming, friendly staff. Enjoyed pool table! Comfortable rooms and good buffet breakfast. Especially delighted with complimentary hot water bottles :)

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    6.7
    (1) The coffee at breakfast was alsolutely *imbuvable* !
    • Couple

    (1) The coffee at breakfast was alsolutely *imbuvable* ! (That is French for crap). (2) The nearest bus stop was several hundred metres distant from the hotel. Accessible only via bicycle paths (no pedestrian footpaths). We were shouted at by hostile bikers because we DARED to walk on a bike path at night without lights! (NOTE: We were not warned by the hotel staff). How uncivilized !!! And then the buses came only every 30 minutes, so we had to phone for a taxi. The weekend was spoilt, mainly due to poor location. I advise travellers to pay 5 Euros more and stay somewhere near the centre of Leiden.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast was nice rooms were clean
    • Couple

    Loud cleaning and vacuum cleaning at 3am broken night - no compensation Dinner veggies and soup are canned food except for day special maybe

    Breakfast was nice rooms were clean

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    -The stuff was really nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a 'standard' place, nothing to complain about.

    -The stuff was really nice and helpful -Free parking just in front of the hotel -Fridge in the room -Perfect hotel to make a citytour, you have everything you need

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    They had vegan options for us, even at the restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carefull, the hotel hasn't double beds, just individual small ones.

    They had vegan options for us, even at the restaurant and during the breakfast. Excellent care of everything.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.9
    Free parking.
    • Group

    The breakfast buffet is quite expensive and offers not enough choice for vegetarians. I would like more cereals, nuts and granola. There was no hairdryer in our room. The carpet in our room was a bit dusty.

    Free parking. Friendly staff. Good beds.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.1
    Location is very convenient, free parking then 10 min by bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is for the price charged very mediocre (compared to I.e. Vd balk). Rooms look a bit outdated,

    Location is very convenient, free parking then 10 min by bus to the center Staff is excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    7.1
    Aila and Rowena the two staff who were outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we stayed 6 nights and there was so little storage for clothing two shelves and 6-8 hangers, no bath mat, no soap or hand wash. bath towels worn and very thin and stained. At breakfast there wasn't anything sugar free, or savoury to spread on the bread, I don't eat cheese, peanut butter very calorific.

    Aila and Rowena the two staff who were outstanding. so polite, cheerful, always greeted us on arrival back to the hotel, they were always helpful. Breakfast was very good indeed we loved the freshly made fried eggs, omelettes etc wonderful warm croissants.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.1
    Last minute booking handled very promptly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dislikes encountered while staying . A little far from the town centre to find but ok with a map and a bike

    Last minute booking handled very promptly. A friendly and efficient welcome. Basic room suitable for an overnight stop. Secure parking for rental bikes overnight. Literally just spent the night - did not eat here not explore any facilities.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.1
    huge parking lot, free welcome drinks in the bar, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no hairdryer, also not possible to rent on reception (all were in use), cigarette smell in the bathroom, 35 minutes walk to the city center

    huge parking lot, free welcome drinks in the bar, close to the bus stop

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.5
    Easy to get find and easy access to the main roads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to get find and easy access to the main roads.

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: