Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Boschstraat 27, Boschstraatkwartier, 6211 AS Maastricht, Netherlands

#44 of 51 hotels in Maastricht

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2740 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    Really brilliant and cannot wait to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very comfortable room and great location also the staff were really helpful and welcoming it could not have been a better stay plus there are 2 excellent cinemas within a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.2
    Tha Bastion Hotel is ideally situated in Maastricht for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tha Bastion Hotel is ideally situated in Maastricht for exploring the city, it is close to The Vrijhoft and Market Sq areas. We found the staff at the hotel very helpful and pleasent. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.3
    Strategically located comfy hotel with it own parking marred by bad housekeeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived, the room is not really quite ready. The toilet paper is empty, safe box is locked in open position. We made these known to the hotel staff but the safe box problem was not solved until we checked out so we could not use it throughout our stay. On the second day we did not get towel for the bathroom floor and the coffee capsules for the coffee machine was not refilled. Something needs to be done with the housekeeping management ASAP. Another thing is that although there is an instruction that to call the front office we press "9*" on the room phone, any call we tried did not go through. The front desk staff seems to be on the phone all the time, probably due to Andre Lieu concert going on that weekend.

    Location is perfect. Only a short walk from the city center and the pedestrian sidewalks to the city center is wide enough not to be afraid to cyclists passing. The floor is not carpet but light color faux-wooden floor so it is a lot better than carpeted floor. Room size and bathrooms are good. There is hotel parking garage although not in the same building complex as hotel but it is within a walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting was poor one of the light switches did not work but in fairness we never reported it, if we had it would have been fixed

    Stayed here many times friendly convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    5.4
    A convenient item for a place to stay but not as comfortable as we like to wxpect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost and having to pay extra for breakfast

    The room was comfortable but the fridge did not work the room was not replenished on the second night and the price was a high price to pay without breakfast ! The cost of breakfast was not worth what was served with grey scrambled and very little selection. Generally the staff weee helpful and happy that they spoke English

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Thouroughly enjoyed our stay! We will definitely be back! Loved the tea/coffee/water facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not for the Irish palet! Menu in the evening had no chicken dishes available!

    Very comfortable! Friendly staff. Nice and quiet!perfect location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    I only slept there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very expensive. E711 (£683.00 approx) for a 3 night stay in a very ordinary room. I would not recommend this hotel.

    It was only a 10 minute walk to The Vrijthof Square

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    Will def be back as liked this hotel a lot...although expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been improved... Fresh rolls/breads didn,t seem to be of the day..

    Convenience to centre and walking distance to station. Quiet location at night.bedroom spacious and lovely view to marina below and boa

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, very friendly staff made a busy week at the MECC bearable. Thank you Hotel Bastion.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garage parking was initially a little difficult to find, plus parking or waiting near to the hotel on arrival is extremely difficult due to the parking restrictions.

    The Hotel Bastion was an excellent choice of hotel for our requirements as it is very close to the MECC, the location of the hotel was superb with a very short walk into the popular restaurant and bar region in the centre of Maastricht.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice Hotel and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We‘ve been visiting Maastricht with Friends for 2 days. The staff was always very nice and helpful and the rooms very clean. The breakfast was good as well. I can recommend this place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    To recommend for a stay near the center of Maastricht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing !!

    The location near the center. The friendly staff and the rooms. Of course also the excellent various breakfast. And not forget the parking nearby the hotel. 👍👍👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hairdryer in the bathroom didn't work, expensive parking (15€/ day). But there's a free p+r (maastricht noord) and the shuttle bus stops right in front of the hotel.

    Great location, comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.3
    Love the location and will surely come back again. But the lighting in the room needs improvement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dark, even when the lights were on. The bathroom also was smelly, even if it was clean when we first came in. I think it needs good ventilation as the smell permeates soonest we open the room upon check-in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    5.4
    Love Maastricht. Bastion Hotel not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It classes itself as 4 star Hotel and its nowhere near. The room was alright, nothing to write home about. The red and black colour scheme in the room and throughout the hotel is hard on the eye. Most of the staff were pleasant but there were a couple of 'head scratchers' there too. One girl in the restaurant was really away with the fairies. The noise from our room was unreal. It's like there was no sound-proofing whatsoever. Staff were very loud in the corridor. I didn't leave Bastion Maastricht feeling like I'd like to return.

    Location was decent. It was about a 5 minute walk or a little more to Markt. A little further to the Vrijthof. The new Pathe cinema complex is directly across the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great location to access the city centre with the Markt on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms aren't soundproofed, which was the only negative part of our stay there. The location is nice for access to the centre, but the hotel is right on a fairly busy street so expect some noise from there as well as from other rooms.

    Great location to access the city centre with the Markt on a couple of minutes walk. The rooms were clean and functional. The breakfast is limited in the warm section, but lots of cold/bread options, so overall it was pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    great location, price, room and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great little hotel in excvellent location close to city centre fab price, room and food service was excellent hotel staff very helpful and friendly and welcoming really enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    5.8
    Ok seize rooms , nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our Deluxe Twin Room was smelling of sigarettes and marihuana while entering it We recieved immediatly another room. But we were travelling with two babies under 6 months . The staff couldnt help us moving our stuff ( babywagon etc ) because they were with just two people at the reception ! The city tax is not included in the price ! We know this while booking but 5 euro pppd a day is a bit much ! Aswell breakfast is not included ( which is ok many nice places nearby ! ) Would come again but only with a very special offer

    Ok seize rooms , nice location. We stayed with 2 babies and they gave us a ground floor room which we appriciated very much. Staff is nice but the reception is just with 2 people For a hotel with more then 80 rooms this is hard working for them! They do what they can but the service is because of that limited

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    6.7
    Good stay; would consider it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm water was not available during the one-night stay; staff did not offer any compensation for the issue;

    Great location, friendly staff, easy process

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.9
    Location in the city centre, friendly staff, good rest zone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price for the room is higher it's comfortableness. Simple design and furnitute (like a three-stars hotel), the window does't open (ventilation through a special slot). One morning there was no hot water in the bathroom. We booked the room with discount, so in general were satisfied.

    Location in the city centre, friendly staff, good rest zone on the first floor and convenient parking (€15 per day for guests of hotel, €25 for ohers).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    5.8
    it was expensive hotel with no value, especcialy when someone ask you to left the romm very fast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone wake me up at 10 o clock in order to check out. terrible , she caled 2 times , never has such poor experience .

    mostly i liked Pool tabel in the Loby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff, efficient check-in and -out, good parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room windows don’t open, dirty towels got hung back in stead of being refreshed.

    Friendly staff, efficient check-in and -out, good parking proximity and nice location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like not being able to open a window. We found the rooms a bit warm for sleeping.

    Breakfast was fabulous!! Personnel very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and smelled good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    6.3
    Average hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is at best a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was good although pricey at €14 per head. Condition of room was average. Sheets were not clean and I found long hair.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    8.8
    Nice but pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to put your shower items on in the shower. Without the discount we would never book it. 200 a night is way too expensive.

    Staff was very nice! The bed was great. Considering the backinjury of my girlfriend it is extremely hard to find a hotel with proper matrasses as they never specify what matrasses they have. This was the first time it was great. The price was fair considering the big late booking discount.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    2.5
    Read fine print before you reserve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that I mistakenly reserved a room at 2143 for the same night by mistake and they were not willing to change the reservation. Not happy

    Could not tell you. Didn’t get a chance to stay

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    8.3
    Large room for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some small lotion stains in the shower and there was a small aspirin container left on the chair from a previous stay. Apparantly the room was not that well cleaned after the previous people. Also the cleaning lady knocked on the door twice in the final hour before checkout making it clear that we had to check out really soon. I didnt bother asking why the haste afterwards.

    Large room for the price. Location was perfect for walking to the city center. Leaving the bags after check in was nice plus. And leaving the car in the parking garage for the duration of the day after check out was also a nice plus, since parking in Maastricht kan be expensive at some garages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    2.5
    Hotel was in general good BUTTTT they offered us a parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was in general good BUTTTT they offered us a parking spot in a parking house, everything closed with gates where you re only able to get inside with a card, there were just people from the hotel or people who lived near by who are able to get inside. we just stayed there for 1 night after a big shopping tour in one of the outlet store close by, when we came back to our car in the morning all our purchases were gone that we left in our car, somebody broke in our car and stole everything we bought. Police came did the complain etc... after a speech with the hotel they said they have no responsibility for the damage and they agreed that they have more often a problem like this in this area... and nobody sold us that our car was not save at their parking place...... :(( VERYYYY BAD... they were not really helpful and we had to pay the 15 euro for the parking anyway... I can't believe it !!!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Maastricht is a lovely long weekend destination great hotels & fabulous restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing to complain about.

    We had accidentally overbooked but the staff were wonderful & sorted the problem out - got the mistaken booking refunded. I was very impressed with their assistance - to be fair we have stayed here a lot & I would expect nothing less.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    5.0
    Very little and inexperienced staff on for Breakfast, 20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, rooms very stuffy, very limited menu in Hotel restaurant,

    Very little and inexperienced staff on for Breakfast, 20 minute wait to get eggs cooked at breakfast is not acceptable, the girls cooking are trying to do things on very small grills and are not chefs.car par is also expensive 15 euro per nite is expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    5.4
    It was mediocre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold atmosphere. No breakfast included despite the high price, cleaners make a ton of noise in the hallways. Elevator smelled of damp clothes.

    Staff was generally friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.1
    A bonus for drinks in the hotel bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar in the room. We came one hour earlier than 15:00. We couldn't get any room, although there were empty rooms. The receptionist (a woman) was not even checked the posibility. More over she was very "expeditive".

    A bonus for drinks in the hotel bar. The receptionst in the evening was nice and warm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    7.5
    Super beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One very NEGATIVE aspect of the hotel: the air conditioning!!!!!! My mother and I were really disappointed not to be able to stay on the ground floor and enjoy the beautiful living-room and confortable chairs, just because it was too cold in there. Really too cold! And same problem for the breakfast room, although the air conditioning was a bit less agressive there.

    Super beds. Beautiful room and hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    7.5
    location to town centre & car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had problem with sink . not able to operate plug . it was stuck closed. maintenance removed plug -quick responce.

    location to town centre & car park. free pool table friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maastricht is not close to an airport so a shuttle service would be very useful, we ended up booking an expensive private transfer. Value for money would have been good but we stayed during an Andre Rieu concert so availability was limited and prices were high.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    5.4
    Parking is not directly connected to the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not directly connected to the hotel. The hotel is old and needs an upgrade fridge in the room made a lot of noise while it was empty. There was no option to unplug it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    5.8
    Location good and central .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels very old and small. Mugs in room cracked and broken ...needs replacing especially towels etc.

    Location good and central . Staff pleasant and helpful .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    4.2
    disgusting experiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was disgustingly dirty ,cockroaches, toilet, tea making, ran out of food at breakfast, unable to get an evening meal, staff were told about the problems and they made efforts to make good but our holiday was ruined, we have no intention of using you again and await your comments.

    very little

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    6.7
    Rip- off hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was overcharged. €250 for one night. I would not stay for a second night because it was so expensive. The facilities were very average.

    It's location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Young staff, poorly trained trying to do a lot of different jobs. This must be the only hotel, that I have stayed in that has NO gin, and not just on one night.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    7.9
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area was manic. One domestic toaster for the whole room, slow to replenish food.

    The location was fantastic. About 10 minutes to the centre. We were there for the Andre Rieu concert and were able to walk to and from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    7.9
    Most enjoyable relaxing few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food menu was a bit short on choice. This is a personal thing and others may not be as demanding. We like mashed or jacket potatoes but we could not get them.

    The location was very convenient. We did not speak Dutch but staff were very helpful when we needed any service. The hotel lobby has a relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    7.5
    The hotel has a good location, the renovation is nice, but most of the staff are easily unattended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a mess. The way it is organized is only helping to create queues and impatient customers. If they got the space a second table with coffee, bread and other breakfast things would have been much better - but again - some of the bread was like it was from the day before. Over all the breakfast did not give value for € 14 per day per person. Parking at another € 14 per day was a bit expensive but better than not having the possibility

    The room was new renovated and looked fine, although the rest og the dust from the renovation several months ago was not cleaned out yet. This was to see at the door to the bathroom. The bed was very good - and better than you normally find - but I do not understand why pillows are to be big and not worth sleeping on, so I always bring my own

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    Godd bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was Andre Rieu weekend so expected hotel to be very busy ....BUT .... insufficient staff at breakfast let the whole thing down..... Waiteress and waiters very good but too stretched.... dirty tables..... no cups .... .... no napkins.... None of this a real problem but if a hotel charges extra high price for concert evenings they should gear up with extra staff!!!!!!!!!

    Godd bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money at a perfect location in the center of Maastricht!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel was incredible value for money! Great service, good parking facilities and the location is perfect. Only a 5 min walk to Markt square! Beds were comfortable, the bathroom was modern en clean and the airconditioning worked as it should! I will def comeback to this place next time i visit Maastricht!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit expensive for the quality...coffee machine was broken, eggs took a long time , hot chocolate was terrible..

    Great location, friendly staff, room was fine, airconditioning worked great👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    2.5
    I could not go due to illness, so please, do not take my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not go due to illness, so please, do not take my "score" in to your account. Of course disappointed, there is no 'refund', but this is all in the game. If yo can make a 'refund', I will definitely use your site again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    9.2
    Good experience in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is a little overpriced, but still good to have. The hallway in front of the room could have been cleaner.

    The hotel is just a few steps away from the city center and the room was very nice and clean. Quite happy with the choice. Really enjoyed the pool table on the ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    6.3
    The restaurant was chaotic!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was chaotic! Had two meals and BOTH had to be sent back to the kitchen for being under-cooked. The first was in the late evening and I was the only customer in the restaurant. The second was in the early evening, the restaurant was barely half full, it took 45 minutes for the meal to appear and when it did it was on a cold plate and virtually raw.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    5.0
    Complimentary bottle of water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At check-in we only got handed the key to the room: no information on wi-fi, breakfast or anything else. When asked about restaurants nearby, the guy at the desk basically pointed the direction towards the center of town. The room was a bit shaby and dark and the linen smelled unpleasant (it got better when I asked to change it). Breakfast was disappointing, whith dry breads and cake and not so clean cups and cutlery. Didn't like the food from room service (and it's not really room service, since you have to go pick it up). The location is a bit far from the main points of interest and good restaurants. They charged my credit card in advance for a higher amount (they included city tax) and without informing me about it. I Found it out at the checkout.

    Complimentary bottle of water. Room had a good size.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    8.3
    Good location , internet , clean room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room for double, poor minibar and I pay for one person same price for two , you have to pay parking near property ,15 euro per night

    Good location , internet , clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    6.3
    Ok price for 4 stars, but that was it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was rather small. Although newly renovated, some areas were not touched and still seem "old". Facilities were limited - I have stayed in better equipped 3 or 2 stars hotel. Staffs were not friendly - they helped, but with hesitance. Not 4 stars "smily" staffs I am used to. The room on the street side can be very annoying- as the road is paved with stones - any passing cars will almost surely wake you up at night due to the noise. No parking place.

    Price was ok for a "4 stars" hotel. The room seems to be newly renovated - so a new big lcd tv, new furnitures, new bathroom. Wifi was good. Breakfast was good too. No parking place but you can park at P+R Maastricht Noord and take the bus (15 min) to the busstop in front of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    6.3
    Incorrect billing and no aftercare
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incorrect billing and poor aftercare. I was overcharged for my stay and the staff assured me this would be corrected, and that i would receive a confirmation of our agreement by email and restitution on my creditcard. A week later still havent seen Any of the 2

    Hotel was nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    8.0
    Good hotel, great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were not advised prior to or at booking that they are undergoing huge refurbishments. We had dinner on our first night & unfortunately charged for a main course when I actually had a starter - not good.

    The hotel us in a great position & has underground parking which is a bonus but not cheap.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    4.6
    Horrible breakfast !
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible breakfast !!!!! For 16 € per breakfast you dont have choice to toasted bread, really poor choice - 5kind of salami 2 kind of cheese :( and few bits of sweet baker products Avoid !!!! Ibis budget have for 7,50€ luxury breakfast compare to this one

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    5.4
    Way to expensive for what we got as a room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels smelt like a chinees restaurant. The room was small and the hotel was very noisy. The room was also very small. Just for sleeping. With two people it was very full. And for the size and quality of the room it was way to much overpriced

    The service although I had to ask three times how and where I could park my car

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    3.3
    Cold,dirty room with nailed window unable to stop outside...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold,dirty room with nailed window unable to stop outside wind and noise !!! In the end of October the air conditioner with only cooling mode!!! set on 29 degrees to warm up eventually really cold room...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    10
    We spent 4 weeks in Europe and this was our stand out accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a good size and very clean, the location was excellent. We found the staff extremely helpful and very friendly. We would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    6.3
    It was within easy walking distance to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms very basic. Not luxurious as the name suggests. No room service. Not 4star. Beds very hard.

    It was within easy walking distance to the centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    6.7
    Room too small
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are really small. And there is a big clost thing when you walk in that almost hit you. Have to go around the closet to open the door. Its a very odd set up. Bed was okay but not the most conftable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    6.7
    The staff at the desk when we arrived were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I woke up in the night because it was too hot and stifling. The button on the air-condition was broken, and same goes for the handle on the window. Had to go down to reception to get help and the woman knew some trick to get the AC going. When I mentioned this the next morning, the lady at the reception just took down the info without offering apology or any compensation for this, telling me only that the window is not supposed to open. So the broken, dangling handle is like that on purpose it would seem.

    The staff at the desk when we arrived were very friendly and gave us perfect recommendations for what we needed in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2016

    9.2
    Good choice to visit Maastricht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has seen a better day and there signs of wear and tear here and there but only in the common areas, the rooms are OK.

    Perfectly located right next to the historic center of Maastricht the hotel offers satisfies all the needs of a visitor. Large rooms with comfy beds, varied breakfast with an omelette station where one can get an omelette according to taste. The underground parking is located in a nearby building in a side street some 150 metres away from the hotel (don't try to drive into the parking entrance on the left from the building - it's private!) We really appreciated the fact that the reception was kept open until midnight as we were held back on our way and could not arrive as originally intended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    4.6
    Budget hotel, try one of the non-chain hotels instead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Details on booking.com

    This is a budget hotel with no character. Located farther from the square than advertised. Just less than I could have got for the same money. Not a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing price/quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price/quality ratio was very poor. We expected more from the Bastion hotel for this price. Even Breakfast wasn't included. We just paid a high price for a basic room to sleep in. We slept in a 2 persons room, which didn't have 1 bed for 2 people, but rather 2 beds shoved next to each other. The beds must've been on wheels, as they spread apart everytime we moved in it. Lastly, we forgot a dress in the hotel room, but when we contacted the hotel about this, we were told that it wasn't found. The dress was left in that room for sure, but we never got it back. It was quite a disappointing experience.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    7.5
    City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location within a short walk of the old town. They let us leave our car in the underground car park until the afternoon of our departure which was a big help

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    8.8
    Cosy, comfortable and conveniently located, with nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ground floor yard side room was unexpectedly noisy due to the neighbouring passageway equally frequented by motorcycles, delivery vans and loud pedestrians making sleeping a difficult task (best sleep between 02 and 07 am). Free coffee and tea was in very modest quantities and not replaced every day. Left luggage room was self-service meaning zero level security.

    The location is generally convenient. The staff is kind and has the right customer attitude. Cosy interior.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows are terribly uncomfortable. They are too big for a comfortable position for the neck.

    Great location, very friendly and professional staff. Rooms were clean and spacious. A nice bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.3
    A handy comfortable little respite on a quiet street in a charming town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really don't have any dissatisfaction. For the price and level of hotel offered I think they're doing a fine job. Thanks! W enjoyed our stay👍!

    The Bastion was a comfortable cozy place to return to after our days spent in Maastricht and excursions to nearby points of interest. We spent our first two nights at the hotel and decided to return to its easy comfort a week later when we were again in Maastricht. The staff was friendly and helpful, without exception! Though the restaurant and bar looked inviting we never got a chance to try it as Maastricht has many restaurants and inviting outdoor cafes that are irresistible when the weather is nice, as it was during our visit. Very pleasant experience in a wonderful city! Without question we would return again to both the Bastion and lovely, charming Maastricht!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    9.6
    Coming back!
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service and extra pillows, but we never asked for either as we checked in very late

    The staff were a pleasure. Fab breakfast and great location. Lovely decor throughout

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    9.0
    Andre Rieu Concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As with all hotels at this time the price was increased for the concert dates.

    Easy walking distance to concert avoiding expensive taxis etc. Very helpful staff. Car parking near hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    5.8
    The hotel I felt was overpriced for what it offered , the room was an ok size but felt quite dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast area was quite small, and for all the guests there was only one toaster which held 2 slices and cooked very slowly which meant a queue developed in that area

    There was a good choice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not good value! Far too expensive for facilities - all of our rooms not cleaned properly- one of the rooms had left over food in fridge -we had shoe tags from previous occupiers and another room had a shirt collar stiffener left in the bedroom floor and broken plastic spoon on window sill.

    Bedroom comfy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    10
    Nice hotel- very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We ate in the restaurant. The main course was under-cooked ( pork raw in the centre not pink) and was returned. The manageress immediately said i would not be charged for it. The next table had the same complaint with the same meal. Not a good experience. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant again.

    Staff were excellent. Helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.2
    Very good and central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would appreciated a blow-up mirror in the bathroom, as well as stronger lights in the room

    Location is perfect, close to everything interesting. very nice and confortable room, excellent and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with ur stay would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meal in evening could have had better choice

    Location handy for everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location in Maarstricht and very close to see the Andre Rieu concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillow comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: