Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bastion Hotel Nijmegen 3 stars

Neerbosscheweg 614, 6544 LL Nijmegen, Netherlands

#32 of 35 hotels in Nijmegen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value, a little bit out of the way from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little basic/small- there was no bath but I cannot complain for the price that I paid.

    Staff were friendly and gave as much advice as possible. The 12pm check out was a welcomed bonus to our stay. Capsule coffee machine in the room 👍 and close to public transport to get to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    3.3
    Almost nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is pretty bad. It is located on an island between two major noisy roads. I kid you not! Very noisy, obviously, when you open the window. So, don't expect good sleep especially if the weather is hot. The baby crib was a disaster. It had pukes, stains and completely unsafe for human use. Very bad hotel specially for such a big hotel chain.

    Almost nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    Not happy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was smelly, Smell of cigarette smoke on carpets, room was not cleaned daily, had to wait an hour for my dinner. Not worth the price I paid.

    Good breakfast. Comfy beds. Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missing croissants at breakfast , breakfast closed at 9.00am a little early i think.

    Met all expectations and suited my needs on cost and position , similar to a British Travelodge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Outdated hotel in a quiet but unwelcoming area of Nijmegen and literally surrounded by busy streets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is not exactly new and the rooms are rather small. There is a smoking area in the lounge that has a door but doesn't quite manage to keep the smoke coming into the sitting lounge - which, by the way, is just a few sofas in a square and is not a very comfortable or cozy place to be. The room was okay with a rather outdated shower and a vent that allowed you to overhear the conversation of the people on the floor above. Somehow, the interior designer thought it was a good idea to put the bed lights right where your head will be when you're sitting up to watch TV. Bed was only freshened the first day and the shower is not cleaned during the stay. Also found an old, half used shampoo bottle in the corner of the shower so that hadn't been cleaned recently. Breakfast is very summary with a staff member cooking fresh eggs that taste bland and milky and probably do not contain very much egg.

    The TV had a decent number of channels although not all channels worked. Free water, tea and coffee and a complimentary pen and a little notebook. Towels get changed daily. Breakfast has a member staff making fresh eggs. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Bed super comfortable, good breakfast (the girl preparing...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast (12€ is too much), corridor and sight very bad looking

    Bed super comfortable, good breakfast (the girl preparing eggs for you!) Very nice restaurant room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    The atmosphere at the Bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!!!!

    The atmosphere at the Bar! We wanted to go to the city centre but we decided to stay at the Bar as Asme served us all the time with a smile, also the lady Chef served us with a smile!! Excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    practical
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed 2 nights. Coming back on the first day we found the room more or less as we left it. The only thing done was refreshing the towels and giving free water bottles. All waste was still there, no toiletpaper, unmade beds. The staff reacted very alert to this: said they were going to check how this could have happened.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Easy and quick check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small. The hotel building is squeezed between two roads but windows close tightly so the traffic noise does not reach the room.

    Easy and quick check in. Friendly staff. Very close to the train station which is only one stop away from downtown Nijmegen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    I knew that the location was beside a main road from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I knew that the location was beside a main road from the details on Booking.com. However it wasn't clear that it's actually between the two carriage ways of the road. That said the noise of the road traffic wasn't too bad - probably as most people ride bikes! The decor of the hotel felt a dated and in need of a refurbishment. I've stayed in a different hotel of the same chain which was in much better condition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Everything to sleep overnight in comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hair dryer could enhance the standard but - I did not need that so it is only a small hint.

    Everything to sleep overnight in comfort. No unnecessary things. Nice staff. Quite good breakfast. Comfortable parking lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    The staff at Bastion Hotel were really helpful when it came...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were really uncomfortable and the room wasn't made up for the remaining of my trip. My wife and I had to make our beds and request for change of towels.

    The staff at Bastion Hotel were really helpful when it came to directions from Hotel to Nijmegen Central Station as well as Amenities nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Hotel away from the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel was across busy roads. The hotel is located between two oneway streets. So to get off the "island" you have to cross one or the other road. Air conditioning in the hotel was limited to public areas only. Our room was quite hot during our 2 night stay, but a portable fan is supplied in the room. Opening the window for a breeze was countered by the traffic noise as the windows being double glazed did an excellent job of reducing traffic noise.

    Location for our purpose of visiting relatives was central to our requirement at this hotel. Best Caesar Salad of the trip around europe. Food in the restaurant is prepared and cooked when ordered. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    Hotel was okay, staff disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite expensive. We paid 233 euro for one night, 2 persons. Breakfast would cost an additional 14.50 per person so we skipped this of course. All would be fine if the service is top notch. Checkin was okay, no problems there. We went to the concert (Guns 'n Roses) and when we came back (half past 11) the bar was actually closed... we had to go straight to our room, it wasn't possible to get a drink before heading to bed with no option to relax or unwind. The next morning we sat at the bar and 3 staff members were there...and yet, after 10 minutes, not even a good morning. We had to ask for a cup of coffee. Staff was to busy with other things (talking to each other was one of them) Hotel was okay, staff disappointing. Not worth 233 euro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Nice place but poor cycling and walking access mean I wouldn't return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is incredibly bad -- no pedestrian or cycling access without going on the road for half a block. Great cycle paths and great bus service -- but there is a half block with no connection for other transport modes. Really poor for a cycling city like Nijmegen.

    Staff were kind and made it easy to concentrate on the important activities of the week.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locality and the price.

    Was disappointed in the locality of the hotel. It was very noisy as had major roads either side. I thought it was expensive. The only good thing about the hotel was the guy on reception. He had been let down by his staff and had to do everything himself including cooking the evening meal. As there was nowhere else to eat we had to eat there and I must say he did extremely well. A first class meal. As well as being on duty at breakfast. He certainly earned his wages!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.8
    It's ok if there's nothing else...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very standard room. No frills. No hair dryer in the room. The hotel is adjacent to 2 main roads and the desk will confirm that there are no quiet rooms in this hotel ! Breakfast offers a cooked meal but the girl cooking the eggs doesn't know how to ...they served up eggs that were overcooked and tasteless. I left the plate full and what was more disturbing was the fact that they never asked why i didn't eat the eggs...!

    It was a handy location..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    The deceptive price presentation by Booking.com
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't believe the price you see on Booking.com. You will pay far more than that. I will not use Booking.com again and I would not recommend them to anyone. The hotel itself was quite good. You can book directly from their website.

    Friendly staff and hotel location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Great crew, easy location. with free parking. Good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bigger rooms, more closets and draws for clothes. There was on the room not sit comfort, All was clean but old, it need replacement on the bathrooms, who are also very small.There was no hair blower. The towels were clean, but thin and old. and no wash wrecks. And no elevator , with heavy luck-age , this is a must.

    did not use breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.8
    Made me pay for the 2nd room I had booked by mistake - will not stay at this chain on principle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I inadvertently booked two rooms by mistake (glitch when booking on line) - when checking in, the male staff member removed the 2nd room charge. The following day, a female staff member re-instated the charge

    Good location, good range of food for evening meal, good local beers

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Great for an overnite stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little older and rooms are small. But then again it wasn't expensive. Perfect if all you are looking for is a place to sleep.

    Staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Good basic accommodation on western edge of Nijmegen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lies outside city centre, and nothing to see within walking distance. Hotel is on an "island" between the inbound and outbound carriageway of a major road into the city.

    Good access to hotel by car

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel, great staff!
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient location - easy reachable, close to bus stop and shops, good parking lot. The place is great for a budget accommodation. The staff was a huge bonus - throughly friendly, very helpful and sincerely hospitable - Peter and Asmae - the face of the hotel - respect, guys, you are wonderful!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.8
    We've had an issue with the room, the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've had an issue with the room, the bathroom wasn't fully cleaned before we checked in. Peter at the front desk has very quickly, professionally and kindly addressed the issue. Thank you very much! We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower

    Food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    comfy room, good parking, good restaurant/bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast wasn't great value for money...

    comfy room, good parking, good restaurant/bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for staying the might on a bicecle trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ontvangst

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room, good parking, fridge in room, coffee maker in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room, good parking, fridge in room, coffee maker in room clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Day out in Nijmegen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options limited

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.6
    Close to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    because it's a motel not hotel

    Close to city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Needed more variety for breakfast, had no eggs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more variety for breakfast, had no eggs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.8
    Very Dated Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old Hotel, Not a nice looking from the outside, looks like a prison or Police Station.

    There are better Hotels in Niemegen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from the city centrum

    Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Would not be inclined to return here or recommend
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was not too helpful and created a bad impression before we experienced the hotel and facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurants around it

    It a small but very cosy hotel and the staff is amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.6
    like living in a shoe box with cramped accomodation nowhere to hang clothes .lights over bed very sy
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    In the middle of a traffic island with very noisy traffic.the hotel is stuffy and no air flow.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont clean room , and staf dont talk good to us

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for business tarveles.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Great location (for me). -Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Good but not exciting.
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows where flat and not very nice.

    We loved the pool table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.5
    big problem for me that they refuse to take 500e one peace,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    big problem for me that they refuse to take 500e one peace, wich let me spent 2 hours to change..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Conveneient, good staff, would return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sandwiched between the two lanes of a motorway it was a little noisy.

    Very good staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good location for days out but need transport or taxi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi to main town was 15€

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast 's quality very cheap

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.9
    Good Value for Passing By with Cars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only viable to those with cars.

    Good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    5.0
    Dated furniture and fittings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated furniture and fittings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nestled between two busy roads, take your earplugs.

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.1
    Friendliness of staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    The breakfast was delicious, the staff was kind and...
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was delicious, the staff was kind and understanding, the bed was really comfortable, the room was cozy and nicely clean, I did love my staying, amazing Hotel with great memories.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    3.8
    No warm water - broken boiler during my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No warm water - broken boiler during my stay. Hotel is quite run down, small rooms and between two roads. Noisy with air vent open. Closed airvent makes for a stuffy room. Tv and bathroom noises from adjacent rooms. Coil springs of matrass can be felt, cover matrass missing? Plain washing room, only shower with curtain.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.9
    The convenience, price, location and free parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no elevator so if you travel with heavy bags be prepared to carry them upstairs, or ask for a room on the ground floor if possible.

    The convenience, price, location and free parking

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    The lady on duty the evening we stayed, was an outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Harley davidsons on the road outside. May not be such an issue at other times but we had the windoe wide open due to a heatwave.

    The lady on duty the evening we stayed, was an outstanding host, most welcoming and attentive made us feel that mothing was to much trouble, cannot say how much we enjoyed our evening there thanks to her.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.7
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like The location of the hotel on a sort of "island" between two roads with a lot of traffic. I also didn't like the stained carpet on the floor of the room

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    - Clean room, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Hotel is incredibly hard to find and access without a car.

    - Clean room, comfortable bed - Great service - Restaurant was open until 11 PM. Didn't have to get up early for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is more a hostel for immigrants than a hotel. There is nothing good to say about it. As a pedestrian you have to risk your life to reach it.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    7.9
    very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast a bit expensive for what it is... at times a little noisy

    very friendly staff easy to find plenty of free parking directly outside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.6
    I needed to work in wijchen for the week and with the new...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I needed to work in wijchen for the week and with the new station at goffort this was just a short walk to the hotel. If you were driving the parking would be easy much better than when I have stayed in Nijmegen. You are not "in the center of the action" of Nijmegen if that is your thing but in walking distance of the station and buses go right by. Food is good. I work late so ate breakfast but went to a close by Lidl to buy groceries for lunch and dinner. Hotel will make you a box lunch if you ask which I did the last day

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Very practical hotel, staff very helpfull
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very practical hotel, staff very helpfull

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    9.2
    i WAS THERE FOR 7 HEUVELOOP.
    • Solo traveller

    i WAS THERE FOR 7 HEUVELOOP. IT WAS ALL GOOD FROM MY CHECKIN, DINNER, BREAKFAST AND MY LATE CHECKOUT. FRUITS AND WATER FOR RUNNERS. IT WAS GREAT.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Everingham was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't think of anything that I didn't like

    Everingham was fine

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Good price and comfort place to stai in!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good price and comfort place to stai in!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    4.2
    people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room, noise,

    people

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.0
    Bedes comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a lot of dust in the room

    Bedes comfortable

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    6.7
    No major problems, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was hard to approach by bike.

    No major problems, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: