Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Strandhotel Vigilante 4 stars

Holle Poarte 10, 8754 HC Makkum, Netherlands

#8 of 15 hotels in Makkum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 965 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave to continue our travels

    All staff were very helpful - excellent place to stay with lovely restaurant on site - chicken salad was very nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I checked in, I was asked in great details about what I would prefer to have for breakfast - I had to answer yes or no for about 30 different items, which seemed really strange to me. The heating in the room was not in the best condition. The TV had no channels and we couldn't really watch anything.

    The hotel was very clean and looked pretty well. The receptionist spoke perfect English. The room was big and nice. There was even an option to open a door through which to leave directly and go to the parking without going through the corridor and by the reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge in the room & tea and coffee facilities would make it perfect. Very comfortable accommodation and lovely friendly staff. Couldn’t fault the restaurant either! Great stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much!

    Delayed by roadwork on the German autobahns and booked a room 3hrs ahead knowing we would miss our ferry from Rotterdam. Good room and great evening meal - we arrived late but they kept the restaurant open for us. Seaside location with the beach just metres away from some rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bowling alley was over-priced, poorly lit, with distracting graphics on the lanes. Why???

    Friendly staff. Breakfast included. Good coffee. On-site bowling and pool table.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV did not work but this did not matter to us and we did not report it to the hotel.

    This is a convenient location for overnight stay when traveling for a ferry from Amsterdam to Newcastle. Excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    scrabled eggs could have been better, more different breakfast meats would have been nice, and WHY did you have to turn the coffee machine off at exactly 10 minutes after 10???

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice welcome and advice from the staff at the reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clueless staff. Unexpected charges found out at the time of checking out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to walk and enjoy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big room and pet-friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is enough big, and it is facing beach, so really nice view. BF is not so bad too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit overrated with 4****... Hotel is nice, but in my opinion 3*** level...

    Location direct on the beach... perfect...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position and quiet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bicykle rental was fabulous with E-bike!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning kept us from enjoying our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Cold beer, warm restaurant, comfy bed and a great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff rang a couple of days after our stay having found my daughters purse in the room we were in - posted it back to us complete with money and travel card. Very grateful x

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Ground floor rooms utilized by big families, gathering together, creating a lot of noise outside, coming into the rooms upstairs. -terribly soft thin pillows

    + Room views great + Restaurant food delicious, + Staff, very friendly & helpful

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    May be the heating system should be counted better! Suddenly get cold and around 5 o`clock in the morning really warm!

    The most Important: Pet Friendly! Certainly We`ll go back again! Great stuff, perfect location! Super

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather was very bad and we could walk as much as we would like.

    The location is fabulous offering you very good opportunities for water sports. The dinner was excellent and at much cheaper prices than we imagined.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Chairs in room uncomfortable. Remote location, bad lighting on way to the hotel.

    The breakfast was good. Nice choice on Saturday but even more on Sunday.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Couple

    The breakfast options were quite limited and it seemed odd to have lots of sliced bread and no way of toasting it. It wasn't such as good a deal as it appeared once tax had been added to the price.

    The room was large and comfortable. The bar was nice and atmospheric in the evening with a lovely log fire.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Time of year lots of Mosquitos (not hotels fault !) A good 10/15 min walk to beautiful town, but bikes are available.

    Great beach location , great promenade for running (no gym!) Good parking , nice ambience friendly staff, nice evening meals.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    our last day there was a company event in the hotel, breakfast was served 1st floor but the restaurant was closed so we (and other guests) had to carry everything (and some items were missing compared to the normal breakfast buffet) to our room, nobody told us the day before, so it was a bad surpise in the morning, this is no conduct at all for a 4 star hotel!!!

    location, size of room, lobby with open fire place

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad internetconnection on the rooms

    The Beach the seaview and the friendly Service Team

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Basically nothing.

    Nice location, friendly staff, clean and spacious room, good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is very good. Very nice location direct by the sea.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great service +++ lovely dinner, comfortable rooms and atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was good and familyroom was large and good. And also the beach was nice.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Strandhotel Vigilante traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: