Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beachhostel Holland

Badstraat 9, 2225 BL Katwijk, Netherlands

#5 of 5 hotels in Katwijk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 869 hostel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    4.8

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Ok place during week days, not in the weekend, to loud sound from the pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seven Persons Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very loud sound from the pub under the hotel room. There was karaoke and disco there. Tried and said, but was not heard. Lock from 103-111 DBA when I was down to say. Paid night to saturday and sunday. The night to Friday was excellent. Old garbage under the bed.

    Short distance to the beach and a nice city. But.......

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Worth a visit (see through the reviews!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Five persons Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower could do with some curtain and a hook for your clothes / towel.

    Such a tremendous difference between the negative reviews versus the reality we've experienced! Yes, definitely there's a party going on in the bar below, but not in such a way that you can't sleep. Moreover, Thursday was like any other stay at any other place, with no significant noise. The room was new, the beds were good and cleaned every day, the bathroom + separate toilet were spotless. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was absolutely value for money, and it's only a 200m walk to the beach. Our tip: this place certainly isn't suitable for everyone, but if you're used to city life, this place works well for you and is best price you can get near the beach! And no, we're not in any kind of way affiliated with anyone running this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay for 3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom are quite small and the beds could use some nice stools by their side. I would not recommend bringing along a large trolley. It is not comfortable for longer stays.

    It was very clean and the beds were cosy . The room is decorated with taste and ours was oriented towards the inner court, so it was also quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    It was clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I never give bad reviews but this has to be said: - This "hostel" is over a noisy bar full of drunkards. It was very noisy. - The service was below average, specially for the price paid (78 euros for a night at a tiny 4 bunkerbed hostel room, with the tiny space more adequate for children than adults) - The shower and the toilette get completely flooded in water when one takes a shower, so the floor of the whole bathroom make it impossible to enter it without getting wet. Same goes if you sit on the toilette. Your ass will get wet. - There were only 2 sets of towels and 2 glasses for 4 beds/guests. - The door of the toilette could not be closed or open without making a very sturdy noise which startled. - The sheets were rough and raspy, the pillows as well. Not up to standard. - The man in charge at "reception" (bar actually) in the morning was asked to give directions on how to get to the bus to the train station. He was absolutely uninterested in helping with this tiny bit of information, he delegated the task to one of the guests that noticed me asking. Poorest service I have experienced in years of traveling. - This wins as the WORST VALUE property I have experienced. Money-quality ratio extremely dissapointing.

    It was clean. That´s all. Maybe a place to sleep at for an emergency stay. But you will resent the poor value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Seven Persons Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. No separate entrance for the hotel, you have to get around the crowd to get through to ask someone at the bar where to go for your stay. People are super friendly. Room was very hot so the window had to be left open, which wouldn’t have been bad but it was a party at the bar until 6AM with loud music. If the window could have been shut it would have blocked most of the sound. If you don’t plan on sleeping this is a great location for you. Nothing but the bar is open on Saturday after 6PM. Absolutely nothing is open on Sunday. Typical for Europe, but some tourist locations have more to do on Sundays. Account for that when making your reservation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    A good deal and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little on the small side. Finding parking was a little confusing, but worked out in the end.

    Very friendly staff. Room was one block away from the beach. Place was clean the bed was very comfortable. Shower was hot and the wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.6
    Not suitable for longer stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was initially extremely cold when we arrived. We stayed in 4 person room and it was way to small for us. If any of us wanted to move around the room, other persons had to climb to their beds as the space between the walls and beds or between the beds was so small. There weren't anywhere to store our luggage and belongings. Bathroom was so small that the basin was installed inside the room by the bed. And if you are staying there during the weekends then don't even think that you can get any sleep before 2am as the noise from the pub downstairs will be extremely loud. We were staying on the 3rd floor and the noise in our room was even louder than inside the pub.

    Location was excellent, although it was difficult to find the place as there are no signs visible to the street. Breakfast was fair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Five persons Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not possible to sleep even to approach the hostel due to the street festival on that day. The floor was sticky from alcohol, the disco music was loud and lasted till 3am so we could not sleep. The staff was overloaded and have no time to deal with us. Had no possibility to change the room which was just above the disco. When I booked the hostel it should have been noted that for travellers it is not suitable to have a rest during the night. In the morning no staff was available and everything was closed and there was no place to leave the card of the room. That was a real night mare for us.

    The rooms were clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.3
    Completely zero.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Five persons Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very small and inconvenient room for 4 pers. No table at all. No place for luggage, no cupboard, locker, closet, hanger... No elevator, narrow stairs. Leaking pan... Mayby if it would be €10, but it wasn’t...

    Completely zero.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    room was totally new et refurnished.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was the noise coming from the bar down the hostel. On saturday music was loud till 2-3o'clock, whereas on sunday it was very quiet

    room was totally new et refurnished. Perfect! Matresses comfortable, bathroom little but functionnal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Cheap hostel (in quality and price)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise isolation in the room is terrible, absolutely terrible. You can hear people upstairs, you can hear people in the hallway, doors banging, you name it. We were woken up by continuous noises at around 7 am🙄 We were given small handtowels instead of big shower towels, and when asked they could not give us bigger towels.

    I'm happy that the hostel has the private rooms choice. The staff was really nice and helpful. Location is really good, although finding it in the bar isn't as easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.6
    not ideal if you plan to sleep here on a weekend
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed here because a friend got married in Kattwijk and there were not other options. We knew there was a bar downstairs but when we came back from the wedding around 2am the music from the bar downstairs continued to almost 4am. The shower is right on top of the sanitary, literally, you can take a shower sitten on the sanitary... first time i have such a small bathroom in my life, did not enjoy it at all so the next day i left without taking a shower. This is definetly a cheap place for partying teenagers on a budget, not our thing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    2.9
    horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this place is not at all suitable for children, it needs to be made very clear when booking that it is not a place for children!!!! even if they had told us on arrival we would have found somewhere else!! awful place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    Very dirty and broken hostel, in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken ceramic soap holder at head height of my kids, filthy air vents, plughole full of last customer's hair, curtains hanging off the rails, doors with holes punched into them. There is a difference between simple, basic accommodation and dirty, broken facilities. Sadly the Beachhostel comes into the second category. (It is not even cheap - for the same nightly price in the last fortnight we have stayed in a two bedroom apartment in a Chateau, a Dutch barge and a lodge with a swimming pool). It is being milked for its location but desperately needs some money and time invested. It has the potential to be a great hostel... but needs a different management style.

    Being close to the Katwijk beach is the only positive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    3.8
    Could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are already curved and you wake up with back pain. The bahtroom had mold and no shower tub. The entire Hotel screams for renovation, new furniture and doors. Bring your own toilet paper and soap!

    Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.0
    Cheap price but cheap service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast served only from 09h00 AM is very late time. Booked at 120 € and charged at 123 € (133 € at arrival - 10 € returned when biving key back) Fire alarm running at 05h in the morning ! Could not get an invoice when leaving at 08h30 AM ! Strange

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.3
    To be avoided
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the time there was no staff present. We were evacuated at 2am, 4am and 5am because of the fire alarm going off and no one from the hotel was there. Next morning we wanted to talk to someone about it and there was just the chap from the pub saying he knew nothing and he was there just to take keys.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    3.8
    Avoid (even at that price)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and restroom smell like the city sewage system run through them. The mattresses should be replaced, both I and my wife hurt our backs. The bar plays loud music late in the night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Decent value for the money so close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More informative staff, in regards to parking, meals and the fact that our room was 3 flights up.

    Breakfast was very nice. Rooms were functional and clean. It's over the bar,so there a lot of noise until 2 am.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    2.5
    Bad noisy cold pub do not go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this place should not be a hotel it should remain a bar i drove so far and expected rest but the pub was so noisy and cold that i could not sleep i am so dissspointed i was so ill the next morning and had to drive back to england with migraine the music was banging my head all night long

    nothing was good about this place the bathroom drainage was not going down so much noise and music and did not sleep till the morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.5
    Good for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise of the bar. Don t forget your earplugs. The beds are not very comfy

    Cheap place to stay. We just stayed here to sleep and do a race the day after. Nice bar underneath the hostel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.7
    Really a small hotel rather than a hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast served only from 9 AM. Not good when traveling for work or having to leave early.

    Really a small hotel rather than a hostel. Co-located with a nice pub at the heart of Katwijk. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.2
    The breakfast was good and the location as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of towels, they provided only one set instead of two. The shower is super small and not clean, black moulds are present on the tiles of the shower. no soap and no shampoo were provided. SInce the whole batroom is the shower it gets all wet and water flows to the room. It is not possible to sleep untill the very loud music from the bar at the reception is gone (3 am!).

    The breakfast was good and the location as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    5.4
    There are better places to stay in Katwijk and Noordwijk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy environment, also in the (late) evening breakfast not served before 09:00 !!! no separate hotel entrance bath room: basic + small & no toilet articles

    Arrival hours close to ESTEC shuttle bus Bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    Not for early levers (<9 o´clock)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast will be served at 9 o'clock! Check out earlier than 9 to the cleaning staff if you can find them! You pay 10 € deposit for the key. No announcement in the streat where the hotel is.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.3
    good stay for that price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good!

    good location (close to shops, beach...), great bar downstairs Wasn´t so loud. We stayed in hotel during friday night and the bar was closed around 1!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    2.9
    Appauling (HOTEL FROM HELL) Don't stop here and don't be fooled by the pictures on the website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are located above a very busy bar with a nightclub opposite, neither of which finish serving until the early hours of the morning. Hence the noise is horrendous at closing time and the disturbance lasts for about 90 minutes thereafter. If you choose to close the windows to minimise the noise, you end up cooking in the room as there is no air conditioning. In short, DON'T stay here as you are guaranteed NOT to have any sleep. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in, in over 30 years of travelling throughout the world.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    would stay again probably mid week when no late night music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Five persons Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the late night disco was very loud

    we only stayed overnight allright

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Five persons Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at weekend,lod music till 3am

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seven Persons Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at weekend,loud music till 3am

    Location great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    FUN!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Five persons Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    FUN!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean room, nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast starts only at 9:00am

    Clean room, nice location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.3
    Near to the sea
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price to high for nothing in room

    Near to the sea

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    extremely recommend it ;)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very kind receptionists with a owner like an angel.. thanks man :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.3
    Everything was too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was too bad

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Just a bed for the night, not suitable for seniors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, noise from the vent, dripping water from shower.

    Food was very good, staff excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    A nice stay for a short period
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Six-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy during night hours in the weekend since it is located above a pub.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.2
    Only the position
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was negative, excluding the position not far from the see

    Only the position

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    3.8
    Give it a miss over weekends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money, noisy

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    Basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    corridors smells.

    basic accommodation, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.3
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    3.8
    they had some work in the establishment starting 7:30 am...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they had some work in the establishment starting 7:30 am with heavy duty machinery

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    6.7
    Good location, fun at night (if you dont mind a bit of music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room and bathroom.

    Good location, fun at night (if you dont mind a bit of music at the blawen bock), awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    4.2
    Far below the line
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above a crowded bar; appears to not have been cleaned thoroughly; no common decencies like a little shampoo or even toilet paper

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    6.7
    Very close to the beach and buses
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four persons room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold floor.

    Very close to the beach and buses

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.3
    Grand cafe is good, burger excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, and stairs

    Grand cafe is good, burger excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    It's Not a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Six-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's Not a hostel. You can't bring or Rat your on good and drinks. It's not on the beach. But close to it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    5.0
    Very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beware: unless you are a party animal that likes to go on till the wee morning hours, do NOT go here on a weekend, the so-called 'pub', downstairs is the local disco. everybody in Katwijk will be here on a Saturday, drinking, dancing and getting drunk until 4/5 a.m. You will not sleep in your hostel bed, earplugs won't help, it is really that loud. and the later it gets, the louder it gets. Prepare for non-sleep.

    Very close to the beach. breakfast okay friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    4.2
    The restaurant and bar was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. No signboard of the hotel. How do I find it?? 2. Never seen such small toilet in my life. They should shut down this hotel. 3. Not single glass to drink water in the room. No soap, no place to keep clothes. 4. Doors are not soundproof. 5. Room heater seems like 200 year old. Makes sound. 6. They said king size bed but it is actually two single beds joined.The joint makes the bed horrible. 7. The light in my toilet was not working.

    The restaurant and bar was good. Their burger is really good. the bedsheet and blanket was clean. The smoking room in the downstairs bar. People are friendly and helping.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No clean, small room, small bathroom, people attending us were drunk (so much!!). No wifi. The man was very rude, they enter to clean the room for the next client while all our baggage was there, before the checkout. They don't clean it for the next one again when we left the room. The man said that if we wanted the deposit back (10euros) we had to clean and organice the room for the next customer... And one night 54,80euros paid in advance. Really... Unbelievable!!!!

    Nothing.. the hell is better!!!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.1
    It was cheap in a good location near the sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I would imagine it could be noisy at weekends and busy periods being located above a bar.

    It was cheap in a good location near the sea front.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    5.0
    Ffriendly personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too noisy

    Ffriendly personnel

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noise from night club. Dirty toilet. Light did not work in the bathroom.

    Good location

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Beachhostel Holland traveller photo gallery