Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel van Beelen 3 stars

Koningin Wilhelminastraat 12, 2225 BA Katwijk, Netherlands

#2 of 5 hotels in Katwijk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 922 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs, but we were announced that the stairs are Dutch ones. And they are! But who can change this? :)

    We enjoyed a lot the breakfast. One of the most healty breakfast in this kind of accomodation. Sometimes, even at 4* I couldn't find so many fruits at breakfast! I think there were more than 10 different fruits. And the employees very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative aspect is as follows: The shower was extremely comfortable but I missed a grab handle when in the shower in case I slip, but more important (for me), is a handle for stepping out of the shower with partially dry feet.

    The breakfast was excellent and sufficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know how they could get round this but.... When the TV in the room was put on standby at night the blue light eminatting from the bottom of the TV frame was so bright it lit up the room and disturbed my sleep. I covered the tv with my coat which sorted the issue.

    The room. The cleanliness of the premises. The breakfast. The helpful staff. The central location. Ease to get there using planes trains and buses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Very nice hotel close to the sea (ESTEC within walking distance as well). Room was clean and warm. The breakfast plentiful with many options. I would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows are pretty big and uncomfortable. It is very noisy (you can hear the people in other rooms and on the stairs/hallway).

    Very friendly staff. Our room was upgraded for the same prize and we didn't even ask for it. The location is amazing and very convenient transportation-wise. We got a bag of peppermints and a pen at the check-out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice breakfast in a cosy breakfast room. Great and helpful staff. Good location for ESTEC visitors, nice 15-20 min walk in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niets perfect

    Ontbijt was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of wind outside! (loud noise)

    Very good bed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast, staff, location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    ALL was great

    great breakfast, staff very friendly, we will come back for sure

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very friendly staff, very good breakfast and clean and comfortable rooms for a good price

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy, cozy and welcoming! Great staff and service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the common room with snacks and drinks (for purchase, but super cheap). Breakfast was really good and the staff was lovely. 10+!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location nearby the sea was very nice. The town Katwijk is a poor city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, super location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect!

    A friendly family-run hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The washroom was a little small

    - The beds were comfy - The location was perfect - The staff were so sweet and spoke many languages - The price was great - They even gave us a bag of peppermints as a gift at the end

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The self-service snack bar is very handy. In my case, I woke up in the middle of night due to the jet lag and felt very hungary. The snack bar is just out of my door:-)

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very pleasant to deal with. No request was too much. The breakfast each morning was very good, rooms were clean and comfortable. Lots of restaurants close by & the bus stop was just a few steps from the hotel - very easy to get around. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely welcoming atmosphere within the hotel with a real sense of a family business. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking was a hassle. You had to park in a parking garage, which was fine but there was no temporary parking for check in

    Awesome location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Best breakfast ever. Everything very clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We like the owners and the way that they welcomed is . The rooms where very clean and breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was great!

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent and the location was convenient for visits to The Hague and Leiden

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    STEPS

    location, furnishing of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable beds, but attic room had roof on a slant close to one bed. Hit head twice.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pillows are uncomfortable, they do not match high standards of this facility

    Very friendly and helpful staff, attractive location, excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Narrow stairs up to 1st floor Bedroom

    Good selection of food at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good position and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just beware the typical duch steep stair.

    Cozy atmosphere, mrs Marianne is very kind, good breakfast, near the sea

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Good location, close to beach and shops.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing not to like!

    quiet location - great staff, friendly and helpful - and a wonderful breakfast Buffett.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness, great breakfast, lovely people and the bag of peppermints to take home!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Hotel van Beelen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: