Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Berg en Bos 3 stars

Aquamarijnstraat 58, 7314 HZ Apeldoorn, Netherlands

#13 of 15 hotels in Apeldoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 651 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy when people walk around because it's small hotel. And noise from water pipe but it's ok.

    Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good location. Breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small size rooms. Place is very old from the inside. Have no 24/7 check in (14:00-22:00).

    Very nice stuff. Good location. Minimum that you need to get a good sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only worked in one half of our room. Room was very small and it was a tight squeeze for 3 let alone the 4 that can fit in the room.

    Located in a lovely quiet and peaceful neighbourhood within walking distance of the city centre. Wonderful breakfast. Really clean and tidy. Wonderful and cheerful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing, with a fixed menu consisting of a boiled egg and some ingredients to make sandwiches, without salad. The most disapponiting part was the bathroom. Very old, with a sink faucet that splashed all over and unusable shower. The room has no closet, no place to put your luggage and an old broken small fridge was just sitting in the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to pay €27,50 a night for a camping bed (one additional toddler), instead of paying just for the room. We are used to free additional bed for our child, or pay a way smaller price!! Way too over priced.

    We loved breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plastic cup in a plastic bag next to the sink.... I think with our aims to be environmental friendly that it is about time to replace it with a real glass. A good place to eat lunch or dinner near the hotel. But is something you can overcome. I actually didn't ask the staff for advice.

    The room was quite simple, but yet comfortable. A good bed, even a bathrobe, you won't find that in the mot expensive hotels of Amsterdam! Staff was very friendly, easy going, helpfull and the breakfast "WOW" At walking distance you can enjoy nature, as well as the beautiful Palace "Het Loo"

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin wall partitions create the potential for noise between rooms but hotel was actually quiet by around 22.00.

    The balcony, table and chairs. Airy room. Good reception and offer of help with luggage. Approachable staff. Easy and safe parking in street outside hotel. Quiet neighbourhood. Central restaurants and cafes only twenty minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a cheep Open Bathroom single room. I did not expected that it will not even have a wall that separates toilet and the room. I understand that I had a cheep room for 45 euros, but really did not expected that room like this could be even sold in Europe.

    Good location. Attractive price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fresh and lots of food. Staff was quiet but professional. We would stay there again. We ordered the last room which was a small room. It was sufficient but we would have liked a bigger bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room too small and the bathroom - cleaning, comfort :(

    Very friendly staff, always there to help. Nice and cozy breakfast. Quiet neighborhood and parks to walk. Center city not far, a short 15 mn walk or fast bus if needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My single room was a really small one, so if you have a big suitcase you may end up with a limited space on the floor.

    Hotel Berg en Bos is located just outside the centre of Apeldoorn which is a very nice and vibrant city in the heart of Netherlands. The reason for my visit there was the one and only Brainstorm Festival. It was the atmosphere of Hotel Berg en Bos which I liked the most: I was feeling there like at home. And what a comfortable bed!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window or exhaust fan in bathroom. Could hear people moving about & talking till 4 am. Room had a sickly sweet smell. Maybe to mask odours!

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room rate was relatively highly prices compared to the value and size of the room.

    The staff was fantastic. Great help, excellent service and requests were met speedily. Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally nothing wrong apart from small bathroom but the room is clean and well kept

    Close to where we needed to be. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Owner has a very interesting history so ask him about it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful, friendly staff, nothing was too much, we felt very welcome. We will be staying here next time we are in Apeldoorn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Angry cat outside the hotel door attacking my dogs. Not dog friendly neighbors. Late breakfast so we couldn’t get it when we wanted it

    Nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very old and a bit smel.

    Good location, close to the city centre, quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thin walls , sound isolation is terrible

    Great breakfast and very friendly service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There to watch sporting event, bus and trains services VERY useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor breakfast. Tiny room.

    Friendly staff, comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be better equipped, f.ex. With a shower.

    It was clean and the people really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent homely breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal touch and friendly, flexible staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice reception and check in process. beautiful room and clean great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was small

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly reception made us a packed breakfast since we had to leave at 06:30 dankuwel quiet area only 10 mins walk to nice active centrum

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, a comfortable room and outstanding service at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small and dated.

    Staff all very friendly and efficient. Were made to feel welcome. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little uncomfortable. Shower didn't drain well.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like the breakfast, too dutch, should have more warm food.

    Everything is perfect, the owner is very nice guy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nevertheless, a little overpriced

    Clean, tidy. Nice staff. The best coffee I´ve ever had in a hotel. I loved the location, which quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit small rooms, no cooler with easy access to water and miss some stuff like bacon and so on at the breakfast.

    I liked the service at breakfast and I liked the staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was cold and could not be heated individually. Hardly any cupboard space, no comfortable chairs, no common space open in evening

    Friendly and personal staff

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was fair for the price we paid but we definetely were please with the attention the owner gave us. Breakfast was fresh and very good. I loved the fact that owner was always ensuring we had all we need.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    No hot water in the shower.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not easy to get to by bus.

    Quiet area and convenient for Paleis Het Loo

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host was very friendly, the breakfast (which was included in the room price) was excellent, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic, rather aged facilities

    Great location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The front dest clerk should look at his Booking.com website more frequently.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all was exellent

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could have been improved it was a bit stale on days

    I found the walk to Town and the Palace a decent distance and a nice truely Dutch place.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Hotel Berg en Bos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: