Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Graaf Bernstorff 4 stars

Reeweg 1, 9166 PW Schiermonnikoog, Netherlands

#4 of 12 hotels in Schiermonnikoog

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1618 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Brand new, IKEA-furnished convenient apartment. Great base for discovering island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The window for the bedroom didn't open and only had an aeration grill. I was sorry about this because fresh air was the reason of my trip. In the living room area there are only net curtains so that means when dark outside and the lights on inside , you have a feeling you could be overlooked (there are no direct neighbours though, but still, someone could walk around the back). You have to be really careful when showering not to turn on the big rain shower accidentally when you aren't intending on getting your head wet ;-) a side effect of the shower being wheelchair accessible is that all of the floor gets wet (this would only be issue on ground floor).

    It is located a little distance from the main hotel where you have breakfast. My room seemed fully wheelchair accessible with a shower chair and lavatory railings and a ramp to the terrace. There is a Spar supermarket nearby. Super little kitchenette with stove, extrator fan and fridge. A Nespresso coffee machine. It al was very new and modern. Lovely little sun terrace you can sit on. Nice rain shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the floors are rather cold even in mid summer. Hopefully they are working on floor heating

    Too bad the tv and wifi were unavailable due to general cable out on the entire island

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, clean and comfortable apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was well kitted out, practical and clean and was in a brilliant location. Bicycle hire was about 2 minutes walk, lots of restaurants to choose from and there was even a handy Spar shop over the road. The hotel looked cozy and interesting although we only went in to check in and out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But it completely lacks love for its clientele. I often stay at hotels and it’s the friendliness of the people at the desk and the breakfast room who make or break your stay. When we checked in there was no one at the desk. We had to practically beg for our key in the restaurant. It’s the little things like having to pay extra for cappuccino at breakfast. For a Grand Hotel, it simply doesn’t give you the ‘Grand Feeling’. They are definitely not unkind, but it feels like the guests are ‘too much work’. It probably is a hotel better suited for winter, because the very loud noise from people at the terraces outside and the local disco went on till long after 4 AM.

    It’s a beautiful hotel. Everything is gorgeous and the rooms are clean and the cleaning people are adorable and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location in the center and a nice view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if there was a little fridge in the room for the price.

    Great location in the center and a nice view from the balcony. The room was a great size. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    The staffs are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So i booked a standard twin room WITH BATH. There was no receptionist when i checked in. I got the room key from the staff of the restaurant and found no bath in the room. The staff is very nice and i think he upgraded me to a deluxe twin room with bath. But guess what, the bath doesnt work. How could i fill in this hole on the side, even if i ignore how gross it is? And i booked that because i saw comments about how good the bathroom in standard room is! So is it only me who got a bathroom with leaking tub or what? Oh and the water was so little that I had to stand very close to the shower head, basically touching the wall. All the furnitures are very nice but very very old. The whole hotel just needs a whole makeover.

    The staffs are very nice. Location impeccable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for a small family. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was in and out. Not a problem for us, but it might have been if we had been planning to work remotely during the trip.

    We had a 2-bedroom "family apartment," which was perfect and exceeded expectations for our family of two adults and two kids ages 5 and 8. The place was spacious and very private, with a full kitchen that we used frequently. The location was perfect for renting bikes and exploring Schiermonnikoog, which we loved.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    we do not recommend this hotel which does not match up to its 4 star expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reserved a two room apartment in a four star hotel, for extremely high price (Euro 470/2 nights without breakfast!) but were not satisfied with what we got. The location of the hotel was excellent but the two rooms of the apartment we stayed in were very small, one with a very narrow bed, the other one with very small bunk beds. The apartment was not cleaned, towels not changed during our stay and the equipment was basic. The terrace furniture was also rusty and the television outdated of very poor quality. While we asked for a check out at 12pm we were told that normal check out time is at 10am and that we could check out later but that would cost an additional 10 Euro/hour. This is definitively an over rated hotel which offers very poor value at a very high price.

    The location of the hotel and the organised bus transfer from the harbor were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay and would recommend hotel/apartment and the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking the apartment, please be aware you will need to pay for fresh towels as these were not included in the price.

    Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    For what we needed on the holiday, the hotel did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was not good in the restaurant and the one meal we did have there, we think it could have been better. The dishwasher in the apartment needed some TLC - perhaps salt etc and a good clean!

    The apartment was cozy, clean and attractive and equipped with all we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Great stay at Schiermonikoog
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Bit old fashioned reception with 1 employee only - quite long lines on arrival and check-out (as everybody needs to stick to the ferry table) -One of shampoo bottles was empty, cleaning shall be improved -No info about wi-fi on arrival

    +Free bike rental voucher you get with your booking +Free shuttle from harbour to hotel +Bike parking in front of hotel +Perfect location in town centre with plenty of good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    We had big apartment with fully equipped kitchen, living...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had big apartment with fully equipped kitchen, living room, bedroom and balcony. Hotel in the center of village. Breakfast was great. Free shuttle from/to the port.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel on Schiermonnikoog
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk is not 24h available, in the room was no hairdryer and the staff could not provide us with one, hotel's Wi-Fi not available in all rooms (available in the Restaurant and several rooms).

    Tasty desserts/meals/breakfast, shuttle to/from the ferry, central located in the village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Once more, we experienced a true 'eilandgevoel'. (Google 'Eilandgevoel Schiermonnikoog'.)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) Poffertjes (Dutch mini pancakes) were not freshly made, but heated up from a previous life. After complaining, no fresh poffertjes were offered. (2) At the buffet breakfast fresh tomatoes, rucola lettuce, and cumber were offered (very much appreciated!) but no (olive) oil. Upon our request, the serving lady very helpfully promised to bring it to our table (very positive!) but alas, alas, she returned with the message that no olive oil could be found on the premises. (3) Toilet of restaurant far away in basement.

    (1) Taste and looks of the food served at dinner. (2) The small conversations we had with the serving people. (3) The authentic Bernstorff furniture, also in bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant old style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi couldnot be used in room even at reception and in library kept dropping out Id rather tney said no wifi so I could have planned ahead, secure cycle parking is deemed the bike rack outside the hotel which is a concern if you have an expensive touring bike, the hall ways stank of dirty mops / old disinfectant

    Old style hotel with balcony and plenty of room, comfortable bed, great breakfast, our room was at side of hotel so reasonably quiet after 10pm when children where no longer playing in bandstand, bath in bathroom was nice but quite deep to get into to have a shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    A top location with everything around the corner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The appartment is very spacy and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Apartment spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and food in general nothing special.

    Apartment spacious. Rooms quite small. Location good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortabel weekend
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dat we lekker in het centrum zaten

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Just nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in our room, no lounging area, yucky coffee at breakfast.

    Great location, beautiful building, nice breakfast buffet (included in room rate)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice breakfast and restaurant is worth visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little spartan. Although the bathroom was nice.

    Nice breakfast and restaurant is worth visiting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    lot's of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lot's of space. Good value for money. Great central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Perfect weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of noisy children.

    Perfect location. Lovely apartment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast, restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds , bathroom outdated

    Breakfast, restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay in a beautiful apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and comfortable apartment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Great family vacation with fabulous weather helping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very complete inventory in apartment and kitchen, supermarket 30 meters away, very efficient bike rentals and beautiful beachs and bike paths

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Written English menus instructions etc staff need cliet relations managements but polite otherwise

    suite size was fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    The best!! Also for diner!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    New boxspring with nice claen white linnen, room was excellent and bathroom big! With a balcony and 4 double windows a beautifull light room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Fijne break
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bereik WiFi

    Ligging, rust en service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.8
    Superb location, no real hospitality feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is a superb location on the most beautiful island of The Netherlands. Hotel is OK, but not great. Did not encounter true hospitality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals itself weren't that good.

    Very good breakfast. great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.3
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated excellently in the centre of the village. Free bustransport from the ferry. Nice breakfast, good room (no 1).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant stay on this fantastic island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant stay on this fantastic island.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.6
    We loved the hospitality and the location, at the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The mattresses were a bit too hard for us, but the rest was perfect.

    We loved the hospitality and the location, at the heart of the town. We were especially impressed with the excellent service the hotel gave: we had left our car keys in the apartment and we were already on the ferry on our way to the continent. We called the hotel and they arranged to have the keys brought to us on the next ferry. Fabulous! We'll definitely come back another time.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location, quiet, nice breakfast, exceptional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Roomtemperature was 21 celsius and it did not seem possible to put it lower. But staff made a note of this when we told this when leaving and assured us they would sort it out.

    Beautiful location, quiet, nice breakfast, exceptional library (!), we really felt at home.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.8
    The apartment (#23) suprised us with its large living room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. The first time, the coffee from a large old-fasioned heater tasted old and the scrambled eggs were less than lukewarm, even after the not-so-willing staff had tried warming them up. The second time, we were told freshly made cappuccino would cost extra. That was a first in my life in any hotel anywhere! The information about the room as seen through booking.com was incomplete. As an apartment, it came without room service. No problem, but nice to know in advance! Also information on how to get to the hotel from the ferry, easy as it is in practice, was not available through the Booking.com website: The hotel had its own shuttle bus.

    The apartment (#23) suprised us with its large living room and kitchen, nice bathroom with tub, too. Perfect location in the heart of town.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    Everything, the complete setting was fabulous, people were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe the fact that I do not like children running and yelling on the isle and we were located close to a family apartment.But that is really not something you can blame the hotel for...

    Everything, the complete setting was fabulous, people were friendly, helpful and professional, room was very good, food was perfect. Will come back!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    Location is great, right in the village, right across of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is great, right in the village, right across of the supermarket and close to all the nice bars and restaurants that Schier has to offer. Spacious apartments, well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    The room was spacious two lovely balconies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bad points were the shuttle bus from the harbor to the hotel was crowded, the bubbles in the bath tub never worked and the dinner was not good enough. Small things but maybe the personal hotel can fixed for the next guests.

    The room was spacious two lovely balconies. The location was great and great relationship price-quality

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    good location in the centre of the village: restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    weak instant coffee at breakfast (though cappuccino, etc available on demand)

    good location in the centre of the village: restaurants, bike hire, supermarket nearby; friendly staff; large rooms (with roof terrace!); free shuttle from/to ferry; jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    The appartment was spacious and we would see the sea from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One of the bedside lights did not work and the fan in the kitchen being centrally regulated was humming most of the time

    The appartment was spacious and we would see the sea from the living room. . I also liked that they provided some amenities for the kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice looking hotel - best one on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We ate in the restaurant - I am a vegetarian - the menu was limited. I didn't ask for anything special so maybe more was available.

    Nice looking hotel - best one on the island. Relaxed and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    Central location, close to shops and restaurants, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The appartment can get a bit noisy if there are events in the hotel / area downstairs. There were no double-beds, only two single beds put together, but very comfortable and clean.

    Central location, close to shops and restaurants, spacious appartment that easily accomodated a family of 4 adults + toddler

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    Cute old fashioned hotel with big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check-out at 10, no late check-out possible. Bag pick-up promised, however bus driver did not want to take it. Overpriced. Breakfast closed at 10 and unfriendly service.

    Cute old fashioned hotel with big room.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    The spaciousness of rooms plus breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Did not change bedding or provide clean towels because it was an apartment. When it was booked nothing was mentioned about this.

    The spaciousness of rooms plus breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful staff, great breakfast, superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing of note, really...

    Very helpful staff, great breakfast, superb location

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite expensive for only bed and breakfast

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Unique peaceful tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unique peaceful tranquil

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.5
    The place off the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room above the kitchen

    The place off the hotel The sun

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Ideally located in the centre of town near all main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ideally located in the centre of town near all main facilities - bike hire, supermarket, cafes, etc...

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.9
    Centrale ligging, goede keuken/restaurant met gezellig...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Basic appartement met goede bedden.

    Centrale ligging, goede keuken/restaurant met gezellig terras.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.1
    Good size and well equiped appartment in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor sound proofing between rooms/ appartments.

    Good size and well equiped appartment in a central location

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.6
    Excellent friendly service and fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent friendly service and fantastic breakfast. Staff could not have been better or more helpful to international visitors.

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: