Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bickersbed

Schiemanstraat 1, Amsterdam City Centre, 1013 MJ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#87 of 250 B&Bs and Inns in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Recommend from all my heart (:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great great location close to the beautifull yordan neighborhood and away from the hassle of the center. Walking distance from the canals and the center. Two rooms made it very convinient. And even the stairs were not that hard. Maria was so nice and gave us maps and lots of important information about our surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    The only disadvantage was that when we got to the room, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disadvantage was that when we got to the room, we were told that we would have to share the kitchen, which was not inside the room, but in the hall, something that is not mentioned at all on the site! Of course no discount was made....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Maria was very helpful and kind she also gave some tips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria was very helpful and kind she also gave some tips about Amsterdam. The flat was really comfortable amd nice. Felt like home! It was well equipped and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Great for business or leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    It's a great little apartment in the center. This is the second time I've stayed there, and I absolutely love it because there is a grocery store, easy transportation, and lots of things within walking distance. Maria is fantastic and I would easily stay there a third time without hesitation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Maria was so helpful and kind, the apartment was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer was a little bit old, and it looked like it can burn down anytime so I dryed my hair very carefully. But besides everytging was perfect

    Maria was so helpful and kind, the apartment was clean and cozy, nice, warm and so sweet. We had everything what we need, and first of all it was so close to the center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.3
    Ok but very disappointing based on the reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oops have put this in the "what did we like" section.

    Not a lot to like apart from the fairly reasonable price and the flexibly of having a kitchen. We were hugely disappointed to discover that the view out of both windows was a blank brick wall to way above eye height, and that the decor was 'tired'. The double bed was two singles pushed together with separate single duvets...none the less the beds were very comfortable. Great budget accommodation but definitely NOT a romantic place to stay....it's ideally just a base for those just wanting to sleep somewhere. The kitchen unit was useful however. I should have read the rave reviews more carefully and/or gone to Specsavers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    3.8
    Living with rent free mice... No concern or care by owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lived with mice caught video footage showed owner she said would put trap down and never did I then complained to booking.com we wasn't even refunded part payment and the walk to centre was much further than expected... I would not reccomend for anyone

    The space

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Will defo comeback here when we’ll have another week end in amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing bad

    The owner of the place, Maria, been really helpful and welcoming when we arrived. Explained to us the city with the map for ours stay. The room/flat/studio is absolutely romantic, well kept and clean. And the position a spot on. With a supermarket 2 mins walk. Bus and tram at 2 mins walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    We were very pleased with our choice of accommodation in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback is the location of very busy railway tracks immediately beside the building...may be an issue if you are a light sleeper! There are only a few short hours in the middle of the night when the trains are not running by your window.

    The hostess was very friendly and provided all the info we needed for a great stay in her studio rooms. It was VERY handy to local transit and the apartment had everything we needed for our 4 night stay in Amsterdam. The building was SO quiet inside; we never once heard any of our neighbours.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly welcome and well-equipped apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit too narrow and soft for us. The apartment is just behind the train track so you need to bring ear plugs, if you are sensitive to noise.

    René, Maria's friend, welcomed us warmly and was very friendly. He also gave us a lot of tourist information. The apartment is close to a big supermarket with fresh bread (for breakfast), some good local restaurants (a great Vietnamese restaurant!) and also to the bus stop to go to museums etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful. We’ll be back for sure. Thanks Maria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Maria was super nice and informative about the areas to visit and recommendations. We had the upper room which was amazing. Nice Furniture and very comfortable. We really enjoyed staying in Bickersbed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Great location. Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a coffee machine in the kitchen and it's very close to a lovely little bench by the canal where you can just sit and relax. It's walking distance to centraal but if you feel like using the tram there's a stop about 100m away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    This property is about 20 minutes walk from Dam Square which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is about 20 minutes walk from Dam Square which is a good thing in my view. The city centre is very busy and I much preferred the area around Bickersbed which has a variety of quirky shops, bars and restaurants .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    This was the perfect accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    The studio is very nice, cozy and well-equipped. It is situated at a walking distance to the center and also close to the Central Station. Even though it is located near the railroad, you almost don't hear the train. The hosts are very friendly and have told us about Amsterdam's attractions. We couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice well furnished and equiped apartment very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small visitor that loved our bread!😉 The double bad has 2 separate single duvets and should have a double duvet to feel more comfortable

    Good location, Nice large space well decorated with nice mini kitchen. Clean with all the necessary amenities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Perfect short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Maria was a fabulous host and the apartment was lovely, just what we were after. Lots of bars and cafes nearby: everything within walking distance, but public transport nearby if you prefer!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.2
    Very nice apartment, close to main station and Jordaan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was quiet for the city (you could hear only the trains) and the studio was very big and nicely furnitured. The supermarket was very close by. We had a wonderful time!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely little apartment for exploring all of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite close to the railway lines, but you stop paying attention to the trains quite quickly and they aren't loud.

    Fantastic location. Great bakeries nearby for brunch. Closeby supermarket. 'Studio' undersells this place - definitely more of an apartment. Even has a little sitting room!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    A perfect break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maria waited up for us when we were delayed and when we arrived she provided us with lots of local info. We were in the top apartment, all open plan, very simple but it had everything we needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Location, size of the apartment, and the host.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the beds is small and the stairs is to small and too high.

    Location, size of the apartment, and the host.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location. Apartment was a great size. Amenities were great. Check in easy. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Washing machine was a nice surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Location was fab

    Washing machine was a nice surprise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Short vacation with Girlfriend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Accomodation was very nice, clean and close to city center (ca. 15 minutes of walk)! Tram stop is just behind the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great place, really clean and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, really clean and well located. Very friendly and helpful host

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    great location very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to railroad so a bit noisy

    great location very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place and staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit too expensive and there is a train that runs all night right next to the property, very noisy

    Lovely place and staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.2
    The beds were kind of small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were kind of small.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thank you Maria for your help, we were very happy to stay there. perfect location, clean and cosy. Perfect for a couple

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.7
    Clean and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like the heating wasn't working. Also, not for light sleepers since it's located under the tram.

    Clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.0
    Near to central AMSTERDAM
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very comfortable accomadation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    We loved the room, it was so spacious and had everything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about Bickersbed, I don't think it could have been any better.

    We loved the room, it was so spacious and had everything we needed as well as a beautiful view. It was very comfortable and in a good location. The landlady Maria was so lovely and accommodating. It was perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location- was a long walk to the centre.

    The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the kitchen facilities. The steep stairway was a big surprise but ok.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    We stayed here in March for 5 nights, staff were amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed here in March for 5 nights, staff were amazing very helpful with everything! The apartment was brilliant! Everything we needed! Only 10 mins walk to damrak! Would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    The owner was really helpful, pointing out places to visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An oven would have been a good extra to the kitchen.

    The owner was really helpful, pointing out places to visit on the map she provided. The apartment was fantastic. Loads of character, comfy bed, lots of storage and everything was clean. Location was great, 15minute walk from station, tram lines near by, supermarket round the corner.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.6
    We loved the location, only a 10-15 minute walk to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location, only a 10-15 minute walk to the main part of Amsterdam but the walk along the way was really nice, full of trendy bars, restaurants and shops. The apartment was also really nicely decorated and Maria the owner was really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Maria was a very nice, kind and helpful lady that made us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only small confusing thing that happened is that there was no choice of a single/double bed on the booking website but after emailing Maria we were given the choice.

    Maria was a very nice, kind and helpful lady that made us feel very welcome! Even though the property is right next to the train track, there is very little/no noise that comes through to the studio due to the double glazing. There was a choice of either single beds or a double bed and the place is very close to a bus/tram stop (and a 17 minute walk to Centraal station). Everything was clean and comfortable with really nice furnishings.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    8.8
    The owner was very friendly to us and always ready to assist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower tap is getting old and needs to be replaced soon.

    The owner was very friendly to us and always ready to assist. She's a great host! The location is perfect and serene.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    It was only two stops on transport from the Central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was only two stops on transport from the Central station. When we booked we were sent information in how to get to the property on foot or bus which was amazing. The room was huge for just the two of us. A plus to be able to have kitchen in the room.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    The apartment is well equipped with good use of space.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not really bad, but the building is very close to the railway line, so there is some noise, although the double glazing is very effective

    The apartment is well equipped with good use of space. Location on the edge of the central part of the city is ideal.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.6
    Excellent apartment for our four day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent apartment for our four day stay. A real home from home. Away from the noise of the very centre, but still close enough to comfortably walk to the station.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.1
    Location from central station, nearby supermarket, maria...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stairs were narrow and no light on top, light automatically gets on as you get about half way when going down, it is health and safety hazard particularly for old people.

    Location from central station, nearby supermarket, maria explains things well, i was alone but i think it is good for couple, as she has a small kitchen, fridge, etc. I did not do much cooking but good for relaxing in the evenings to have bit of space other than bedroom. Area is quiet enough,

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    The studio flat was very big and had great light from all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The property was about a 20mins walk from the station.

    The studio flat was very big and had great light from all the sky lights!The lady in charge of the of the flat (Maria) was so helpful and informed us of all of the things we would need to know to make our trip enjoyable!:)great little place and well worth staying here!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Maria gave us a lot of information on our arrival and we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maria gave us a lot of information on our arrival and we had a fantastic time in amsterdam. The location of the apartment was fantastic and quiet. Plenty of space in the rooms and great facilities

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.6
    The apartment is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are very steep, windy stairs. They were not a problem for us, but may be an issue for some people.

    The apartment is great!! Really cute layout and quite spacious. The price is reasonable for Amsterdam. Very clean. The location is fine for walkers (a bit of a ways to some of the sights, but a lovely walk) and close to trams. Host was friendly and provided maps, etc in the apartment.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The apartment was beautiful and more spacious than expected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment was beautiful and more spacious than expected from the photos. It had everything we needed for a four night stay and was very comfortable. We didn't meet the owner, but her daughter and neighbours were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    The apartment itself was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A long mirror would be good

    The apartment itself was lovely! Spacious and everything we needed. Maria was also very friendly & welcoming & even showed us places to visit on the map!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The train rail is very close to the house so trains pas

    Everything. The place is fabulous, the host is very nice and the location is perfect close to the tram and bus.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only bad part was the train is right next to the building but you dont notice with the windows closed. We kept the windows opened and ended up liking the sound of the train.

    We really enjoyed our stay here. It is about a 15 minute walk to the city center and about 15 minutes or less to the central train station. Maria was awesome. She met us at 11am for an early check in. We decided to rent bikes and she came out to meet with me and give me the bikes to rent. The location is in a very nice area with cool restaurants and shops. The grocery store is right around the corner and the kitchen was fully stocked to cook meals. Beware that the grocery stores only take cash or maestro cards (which are cards we don't have in the states ). We had the attic room which was fun.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    10
    We arrived early and it was our fault that we did not inform...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived early and it was our fault that we did not inform Maria beforehand since we hadn't checked our email in days, she was very accommodating and quickly came to greet us after I called her. She gave us a thorough explanation about the city and recommended great places to visit (the textiles market on mondays is awesome!). The loft we stayed in was VERY spacious and bright, extremely clean! It has everything; iron, hairdryer, cooking utensils, microwave, kettle, coffee machine, tea, mini fridge, couch, tv, large dining table...etc The location is great too, very close to city centre! The bus stop and a grocery store is right outside. Although it is located right next to the train tracks it was not a problem for us, trains are less frequent at night and it never woke us up or kept us up (this is coming from someone who is a very light sleeper). Maria is very kind and welcoming, we accidentally broke a mirror in the loft but she was nice about it and did not give us a hard time.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    Very spacious for 2 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One night the wifi was totally not working and we can have no one to ask as it was quite late. This is the disadvantage of a guesthouse vs a hotel.

    Very spacious for 2 people. Good facility for even cooking within the studio. Close to the public transport (tram and bus) and a supermarket is just 2 mins walk. Not a hotel but a guesthouse so kind of limited access to help but the host is very friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't a problem for us but for others,just to say the stairs up to the apartment are narrow and steep.

    Everything. The apartment lay out, the facilities, the great free wifi connection. The fantastic informative staff, who allow you to store your baggage on check out.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    We loved everything about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this place. The location is perfect for getting around. Our studio had a great bathroom and fantastic bed to sleep on. Maria was very helpful in explaining the surroundings, and the wifii was excellent. While it was near the train tracks, you could barely hear the trains going by. We'd definitely book here again.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Was so nice and cosy, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was so nice and cosy, great location!

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    7.5
    Great deal for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't prefer the location, it was a little cold and not very comfortable.

    Great deal for the money

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    was great lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    was great lovely place to stay

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.9
    Very spacious loft with good lighting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staircase was too steep to carry heavy bags

    Very spacious loft with good lighting

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Nice place for stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For those Who doesnt like noise could be a little bit annoying

    Nice place for stay. Confortable, and Maria the host is really friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.2
    Melinda's approach to show things around in home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no daily cleanliness..like hotels.

    Melinda's approach to show things around in home. ..readyness with maps. room..location

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.8
    Not very far from the Central Station, 15 min walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not very far from the Central Station, 15 min walk. Nice neighborhood, close to the supermarket. Maria was very helpful and nice. Great stay.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: