Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Van Ostadestraat 123, Oud Zuid, 1072 SV Amsterdam, Netherlands

#244 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1105 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    7.1
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the items I have noted when looking for hotels in Amsterdam is that it is pricey and shares toilet and shower. Based on comparison with other hotels, I find the price of Bicycle Hotel reasonable for a solo traveler. My room is quite small and the stairs are very steep but good thing is they offer free breakfast. The staffs are also very helpful for questions and assistance.

    The hotel was very near to the train station. It was also very convenient going in and out of the city center and I find it very convenient when roaming around. It also has lots of shops and stores near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and location-would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only issue we had was that we were told there was an issue with the bicycle rental (guessing they ran out of bikes). Slightly defeats the purpose of a "bicycle hotel"...

    Loved the location (not too busy or noisy) but near everything like the markets, shops, cafes and Heineken experience. Room was basic but had all the necessities like towels, a sink, hairdryer, comfortable bed and nicely ventilated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.8
    Safe, clean and cosy accommodation located in a gorgeous neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs can be a bit steep for elderly people. But I think the best thing to do is asking to be in the rooms downstairs instead of being in the fourth floor. :)

    The room is spacious and the toilet and shower (collective) are cleaned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    6.7
    Nice breakfast, nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really really steep stairs. The shower on the top floor creates a buzz that meant we woke whenever someone had a shower on our floor, ie 6am.

    Nice breakfast, nice area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, comfortable for an adult and two children aged 8 and 10, great breakfast. Staff very helpful and stayed very calm and helpful even when I told her my daughter had vomited hugely on the bed and floor! (I cleaned up most of it myself but the residual stench was bad. Excellent pizza place over the road - did not contribute to the vomiting!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    5 days in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could have been a bit cleaner. No cleaning of the room in a 5 day stay.

    Very friendly staff. Great location. Easy to get to all the major attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Had an amazing time here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had an amazing time here! They were lovely and very accomodating to a big group. Would definitely recommend staying here and renting the bikes was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome hotel! Clean rooms, kind people, friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfasts and great location! Only stairs were quite a challenge :D See you soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    8.3
    The staff very kind and helpful, always willing to answer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn’t use the heating system and it doesn’t have written instructions for using it

    The staff very kind and helpful, always willing to answer all my doubts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.5
    Good for us:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s Amsterdam. All houses are small. Rooms small too:) but it’s okay especially when you walk around all day and spend in a hotel only nights:)

    Really loved the stuff who were super polite and nice. Great room for this money and location. Quite and nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.0
    Avoid if the temperature is over 25 degrees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Street facing Room was like a sauna , fan was offered after 3 hot days, no privacy with windows open , but must open to make room bearable to stay in, 2 single beds were very uncomfortable and mattress kept moving

    Good location, breakfast simple but filling, staff wonderful and welcoming, always willing to assist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay. The staff were kind and the location was convinient. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I knew this before hand but the stairs were very steep with no elevator. I only had carry-on size luggage so it was fine for me, but this isn’t your hotel if you have luggage that can’t be carried with one hand.

    Not only our room, but the hotel itself - the washrooms, the lobby, everything - was very clean! The location is very close to several tram stations, one of which goes to the center of the city. There are also nice restaurants, supermarkets, and a small park nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs are steep so not for anyone with mobility problems. Rooms are quite small but it is a budget hotel! No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Only one tv channel in English as far as we could tell.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Nice quiet road but 2 mins walk to tram stop. Great area with many facilities/ shops/bars/restaurants. Enjoyable breakfast. Modern bathroom. Computer and printer available for ticket print off etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    Such a great place to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Such a great place to stay in Amsterdam. The location was awesome, the staff terrific (so friendly and easy going, all of them), the bed comfy and the breakfast good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    5.4
    The cheapest single room in Amsterdam, but still a rip off
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is overpriced, but all Amsterdam is. This was the cheapest single room I could find, and it was 80 euros per night. In a 'normal' city you would pay at least half for what it offers: small room, shared (and not always clean) bathroom, wifi with very, very poor signal even in the first floor... So to summarize, expect to obtain the services you would get if you had paid 30 euros in a 'normal' city. But this is Amsterdam, and everything is a rip off, so they just take advantage of this to charge 80 euros for something which is quite similar to a youth hostel stay. It's not a criticism to the accommodation itself but to the whole system that allows these unfair and unreasonable prices.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite good. Location is convenient, in a quiet area and very close to the tram station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    6.7
    I thought the breakfast was lovely, and the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was pretty depressing. I know it’s a budget hostel but it was still €100 a night.

    I thought the breakfast was lovely, and the garden. It’s clean, but extremely basic. There’s definitely a way to maintain charm in a building like that, but they haven’t quite harnessed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient for us, without being in the noisy city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient for us, without being in the noisy city centre. The hotel was good value, our room was an en suite with a lovely shower room and a basic room. This is a good combination!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dutch stairs (quite steep) which are a perfect introduction to Dutch living, but not very pleasant, especially with the luggage.

    Very clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, close to tram no.24 (3 min walk) and easy to reach the attractions, great restaurants near-by. Also appreciate that the room was warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.8
    Well located older hotel close to tram.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single room is poky and narrow and stairs are extremely steep for those with limited mobility. However the accommodation was satisfactory.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, good WiFi, close to No 24 Tram which services all tourist points and Central Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location near city center but still in quiet place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Small rooms, but it does not matter if You are all day out :-)

    Perfect location near city center but still in quiet place, helpfull and friendly staff (they all are amazing), rich breakfast :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    Solo traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Love the place the staff the location. The place is just perfect. It's very cozy. My room was so nice i think if i will come back i will request the same room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    very enjoyable, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    recycling facility in house, but appreciate this would have been for my glass/plastic/paper/tins not theirs as they are very environmentally friendly

    comfy bed, friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.1
    I will never stay there again nor recommend it to anyone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was inconsistent before you check-in and when you were actually there checking in. They said I need to change my room after one night when I was at the hotel to check in. I was staying there for two nights so I couldn’t unpack my stuff and relax. If this were to happen, they should’ve not taken the booking in the first place. Moreover, they charge 4% extra because I wanted pay with credit card. I don’t think this was explicitly mentioned. Breakfast only starts at 8AM which can be too late for certain occasions. Lastly, the pillows are extremly high so that I had to take out the extra blanket in the closet and fold it for my head. I couldn’t sleep well for two nights of staying there. Also, it is an old Amsterdam building where you hear everything that happens on the same floor. Some guests were coming late and showering which didn’t help.

    The bed was comfortable and the facilities were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    A great place for culture hunters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lots of interesting things to do and great restaurants within walking distance, we don't usually spend much time in the actual hotels themselves and it was an ideal base for seeing as much of the city as possible. Very relaxed and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.5
    Basic, no frills room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs were too narrow and can be risky if you have big luggage.

    It was close to the tram stops and main attractions, especially night life around De Pijp. The staffs were friendly as well. The room was small and clean. It had a sink, which was convenient. Toilet was clean as well. For a basic room, the price for a night is slightly pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Great location, clean and lovely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike. Although 4 flights of stairs were a bit of a challenge after a full days sight seeing 😀

    Great hotel, uexpected hearty breakfast included. Lovely quiet location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.9
    A bit small, but overall a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stairs were narrow and steep. Rooms a bit small and sound travelled pretty well; but expected in a property this old.

    Breakfast was really nice and the staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Nice&cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was friendly, the location was great, it had a nice vibe and it really made you feel very welcomed in the heart of Amsterdam. Even tho' the bathroom was small, it was really modern and well equiped. The breakfast was also good and eating in their breakfast room was a great way to start your day. We were very pleased with our choice and will recommend The Bicycle Hotel with great joy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All stairs in Amsterdam are very steep. More guidance for tourist visits would be good e.g. how to get tickets for Anne Frank museum.

    Excellent Breakfast. The staff are excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel offers a generous and delicious breakfast, it is...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel offers a generous and delicious breakfast, it is also close to a lot of important tourist attractions by foot and the staff are kind people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. 2 mins from the tram station from which you can reach easily the centrum and the most important sightseeing’s of Amsterdam. The rooms were good. Breakfast was very good. Staff and the owner, were very kind and helpful with whatever we needed. Special thanks for this!!! Definitely I recommend staying in this place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    10
    Lovely place and nice stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Bicycle Hotel. To my mind, the location (Pijp neighbourhood) and the bicycle rental service are really important. Plus, staff members are really kind and helpful. Our room was lovely and clean. We would like to specially thank Tijm (not sure about the writing) for his kindness and willingness. My boyfriend and I both work in the hospitality industry and we were pleased to find values that we share with the Bicycle Hotel staff members. We'll definitely come back ;)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect choice when you just need somewhere to sleep and have breakfast, affordable and clean.
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Amsterdam-famous stairs (narrow, high, winded up) are hard to climb with a larger suitcase. But this is "normal" in Amsterdam. Some rooms & toilet & shower have old equipment, but at least they are clean.

    The rooms are very clean, breakfast is "self service", the staff is kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    6.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff, decent breakfast, clean...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms very small with old furnishing. No lift to 4th floor.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, decent breakfast, clean rooms, good location near restaurants and city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    Awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that I had so little time there. I wish I could stay longer.

    It’s hard to find something in Amsterdam for New Year. The hotel was a perfect balance of price and quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.9
    Definitely budget, but comfortable anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with most budget accommodations in Europe, the "double bed" we booked was two single beds pushed together. This resulted in what we called "The Grand Canyon" appearing every night and swallowing either my partner or myself. We also definitely were not a fan of the four flights of very steep, windy stairs that we had to carry our bags up and down!

    The breakfast was beautifully presented every morning and every table had its own toaster, which was a cute bonus. I really loved the location of this hotel and its "local" feel in the area. The coffeeshops / restaurants nearby are great! The bicycle rental here is also super cheap, but we didn't make use of it due to the brevity of our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    A very organized, clean and safe hostel with a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel was very organized, clean and cozy, including the bedroom, bedsheets, towels, toilets and bathroom. The staff is just amazing, the girls at the reception are very friendly and kind. The breakfast is good and, as a woman traveling alone, I feel very safe. The place is not so close to the central area, but is quite near Museumplein, where you can find a lot of attractions and nice places to eat and hangout. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    5.8
    You get what you paid for. Good enough for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed sheet was old and had hair on it. Heating in room worked during the day, but stopped at night for no reason. Shower in the first two days had hot water on and off every seconds. So water coming out were warm/hot, changing all the time. the 3rd day, hot water was good again. Additional charge if you pay by credit card. Very steep stair if you have heavy luggage.

    The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The guy helped me moving up the heater 2 floors up because the one in room did not work at night. You might see different staff everyday, but they are all very nice and friendly. There was a small balcony despite the small size of the single room. Breakfast was good for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    5.4
    Good location, disappointed in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't clean, loads of hairs on sheets and room wasn't clean in general. Also booked a double room and ended up with a room with two single beds which uncomfortably pushed together for stay which was not ideal considering paid for double and didn't look much like any of the pictures of rooms on the website. Definitely had a hostel feel rather than hotel.

    Great location, good breakfast and nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Would return anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being on the 4th floor had its benefits of a nice courtyard view...but, as already mentioned the stairs are a rare treat/horror to the knees...other than that, nothing to dislike.

    Lovely peaceful area. Nice area to stay, with lots to do and public transport practically on the doorstep. Superb start to the morning, with the breakfast variety. Very friendly, welcoming staff. With the added bonus, of being able to leave our bags, till later on, after check-out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    Lovely little hotel in a quiet part of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very steep stairs to get up to the rooms. Not a big deal but would be a challenge for elderly folks or if you had a large suitcase.

    Friendly helpful staff gave me a discount for the first night of my stay which I missed due to a late flight. Walking distance to the RAI exhibition hall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.9
    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast included different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was at the 4th floor in the hotel, there wasn’t an elevator so we had to take our luggage up ourselves. I found this dangerous because we weren’t used to do such a steep stairs.

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast included different choices (yoghurt, eggs, bread,...).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    6.7
    The apartment was larger and had a small kitchen area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator! Two extremely steep and narrow stairways with 90 degree turns made it very difficult for my wife to get into our first room. They did move us across the street to an apartment that still had one stairway just as steep, narrow, and turns. I would not recommend this property to anyone with mobility issues.

    Not to far a walk to the attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs where steep but wasn't a problem for me and my partner

    The hotel was clean, great location, good breakfast, quiet, nice friendly staff, you can hire bikes from the hotel which is easy, convienent and cheap we had a lovely time and would come back in a heartbeat thankyou for a lovely stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    8.3
    This is a decent and clean budget accommodation, located in...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The stairs, OMG the stairs, the stairs. It wouldn't be an exaggeration to call them ladders rather than stairs. I guess the entire central Amsterdam has stairs such as the ones in the hotel.

    This is a decent and clean budget accommodation, located in an an excellent part of Amsterdam. What I appreciated the most is the wonderful and very attentive staff and owner. We were a group of eight travelers that came to run the Marathon and we needed to have an early breakfast on Sunday morning we had to have breakfast before 6:00. The hotel staff and owner left us the kitchen key and left us detailed instruction on where to find breakfast items including a very warm note in which they wished us good luck. Some of us didn't eat pork so they owner made arrangements to get us some turkey and chicken items. Unfortunately this was mentioned to us on our last day and after the breakfast over, but we still appreciated the gesture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent base to explore Amsterdam with relaxed young feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the bedroom was a little tired in its decor, but beds v comfortable.

    Lovely friendly, , calm and pleasant staff, spotlessly clean everywhere, good location, quiet and respectful residents, quiet location easy to access by public transport. Bikes available at the hotel. Beautiful old Amsterdam townhouse with some original features, including the near vertical stair cases, all 4 of them up to the top floor!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain about

    It was a really pleasant stay. The location was great, near the tram station, the room was comfortable. We shared the bathroom and shower but it wasn't a problem cause they were right next to our room and I never had to wait to use them. They were both pretty clean. We had 2 towels per person and if we put them outside the door they would bring new ones for us. Breakfast was served from 8:00 to 11:00, it was tasty with different food to choose from. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a late flight so they let us leave the luggages at the reception, they also let us stay there for a little bit to charge our phones when we went to pick up the luggages. Definitely would stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    7.5
    Since we were travelling by bicycle the name of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we were travelling by bicycle the name of the hotel was the first thing that attracted us. The owner met us outside and greeted us warmly. This warmth and friendliness was also present in all staff we encountered. While our room was small it was comfortable and quite adequate for our needs. As mentioned by others, the stairs are incredibly steep and a bit tricky to get up and down. Given that this is a typical old building for the area the stairs are normal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Too good to be a one star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was top-notch for a one star hotel! :)

    We were situated at the opposite side of Bicycle Hotel, which was a surprise at first as we did not think that we were going to stay in an apartment. However when we got to stay in it, it was the best decision that the Hotel staff could do for us! The bed was very comfortable, never been somewhere where I could adjust my bed in recliner position. The breakfast wasn't so bad, decent. I could suggest to include croissants and more selection of cheeses and bread. Otherwise, fantastic! The hotel is also very close to the city center and the supermarket is quite close as well, just two blocks away. The tram is very easy to catch to the city center too. The hotel is just so convenient and located in a quiet place despite having a few bars just up the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    5.4
    Nice location, pretty poor conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been more nutritive... no greens at all, poor coffee,90% starch and sweet things. One morning, the milk in the jug was expired, having a soured aftertaste. The other day, the egg boiler was malfunctioning. They did not emptied the waste bin during a tree nights stay... No towel change. The shared bathroom could have been cleaner. The stairs are so steep that it is almost Impossible to climb or get to the ground floor with a luggage. One should consider a backpack instead. The staff is not responding to mails after your departure. In forgot things in the room and I tried to write them about the fact.They did not answer at all up to this day (2 weeks later)

    Easy enough to reach from the airport, Nice rooms, nice breakfast room, quiet street, close to Cuyp market

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    7.5
    A great value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the best place if you want to hang out with other travelers but I would recommend in general.

    A great value for the money, rooms were ok, I never had to wait for the shower or washroom, good breakfast and the staff was really helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    7.1
    I really enjoyed Bicycle Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing that can be changed in the short period (narrow and steep stairs for big feet like mine)

    Beds rather comfortable. Helpful and polite staff. Breakfast quite decent. I would come back, no doubt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    6.3
    Not so good price for that much small room.But you have a great breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs are very steep and narrow.We were at the 4th floor. For us it was really hard to go up. The room was not for two people.It was small even for one person.So we were cramped . We booked two separate beds.But we had like one double bad because there were no space so they put the two separate beds together!!

    Breakfast was amazing for us. Floors, beds are clean. Location is not so close to dam square. You can use public transports or walk (30 mins ). But we are glad to stay this location because we have seen the real people of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.1
    Quirky and lovely and I will come back. Love the area that feels more authentic. Great cafes nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My single room was too small but thankfully it had a balcony over the garden

    Surprisingly I liked the communal feel but then I was sharing a bathroom. The breakfast room felt less formal than the stuffy 4 star hotel I had been to 2 days before. The staff were very nice and very helpful I really liked the way they thought out the breakfast e.g. Boil your own eggs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    8.8
    Would Stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was 5 months pregnant so the 5 skinny flights of stairs were hard without an elevator- but not terrible, and, completely expected in Amsterdam.

    Amsterdam is generally a pricey city- so this hotel was the perfect solution for budget travelers! We had our own comfortable room with a lovely view. My favorite part was breakfast- it was simple but hearty. And hot cappucinos every morning! Staff were super helpful and kind, who went out of their way to give us suggestions and directions. The location isn't central but is itself a good destination! plenty of shops/restaurants right there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    8.3
    I would stay here again with a light luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs are ancient and feels like we were going up the mountain, as it is steep and carrying heavy luggage was not the best idea so pack light! I had to walk sideways so that I wouldn't fall but as long as I was slow it was fine. I would stay here again but be careful with the hot shower as the steam causes the fire alarm to go off!! It happen twice while we were there. The location was away from the center and using public transportation was fine. The center is pretty busy so it was nice to be away from it.

    The four bed room was clean and comfortable. bathroom was clean and eco friendly as the lights are automatic. The breakfast was basic but very good. Internet worked well- we were on the second floor. The staff was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I lived in a single room and it was a horrible experience. The room was really smelly, I felt like no one has lived there for ages.

    Only the receptionist

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    8.8
    Exactly as described- perfect for a budget stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect value for money. It is exactly what it says on the tin- a cute suitable hotel with a plentiful breakfast and basic necessities for trip to Amsterdam. Staff were lovely and the room was small but fine for us - we wanted to be out and exploring! The wifi didn't work when we were there but that didn't really bother us and the hotel also provide a computer so you can just book your tickets or look at things and print from there for free. All in all a nice little find!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having too leave and come home again. ;-)

    We like the location. Stayed here 10 times now. Easy access to the city centre via the trams. In the near future a metro is opening too, so you can get further afield around Amsterdam. Massive selection for places to eat. Apparently you can eat any cuisine from around the world all within a few blocks of the hotel. Plenty of local café's/bars. If you spend time in the local area it can be quite a bit cheaper than the city centre too. Also there is a great local market, open six days a week. Hotel is clean. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    8.3
    We had an amazing time in Amsterdam. The hotel was quiet and friendly. Felt a bit like a backpacker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being on the 3rd floor was difficult. Had been told there were stairs but had not realised how steep.

    The location was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Information received prior to stay was a great help in getting from the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    5.0
    The staff especially Gabrielle was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs too steep, not safe especially in emergencies. No proper fire exit and the hotel is made mostly of wood, feels like sleeping in a coffin. Too expensive for the facilities.

    The staff especially Gabrielle was awesome. The cheap bike rentals (8euros/day).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just so that I don't leave this blank, the only negative I can mention is that the Wi-Fi wan't working the night we arrived.

    Very easy to find and easy to get to - direct tram to the city center. But even walking the city center is half an hour and it is quite a pleasant walk. The Albert Cuyp Market is very close and it is awesome. There is a small nice area with good restaurants near the market as well. Amazing place for brunch (Omelegg) just round the corner from the hotel and an amazing place for ice cream on the other corner of the street. The hotel itself was very nice - simple rooms, but very clear and tidy. Very good breakfast included in the price. The staff were awesome, they helped us with everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    9.6
    Nice surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only issue was the Dutch staircase soo narrow and dangerous, just hope you don't have a big luggage or you don't stay on top floor... but ... what can you do, this is typical Amsterdam staircase...no biggie if you don't get too wasted 😂

    Very good neighbourhood, bars, market, restaurants, 24h shop nearby, coffeshops. In the hotel good breakfast (continental style) included, and served from a very attentive man, also receptionist. I think is name was Gerardo( Italian version, but I'm not really sure about his name)... a super star, he really help us with some issues with a great calm and real passion. Also a very sunny, lovely and funny room attendant( a black-African man) over all a great stay. " I'll be back...😂"

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.8
    NIce and cozy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very basic - could have had more electric outlets. Cable TV didn't have any English channels. Bathroom lacking amenities such as soaps, shampoos, etc.

    Nice quiet location - staff was very helpful. Cute and buxom girl working downstairs helped with questions. Neighborhood was away from throngs of tourists. The room was clean and cozy. Breakfast was great - nice coffee machine meats cheeses, and cereals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay at Bicycle Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No one's fault, but a lot of construction on streets right now. I'm sure it will be nice when finished, but not good for pedestrians. Also cars or trucks park on sidewalks, not that there is room elsewhere, but trams, cars and bikes seem to over rule pedestrians.

    Friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, nice location for accessability, quiet room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced for what it offers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs to the higher floor are very steep, the rooms are very small and very simply decorated. It is an old house that was turned into a hotel. Breakfast has no variety.

    Location is very good. Looks like a good hotel for students but not for business traveller.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    8.3
    De pijp stay in a small place with amazing surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's in the best area with cafes, restaurants and the market just next door. The rooms are not too big but have a lavabo, the toilet and shower are shared but it went very well. Bicycles are available to rent which Is amazing. I'd definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    4.2
    A shame it was a bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No internet most of the time. They did not clean the room once. They asked me to exchange room for someone else, not ask, demand.

    All of the staff except the main administrator were really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    4.6
    You get what you pay for... and a free workout!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs are STEEP and windy, some so narrow you are walking on your toes. Not good for someone with mobility issues,no lift, and no mention of these crazy stairs on the booking website.

    The mattress was comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.9
    Very basic room, but it has everything you need for a good...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Simple breakfast with old bread. Very small bathroom.

    Very basic room, but it has everything you need for a good price. Location is fine. Tramstops are nearby, and they take you to the Museumplein within 5 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    7.9
    I boocked double bed room ( no bathroom only was available) .
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I boocked double bed room ( no bathroom only was available) . When I arrived ther was one bed only and I have to pay 30 euro extra to get double bed, wich I order before (but I get bathroom) so 50:50 happynes :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    10
    Homey Ambience with Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Stairs, if you have a big Luggage.

    We have a very homey experience while staying at this hotel in Amsterdam. Dorit, the reception staff who greeted us at checking was extra helpful and really nice. We were first timers in Amsterdam with very limited time and she helped us our way arpund. Big thanks to Dorit from me and my Family- Severino

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    6.3
    Staircase from hell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one basic question hotel reviews never seem to ask is "Would you stay here again"; my answer would be no and there is one very simple reason why not, there was no lift! Not only was there no lift but the stairs were VERY steep and VERY narrow. If the cleaner hadn't been there when we arrived and left ( he carried the cases up and down the stairs for us) I have no idea how we would have managed. The stairs were verging on dangerous without a load - with one, treacherous! Unless you are a mountain goat, very fit and strong, have little luggage or are leaving after 11.00 am (when the cleaner arrives) find somewhere else!

    The people were very friendly and the breakfast, although simple, was ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant place to stay
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only the stairs, ok for the youngsters

    I found this lovely hotel excellent, I was late in arriving and was greeted very warmly by a staff member, who kindly carried my suitcase upstairs, they were a bit of a shock! being very steep, bath and WC are shared but you get a hand basin in your room and heating, the bed was comfortable so I had a very good nights sleep and had an very pleasing breakfast, nothing was to much of a bother for the staff, the gentleman who was on duty in the morning brought my suitcase downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.2
    Pocket friendly, short walk from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A full length mirror would be very nice. An option to have a double bed would be great. Breakfast could be served a bit earlier than 8am

    I booked a single room and the was happy I stayed at Bike Hotel. It was easy to find by Taxi and on arrival the staff were super friendly and informative about everything. I appreciate the breakfast was included as that was a big reason I chose to stay here. The single room is pretty small like a university dorm although the toilet and shower room are shared facilities. The room was clean and also has a sink. There isnt much disturbance from neighbouring rooms either. For the price, location and quality of the hotel I feel this is a fair deal.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: