Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of XO Hotels Blue Square 4 stars

Slotermeerlaan 80, Geuzenveld-Slotermeer, 1064 HD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#267 of 448 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3493 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.4
    Xo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it would be closer to the centre of Amsterdam. Very basic hotel - small rooms. Ours had a big damp patch on the ceiling

    Clean beds, clean, small bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot further from city than I thought, staff not friendly, no alcohol available in hotel, breakfast too expensive at €15 pps, literally just a place to sleep.

    Wifi was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    One week in XO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service after 15:00 (only fresh towels, bath stuff and toilet paper is provided)

    1) Nespresso coffee machine in the room and updated stock of capsules and teabags by the hotel 2) Hotel is located close to the bus and tram stations (25 minutes trip to the Amsterdam Central) 3) At the reception there is a vending machine with the GVB tickets (for bus, tram, underground) 4) Umbrellas are provided if you ask at the reception

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    Transport link were very good the staff helped with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Amsterdam centre. Night bus after 1 a.m. very random times made it difficult to plan.

    Transport link were very good the staff helped with good information for using this. The beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, clean, and accommodating; a bit farther than I'd planned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The distance it is from central Amsterdam. This was *my* error navigating the Booking.com site. Frankly I think the site could behave a little better—it kept losing my filters during my search and comparing properties, so when it gave me the map that showed Blue Square I thought I was still looking at the map with Amsterdam Central Station at top. But instead it was the next main station to the west—Sloterdijk—which turned out that the hotel itself was about a 25 minute ride either by tram, bus or car from Centraal. That said, once I got my bearings, it wasn't that big a deal. If I'd had more time I'd have rented a bike. // Only other thing is that there is no bar in the hotel, so if you like a bit of wine or beer once back in your room, you'll need to bring it with you or you'll actually need to go out and down the block to the pub (which offers only run-of-the-mill beer and wine, but was fine.) Not sure if they're just waiting on a license or what.

    Rooms are very clean and fairly spacious. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was fine. Aesthetics are modern, clean-lined and calming. Really helpful staff—I liked my original room on the first floor but windows didn't open so they graciously switched me to one on the ground floor where they did open. As a single female traveler I don't often like being on ground floor but 1. this felt really secure (door to my wing needed one's password for entrance) and 2. the ground floor of this hotel is actually off the actual ground a ways. Staff also helped me get a cab one day and plan my trip via public trans on the next. // The tram that goes by Brouwerij t'Ij goes all the way back to within a block of Blue Square Hotel. Easy and fun!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    a good reasonable place to stay for a peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast buffet comes in pricey at 12.5 - 15 euros per day, we only had it 1 day to try and the toaster wasn't working but other than that quite a large choice of food we didn't use the restaurant but we saw menus which were pricey with a limited menu

    I liked how easy it was to go from the hotel to central Amsterdam, good transport location is nice and peaceful, there are local supermarket about 4 mins walk straight down the road some local takeaways we tried nearby by were nice lovely shower in my room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Affordable and easy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from town centre but bus number 21 to central station is just 200m away from hotel

    Cleanliness, large room, coffee machine in room, better price rate in comparison with other options

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.2
    It wasn't worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Odd building design located in an suburb that was close to transportation but still pretty far from any attractions. The walls in the room were very dirty and the TV didn't work.

    The bed and pillows were soft, the bathroom was a nice size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Too far, but good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was far away from the centre. It wasn't very clear how far on the map either.

    The room was lovely. Good size, good facilities inside. The staff were helpful and understanding with any issue we had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    The location, although way out of the city centre was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are a little worn around the edges. Minor maintainable issues were addressed quickly by staff though.

    The location, although way out of the city centre was very easily accessed via busses. Obviously the hotel was a great price for the standard of accommodation as it isn’t in the centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    The only thing I dont like was that the breakfast is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I dont like was that the breakfast is not included and is on my opinion I little bit expensive. On the other side my stay was excelent. Thank you for everything :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Spacious hotel at good location if not too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel bit short but correct. Expensive parking way around the corner- in the street much cheaper: that shouldn't be the case. No alcohol in the restaurant, food quite okee.

    Spacious hotel, quick checking in and out. Many shops just outside. No noise problems. Good location. Prizes were high in the weekend of our booking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    2.5
    Staff is rude.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is rude. We had a window issue, they didn't want to address. Window couldn't be closed, as mechanism is broken. I'm quite disappointed by the service. I usually don't write negative reviews, but I think that not addressing at all the quality of one's stay is not a hotel I want to be in (freezing for example at night).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Amazing excellent staff molly bence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything the room staff view etc keep up the good work be kind show your guests all the love in your ♥ all things grow with love

    Your staff molly and bence are such great people so kind caring loving you should give them more pay they do such a great job to help everyone i will be back to see them soon thanks for everything great place excellent molly and bence Do more kindness with your guests watch what happens magic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    Noisy Room, No free parking & High price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very noisy because very badly isolated from outside. We had the impression to have our beds on the street. There is NO free parking. It is necessary to use the Parking hotel as the parking outside is not secure. The Price Vs Quality is not attractive at all.

    Attentive staff. That is the only positive feedback I have regarding this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed with cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous occupant’s dirty underwear was left in the closet, room was not cleaned properly. Far from centre. Received a room with two separated single beds rather than double requested.

    Staff were friendly, bike hire was easy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.0
    coffee machine in the room, comfortable beds, convenient...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not like the dark spots on the ceiling and traces of drips on the walls and the front door, noisy ventilation, poor sound insulation.

    coffee machine in the room, comfortable beds, convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    There were no flaws in the hotel, the room was lovely, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like about the property was the location however it only takes 20/25 minutes on a tram to get to the centre but I personally would prefer to be located in the city centre.

    There were no flaws in the hotel, the room was lovely, the stuff were very helpful and it was great value for money would defiantly come back to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Good apartment near to public transport far from city crowd
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far from the downtown, it takes around 30 minutes from city center by bus/tram. The locality is not so great. Non smoking rooms makes it difficult for smokers. Guess what do you do when you are in Amsterdam!! ;)

    This property is very near to bus/tram stops. There is a supermarket very near to it called Jumbo. A local flea market is also near to it where you can get fresh fruits and vegetables. Wifi works great. A special mention to Host Melanie. She was very helpful and polite to talk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    location was convenient for me
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was very high for a basic single room. Decor all looked out of date, though not worn and old, just very 1980s!

    location was convenient for me

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    The rooms were spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms seemed outdated. Not that clean rooms. Found a spider, mosquitos in the room. Parkings were expensive.

    The rooms were spacious. Restaurants are n tge neighborhood are open until late night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    They were very polite and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If someone bangs his door you can hear it from your bedroom. You have to be extra careful when you close it otherwise it makes a big noise. The problem is that not everybody thinks about that.

    They were very polite and friendly. They gave us a paper with directions on it to know which trams or bus we had to take it was really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No designated off street smoking area lead to us being approached by street dealers constantly. We would not go out for a cigarette on our own.

    Nice comfortable bed. And the breakfast was a good standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Helpful, friendly lady on reception made a good 1st...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn't great - Bus 69 is 45 minutes from Schiphol while tram 13

    Helpful, friendly lady on reception made a good 1st impression. Very clean hotel. Excellent power shower and a Nespresso machine very worthwhile in any hotel room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience, will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was. 20 minute bus ride to the city centre which ran often but this required us to buy a travel pass but buses were running every 5-7 minutes so it was never too long of a wait.

    Staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and informative. The bedrooms were spotless and were cleaned everyday. The beds were extremely comfortable. And had no issues falling asleep immediately at night unlike other hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Thank you very much dear friends at the hotel.. all receptionists... they are very supportive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed, Shower, Coffee, calmness in the environment.... travelling is easy...Super market is in-front....

    As soon as we entered... we were not that happy.. But after we have seen the room + washroom... we felt ease... since Amsterdam city centre and other areas are full of tourists.. it is giving good feeling to come to an area where you can't see many people, shops or touristy things.... feel calm and back at your cosy home.. Metres + shower + coffee machine are good.... From airport you can take 69 bus directly goes to the hotel area... we have taken the sam bus to go to airport too... travelling is such a sassy task... metro 13 and 7 are there always.... If you expect to stay in a busy street to feel liveness ( all the time) then this is not for that.... Their Salmon and Duck dishes are the best... Good breakfast... receptionists are supportive... Buy the metro tickets in the metro... if you go to wind mills village.. go to central station and take 135 bus... by train it is complicated and expensive.. we did it.. We taken 135 bus to com back... every 15 minutes bus is there.. thats all....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Location was perfect, rooms are very big and the bathrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleansers don’t change the sheets, they don’t take out the bins. Rooms are left in an absolute state afterwards. Breakfast is too expensive.

    Location was perfect, rooms are very big and the bathrooms have everything. Amazing routes to the city. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the fact that the information received by email...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad communication between those who manage reservations and customer

    Apart from the fact that the information received by email after the payment was wrong, considering that I received another hotel address and had to pay more for the taxi, everything was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Good stay in a really convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the vending machine could stock more variety a terrace or outside conservatory or lounge area - away from main reception would be nice

    The location was excellent for transport, with really easy access to the airport, the centre of Amsterdam and even the beach to the west. There is also a nightbus that runs very near the hotel. The hotel itself is located in a great street with lots of cafes and bars within easy reach and a really good shopping market.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Great budget place to stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from the city centre is a huge down for this place. It's about 25mins on a bike or over an hour walk Uber will charge you about 18 euro and regular taxi about 25.

    Rooms were really clean and furnished to high standard especially considering price. Staff is very helpful and they are happy to go an extra mile for you. Overall very happy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Worst stay I've had until they switched our rooms. No effort in trying to rectify the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at the hotel and got our room key. Went to the room, and it was like being hit in the face by a wall of perfume. They had sprayed a lot to cover up the smell of smoke. It was suffocating, and we could still smell the smoke in between the whiffs of perfume. When I went to brush my teeth, a sigarett butt came floating up from the sink drain, but we had no choice but to stay the night in that room, as it was getting late and we were tired. The linen was stained as well. Luckily we got to switch rooms in the morning.

    Once we switched rooms the bed was nice and clean and comfy. Nice coffee machine. Staff was not very helping to begin with but but as soon as we came in touch with someone else, the service was a lot better.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Good for location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's smells of weed.

    It's great location and parking. The surrounding area is great for food and breakfast. It has easy access to tram and central Amsterdam

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in the room above the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the hotel had a no smoking policy in the rooms although there was a beautiful harbor very close by where you could get high and enjoy the view

    We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in the room above the entrance the hotel staff were amazing and very helpful , the cute nightshift receptionist and the tall dude were especially great , beds were amazingly comfortable especially when you are high, the neighborhood is close to a lot of bus and tram stations that will get you were you need to go ,also it was very diverse and had a lot of middle eastern food places you have to check out the doner place and order the chicken wrap

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel with this price it’s hard to having such bigger room in other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow quality need to improve.

    The hotel is at best location. Lot of Turkish restaurants there with diff choices. Staff is very friendly and cooperative. Room was tidy and clean. If you travel from schiphol air port just take bus no.69 (takes appx 50min) and get off at “Plein 40-45”. It was nice stay looking forward to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Great place would stay again and would recommend to a friend 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food advertisement we didn't order because the pictures of food were not appealing

    The cleaners were excellent waited till we left the room each day to clean staff very helpful lovely view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was suffocating . AC was not working well

    Room was very big even for three of us .Toilet was spacious with bath tub and shower with temperature control . All very clean . Room has expresso machine . Breakfast was sumptuous with plenty of option.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    Dirty overrated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, the bathroom sink had hair around it, and the bed sheets were stained. After the second receptionist offered a new room (as the first receptionist could not care less) it turned out that the second room was no better. The sheets smelled like they had not been washed or folded while still wet. A terrible experience never to be repeated again!

    Absolutely nothing. I have absolutely no idea why this is rated 4 stars!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Blue square review
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card system is a bit temperamental. Nothing that is major concern as the 24 hour reception can sort it in about 2 minutes.

    The room was comfortable. The shower was great. The local amenities and great transport solutions to and from Amsterdam central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    The hotel exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked it to be more centrally located. Area around hotel wasn't the best. Need advice sheet on using public transport. Everything else was great. Would visit again.

    The hotel was very clean and once we'd figured out the trams it was easy to get around. We would definitely stay there again. Rooms were nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, excellent location and friendly staff. 100% recommend :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ensuring the bedding is in top condition (our mattress protector was torn on one corner which was annoying for us as it would move throughout the night). Also, more eating utensils would be excellent (e.g plate, bowl, knife, fork, etc). There are no kitchen facilities, but including eating utensils would have made our stay that much easier and better.

    The staff were extremely accommodating - and I often find that this can make or break my opinion about the accommodation. The location was excellent (it was only a 20 minute bike ride into the city centre) and there were numerous shops and markets within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to friends in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    2.5
    Disappointing, staff move guests rather than fix faults.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was noisy because the fire door slammed shut. The next room had curtains that did not cover the windows, a broken window security stay, so someone could climb in or out of the window and the air conditioning did not work. The room was a sauna, the solution offered by the staff was to move us again. No repairs or maintenance is done, instead staff move guests who complain and this means the next guest has the same faults to deal with. We were provided fans but the were noisy and did little to help with the heat. Little sleep was had during our stay. The room was clean on the surface, however the floor under the beds hasn’t been cleaned in months or years. We were provided breakfast on the morning of checkout as compensation but I would have preferred to be able to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from centre. Not much around the area. Although tram stop right outside.

    Clean, comfortable, very friendly staff. Upgraded our room from twin to double.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Great for a short city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed in the evening - a bit difficult since there are not that many restaurants nearby.

    Thr rooms have everything you need for a short stay - coffee machine, fridge, safe, air conditioner, TV, wifi and free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Great rooms and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked most everything about our stay. It was a bit far out but the trams were easily accessible.

    Lovely, polite staff and the room was very big and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great welcome. Handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to go home.

    Warm welcome, comfortable stay, easy transport links. Lady that checked us in provided us with lots of very helpful information about places to go and how to get the best out of the local transport network (which is fantastic and puts the UK to shame).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    I loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved staying here. It was further out from everything than I thought though. I jad the front desk call a taxi. All things were awesome but the beds. They were so hard. Everything else was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money but with could be better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I barely got sleep on my first night because I think there was a group partying in rooms nearby. They were not that rowdy but the doors kept on banging from early evening to 4 AM. I informed the front desk and they tried to help but I am afraid they could not do much. The next night was much so much better though. Location was close to public transportation however there were really no great restaurant options around. Luckily there were some supermarkets nearby.

    My stay at XO Hotels Blue Square was alright. They gave me a nice upgrade and I got a larger room. The room was also clean and quite spacious. I also really liked that they had Nespresso machines in their rooms as well as a small fridge which is very nice for a few days stay in the hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall a really good hotel would recommend for anyone not wanting to be in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information regarding the local area and things to do there would be nice.

    Good location, Not too long to get to centre and the local area is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Good stay for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Dam Square area, WiFi is very dodgy.. don’t get connected very well. Annoying when receptionist said we could stop at the reception as WiFi is fine there.. at 23:00 hours we didn’t want to go to reception and do our browsing.

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    So nice and i advice for this hotel strong ly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need some free itme Ice maker Prash with colget for teething

    The receptionist people is wonderful and hospitality and cordantion 😘 Wonderful and nice travel to there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    A good base to have to stay in amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything I didn't like

    The hotel is in the centre of blue square which have shops coffee shop and a market and the transport into town was outside and easy to get to I would defo go back to the hotel again and I would recommend it to other people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Ask things in advance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They are pretty disrespectful in terms of not announcing in advance that there are some furnishings ongoing. The two mornings we were there they were doing labour working since 9 am.

    The modern style as well as the amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    During the course of the 4 nights I stayed at this hotel, I beloved that the service and care was second to none, every day we would come back to a clean and lovely room and the hotel staff were extremely helpful. I would rate this hotel 10/10 and I would definitely not hesitate to come back again, which I will do in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel itself was lovely and extremely clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit far from the city, approx 30 mins on a tram. There are lots of trams near the hotel to get you to the city.

    The hotel itself was lovely and extremely clean! €80 each for two people for two nights was extremely reasonable for this fabulous hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place as I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn`t work the coffee port in my room & The refrigerator was small that I want to use

    Have Big and soft bed & place is nice side near Amsterdam about 15~20min

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, clean rooms with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very central location- about 20 minute bus journey to get into the city.

    Comfortable, clean rooms with friendly staff. Very close to supermarket and bus/tram stop with regular services into centraal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door only covers halfway splattering water all over the floor

    It’s conveniently located to restaurants, transportation, supermarket, flea market. The bus stop/tramway is only about 5 minutes walk. There are plenty of restaurants around the area. There is a supermarket and a flea market across the restaurants and the bus stop is in front of the supermarket. It’s less than 30 minutes to get to the city center by bus. The hotel front desk mistakenly assigned our room to another guest so we were awaken in the middle of the night but corrected their mistake by giving us breakfast voucher for the rest of our stay. I am very pleased with the hotel and highly recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    I loved it ❤ honestly perfect location, calm and nice with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it ❤ honestly perfect location, calm and nice with a great view, rooms are super comfy and staff is very friendly and helpful. Bus stop is a minute walk and it takes like 15 to 20 minutes to get to the city center. Close to the airport as well so win win 😃 I'd definitely visit again ❤❤❤

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good experience - friedly stuff, possibility to leave the luggage, clean, comfortable and simple. The price is a bit too high, but let's face the truth - it is Amsterdam. It is close to the tram and bus stop that in 20 min takes to the center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent service and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything but thought may be if some of the cleaners should be taught how to greet in English, I did say hello to 2 of them without no reply. No big deal though.

    I love,the accessibility of transport and shops and local restaurants around. Staff were all brilliant, respectful and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Its a good hotel to spend a couple of nights in Amsterdam,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is just a bit far away from the city center ,it will take you 30 min to and from the Central Station. other that that it was a great stay, no issues at all. Payment process is not straight forward,- make the booking and then get an email with details on how to make to payment.

    Its a good hotel to spend a couple of nights in Amsterdam, Tram and bus stops are just at 5 min walk from the hotel. Quadruple room was big enough for all four of us,. Staff was very nice and helpful. Our A/C tripped at 23:30 but the receptionist did manage to reset it remotely - so kudos to the staff. Most amenities - toiletries , towels were provided including a little fridge . Beds were clean and comfy. Wifi strength was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just didn't like that they put two single beds together in the so called "double rooms".

    Had a pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Location is quiet but well connected to Amsterdam Central Station by public transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The 'Full English' breakfast. The bacon wasn't very good. Although convenient for trams, 15 mins to city centre. I think next time I will try to get closer to centre.

    air conditioning. convenient for Tram and especially the only public transport bus to the airport. Bus no 69. Nice open and airy reception and corridors. Good coffee machine, plenty of refills. BBC 1, 2 on TV.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, simple, Just what I wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom size is a little small although perfectly acceptable.

    Simple budget hotel with car park in a fairly quiet location. Just a 15 minute easy tram ride into the city centre. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was awful and terrible. I dont understand how and why booking.com have this kind of hotel in their pages. I travel a lot and this was the most biggest disappointment ever, I feel bad when I think Amsterdam and its because of this place

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cushions were provided rather than pillows

    Trams were easy to get from the hotel. Vending machine available for late night snacks and drinks Spacious room Friendly staff Good shower room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Comforable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel whilst it is close to punlic transport, it yook roughly 40 to 50 minutes to get to downtown. There are bus and tram but no subway or train closeby. Music can be heard until after midnight from the room on 2nd floor

    The room facing the canal, gave a great view Nearby supernarket and food establishment Room is quite spacious for a family of 3.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    The room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated a bit far from metro station (around 15 minutes on foot), but if you travel by bus it is Ok, as the bus stop is in 5 minutes walk.

    The room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. It is convenient to get to the airport right from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Quiet, big room, kind and helpful service.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window facing the next building (less than 10 m away). Wifi not available in the room (signal too small).

    Quiet, big room, kind and helpful service. Close to Slotermeer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Spotlessly clean, comfy bed , handiness of tram & bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little bit to far from the city Centre (20mins on tram) but we knew that anyway so didn’t bother us but might bother others

    Spotlessly clean, comfy bed , handiness of tram & bus stop. Local bar on the corner that serves alcohol, fridge in the room & nice coffee machine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Not convenient hotel for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to the center I need to take 30 mn ride in the bus! Rooms need renovation ,price is not cheap and this is not a 4 star hotel as they claim

    Rooms are quiet and big

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay, easy tram ride into city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bottled water could have been less expensive in the vending machine.

    The knowledge, professionalism and friendliness from one particular staff member was excellent. I wish I had gotten her name. She went to the trouble of ordering a taxi for us to take us to the airport, but my husband got impatient and snagged the next taxi that came up with new arrivals and because the line at the counter was long, we didn't take the time to thank her properly and saw to it that she cancelled the hotel's taxi. She then had to run out of the hotel abandoning the counter when she saw us getting into this other taxi which she didn't order, to make sure we knew that this was not the taxi she had ordered. I'm only mentioning this in hopes that if the staff reads these commentaries, she can then see how grateful we were. The hotel and room were clean; and the bed comfortable, although it would have been a lot better if it didn't move away so easily from the adjoining bed. I also liked that the tram stop was very close, maybe 50 meters(?) Toiletries were included in room. The vending machine provided tram tickets for sale. You will have to be prepared to use cash for these tickets from the vending machine; whereas, the tram itself accepts debit/credit cards ONLY.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.0
    Lucky we just came to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug in sink not working. Panel from ceiling had been left open. Curtain not fitting and broken. Room small for one bed. There were 2 bed. How to watch TV. Dirty cigarette outside window.

    coffee & tea good. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay here again in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very courteous. Rooms were spaceous and clean. Location itself was ok but since it was walking distance to a tram (5 minutes and less) it was very easy to get to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Okay hotel, way too expensive for the location, good from the inside, looks bad from outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not perfect, but okay..also, the rooms were not 'noice-cancelling', you could hear people walking outside, moreover the location is NOT worth the price, sure A'dam is expensive, but they want guests to pay way too much! Hotel looks like a factory from outside..the inside is okay

    The bed was comfy, breakfast good, but not perfect, staff nice, rooms clean, they had a lot of shower gels in the bathroom, which was nice, also the wifi was okay! You can also get tickets for public transport in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse XO Hotels Blue Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: