Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Bohème 2 stars

Marnixstraat 415, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 PK Amsterdam, Netherlands

#61 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1482 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a problem for me but the stairs leading to the single rooms was a bit steep...might be difficult to navigate for some people

    Central and convenient location Clean and eco friendly Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Killer Stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs ! We were on the top floor. Very narrow steep stairs to our room. Not noted on the booking.com site and would not have chosen if we'd known. Fit 70 year olds but too much for us with luggage.

    Very nice staff. Helpful and informative. Good breakfast. Tickets available at reception for hot spots.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and we met many interesting travelers during the very nice breakfast provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no elevator and the room was quite small. This was well emphasized in the booking description, so it was not a problem in our case. We enjoyed the experience. The hotel is next to numerous clubs which play pulsing music well into the night. Again, not a problem for us. Our room was on the top floor and noise was low as long as the windows were closed.

    The location is terrific if you love museums. The staff were truly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Location was good, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Stairs were steep, but that wasn't an issue for us.

    Location was good, close to everything. Breakfast was great. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable hotel with a friendly welcoming feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a busy central location, so noise levels were high, so may not suit some people. Earplugs helped & disruption was minimal.

    Property was very clean and staff helpful and friendly. Location easy to access and close to most attractions. Breakfast buffet was very nice also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Friendly Staff/Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the stairs, that could be a problem for elderly people. For me wasn't a problem.

    Staff very friendly, the location is amazing, near from the museums, pubs and restaurants. Easy to go by bus from the airport and tram from the station. We loved our stay there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 sets of steep stairs to take bags up to room would be hard for older persons.

    Great location. Rooms are very modern, but have personal touch. Bathroom new, clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Hotel La Boheme - 10 out of 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I did not like.

    The whole team at La Boheme is really friendly and welcoming, always available to answer questions, advise on trips, best bike shop etc and resolve minor issues (the wifi did not work well in our room but they tried at different times to sort it out). I was sharing a twin room with my teenage son; the room was fairly small but we were only there to sleep and the beds were very comfortable; the bathroom is also rather small but has a very good shower. La Boheme serves a great breakfast with a range of fruits, nuts, yogurts, cereals, pastries, ham, cheese, eggs, bread, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fruit juice; it is all of good quality. My son and I (but especially my forever hungry teenage son) also appreciated the free coffee/hot choc and biscuits throughout the day! The hotel is easily accessible by bus from the airport (only 10 euros return pp) and the bus stop is a mere hundred metres away - this is something I was made aware of by the team of La Boheme by email prior to our arrival and this was indeed very helpful. You do not get this sort of service from a corporate hotel chain!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great location- just round the corner from Leidseplein, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little narrow but that’s just a personal preference

    Great location- just round the corner from Leidseplein, very friendly staff, free tea/coffee and continental breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendliest little hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not a problem for me or my family, but anyone with mobility issues should be aware that the hotel has very steep, awkward stairs. They are charming, if you are fit and sober (;

    Fresh, fresh croissants, free tea/coffee all day, relaxed atmosphere and the staff were helpful, welcoming and extremely friendly (including Mimi, the hotel cat). The location of the hotel could not be better for experiencing all that Amsterdam has to offer. Tram stops just outside the hotel will take you to Central Station area, and the bus stop for the Airport is very close.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    i don t recomended this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i m handicapt and my room is on the 4rh floors without elevator, thé room is not clean floor and dust. the stairs is very small. pillow durty

    only the breakast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, super location and a friendly 🐈
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom quite small but well equipped. No air con but the weather was exceptional. However, the staff and general ambience more than compensated.

    Super friendly staff. Lovely cat and a friendly wave goodbye when we left. Would highly recommend it and would love to go again 😸❤️

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic little cat loving hotel right in the middle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Simple, practical, efficient and sweet place. The staff were warm and pleasant too. I would definitely come back again and would recommend it to friends. Thumbs up 👍🏻

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Cozy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The place is just great!

    Everything! I had the best stay. I was travelling alone so privacy and staff friendliness really mattered to me. The room was so clean and nicely decor. Love the atmosphere of the hotel. Mimi the cat sleeps all day though but a nice company during evening coffee. If i ever come to amsterdam i would love to stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful, comfortable and restful stay at La Boheme and will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small especially where we stayed (the one with the double bed at the top) We can hardly move around considering me and my husband aren't that big. One has to stay in bed while the other one moves around, otherwise we will bump into each other.

    The people, the location, the cleanliness, the breakfast - they were all superb. The people were friendly and professional, made us feel welcome, answered all our queries and always ready to help. The location is very ideal, near to shopping areas, groceries and tram/bus stops and a short walk to the Rjikmuseum and Van Gogh Museum as well as the Anne Frank House. The rooms and facilities were clean and kept clean during our stay. And the breakfast, it was simple but yummy and replenished all throughout breakfast time. And last but not the least, delicious coffee, tea and hot chocolate are free the whole day!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely consider staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs! We were on the 4th floor which was awesome for quiet but awful for getting to. No elevator! And the tiny shower. But that's a European thing I have learned.

    Breakfast every day was awesome. The staff were VERY helpful with information and guidance. The location was perfect for getting everywhere and for lots of dining options right around the corner. The room was tiny but plenty comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.0
    Wonderful friendly staff and comfortable accommodation in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pillows are a bit small in room 7 D. The river cruise with Blue Boat company was a huge dissapointment so give them a miss but this is not related to the hotel La boheme at all

    WE STAYED ON THE 1ST FLOOR IN THE FRONT ROOM 7d.The stairs are a little tricky but the staff helped with carrying the heavy case up.On reflection the prices charged for this room in this location is balanced and very fair and compensates for the tricky stairs .Just having free drinks available is a big saving because we stayed for 7 nights and we (2) had free coffee and teas twice daily so saved about 90+Euro on drinks alone.The breakfast is very satisfying and the selection is good ,a staff member is constantly refilling the dishes for guests during the 8 to 9 a.m. busy period. Being able to leave luggage safely is another plus as our flight was late evening .The safe in the room is another plus to store valuables .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Well located apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe it happens in Amsterdam, but the price of accommodation is very high for what you get (for example, no breakfast included.)

    Very central place. The host is very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was amazing and the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very small and high. Quite dangerous for small children or elders. The room was quite small too.

    The breakfast was amazing and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Really good location, friendly people, clean, comfy, mimi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your typical deadly stairs haha but we managed them tipsy and with large suitcases so not really a dislike, more a fun challenge. If your balance or vision is bad, ask for a lower level room as the stairs get more intensly vertical and thin on the bends, the higher you are. Ps not one taxi knew the hotel so take a hotel card from reception to show taxis should you need one instead of a tram

    Really good location, friendly people, clean, comfy, mimi!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location with friendly staff and free breakfast. Room was comfortable but small. Good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep steps with no elevator, room and bathroom were small

    Great location, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, delicious free breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Very clean, confortable, nice breakfast and really kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, but you should avoid heavy luggage because there are no elevators

    Very clean, confortable, nice breakfast and really kind reception. Easy to get there arriving by bus from the airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    The place is simple yet cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the stairs. Its not convenient for guests that have heavy luggages. But I guess it was there already for a very long time and part already of the old heritage of house structures in Holland.

    The place is simple yet cozy. The staff are kind and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in a great location with wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. Even though the stairs could be difficult, I still loved them!

    The staff was amazing! The breakfast was simple yet delicious! And having an espresso machine for all day use was wonderful. And Mimi the cat was adorable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room and bathroom. We are in our 60's and had asked for a lower floor becausethere was no lift. We found the stairs totally unsuitable for us . Probably OK for young people but trying to get our bags up and down the steep and narrow stairs was not good.

    Great location close to museums and Van Gogh etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay at La Boheme
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the best pillows

    Nice room, good shower, breakfast included, free tea & coffee all day. Good location - close to Van Gough, Rijksmuseum & Vondel Park. Very close to tram stop (1,2 & 5 from Centraal Station)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    The main staff were friendly and the location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed covers/sheets were not changed in 5 days and the towels placed on the floor were not changed. We stayed on the top floor which was an absolutely excruciating climb each and every time. No air con

    The main staff were friendly and the location was amazing. Beds extremely comfortable and a really nice breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was so welcoming, friendly and helpful at every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very small, as expected with a European hotel and the steps were very steep (no elevator) as is typical in the Dutch homes. If you have any physical restrictions this might be difficult. The rooms that faced the front street were quite noisy at night with the windows open (and it was quite stuffy without them opened), but earplugs did the trick and we all slept very well! It was wonderful to have the window to look out onto the main street and see all of the action below.

    The staff was so welcoming, friendly and helpful at every turn. The typical European breakfast was so lovely with fresh breads, croissants, fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurts and select cheeses and meats. Coffee, tea, water and cake were all available throughout the day until the reception closed at 11pm which really hit the spot midday. The twin beds in our rooms were very comfortable and everything was very clean. The location was awesome--a close walk to the museums and the main shopping streets. There were plenty of restaurants and nightlife around the corner. The neighborhood felt very safe for a group of women.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed Amsterdam and would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room unfortunately was quite small and the lack of aircon made for a very hot room of an evening. The fan over the bed wasn’t really sufficient. We could have opened the doors overlooking the street but it was far too noisy, as expected. A small fridge to store water also would have been nice.

    The staff are superb. Really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was what one would expect. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay at la boheme
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower was quite cramped. Stairs to rooms were very steep.

    Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Clean and comfortable beds and rooms. Very good triple room. Free hot drinks and nice breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    My family and I left the hotel feeling good about our visit to Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a small hotel in a building which does not have any space available for anything extra like you often find in an American hotel. The hotel does not have an elevator, and the stairs are very steep and very small. I would not recommend staying in a room above the second floor if you have any type of condition which might prohibit you from making the climb to the upper floors. My room was on the third floor, and with my medical condition I did not look forward to either going up or down the stairs. The staff will assit you with your luggage if you wish. Breakfast is included with your stay, and you may or may not like it depending on your expectations. I found the breakfast to be very nice. However, seating is limited to just a few tables and some stools at the counter by the front desk due to the lack of available space.

    The staff and the location are the primary selling points for this hotel. I found the staff to be one of the best I have encountered when staying at a hotel. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful whenever I had a question or required assistance of any kind. The hotel is located across the street from a theatre. One of Amsterdam's senic canals is just around the corner. There are many restaurants including American franchise restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Also, there are two casinos within walking distance if you want to give gambling a try. If history and museums are more to your liking, you will find many places to see and have the opportunity to take many photographs. My family and I walked to the Ann Frank House from the hotel. It was an amazing experience to visit this historic site to see and hear the stories surrounding these brave people during WWII.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall I would recommend the hotel. For the price , I did expect more amenities in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit challenging... The room was small for the cost per night... The steps were challenging as well

    Liked the staff..I really liked how eco friendly minded the hotel was. They had special food for my allergies.. Loved the selection of breakfast items. They were very health oriented. Staff was really friendly and helpful. The location was Central to trains and transportation. Very clean...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    My favourite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff (especially lady with long blonde hair) very friendly and helpful. Just a really nice feeling about the place. Not in a crazy noisy area. Close enough to walk to most places. Highlight was Mimi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent, reasonably-priced city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good, clean room - decent size for 3 people. Friendly welcome and service - breakfast excellent. Cat adorable! Well-located around the corner from Leidseplein - would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Helpful, polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street outside meant we had to shut the windows, so there was no airflow in the room. A ceiling fan or pedestal fan would have been nice.

    Helpful, polite staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    The location was great, very central and able to walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive although I realise that accomodation in all of central Amsterdam is expensive.

    The location was great, very central and able to walk to most places I wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, friendly staff and decent breakfast. Don't let the room comments put you off.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the room didn't reflect the room in the photo. needed a slight makeover eg lick of paint, pictures, bed covers just to make it more homely and inviting.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, comfortable accommodation in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite expensive for a 2 star hotel.

    Hotel La Boheme didn't disappoint. It's location is excellent and staff were a pleasure to deal with. We arrive early in the morning and were warmly welcomed with the offer of breakfast and a place to store our baggage. The breakfast was fresh, with plenty of choice. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and comfortable. Staff are very helpful, with offers of assistance to book various attractions, advice on places to visit and directions. Lots of restaurants nearby and its possible to walk everywhere so we didn't need to buy public transport tickets for our stay. We would go back and will recommend to friends travelling to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a most enjoyable visit, staying six days at La Boheme. The staff and easy access to the museu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I puffed up the steep flight of stairs but it was clear in hotel info that the stairs are indeed steep and we had pre-booked a first floor room.

    Outstanding staff, best we have experienced. Friendly, courteous, helpful and nothing was too much trouble, even to the point of making a personal booking for us when we had difficulty booking online.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Everything we needed and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were the worst part but at least we got a workout.

    The staff was exceptional and very accommodating. Astrid was incredibly kind to us and helpful. It was easy to get everywhere from the hotel. It was also nice having breakfast in the morning and tea and coffee available all day with free snacks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Hotel was a reflection on Amsterdam - welcoming warm and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast /unlimited coffees teas throughout the day - just like being at home Only a few mins walk from the bus stop (public bus from the airport ) easy and cheap €10 return - bought before journey and printed off - drivers have no cash on the buses On arrival was immediately offered hot drink (cake too) Cheese tasting a bonus but missed it unfortunately Room was fresh and clean Bed was very comfortable Great to have a safe to use (free) Yes there are stairs .... but they are well documented in the hotel deccription ...so not a problem (keep you nice and fit !) Help is offered if needed I travelled alone on this occasion to meet up with friends - so was extra mindful of my choice of accommodation - La Boheme Hotel felt like home and was perfect Will definitely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Mimi the cat.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. We were at the top of the hotel so had to deal with the long walk up the stairs everyone. Apart from that nothing to complain about.

    Mimi the cat. Nice welcoming and show around the hotel. Lovely room and very clean. Good amount of offers to be had from the board in the bar area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic people, good breakfast, good coffee and a friendly little cat. We should have stayed longe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can’t think of anything I didn’t like about the place.

    The staff were very friendly, the place is very clean. The whole experience was very welcoming and nothing was too much to ask. I’d definitely recommend hotel la Boheme to anyone. Thank you for our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice location and stuff but beds and stairs are...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and 89 degrees stairs. No space at the rooms and most important... the beds. OMG! Beds can easily change with something with better quality. Customers give more than 200 per night. Use some money to change the beds. They give you the sense you are floating and bedding.

    Wonderful stuff, smily and ready to help. Location was perfect. Free coffee, hot chocolate and tea is very important for me. Well done ppl.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left some documents at the hotel and the staff were kind enough to send me scanned copies immediately, which was a life saver. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful, and I cannot recommend the hotel enough!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the bedroom (unlimited beverages available downstairs - rather have it in the room).

    Clean, good location, nice breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great location close to museums and other attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t mind, but a notice to those who might. I asked for a room on higher floor and the steps can be steep.

    Great location! Very helpful staff with plenty of suggestions of things do in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly and helpful staff in a very nice hotel in an excellent secure location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On one night only I struggled to sleep when (room at the back of the building adjacent to music venue) baseline of music went on til well into the early hours but this did not spoil my stay, I knew it was there, I just didn't bargain on the music going on that late, either that or some other property had a party....

    attention to detail, friendliness and efficiency of staff and location of property all led to a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Very expensive ,rooms ok ,location brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok I have to compare to hotels I normally stay. Ok price for what it was wasn’t great, beds were small pillow was actually smaller than with off bed, bathroom tiny too, little information on room at desk, we were using an open WiFi , when hotel WiFi was in booklet? It was about a 5/10 more like a bed sit, the stairs were extremely dangerous one slip and you were heading to hospital as there’s no lift being on 4th floor wasn’t good, reception closed very early too , I know it seems a lot of complaints but where it was and was comfortable didn’t interfere with our stay but it’s amsterdamn it’s all crazy....

    Staff were friendly ,and hotel was in a great spot for transportation,shopping, nightlife and food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Perfect for short stay; central to all activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or circulation in the bathroom and lack of view from room.

    Staff was very nice and helpful with getting around the city. Lots of small nice perks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice stay. Cannot fault a thing. Very close to the Museum Square. Good breakfast plus tea/coffee facilities in the combined reception/dining area. No lift in the hotel so steep stairs may prove difficult to climb if you are not fit enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    The reception cum cafe is cosy with free flow of hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the staff tried to fix the Wi-Fi, the reception in the room was so poor that we had to stay at the reception area just for the wifi.

    The reception cum cafe is cosy with free flow of hot beverage. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.0
    This was our second time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed was small but it is ok, we knew it before we got there.

    This was our second time here. We love Mimi the cat, the breakfast and the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Good decision . Good location, great staff and food . I will come back for sure .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets could have been better , referring to the one in the room . The smell was quite nasty .

    Mimi . My favourite was Mimi and also the staff , very helpful and friendly. Overall , definitely I would recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    The double room was really lovely, nice and clean, small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was disturbing was the floor boards, they were very thin so we could hear scrapes, bangs & foot steps from up stairs. Also the doors don’t shut quietly they are very heavy so it slams shut - so it might be a bit disturbing when others go into their rooms as it will hear it clearly - other than this everything was perfect :-)

    The double room was really lovely, nice and clean, small but very cute! The breakfast is served till 11 which is great. The breakfast was standard, cheese, ham, cereal, granola, fruit etc. The location is on point too!! Just 3 min walk from where everything is.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff is extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is small but very nice and clean and in a great location, walking distance to all the most important spots in the city. We enjoyed free coffee and tea throughout the day. Would definitely recommend this place to my friends and will for sure come again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Amsterdam a 40 anni!!! Fiesta forever!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! Everything is perfect!!!

    The hotel is in a strategic position in the centre of Amsterdam. The room is small but clean and with every comfort. The staff is kindly and always available if you need something!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel experience in my life, most friendly staff + a cat - can't ask for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extraordinary! And Mimi - the hotel cat! We brought her some treats and she loved it :) Overall hotel is cozy, breakfast was simple but very tasty. We loved that they use organic/fair trade or local products - just perfect! All staff that we met was super helpful, I am talking that kind of helpful where they help you when when you dont even ask for it! We were given maps, discounts and advise for places to visit, all our questions were answered. 100% perfection with staff. Immagine this - we arrived on a very early flight from Dublin, so when we came asking to keep our bags until its time to check in, this happened - receptionist offered us to stay and have breakfast. For free. It was such a nice gesture that made the start of our trip just perfect:) Everything was just great. Whenever in Amsterdam I would 100% come back to this place. Also housekeeping guy was friendly also :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast included, awesome location, very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single rooms are pretty dark since they are "souterrain". One of the guests didn't understand the concept of shared bathrooms and toilet flushing :-( (admittedly not the hotel's fault)

    Breakfast included, awesome location, very friendly and helpful personnel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    A Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I and my partner had a wonderful experience at Hotel La Bohème. The employees were very friendly and extremely helpful, they did not hold back with suggestions about what to do and where to go. I also loved that their suggestions weren't the most touristy which means they themselves also have good taste in life, if I may put it like that, and they genuinely care about you having the best time during your stay. Breakfast was really good, the croissants and the spelt bread were divine, Dutch cheese also very tasty, delicious orange juice, vanilla yogurt with coconut shaves and nuts, ecological tea and coffee ... should I go on? Simply put -- ticked all my boxes. The bed was comfortable, not too soft, not too hard. The sleeping pillow was a little bit too big and uncomfortable to my liking so I used the small decorative pillow with pictures of cats on it instead. It was a little bit noisy when other hotel guests went up and down the stairs and passed our door, but everything else simply made up for it, so it's a very small comment. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, we walked everywhere. Our recommendations: Japanese food to die for -- Umaimon, superb atmosphere with superb steak & fries -- Hoed & Krelis, a place to chill & drink beer -- Cafe de Pjip, great coffee & cakes & vibes -- Back to Black. These were our favourite places and I hope they'll be yours, too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in we were told how they had received my request of a view and that we were in room 18 with a beautiful view of the theatre right at the top. It was very disappointing to later arrive and find we were in room 16 with an awful view. Not too happy about our room being given to someone else when the receptionist had told us how good it was.

    Comfy bed Free drinks Good knowledge Most of the staff were welcoming Very clean Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    A great base for a single or couple to explore Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing you can do about climbing up all those stairs if you have a top floor room! Think of it as your butt workout.

    Super friendly staff, a fantastic location, great nightly rate plus free continental breakfast and wifi. All the major museums are in walking distance. Centraal station is a short tram ride away and a nearby bus takes you to Schiphol Airport in 30 mins.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Would recommend, great little hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs were a struggle but that cant be helped!

    Fab staff, great room, very clean, loved the location - lots of nice little café/bistro around and a short walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    perfect stay! made our trip much cozy and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is perfect! Very nice people, helped us with ordering tickets and recommendations. Very nice breakfast! Rooms are cozy and comfortable. Great location!!! Love the design, very homie Defiantly recommend and would definitely come again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    This hotel was a perfect nook for two travelers - a hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members at reception closing (11 pm) was a little rude, but that was it!

    We really enjoyed the clean rooms and the location of the hotel. The room was very modern and the staff was lovely. The breakfast was also delicious!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location - small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book a room avoid the top floor. The rooms up there are very small , there is space only for the bed and one chair. Also it is tiring with the suitcases on the stairs until the 4th floor.

    The staff and the location were perfect. The breakfast had a rich bouffet and they offered free coffee all day. Good information and free maps at the hotel. Highly recommended hotel but not in the small rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been done to improve. Would advise that the stairs are cheeky but it's what you get with these buildings in Amsterdam.

    The staff couldn't have done more. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, fabulous staff, ideal location for sightseeing in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room - this is a personal preference - and in fairness to the hotel there were free hot drinks in reception.

    The staff were all lovely and only too happy to help no matter what the question. Hotel location was fabulous. An ideal base wherever you want to go in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Happy with my stay here, but I wouldn't hurry back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, the biggest drawbacks are things that are not their fault. But a place a little nearer the centre would have been nice; and with a lift (stairs in Amsterdam are always steep and narrow and should not be attempted if inebriated!) Tea/coffee making facilities would be nice (though I'm not sure there was enough space in my room!)

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the best thing about the hotel. Luckily, I was on the first floor so the lack of a lift wasn't too great a problem. There was a good range of foods for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed the stay here.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed the stay here. It is close to the city centre and easy to reach with public transport. Opposite the DeLaMar theater and at walking distance from the 9 Streets of Amsterdam. Breakfast was lovely and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. :)

    Well. Upon our arrival, the staff who was on the duty, Bram and other staff on duty, were very friendly and helpful. He offered us to help ourselves with tea, coffee and hot chocolate from the bar. We arrived early and didn't wait long for our room to be ready. Breakfast was delicious, more variety. Room, bathroom (shower) were very clean. The only problem is there is no 'lift' to carry you to the top but we knew this since we booked the hotel, so not an issue to be discussed here. Location was superb. Closed to anything. Easy to reach from the airport by bus 397. The cat 'mimi' added the dynamic to the hotel, rather lovely to see him/her in the premise but surely didn't bother the quests at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Safe & clean but very loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear everything in the hallways & stairs! Woke up several times in the night/morning to people walking up the creaky stairs talking loudly. Didn't feel comfortable talking or watching tv at a regular level because the walls were so thin. That is the only reason we wouldn't stay again.

    Great location! The bed was so comfortable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    We stayed at La Bohème last year and came back again this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -In room 9, the middle bed is crooked. My friend had the impression she was going to roll out of bed all the time. It needs to be changed. -Only having 1 key for 3 people was not handy, as we would have to go down to open the front door.

    We stayed at La Bohème last year and came back again this year. We were visiting the Melkweg, so it's only a short walk. The location and the price were the important criteria for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    excellent location, clean and peaceful rooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing I didn't like.

    -I stayed in one of the single rooms downstairs. The room is very modestly yet thoughtfully decorated. Even though the bathroom and shower are shared, it didn't feel like it since there are only three rooms that share these facilities and everything was very clean. There was no noise from outside in my room. -The staff is very friendly and eager to help. -The breakfast was very tasty (they even had fresh croissants) and until 11am (hurra!) and with free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate throughout the day. -There is an Italian restaurant just next to the hotel which comes in really handy for late night hunger. -The location is perfect: bus to the airport 3 min away and another tram station (Leipseplein) around the corner. -Wifi worked without any problems. -I personally also really enjoyed the cat-themed decoration.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for the price, staff really friendly and the Mimi the cat is real! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly................couldn't fault a thing.

    Great breakfast every day and everything nice & fresh. Also, had a great wifi connection. Happy Days! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: