Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Botel 3 stars

NDSM-Pier 3, Amsterdam Noord, 1033 RG Amsterdam, Netherlands

#305 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5253 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and they smell. Walls are a little thin. You can hear everything of your neighbors and the stairs :)

    Location and service were top!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situated far from ferry and no shuttle for luggage. Smelly washroom after taking showers. Staff at breakfast were rude and not very nice. We were given the wrong breakfast info. Consequently, we arrived 1/2 hour before closing. They had already started closing the beverage machines and were removing platters. We explained the misunderstanding to them. They let us run to get some food and then when we started eating they asked us to leave since they were cleaning the area. They wanted to kick us out although nothing was going on in that open space area afterwards!!! We started to put our toasts and some cheese in a napkin to go eat in our room and they wanted to charge us 11 euros for that! We could not even bring a cup of tea or coffee to our room either. So ridiculous. Not accommodating at all. Total lack of respect and complete arrogance on their part!

    view from our corner room windows on top floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, very quiet at night. Good breakfast choices. Good nearby restaurant in Pollox opposite Botel. Friendly staff. Easy access to free ferry across to the city and central station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were with our 3 boys 19, 19 and 20 years old. Their room smelled and the shower drain was clogged. Their beds were uncomfortable. We booked this place because we were told it was 3 minutes from the train station. We did not know it had been moved so far away. Had we known, we wouldn’t have stayed there. We got to Amsterdam late and missed the last ferry and had to pay 45£ to get to the botel

    Our room was spotless and our bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Loud at night with ferry pulling in and out close by and nearby boats squeaking and loud people. Have to leave Windows open when it's hot. Breakfast was disorganised.

    Clean. Beds were basically comfortable. Shower was tiny but hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no hairdryer in the room or bar of soap...we were recommended to take a HopOn Bus to 9 small towns but none were unique enough to get off the bus except 2 and the audio commentary quit working part way through the tour. The experience took extra time and was not worth the money spent

    It was a unique experience sleeping on a boat and taking the free 10 minute ferry over the water each day...they recommended use of city tram and could offer the tickets for the same and give us a map with bus numbers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are all very friendly & helpful. Always took time to speak with us & answers all the questions we had. Hotel very clean & neat,breakfast was good- staff stayed very busy at breakfast! Very convenient location with ferry to the main station & downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small, no soaps or any bathroom kits. There are no room service at any time, no restaurant there that you can eat. We didn't have breakfast so can't tell.

    The small room but the view was nice. The location was good and the best experience to ride a free boat from centraal to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and small room but well organised, old TV and very limited tv channels, old carpet on the floor and not smells good, no toiletries

    NDSM, cleaning, very closed to free ferry station, very nice view, good breakfast, waiting room, terace of the Hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel definitely caters for the budget category. The rooms are quite hostel like, albeit private. Breakfast was included but the area was too small to cater to the hordes of guests that descended at 9.30 each day meaning there was no hot food on either of the 2 occasions we went. No A/C facilities made the stifling 30 degree heat (a rarity in the city) a bit hot to handle and we were charged twice for our rooms - once on arrival and again from the card we had used to secure the reservation.

    The concept of staying on a boat in one of the worlds greatest water cities was just too good to be true for us. It was also a relatively cheap option compared to the other options in the city. Excellent free transport links to the main part of the city. Hearing the ocean outside your window each night was akin to cruising. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower but to be expected you are on a boat.

    Good hotel get what you pay for, like that away from hubbub of city only 10 min ferry ride, good breakfast, staff nice, good restaurant opposite, clean, good free wifi, would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    direct ferry runs every half hour, though is another one too which 10 mins longer, and are buses in between which are just as quick but cost 2.50euros

    the price, cleanliness of the rooms (no bed bugs) and just 15 min free ferry ride from Centraal - definitely the best value decent location in amsterdam unless you do hostel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. You get what you pay for. The rooms have no air conditioning, so I’d definitely not book it in summer. No amenities apart from some squeeze soap in the shower and plastic cups. The hotel should be more eco conscious and NOT use disposable plastic cups. Room has bed, bathroom, squeeze shampoo, desk, chair. Nothing else. Not located near anything interesting even though ferry is free.

    Hotel staff were friendly. Bed was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Reception staff spoke derogatorily about other guests when I checked it - they weren’t aware that I speak Dutch: “these women again... totally annoying”, ”Reilly stupid” (“ ontzettend irritant”, “helemaal stom”). Theit attitude when checking in was apathetic, they hardly looked up from their monitors. My remote didn’t work so I went downstairs to ask for new batteries, and they were clearly annoyed about being bothered with this & gave me a different remote which - guess what - didn’t work either. I also asked them how to set the alarm clock in the room - they said they don’t know because everyone has mobile phones these days & I was the first person to ask in 10 years, and didn’t even try to hide how annoyed they were with me to bother them with this. In fairness to the guys they had a brief look at said alarm in a room near the reception but couldn’t figure it out. Upstairs I checked if I can find the manual online & eventually managed to set the alarm - when the t dawned on me that this would actually have been THEIR job. I booked myself into a lovely other hotel the next day. Checkout took about 5 seconds, and they didn’t inquire why I stayed only one night out of 3. I don’t think this lack of hospitality was down to these particular receptionists, the manager who swooped in and out was just as disinterested as the 2 other guys. He was the one who I i checked out with. There are plenty of other places in AMS with lovely staff who actually care that you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. Room value for money is good, attitude is shocking given the industry they work in, & hospitality is bottoming out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much around for food or entertainment choices, as this area seems to be in transition from industrial to commercial/residential. There are a few decent options though.

    While it is a short ferry ride across the harbour, you get wonderful views and fresh air. We slept with the window open. Good breakfast. The rooms were compact as expected, but were clean and functional for 3 day stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room could have used a little renovation. The room was very clean (Thanks to the cleaning staff!) but a little oldfashioned. The shower didn’t work, but we got a refund for that which was ok.

    The place where the accomodation was, is excellent. You need to take the (free) ferry to get into the center of Amsterdam which makes it a lot of fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Wasn’t aware it was a ferry journey away from Amsterdam central train though. On last night we didn’t make the last ferry back to the hotel. Was told can get a ferry to further away location and shuttle bus was provided. We got the ferry at 2am and once off very in middle of nowhere no shuttle bus came. Had to flag a taxi which cost €21 for a 7 min journey back to hotel. Only let down was this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was disappointing. On the day of our arrival, both the ladies at the reception were indecent. We arrived a little early, so they asked us to wait till 3pm, which we were fine with. But then they kept on checking other guests in who also reached early. Secondly when we requested (yes requested but not demanded) for a water facing room, the tone of reply was completely unacceptable. On the following day however, the other set of staff seemed well behaved. Inconsistency in service always is a huge problem for any hotel. Coming to rooms, the bathrooms are super small and get flooded whenever you take a shower. Not by any means a 3 star experience.

    Location was unique, the breakfast was fine too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room! I need a cuppa first thing! Also when we were leaving it was raining and the connection of the walkway to the land was very slippery and I fell over!

    Great location across the water, free ferry all day! We had looked at previous reviews and were a bit concerned it would be noisy but it was great and slept soundly! Great view out of our window of the old submarine! Breakfast was included and this was fine, coffee was from a machine but it was lovely! We arrived late due to delayed flight and staff were great. The Botel is a great location, after the bustle of the city it was great to get in the ferry and relax in the quiet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast costs Euro 24 for 2 people. We could not opt out. Breakfast consisted of salty bacon or sausages, hard boiled eggs, beans, bread products, 1 type of cereal, a bit of yogurt, coffee and sugared juice. We're not particular to bacon etc. and sugared juice. We don't eat beans for breakfast so that left us with bread, a bit of yogurt and so/so coffee. Not great!!!

    View of the water from our room, relaxed/quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all it was a lovely place we stayed for 2 nights I booked a double room ended up with 2 single beds if I was staying longer I would have said something but it was no issue it very easy to get to with the ferry I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sewer was clogged. It was pretty sickening to see a dirty puddle all over the floor when the water was running for too long. It's just unacceptable. I'll never stay in this hotel again.

    The cheapest option I was able to find with private shower and private toilet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very limited and the lay out made it extremely busy

    Easily accessible from the free ferry to Centraal Station. Located in an up and coming area with other boat bars and entertainment very close. Reception staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff never seem like they like what they are doing. a smile goes a long way .

    it is good value for money for Amsterdam. you need to get use to the ferry. some nice restaurants are available nearby . nice quite area .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready at the agreed to check in time and there were problems with the room that were addressed with the front desk from the 1st day that were never addressed and fixed...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for us. We Visit Amsterdam every 2 years since 2006 and this was the 4th time that we Enjoyed this nice hotel. We Will come again in 2 years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -small shower (but clean!!) -too small if you want to stay during the day in the hotel

    +clean +cheep (conpared to other hostels) +friendly&helpll staff +ideal if you search a place to sleep +good/eatable breakfast +It’s on a boat!!!! +fast in the center of Amsterdam

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms slightly noisy from adjoining rooms and passage, bed mattress a bit tired.

    Location good for a value hotel (Botel). Rooms (cabins) larger than the normal vessels I work on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom lacked basic amenities. The room was in the basement floor with no good view, I had specified about the view but was not given one. I went to the staff to change the room, they said nothing available, i said I can pay more for an upgrade. They again said nothing is available. I again said book me a new room, i’ll completely pay for a new one. To which the lady rudely replied all our rooms are booked. Which is obviously a lie, as I could see a lot of empty rooms.

    Cheap accommodation for a night or two, clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were stiff. Breakfast was really minimal. Use of plastic throwaway cups everywhere.

    The view out of the window. The sunset in the harbor was beautiful. The sound of the water, birds was relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some items of funiture in the rooms could be refreshed.

    Great location, very comfortable sleep and great value for money for those looking to explore Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great experience sleeping on a ship, room is clean and with a good sea view, the price is good considering it’s Amsterdam,and it’s very convenient to get to the botel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not convenient to reach to hotel - if you don’t know how to get there. Quick option to reach hotel is via ferry from central station. Rooms are small and expensive. Noisy neighbourhood at night.

    View from place is nice and beautiful. Different concept - boat as hotel. So different feel and experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is too old, instead of a metallic tube there is a piece of garden hose. Presence of rust on the bathroom's door (it has been painted and not removed). Continental breakfast: bread, cheese, ham, bacon, eggs, beans, jam, butter, yogurt and cereals. Hot drinks. No air dryer. Too expensive.

    Location and panoramic view. Near to the ferries. Quick check in and check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the time this was the cheapest we could find so worth the money that we spent for 3 nights. with the included breakfast it makes it even better. The pollux bar in the front of hotel is quite good..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small, smaller than most cruise ships I've travelled on. The shower was tiny with only a piece of garden hose pipe running to a very small shower head, so very small water spray. Rooms were very basic.

    Location was great. Ease of access to the city with a free ferry was fantastic, we saved so much on public transport costs. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Having breakfast early was good as it gets a bit busy later on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be nice on a sunny day, even romantic (but also hot inside then) but also if you have a loud big groups then oeps. So it is a risk, what I miss in this hotel is passion for guests; feels more like a money machine for the owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to sleep in a bunk bed, despite asking for a twin room three months in advance, we were given a double, then a triple. Very uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was very tiny.

    The location is great. By the boat transfer every 15-30 minutes you can get straight to the center of Amsterdam, even at night and for free. The boat stop is just next to the Botel, you can see it from the windows. Beds were really very comfortable and we all slept great. Bartenders were very friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere ! Breakfast was nice as well, you could find there everything salty and sweat except fruits and vegetables.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really small and tight bathroom.

    I enjoyed the fact that it was different than a regular booking (living on a ship and all :) ), awesome view and really close to city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn‘t know that you can take a free farry to the hotel. So it would have been nice if the write this online or something...

    It was really easy and spontanious. I booked the room 3 hours before check in so... It‘s perfect for travler who eant to stay just 1 or 2 nights in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is described as luxury, but the boat itself is a little dated in the sense that it needs some renovation. I wouldn't necessarily describe it as luxury. It is more basic. There aren't enough plug sockets to charge devices, the drains struggled to cope with a lot of water build up, and one of our lights didn't work in the room. These weren't major problems, they were just a little inconvenient.

    The location is great because of the free boat to central station, and from there you can get to a lot of places on foot. The hotel staff were nice and helpful. The room was clean and we slept well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay. Location is great, 15 minutes by ferry to central station and 24 hours shop. staff was friendly and cooperative. there is a parking free from 7pm till 9am, 1,50 euros per hour during the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being dependent to ferry times to reach the hotel is not very practical. If you need to take something from the room and return back to the centraal you need to wait the next ferry. The coming ferry departs immediately. The bathroom was very very very small unfortunately. The breakfast was the same for four mornings, eggs, one type cheese, three types of ham, butter, jam, yogurt and coffee machine. You may borrow hair dryer from the reception with 10euro deposit.

    Botel is a cheaper option then the other hotels in central Amsterdam. You may reach Amsterdam centraal train station by free ferry around 15 minutes. Ferry station is in 2 minutes far by walk to the hotel. It would be good to check ferry schedule before booking if it is suitable for your stay (Centraal <-> NDSM). After regular times of NDSM ferry, you may go other ferry station from centraal, and call free shuttle of the hotel to pick you up. The hotel is a ship actually, the room, bathroom and towels were clean. Internet was good. Breakfast was included. You may leave your luggages after check-out. A nice river view from the room window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small uncomfortable beds with small shelf above head if your tall your feet hang over and you bang your head on the shelf when you turn in 😴 not good

    Family birthday so was great time away

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rather rude, I asked for one bed, however they said its not possible, but in the booking there was mentioned a choice and for others guests they offered this choice.

    For such a price, it was really ok. Location was great, because there was a free ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are now good options from late (10PM) dinner at the location, but you can have a precooked pizza or a sandwich from the hotel bar.

    As you see from the map that this hotel seems to be a little far from downtown, but thru the free ferry connections from central station (after every 30 minutes) this is really well accessible hotel. Therefore you can easily take your time in downtown and have a ferry back to hotel even at the late evening hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Botel does not have a restaurant, but nearby there are local eateries, and not far back to central Amsterdam.

    Location of the Botel on the IJ waterway at the back of Central Station Amsterdam is a very enjoyable experience. The ferry to access the NDSM is great fun and free. Watching all the boats on the waterway is relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic, reception staff were fine but the kitchen staff were quite rude at times. Also booked a double room and was given a twin room and the beds were really uncomfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the breakfast could of been a bit better,we expected a little bit more selection of continental food but overall it was great.

    The view was amazing, the location just perfect to get to the centre and the fact that the hotel was on the boat was really cool! Big plus for staff too :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds - mine and my husband's along with our son's room had twin beds - were hard and uncomfortable and only 1 flattish pillow was on the bed. The shower was tiny. No hairdryer available in the rooms, though in fairness reception will supply you with one for a 10 Euro deposit which will be refunded on it's return. The hotel info file in the rooms offer several services - wake up call etc - available by pressing 9 on the phone BUT there are no phones in the rooms.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast with a good choice, the fruit bread in particular was delicious. Fresh towels placed and beds made every morning. View from Botel was lovely and ducks and swans could be seen every morning. Even had some cruise liners go past. Also it's in a quiet are although there are quite a few places to eat and drink within a 5/10 min walk. Also even though it is away from the main area there is a free ferry which runs at between every 15 and 30 mins - depending on the time of day - to Central station, which is the start point for any destination in Amsterdam. Peace, quiet and relaxation but at the same time a stone's throw from the heart of Amsterdam's bustling life

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and pleasant. No luxus but functional. For getting a room with double bed one has to tell in advance (we got a room with two separate beds which could not be moved as they were fixed to the wall). Ferry goes every 30min and is free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Although close to the free ferry this stopped running fairly early for us during the week

    Very clean basic accommodation. Staff extremely helpful always.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I put 2 people to sleep in double bed but again single bed had been given , room was small but this is the concept of the hotel so no complain , just the bed !

    Staff is great ! Especially Hamza helped alot ! Thanks for the great hospitality Botel... Free Ferry is great and in 10min you are in crowded... Great silence for the sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is quite uncomfortable due to the tinyness. I also wish the breakfast had more options; it felt like the bare minimum.

    The staff was super lovely. Overall the room had just enough to be comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can teach your personel not to be load in reminding the rules because then we could be load as well about your weaknesses. Secondly, the rooms smelled badly after cleanup and we believe your sweage has cluged up returning a very bad smell and sometimes dirty water. You ca now start with checking them one by one..please begin with the room number 423, and 422

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are thin and not noise proof.

    It was an interesting experience to sleep on a boat, which is always slightly rocking, moving :-) So be carefully with the drinking on board.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ferry crossing was a minor inconvenience but runs very regularly

    Room was perfectly clean, great view, friendly staff. Lethal breakfast which was included in price 👌🏼👌🏼

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and comfort. When i arrived , my room was covered in dust. There were wrappers under the bed from whoever had used my room before and i also foundb2 toe nails in the cup where i was meant to put my toothbrush.

    I enjoyed the view of the water and short walk distance to the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were basic to say the least. Getting too and from the hotel was an issue because this was via a ferry which took approx 15 minutes and then there was a further 10/15 minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam. There was a power outage that resulted in no power or lighting in the room during the night and into late morning. I was woken at half past one in the morning by two men claiming to be from reception and wanting to get in my room to check the power. There is construction work taking place right near to the hotel resulting in lots of noise which started early morning and lasted all day... all in all a terrible experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not worth the amount paid. The shower didn’t work properly. The walls are very thin and we were woken up every night at 3am by the people next door. It was not in the location as first expected. It’s an extremely expensive city, worse than London. There were no English movies as advertised. It’s right next to the ferry to get to the town centre so every 30mins until 3am the boat rocks.

    It was an easy layout to work with in order to get around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of noise from building site nearby, (pile-drivers at 7.15am both mornings...). Lots of noise from guests arriving late/early pulling their suitcases along a metal topped pier. Would therefore recommend the port (left-hand) side of the boat for a quieter stay, not the starboard pier-side. Bathrooms are very small.

    Querky, basic, okay. Played pacman with the kids which was cool history lesson, the breakfast was better than expected. Ferry was easy. Beds were surprisingly comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where the Botel is located and having to get a ferry to get there. Very small shower. No hairdryer in room. No cooked eggs for breakfast- vegetarian option limited.

    The main negative point for us was the location and the ferry ride to get to the accommodation. Whilst the ferries travel regularly it was not that convenient for planning our day and evening. It was a hassle coming back to the Botel and then going out again for an evening meal. The alternative was staying out until we were ready to come back but you felt jaded by the evening. When I booked I didn't see that the accommodation was a ferry ride away and had I known I probably would have chosen something more conveniently located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff were less than helpful and accomodating when there was an error in my booking. We ended up having to shell out more $$$$ to make it work and my husband and I had to sleep in seperate rooms which sucked. They could have been helpful or understanding but they just told us there was nothing they could do.

    It was convenient to the ferries to the city center and this service was free which was a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Location !!! This botel is on the «wrong» side of the water, and you need to catch a ferry to the other side (takes 10mins and is FREE). Very inconvenient for evenings and night life. - Expensive rooms compared to standard. - HARD and uncomfortabel beds :( - Receptionists were AAAWFUL. We interacted with 4 different receptionist on 4 different occasions, and they were all very grumpy and rude. - Walls between the rooms are PAPER THIN !! We could hear the neighbours coughing.

    - Nice window view if you have a room facing the water - Ok breakfast buffe, better than expected. Also great view towards the water from the breakfast restaurant - Great bartender who made the evenings at the bar fun (shoutout to Amir!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been better.No toiletries provided. No take away food joints open for people arriving late.

    The view was excellent. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there is only two ferries an hour direct from the botel to central. Not a major issue as you can walk a bit further down the bank to catch a different one. And the fact that the bar closes a bit too early. But other than that, it was all good.

    The querkyness of the boat. And the location was more than ok. Pool table was free. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a big variety of food to eat at breakfast and it was very cramped space

    Very warm and cosy rooms and relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.rooms are small but clean and all u need

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a TWIN room two months before we travelled. Upon arrival we were allocated a room with double beds. A strong protest eventually led to our being able to change rooms.

    Compact cabin rooms. Location is away from city centre but the FREE and regular ferry service makes it easy to be in Central Amsterdam in 15 minutes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the small side and the bathroom very cosy. The breakfast room was not big enough for the people eating with the serving area being quite cramped. We didn't feel relaxed though there was plenty to eat. Perhaps some fruit could be added to the menu.

    We liked the location as it meant we could get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Great views of the canals and water traffic. The ferries into the city were frequent. The bar served Palm ale which went down a treat at the end of the day. Also enjoyed the toasties/sandwiches.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nosey at night (our room was next to washing machine room that vibrated through the room at night/morning)

    Property was in a good location. Clean. Powerful shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff constantly opened the windows during the day, and forgot to close them. It is not nice to come back to a cold room late night...

    Never been inside a ship, the entire interior was a good surprise for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's easy and free to arrive to the Botel by ferry but it's not the most comfortable because it takes some time.

    It was a good experience. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, bar area and hallways new and fresh having recently been renovated. Rooms are in need of an update. One one small pillow. Tiny wetroom incl shower toilet and sink.. Not too much choice in local area. Late ferries are infrequent

    Breakfast warm and plentiful although heavily swayed towards pork and no fruits. Bed surprisingly more comfortable that it looked. Located in developing fashionable area. In peak hours ferries transport you for free to the main city side of the river. They go every 15 minutes for 3 hours around rush hour. It takes about 20 minutes to cross.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been cleaner, beds more comfortable and the tv didn’t work properly.

    It was ok. Very basic. Food and room were acceptable, access to town and activities was easy and cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Botel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: