Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Botterweck 3 stars

Bogaardlaan 4, 6301 CZ Valkenburg, Netherlands

#18 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1426 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Really small room and unhelpful staff! Won't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was sooo small! I never had a hotel room that small. We were staying with our baby and so we needed a baby bed, the room was completely packed. We had to play tetris every time we needed to move around, we had to put our bags and furniture from the room in the bathroom... The hotel knew we were coming with a baby, it would have been great if they proposed us a bigger room even if we had to pay extra. About the camping baby bed, the mattress was really thin and hard. My baby didn't sleep well on it at all, he kept waking up during the night crying which for sure was because of the poor quality mattress. When we arrived I went to see the reception to ask if they had another mattress for the camping baby bed as I was concerned about it. The receptionist just replied "It is like this in the Netherlands, that what we give for baby bed" Great answer for customer service right there!! The next day we drove to the next town to a baby store and bought a thick camping mattress as it was no way my son will sleep again on that bad mattress. He slept really good on the new mattress. I was really upset that the receptionist was unhelpful, I understand if she didn't have any other type of mattresses but she wasn't emphatic at all and her comment about how it is in the Netherlands was completely unrelevant. At the end we did found a good camping mattress for a baby bed in the Netherlands :) Last and not least, the cleanliness of the room was not great, there were hairs in the shower from previous guests and big black spiders hanging in the room and corridors of the hotel.

    The hotel location is great, close to bar and restaurant in the center of Valkenburg, perfect to go out and enjoy the city. There is a public parking near by the hotel. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was ok, nothing exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, very central, but not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought it was very expensive for the size and standard of the room, had much better value for money elsewhere in comparison.

    Location was excellent, very accommodating for our tandam

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Valkenburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located! In downtown Valkenburg, but just outside of the noisy streets. The room was small, but clean. We had a beautiful view of the square outside. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Staff were very friendly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    We decided not too stay as the lack of parking nearby concerned us as did the access for my partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking proved a real problem and access to the hotel very problematic and this was complicated further by extensive roadworks nearby. This is not a hotel for anyone with mobility issues.

    The room was small but comfortable and reception very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    The receptionist lady waited for us even we came more than 1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cheapest room is too small. However it's common in Europe.

    The receptionist lady waited for us even we came more than 1 hour late to check in. And she was still nice towards us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place with nice people (great receptionist!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The music in the restaurant was a bit too loud in the morning. I don't know if other guests had a problem with it but for me it was too loud and I woke up because of it. Positive thing though is that it was impossible to miss breakfast that way ;)

    We had car trouble and couldn't make the original check in time that we said we were gonna make (evening between 20:00 and 21:00). We called the hotel to tell the bad news. Our car was gonna get fixed but we didn't know if it's was gonna be on time to still get to the hotel. The receptionist (Anne I believe) told us she would wait for is. She ended up waiting the entire evening. We arrived around 22:45. We were so grateful that she did that for us. She was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Location, food, cleanliness and staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could fault, just keep up the good work.😀

    I told my family all about Valkenburg when I visited last year, they were very keen to visit to see if everything I said was accurate. We chose the Hotel Botterweck because I had seen this Hotel on my last visit. The accommodation lived up to my and my families expectations it was excellent, really helpful staff, plenty to eat and great choice at breakfast. Fantastic location and great value for money, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely stay again, despite this minor hiccup
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a problem with the heating from day of arrival, this still was not fixed on the day we left. Our room was freezing. Valkenburg is not the warmest of places in December. This was reported to staff, their answer was that it is due to be fixed but didn't know when. I would not give the hotel a lower score because of this, the hotel was very good in every other way.

    The staff were friendly, Ambience was nice and location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    We had a great holiday. Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the town and of course the markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly cannot think of anything about your wonderful hotel that I did not like

    Hotel location is excellent. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Appreciated our packed breakfast for our early departure. Room temperature was perfect. Room 22 was superb. It felt very homely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable apart from the mentioned points
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom small & toilet very high. Needed a stool to get on it. I am 5ft 3inches tall. Tea making only in certain rooms although advertisement didn't make this clear

    The hotel has been renovated since last year and looks very smart. Very central for all sight seeing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect, good company excellent hotel would definitely do it again xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rain ⛈OMG did it rain I've never experienced rain like it. Some of the restaurants are a little expensive and also some of the taxis.

    Staff were lovely and everyone was very helpful. The breakfast was amazing and had an excellent choice every day cleanliness was 100% and everything was spotless we didn't use car parking which was a little walk away I understand Beds comfy facilities perfect. Close to shops restaurants supermarkets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Great short break but be aware no lifts in apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an apartment next to the Hotel; and great we had a first floor apartment. Downside there were stairs and no lift - this wasn't stated in the information. 1 night there was an awful lot of noise from the property to the left of us. Residential property, so difficult for hotel, which is a shame as staff were great and friendly.

    Great llocation we had an apartment, that wasn't looking over the river but anyone having a room in the hotel would have a good view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some cooling fan would have been helpful in the middle of the summer heat (but I'd stay there again anyway)

    lovely location and view, many restaurants right around the corner, decent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    central location with good breakfast, recommended for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the room extremely hot. There was a fan provided but the sound it made prevented us from sleeping. We tried opening the window however it was very noisy outside, as you are literally a stone's throw from all the cafes/bars. If you are a light sleeper, you'd wake up to the sound of vans and scooters early morning as well. We were provided a combined body/hair wash on the first day however we did not get any toiletries the next day, this was forgotten during housekeeping I guess.

    The hotel is very central and easy to reach by car, train or on foot. There are many places to eat and shops very close by. The rooms are on the smaller side however still comfortable. The bed and the shower was very nice. We enjoyed the breakfast a lot, with lots of dutch and international varieties, even including some bubbles. The rooms and general areas were clean. Wifi worked without issues. There were many materials at receptions on what to do in Valkenburg. Parking was possible close by at a rate of 10 Euro/day. Check in and check out was easy and friendly. We were handed out goodbye package with water and some sweets, which was a nice touch. Considering the period we are travelling (Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht), the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    We had an apartment with a Senseo coffee machine and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was a bit patchy but our building was quite far from the main building. Our friends were in the main hotel where it was better. But we only need wi-fi so that we can book the next hotel on Booking.com!!

    We had an apartment with a Senseo coffee machine and a little kitchen. Luxury to have great coffee. There's a Jan Linder supermarket just around the corner where we could get coffee pods and milk and other little goodies-like herring , pate and wine. Very handy. Our rental car broke down and the receptionist was kind enough to make phone calls so that we could get back on the road. Everyone was helpful and friendly-it's a lovely town with plenty of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Cozy hotel, friendly staff, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cozy hotel right in the city center and right on the Christmas parade route. Amazing staff, made our stay welcomed and comfortable. Very good breakfast, both in variety and quality. Excellent experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    8.3
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Right in the tourist centre of the old town, a short walk from the station, directly opposite one of the Christmas Markets. Clean, huge breakfast, friendly staff, close to many restaurants and bars and shops.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    Good wifi, good breakfast, friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms little bit outdated. No information on booking site about place to park care - hotel doesn't have his own parking. Fee per dog = 10 euro. Needed to ask for welcome drink.

    Good wifi, good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.5
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in could be more friendly. Nothing was known about the welcoming drink, included in the genius program (shortcoming of Booking.com?); when asked for we did get it, which was nice.

    Very good & complete breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Amazing stay very comfortable rooms hotel like a palace decorated , breakfast very selective choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming away after 2 days wanted to stay

    Owners we so lovable in every way , felt at home , the bed was better than my own lovely bed , room was 100 % clean , tea and coffee tray and toiletries supplied

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Relaxed stay at a very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is at a very attractive location, and our apartment was comfortable with a very nice view of the city centre. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great staff, Very comfortable, Ideal location,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great staff, Very comfortable, Ideal location,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    We will be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Excellent value for money and the location. We are planning a return trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Good stay, great location, but rooms small and no air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Valkenburg is a great town to visit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    we all enjoyed breakfast the apartment suited our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we all enjoyed breakfast the apartment suited our requirements

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, attentive staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    BREAKFAST TOO LATE 9AM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BREAKFAST TOO LATE 9AM

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Room was tiny - next time would have gone for a more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny - next time would have gone for a more expensive room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot

    Clean, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    top
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    alles was perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sunk in the middle. Was not the best nights sleep.

    Nice sized rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location,room a little bit on small side was ok and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location,room a little bit on small side was ok and spotless.Nice fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    alles perfect vooral de ligging hartje centrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    alles was goed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Shor but excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing the lady waited for us as we were delayed

    all good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location and staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were excellent and very helpful. Location very good . Hotel clean and service very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Great location, average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is quite rundown. Needing some renovations

    The location was perfect for accessing restaurant and for sightseeing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel with nice view of city square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Location in the centre of town, room with a nice view, fine breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    a very good and pleasant stay would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    parking could have been closer to the hotel

    good choice of breakfast friendly staff , very accommodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Top
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles was super top hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    will stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed very comfortable, spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Staff was friendly and extremely helpful recommending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was friendly and extremely helpful recommending restaurants for dinner. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    place worth to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.3
    the staff
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise

    the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    Every thing was perfect - friendly staff, great location,...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Every thing was perfect - friendly staff, great location, great room with balcony, not noisy, good breakfast, and nice price!! Will come again with pleasure!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    The Hotel was central within Valkenburg, and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel was central within Valkenburg, and the staff were helpful throughout our stay

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.1
    Great location, lovely breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed in apartment, very dated, rickety furniture, smelt of cigarette smoke, small single beds.

    Great location, lovely breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.5
    Staff doing the utmost to make us feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simple room and furniture, car parkings all some minutes walking away

    Staff doing the utmost to make us feel welcome

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Botterweck traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: