Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Ruyter 3 stars

Coosje Buskenstraat 130, 4381 LH Vlissingen, Netherlands

#2 of 14 hotels in Vlissingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit basic and also rather smelly. Staff were unhelpful when it counted. For example, we paid €15 for a permit to park on the street but when we asked to keep it for two hours extra after check-out they refused point-blank. This was "our rule", they said, rather than making a simple gesture to keep the customer happy. When you pay €433 for a cramped, smelly room, you really expect a little more from a hotel. I asked what the best way to find a taxi was. Answer: "You dial the number!"

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the second (top) floor and there was no lift. The treads were very narrow and steep and one had to be extra careful going up and down.

    The hotel was in a very quiet location. I could not hear the guest in the adjacent room. The bed was very comfortable but lacked a headboard for sitting up. Breakfast was good with a wide choice including fresh fruit. The Manager/owner was very friendly and helpful. He recommended two restaurants in the harbour. The food in the one I tried was good. The other was closed on the second night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small, no place for luggage. Very steep stairs to the room. We had to climb two of these, since our room was on the second floor.

    Nice location, near the center of the town. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small so was the toilet / shower.

    Flexible staff - I needed an early breakfast so they arranged it without Problems - many thanks!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing could be better. Breakfast served from 08:30, so guessed I'd get a bit of a lie in. Unfortunately someone decided 06:15 was a good time to start sharing the local radio station

    Roomy enough for what I wanted, free tea/ coffee from dining room. Close to boulevard / shops & restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked this hotel for my boss for a business trip, he called me to thank me for choosing this hotel. When he came back he showed me pictures of the hotel and I asked him if he has to go back there for work, should I reserve the same hotel and his answer was "yes definitely"

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our best recommendations. Only good impressions - rooms, breakfast, hygiëne, wi-fi, location, comfort terrase and very friendly personal did the best for customers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the rooms are located above a very steep stairway. While the owner helps with baggage, anyone not completely sure of foot needs to exercise caution here.

    Cozy rear terraces with lots of plants and flowers for breakfast and evening bargain beers. A short walk to the sea and a splendid movie theater.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent care of personel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De locatie is perfect

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Family with older children

    Stairs due to my old age. Owner helps with suitcases witch i felt bad about it. Owner kind yet not to friendly

    Breakfast was excellent. Owner kind and welcoming. Small rooms but comfortable. Excellent position able to reach beach and city withing 5 minutes or less walk !!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Square footage of the room was a bit tight for two people. The beds were saggy in the middle but comfortable enough for good rest.

    The owner was warm and accomodating. He helped us get oriented to the downtown area quickly. Breakfasts were wonderful and back porch an added plus.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing much really.

    Very nice receptionist told us all the practical info about Vlissingen. The location is just by the sea with public parking on the same street. Free coffee/tea. Full breakfast even with boiled eggs and fresh orange juice. Lots of English tv channels if interested. Overall definitely recommended.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm welcome, the ambience and the quality of the furniture and fittings. Wilco has brought the garden inside with his careful choice and positioning of plants. The patio is a peaceful suntrap once again brought alive by the selection and colours of the potted plants.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast starts from 8:30. It was too late. I had no chance to enjoy breakfast, although the fee includes the cost for breakfast...

    The location was very good. Easy to access to supermarket, beach, Restaurant etc.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to leave early in the morning and upon depositing my room key at reception I noticed that a bag containing a full continental breakfast (cheese and ham croissant, two slices of buttered fruit loaf, a yoghurt, a banana, a chocolate bar, and a fruit juice) had been left for me. Excellent hotel all round.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very clean hotel, friendly attentive owner and staff. Great breakfast and free hot drinks all day! Overall a very comfortable friendly hotel. Enjoyed our stay there very much and would definately return.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had some difficulty finding the hotel because I couldn't see a street name anywhere at the town end of the street, though I later found a clear one at the seaward end. The stairs are extremely steep, though I suppose that's typical of the Netherlands.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Pleasant, comfortable room in which everything worked. Good breakfast selection with freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception was very friendly and welcoming. The room was scrupulously clean and comfortable.breakfast was excellent and coffe was on tap. In the town centre and overnight parking easy. Definitely going back.vbvery comfortable

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was just perfect !

    W e liked everything, but most of all the the staff, they were so friendly and very obliging . The dining room was a delight, open fire place, beautiful Christmas decoration and breakfast was incredible !

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OK

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NOTHING

    What a nice place and a wondefull host! Freindly, clean, good breakfest, nice rooms. Just the perfect place to stay in Vlissingen!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in time very strictly observed

    Location,breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the weather so we couldnt use the rooftop garden unfortunately.

    lovely conservatory and rooftop garden for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was good.

    Pleasant owner. Quiet, and safe parking which was complimentary. Vlissingen is enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was superb typical Dutch. Breakfast Room,Conservatory and outside terrace very pleasant. Proprietor very welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly Host

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable, with friendly & helpful proprietors. Conveniently located for town centre and ferry.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit small

    Very friendly and helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location, great owners, the town has good food, great beers and ship watching ...

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Erg vriendelijke staf en een prima ontbijt.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Hotel De Ruyter traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: