Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel View 3 stars

Leidsekade 77, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 PM Amsterdam, Netherlands

#132 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1009 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are steep and narrow but this is only to be expected in the city of Amsterdam. Not an issue for ourselves but could be for others. Suggest sticking to the big chain hotels if this is going to be a concern for you, although you will miss out on the charm and character of these lovely smaller properties. Water pressure of the shower could do with being a little stronger. Mostly due to the cold water so if you like a nice steaming hot shower then you’re fine!

    Located outside of the central busy hub but a gentle 20 minute walk pretty much gets you to most places of interest. Friendly warm welcome and our early arrival meant we could leave our luggage at reception and make the most of our first day. Nice rooms with lovely view of the canal directly opposite. Capsule based coffee machine in the room was a much welcomed bonus first thing in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautifully decorated canal house, a dedicated staff member Bailey and it’s so convenient to the museum quarter. Breakfast is delicious. Bailey makes great omelettes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Twin beds and Sofa)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep stairs to the rooms are not a surprise but guests having conversations outside your room after the bars have closed is a nuisance because the sound carries.

    The view depends on which side of the street you are on - street and canal versus other windows and brick wall. The canal side view is great. The stairs are steep but the lady at the desk is very helpful for shlepping the bags to your room. The hotel location is excellent, the 1 hr boat tour nearby was excellent as was the restaurant at the Holland Festival cafe was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not close enough to the Central Station so need to take tram from Leidseplein to station but stayed here because the price is reasonable

    The owner Natalie is nice and works hard to accommodate the clients. It is on canal Leidsegracht in residential area with boats passing by. A short 10 minute walk to reach the hop on hop off bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were a bit tricky with a big suitcase, but then the staff helped so not a problem!

    Great location, wonderful and helpful staff and a fantastic breakfast! We would recommend without a doubt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steep narrow stairs made it difficult for older people with heavy bags (not unexpected - it is Amsterdam!) but staff helped out without hesitation. TV didn't seem to work (didn't need it so only mentioned it when leaving) and only one easily accessible power point (bring double adaptor). 'Cosy' shower/toilet combination, no cupboard and small room made it difficult to manoeuvre around bags (travel light). No room for fridge. No a/c but open window/fan ok for our stay. Always be very careful of the numerous crazy bike/motor bike riders and stay off the roads/bike paths (many not clearly marked or non existent). Nothing unexpected due to it being Amsterdam and previous comments by other guests. Perhaps this review section could be better titled 'What didn't you like/advice for future guests'?

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, excellent quiet location close to trams, express 395 bus from/to airport, restaurants, shops, canal boat ride and many attractions within easy walking distance (eg Rijks/Van Gogh museum). We arrived early but staff willing to store bags.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- everything was great!

    Great location, staff both lovely and really friendly. Rooms very clean and towels changed everyday. We stayed in the annexe and was really impressed. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were hoping for a canal view but didn’t really mind as it was only for one night and we didn’t request or pay for a better view!

    Bed was comfy, shower was nice and room was well equipped with coffee and other desirable items!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location and a lovely, characterful, canal-side hotel. Really fabulous staff - they couldn’t be more pleasant, helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfasts. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to my friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, clean and great location. Breakfast was worth every penny we particularly enjoyed the omelette. Great hostess and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a delightful and memorable stay. Although our bedroom was very small it had a fabulous canal view and was creatively fitted out and decorated. The location was ideal for biking around Amsterdam's canals and was easily reached by tram or bus. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Natalie is a lovely woman who made us feel so welcome. We arrived at 11am and she got our room ready for us in 15 minutes even though it wasn't supposed to be ready until 2pm. Location is really good and the beds are super comfy. The only problem was that i stayed with my partner and we had 2 singles beds (Cant actually remember if it stated this when booking) but apart from that 10/10!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep staircase.

    Service provided by the host was amazing. Very welcoming host even before I stepped into the Boutique Hotel View itself. Their breakfast menu sounds good too but I was fasting, hence I didn't the chance to try it. They served it at 10 EURO and you can opt for it anytime at the reception area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original assigned room was not what we had signed up for, but staff corrected it, once we told them. No elevator.

    Staff were very accommodating and carried bags up and down stairs for us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have enhanced the stay.

    Excellent location. Beautiful view of canal. Quiet area away from busy tourist spots. Walking distance to major areas. Owners and staff very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a very small room. Bed took up virtually all floor space and no place to put luggage. Bath was exceptionally small, with shower and toilet in the same room. Only ONE electrical outlet in a very inconvenient place. IMO, this room should not be rented at all, and for sure not for the price of over $150 per nite

    Location excellent. Staff friendly. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right in the heart of the museum and entertainment district, this hotel is walking distance to lots of attractions. Everyone who works there is really nice. My room was right on the street, so people watching was part of the entertainment. The noise wasn't too bad and the curtains were thick so it was still private. Beds are squishy, everything was nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The property was centrally located over looking a canal very clean and lovely rooms would definitely recommend this hotel. Will be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Twin beds and Sofa)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As our room was at the front of the property the noise from the street / canal was loud late at night/ early mornings.

    Great central location. The room was clean and plenty of space for 3 people sharing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial small room!

    We were initially booked into a rather small room! I mentioned this in feedback we were able to leave on the in room hotel tablet. I was astonished when within minutes of posting this feedback I was contacted by phone, by the hotel owner who apologised and offered to move us to a bigger room at no additional cost. The new room was simply magnificent, with a balcony and a canal view. We spoke with the owner later that night whilst we were en route out for a meal and she offered recommendations for local restaurants, we followed this advice and enjoyed a lovely evening in a nearby Italian restaurant. We also the following morning enjoyed the hotel breakfast, €10 for as much as you could eat, a really nice, freshly made omelette followed by a lovely continental breakfast! We had a great time at this friendly, greatly located hotel, we would HIGHLY recommend it to all, 10/10!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room didn't feel like it had been aired so I had to air the room by leaving the windows open for a while. I guess its all down to personal taste but I'm a bit particular about air fresheners and deodorants lingering in a room. I'm sure it was a one-off. The toilet area in the basement where I changed appeared a bit unkept and the lever on the door was falling off not this did not stop me using it. These things didn't really impact my overall stay though. I think they were short staffed for breakfast and need one person managing the reception and one doing breakfast. A bit too family run where one poor lady who was very lively but struggling multi-tasking.

    The place felt slightly eccentric with two cats wondering around but that felt sort of cute and bohemian too. For one night it did the job and was clean and cosy. The fittings, finish and accessories in the room were of a high standard and everything worked. Some nice shower and bathing accompaniments and lots of towels. A comfortable bed and a nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs but was expecting this from description

    Natalie and Bailey made us so welcome right from the time we arrived. The rooms although small are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is well worth 10 euro esp the pancakes. Will definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    Room was super clean - we had a room overlooking the canal. The lady who owns the place and her mum are super nice. Breakfast definitely worth having. Thank you, would definitely recommend and come back! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Twin beds and Sofa)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in the basement thus there was not enough light. The room itself and the bathroom were way too basic for the price we payed - the room was cold, there were not enough shelves, the shower had no doors. However, it was ok for a weekend.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great central position. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the lady whos place it is was an excellent host and the place was perfect

    Lady history and mother were really nice and most helpful the place was great in every way

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in room could have been brighter, especially bedside lights. No lift, but a historic set of steep stairs. Natalie kindly carried our bags up. Rooms not well sound-proofed, but this was not too bad

    Very friendly greeting on arrival - offered free coffee! Relaxed friendly manager and her Mother made us feel very welcome and "at home". Brilliant pancakes and omelettes for breakfast cooked just for us, with lots of coffee. More like staying with friends than in a hotel brilliant views from our 2nd floor canal-side room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Twin beds and Sofa)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I could find that was not good. Everything we needed was there. We are definitely going back to this hotel. The owner is a lovely lady👍🏼

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a dream. Prefect location to be close to downtown but still quiet. The staff is really what makes the stay special. This is the only hotel I will book in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed staying in a narrow canal house; part of the Amsterdam experience. The room was bigger than expected. The staff were so personable, it made the stay special!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives whatsoever!

    We had an absolutely incredible stay, could not recommend highly enough! The room was stunning, nicest room I've ever stayed in. Staff were brilliant too, so friendly and gave us great recommendations. Location excellent also, within walking distance of everything and right beside the bus to the airport. Perfectly clean, great wifi and great coffee also! All in all it was a perfect experience, would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t find anything I didn’t like about it, earlier check in times and checkout times would help but nothing to fault

    The bed was super comfy it was just a great stay and close to all of the locations we wished for it to be

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful property with accommodating and friendly hosts! The property is in an excellent location, easy to get to using public transit and a few minutes of walking. We didn’t need to use transit for any reason other than to and from the airport because everything we wanted to explore was in walking distance. The neighborhood is quite lovely, and very safe feeling, with Lots of good food nearby. The property itself also is very safe and clean. There is staff there at all times, who are willing to answer questions and make recommendations. The beds are very comfortable. They provide in the bathroom basic amenities such as soap, lotion, shampoo, also an in room coffee/tea maker, with other beverages available in the lobby for purchase. They do have house pets, but you would never know unless you saw them, like I mentioned, the property is very clean. There is not a lift, so you just carry luggage up and down stairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We'd have liked to check in early. We arrived at about 11am after flying for 16 hours, so were really tired. But we were only allowed to check in after 2

    Receptionists were very helpful, even after we checked out we came back to wait for the taxi and they gave us coffee and snacks while we waited. They even gave us a kettle to take to our room and gave helpful advice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it was comfortable and friendly.

    Friendly owner and staff which made the stay feel ‘homely’. Always willing to help with directions and answer queries. Breakfast was good, omelette cooked to order and decaf coffee was provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right next to the window in the basement and under the restaurant so a little noisy. But earplugs did the trick! I love cats but a warning no to those who don’t there were two but they were very sweet.

    Extremely friendly staff. Even offered to make me vegan pancakes and bought me vegan yoghurt. Very accommodating. Nice place and great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and the bathroom was not very clean and quite compact. This didn’t effect our stay as we didn’t spend much time there other than to wash and sleep. The buffet available was poor but they were happy to make you anything you wanted to eat.

    I loved the location, the view and the staff. That was all just amazing! The staff were so helpful and fun. Really welcoming. The view was just sensational and you are situated near everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very comfortable, and in fact, on arrival we were given an upgrade at no extra charge on the Saturday of a long weekend. Natalie was very friendly and helpful, as was her mother. They stored our considerable amount of luggage without any grievances, which we really appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower volume was poor. one bed mattress needed renewing due to hollow. breakfast could do with more help yourself options - i.e yogurts and fruits somewhat noisy from traffic at night from otherside of canal

    manager and staff very helpful and interested and happy to see us. freshly cooked omelettes or eggs or pancakes with cheeses/ bacon etc great view from front rooms over canals. good sized deluxe room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could be more secluded from the rest of the room, also toilette is in almost in the shower.

    Really kind staff with 2 beautiful cats. Cozy and beautiful hotel with family atmosphere, highly recommended. I do not have words to describe kindness of hotel owners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and although the bed was comfy and a double we had rather a strange arrangement of two overlapping single duvets. It was very noisy on the Friday, well into the night as we were at the front of the hotel. Perhaps if you are a light sleeper a request for a room at the back would be a good idea.

    This is a family run business with all the right ethics. The people were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. My breakfast pancake was absolutely delicious, cooked by mother. I have already looked up recipes but still hoping for a direct message of the "secret Recipe"! It was a great location for our first visit to Amsterdam, lovely views of canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very steep stairs, found it hard to walk up and down them especially after a few drinks! The room was lovely and the views were beyond beautiful

    The rooms were lovely, beds were really comfy and recommend getting the canal views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some troubles with our radiator, but that was the only negative thing from our stay.

    The room was newly renovated and clean. The breakfast was good and the owner/staff was freindly. The location was great, quit but still close to Amsterdam centrum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the decor of the hotel and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location couldn't have been better we were walking distance to most things. The only thing I could suggest improving would be to have a double mattress as the two single mattresses pushed together to make a double bed ment one person usually ended up falling between the mattresses!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was in with the toilet and there was only a glass panel for the toilet door so no privacy we could hear each other going to the toilet and the sink was in the room behind the bed.

    The bed was comfortable and the canal view was great. Staff were so nice and friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That i only stayed one night

    Loved the view from the room and the general cleanliness. When i arrived i was greeted promotley with a smile, i would 100% stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious. Bed very comfortable. Besides a good selection of breakfast items staff cooked delicious bacon and cheese omelettes for us both

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were absolutely wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. Great location with transport links. Our room was lovely and clean with a comfy bed and fabulous breakfast. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if returning to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From start to finish our stay was amazing. We had a free upgrade to the deluxe canal view room which was beautiful. Bathroom was modern and clean and the beds very comfortable. The view was incredible! Breakfast was amazing value at 10 Euro, Natalie and her mother would make pretty much anything you fancied - and the added bonus of Natalie’s mother’s singing whilst she cooked! I would definitely recommend the pancakes! Great location, about 20 minutes walk to Dam Square. Amazing value for money and I would 100% stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing i can think of which is if i really tried ... is the shower was a bit feeble. Other than that, everything was fine.

    Perfect stay. Amazing location. Staff were extremely nice and helpful. Cute, quirky hotel. Beautiful view of the canal. Great value for money. Cute cats. Yummy breakfast. Beds were so comfy. Felt welcome as soon as we stepped through the door. I would definitely go back and definitely recommend especially to couples!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly this was a disaster of a stay. We spent weeks researching places to stay in Amsterdam. Our main priority was a Balcony with a view. We searched lots of places and this was one that seemed nice. It also stated it had a bath. The price was on the higher scale but giving it had all we were looking for we didn’t mind. Once in the room it appeared the room did have a view but no balcony. When paying on booking.com they charged more for the room with a balcony. (A lot more) Having taken the money prior to arrival we had paid but no balcony. The balcony room had alreadt been booked. So be careful when booking! This really upset us. We mentioned it to the staff but there was nothing they could do. There was also no bath in the room. Just a walk in shower. As this was a present I didn’t want to make a scene at the time. But we were REALLY disappointed especially as it was quite expensive. We have visited Amsterdam 5 times now and this was one of the worst visits. In the 4 days we stayed I had one warm shower .... not HOT or no warm water at all so we had to shower in cold water. We mentioned it to staff and they said there was a problem with the boiler. Not being able to have a hot shower then going into the cold really wasn’t ideal. I’m sad to have to mention the bad points as the staff were very friendly. Another thing booking.com stated it provided were hair dryers, both times we asked for a Hair dryer they had none available. The final thing is the noise. The cleaner starts are 8:30-9 am so if your planning on having a lie in.... you can’t the hoover is noisey and banging and clashing outside the room. The room had nice facilities such as the coffee machine... but only one coffe and 5 milks, so again not ideal when there was two of us staying.

    The staff were very friendly. And the location was very good a able to walk into the centre with shops the whole way. They provided bubbly for Valentine’s Day!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is located in a gorgeous building, overlooking the canal. the location was amazing right in the centre & everywhere was easily reached by foot. the staff were friendly & helpful & the reception cats added to to the hotel’s cosy atmosphere! would definitely head back!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was perfect. Lovely bed,great facilities,nice balcony overlooking the canals and a lovley modern bathroom. Also the nespresso machine is a big bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities or fridge.

    The location is absolutely fantastic. Room was very clean. Clean towels were left outside room even when we didn't ask for room to be made up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pushed together twin beds instead of a double. (Kept slipping down the gap when holding hands)

    Upgraded room with balcony and canal view. Was kept nice and clean every day. Great location, no problem walking to anything although transport links were very near.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was fine but could have been slightly more powerful.

    The hostess Natalie could not do enough for you; this is a gem of a hotel. We absolutely loved it. Very warm welcome, beautifully decorated room. Coffee machine in our room, beautiful view of the canal from our lovely little balcony. This hotel is no way a 2 star and I can see this will be upgraded to a 3 star very soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the annex. Basically it's a room you rent in someone's house. The owner had birds and a dog. It was very noisy and awkward. Also requested a double room got two single beds pushed together.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some maintenance could be done to improve the stay. The large bay window was intimidating due to safety concerns.

    The owner was lively, vibrant, welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The decor is chic and modern. The location is within walking distance to most attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could be slightly more comfy and less creaky

    This is just a lovely and friendly hotel - I have been coming there for almost a decade, and will keep coming back; a home away from home

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs but most downtown Amsterdam hotels are like that so I can’t really complain.

    Room was adorable and the staff was super cool and down to earth. Also the cats are awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow staircase but luckily we were on the 2nd floor. The two narrow twin beds joined together had very soft mattresses so not much support.

    The room was very nice and ready ahead of time. Delicious breakfast served with a friendly smile. Location was very close to a variety of restaurants and public transportation. Help was offered for our suitcases. Transportation to the airport was easily arranged at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extremely tiny bedroom. Surely service from only two staff members. The others were very good. Very small shower over the loo!! The amount we actually paid was more than Booking.com gave us. Apparently Booking.com calculated the city tax incorrectly?

    Firstly, having unpacked we discovered that the carpet in the room was wet. Bailey, the wonderful staff member on duty, moved us to another room on the third floor which meant another set of steep steps. In that room the TV didn't work. Bailey generously gave us a glass of wine to celebrate news in our country. The young lady on duty in the breakfast room couldn't have cared less about our arrival for breakfast. (no dishes put out, stale bread, no milk etc. until I asked.) However, all this changed when we met Natalie the owner who had the TV fixed and her mother provided an excellent breakfast on the following day. They were both very welcoming and cheerful. We were given two free breakfasts in compensation. On the morning we left at 6am, fortunately Bailey was on duty again. She helped us with our suitcase, gave us coffee and cake before cheerfully waving us off. She is to be highly commended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a Deluxe Double Room and we got a really small room with a small bed. The windows could not be opened and the toilet was integrated in the shower cabinet and the room was too dark. The compensatory room was much bigger, but way better ventilation in the bathrooms in general is needed. It just didn't dry and the whole room was sticky when we got home.

    Nice and quiet Hotel in the city center. We liked the style of the hotel. Friendly staff .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is at the daylight basement. Beside some water demage in the bathroom, room is very spacious. Quite room most time until staff worked on garbage bin or wearing high heels. Bath towels have been used long and can be trashed. Hotel statement suggests that the breakfast is included but it costs €10 per person.

    Location is great. Near Museums and channel cruise dock.. Friendly staff and cute kitties.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircases are very steep with small steps,quite troublesome if u carry big and heavy bags.lights in the shower and room radiator not working

    Staff Bailey was friendly and helpful.rooms were refreshed and feel cozy.located right in front of a canal with a good view...near to the main museums,and in walking distance to the heart of amsterdam.comfy bed and thick warm quilts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had realistic expectations of this hotel being one of the cheaper options on the site, but it had good reviews so we were hopeful. We were very, very disappointed. The room did not contain any tea and coffee making facilities - this makes a big difference to a room, meaning we had to leave each morning to find coffee or pay €2.50 for a small mug from the breakfast room. We had to request a hairdryer and iron on multiple occasions because they would be taken back to reception when the room was cleaned. The TV didn’t work for the duration of our stay (no one came to look at it) and more importantly neither did the radiator. We were very cold on a morning. There were no apologies from the staff and we were made to feel like a hassle when the toilet flush also broke. Overall, good location and very clean but the staff have no customer service skills whatsoever.

    Good location and clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the room in the basement (we were informed while booking that this is a room in the "annex") so there was a lot of noise from the street plus the bed mattress was very uncomfortable. There was no safe in our room. There was some humidity on the walls but I believe this is expected in Amsterdam.

    Very nice breakfast in a cosy dining room and in a good price served by a nice and kind lady. Great location. Good heating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked hairdryer and tea/coffee in room

    Helpful staff Clean room and hotel Flexible to let us leave luggage after and before checking in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downfall is the very steep stairs (if you've had a drink) and the need to ask for a hairdryer (minor detail but annoying if you've just showered).

    When I walked in the door, I received a really warm welcome and thorough information...plus a greeting from one of the cats. The room was spotless and had a wonderful view of the canal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent staff, very friendly & accommodating. The hotel is very clean & secure & in an excellent setting overlooking the canals & right amongst everything.. we're already looking to book it for our next trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovey hotel, only a few minutes walk from the tram and the local stores. The beds were so comfy I actually found it hard to want to leave the room. We booked the small double room and it was a lot more spacious than we intially thought. They respect your privacy so you got the choice whether you wanted your room cleaned or not, compared to hotels I’ve stayed that were the cleaner will just come in regardless if you’re sleeping or not. The breakfast was lovely omelette, pancakes made for you and other food on the side to enjoy. Perfect location as it isn’t completely in the city centre so noise at night is limited but also close enough to all the restaurants/bars/coffee shops. Staff are so friendly and welcoming and really make you’re that you are ok and comfortable. Definitely will book here again when I come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was nice but the lighting was a bit dark. Shower facility was quite small and no face cloth provided...so I would suggest to future guests to pack your own!

    The view from the room was fantastic...although the climb getting there was challenging a bit after a long day of sight seeing!! Pleasant and helpful staff, and the location of this hotel while a bit of a walk to the train station did offer plenty of shopping and restaurants near by. Breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light flickered in the bathroom a bit annoying but a minor point really.

    The rooms are really cool, great decor and lovely views. Quiet location we got a great nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very classy. View from our special room was the best canal view in Amsterdam (probably). Located on main trolley line. Short (4 block) walk to the coolest part of Amsterdam, the 9 streets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of an improvements needed.

    Loved this place! Friendly staff, fantastic breakfast including pancakes/omelets made to order in dining area overlooking canal. Room was large and stylish. Staff very helpful. Near museums, theaters, public transportation. We definitely will stay here next time we are in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Twin beds and Sofa)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING ABOUT IT WAS AMAZING THE LOCATION IS PERFECT THE STAFF IS MORE THAN AMAZING , every one cent i paid on this place is really worth it ! if you're looking at this place don't even think and book it right now cause it's AMAZING , the hotel is close to everything and the staff are very helpful , many bars and coffeshops right behind the hotel and bikes parking right infront of the hotel , 1 minute away from kalverstraat and nothing more i can say just AMAZING

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boutique Hotel View traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: