Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Berghotel Amersfoort 4 stars

Utrechtseweg 225, 3818 EG Amersfoort, Netherlands

#11 of 18 hotels in Amersfoort

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 985 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    More toiletries in the room would be nice - we felt like we were running on bare bones, but it's always an easy call down to reception for some additional things. My biggest complaint in hotels is always the pillows, but these were great and I slept very well! No REAL complaints here at all.

    This is a great location. It's a short drive towards the middle of town, but the hotel is nice and quiet. The breakfast is wonderful, there were lots of options and even yummy fresh vitamin water. The staff are wonderful and helped us figure out how to operate the AC when we were stumped. We're headed back to the area in another month, and I've already made the reservation to stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed for two days but my room was never cleaned. I even asked the reception to send someone but nothing....

    Nice place in the green. Good parking facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The roomservice pizzas are the worst I have ever eaten (see pictures) - Parking is free but it was full, so we had to park somewhere else - As other guests say, the TV is fixed to the wall next to the bed, so you can't watch it from the bed without getting your neck hurting - Breakfast is OK, but nothing special (not worth 15€ pp)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They got my restaurant bill wrong. I could have written this in the “I liked” section since the mistake was to my advantage (a sweet 40€) but if they get it wrong one way for some they probably get it wrong the other way for others.

    Food at the restaurant was pretty good for the Netherlands. The hotel building is nice and feels much cozier than your usual concrete, steel and glass place. Rooms are spacey and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was too small and the shampoo was over.

    The location is ideal the neighborhood is very nice and close enough to the center. Also, the hotel has really nice facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet didn’t flush.. The bathroom is inside the bedroom, so there’s is little to no privacy. We were traveling friends so this was a little inconvenient. On Saturday there was no parking space left. And this was the reason we chose the hotel. Bike rental is 11 euro per day(so not 24h). We think this was quite expensive.

    The design of the room is quite nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed two nights. The complimentary tea, coffee and milk had not been replenished after the first night and the bins had not been emptied. Not the end of the world as faults but expected a bit better.

    Staff friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fitness facility does not have a running device. Not a big deal in summer: easy to run outside in a nice area. Rooms in the older building can be bothered with traffic noise.

    Well sized room. Godo and friendly service. Fitness facility present (bike/weights). Breakfast very nice. Forgot my sport shirt, was contacted by the staff and they wills end it to my home address. Very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to move rooms due to lack of expected facilites in the so called superior room (no storage space, no bedside tables, nowhere to hang damp towels, toilet in a small almost a cupboard, not keen on washbasin baacking onto bed. No plug in basin as you were expected to use continuously running water). However the room we were moved to was properly furnished, even if a little dark but was of the expected standard of comfort for Best Western. In fact it seemed the first room was 'designed?' for minimalists with no luggage! Dinner menu somewhat limited and too much 'modern cuisine. A more personal thing perhaps.

    The friendly helpful staff. The ease to bus to and from Amersfoort. The pleasant calm etc ambiance. Good breakfast. In fact would have no problem recommending if you were sure not get the sort of room we started with.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the fourth time we have stayed here so enough said really. Good location for visiting Amersfoort and pretty easy journey to the ferry at Hoek van Holland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive hotel, not close to the city center. The interior of the single bed rooms is not good at all (bed, wall colors etc.). Also, there are cheaper hotels nearby the center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their pillows are a bit hard & thick, resulting in sore necks in the morning. During our stay over the weekend, the hotel appeared to be short-staffed, especially for breakfast.

    Breakfast was excellent. The hotel provides free coffee, tea, et cetera for in-house guests. Also, a great selection of daily newspapers and magazines. The hotel's outside terrace is quiet and comfortable. They also provide plenty of free sunscreen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Romantic stay? Be aware, during the week the hotel is used frequently for training/conferences. A gym, sauna or pool would make it perfect in terms of facilities.

    Great hotel staff. In fact, the service is not great but Excellence and very pleasant. The breakfast and lunch are very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no cupboards, drawers or wardrobe to speak of, and the safe was not working. It could not be repaired because I was there in the weekend, but the staff was very apologetic about this and offered an alternative.

    The bed was very comfortable. Everything was fine. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Absolutely no complaints.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors in the room were made up of some kind of plastic. Not comfortable

    The staff was good, professional and helpful. De hotel itself is up for a make-over

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    An odd layout to the bedroom but thats down to personal taste. But still a spacious and relaxing room.

    The standards of the room and hotel areas are what I would expect from a hotel of this calibre. A good breakfast also up to the standards I would have expected.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly hallways.....signage of lifts unclear which one takes you to rooms instead of halls.

    Huge bedroom & large bathtub! Amazing space & comfort!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the room never worked for us (thankfully we had a data plan on our phones). The warm part of breakfast (eggs, bacon) had obviously been sitting for a while, which was a bit disappointing as we arrived just as they started serving.

    The room was nice, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast area was well appointed, and the coffee and the cold parts of breakfast (bread, cheese, etc.) were very nice. The staff were helpful and professional. The public spaces were festive, but not cluttered, our toddler enjoyed walking around and exploring the hallways and stairs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite old (but they are renovating the hotel so that should change).

    Very rich breakfast buffet; they also have soy milk for those who can't/don't want to drink milk. (Slightly pricey though at 15 euro.) The staff was very friendly. Free parking and possibility to store your own bike for the night. Hotel's restaurant is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little small but great for all that was required.

    Really nice, simple room with basic amenities. Comfy bed and nice tv with good channels for an English visitor. Really enjoyable stay. Only a 15 min walk into the centre of Amersfoort with close bus-stops available. Beautiful outside seating area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired rooms with damaged furniture. Restaurant had very, very slow service despite so few customers. Average but expensive food. Recommend going out if you are hungry.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't have breakfast and the brasserie menu was not to our taste, we would have liked a bigger choice of items on the bar menu.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was bright and airy, and it had a very nice large bathroom. It was an added bonus to have a kettle and refreshments provided. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the town along a lovely avenue.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly professional staff. Clean and comfortable accommodation at good location. We just stayed overnight at summer budget value without the expensive breakast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always seem to have jr staff working out front - getting answers not easy with three way conversation.

    Bicycle rentals were a plus. Great way to explore area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is 2 or 3km from the town centre, which wasn't a problem for us as we had bikes.

    Very clean, nice room, air conditioning, secure, underground bicycle parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower faucet was scoldering hot! Needs replacing with better faucet. Looked like no one had ever cleaned under the bed. Small cups and glasses.

    Lovely big bed for enough space for the two of us. A lot of channels on the TV, though a lot of were dutch. Close to city centrum, walking to the center of town takes about half an hour.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noisy on the corridor. The rooms door are very closed and by closing the doors was asleep several times.

    Service: friendly and beautiful service! The parking is directly in front of the hotel, the lift and the restaurant options.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came in in the hotel to our room around 18:30 and there were lying all bedsheets in the hallway to our room. When we went to Amersfoort at 20:00 it was still there.

    We liked the location, just outside the center of Amersfoort in an area with a lot of trees. Helpfull staff. Our room was upgraded without extra charge due to that a large group had rooms located together.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure if I was unlucky with the room (206), but seemed like the walls was made of cardboard. All noises like slamming doors, the lift, the neighbouring guests made is hard to sleep. Not a pleasant experience. Waited a good 20 minutes in the restaurant to be served, despite four staff moving around without much purpose. Poorly organised although the food was good.

    Location close to Amersfoort town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    My reservation went completely wrong. Only my name was correct, other data were all false.

    Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast is great. The location is a 15-20 min walk to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow service in the restaurant because of a large group of patrons

    Very nice layout of room. Windows can be opened. Excellent price. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty towels were not removed after the room was cleaned. Toiletries were not replaced. Very poor selection of these. Shower leaked under the door. Room needs two rubbish bins, instead of that tiny one.

    Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym could have been better /was too warm

    Cool room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Or room was nit cleaned very well and sometimes not at all. Very disappointing!

    The location was excellent and the building beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, warm and modern with excellent food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As good as when I used to stay there on business 15+ years ago! Spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like clean room with big wc far from the bed .

    I like big room with separate wc or far the bed .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ventilation system was broken

    Great staff, very helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old Hotel. Need Renovation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu. No lounge for hotel guests.

    Friendly staff. The terrace was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric vehivle charging in the parking lot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the value nothing!

    Great rooms for the money and the restaurant is awesome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The telephone wasn't working so had to keep going down to reception to ask for anything.

    Quite clean close to amsterdam

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very Good stuff and helpful !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location -a pleasant walk to the town centre. Big room, good layout.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was loose gravel, not to good for motorcycle parking, however just extra caution required

    Everything really

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small and dark room, which looked as if the previous in that roomguest had just left.

    The complaint (see below) was handled very well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited dining menu and quite expensive

    Excellent location for a short visit to Amsterdam surrounding area very relaxing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The slow service in the bar

    The receptionists were extremely nice and very professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent. Lovely breakfast . Room was as expected for a chain hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was good. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To far to walk to the center of town

    The rooms were unique and modern. The on-site restaurant was good. Easy parking on site

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to relax; the forest is within 2 minutes walking. Very friendly and flexible staff, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I didn't like as I stayed only one night

    The hotel was goood The location also good not too far from the train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An event was on in the day at the hotel when we arrived so parking difficult as no spaces left

    Attentive helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I only arrived at 21:20 I was dissapointed to see that roomservice is only available until 21:30.

    Breakfast was really good, comfort good!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the walls are thin in rooms, we bothered by the neighbors during the whole night. The TV controller is covered by dust.

    free easily parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is very isolated from business activities

    The heater in the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed - old box spring

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    employees are nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old room this time, specially when you know the new ones.

    nice hotel overall, food is good, people are friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The hotel doesn't provide transportation to the train station.

    Good services and staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mini-bar

    The history of the building and its own character.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confortable y ambiente muy agradable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleni

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony. Kitchen closes early.

    Basic but good rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms look a bit outdated

    Good location near the town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of the room under the desk and lot of dust for several days

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sauna

    Parking and rooms!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower / Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thoroughly our stay at the hotel, very relaxed atmosphere and helpful polite staff throughout

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confortable, very good breakfast, competitive price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Shower or Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Break fast

    Location, parking, bar

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Plus Berghotel Amersfoort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: