Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gooiland Hotel 4 stars

Emmastraat 2, 1211 NG Hilversum, Netherlands

#7 of 11 hotels in Hilversum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 869 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you take a shower your bathroom pretty much floods because they didn't add any doors or shielding. They should really add something to prevent that.

    The bed was superb, everything was nice and clean and the room was bigger than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were 4 adults, we found the number of coffee pods and coffee supplements in the room quite limited (not enough). Other than that, everything was perfect.

    We stayed there for the second time, and it did not disappoint. This time we booked the family room, which is a bit more austere than the double rooms, however, it is spacious, well lit, nicely decorated and it even had some board games (I believe this is for families with children staying there). In our case, we were 4 adults, but we still enjoyed our stay very much. The reception lady was very nice and accommodated our requests perfectly and responded to all of our questions. We love staying here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No shower curtain so the water ran onto the bathroom floor. Two extra chairs would have been nice because the room was for three persons and there was only one chair.

    Quiet spacious room, friendly staff and only 7 min walk from the railway station. Cheap bike rental (10 euro/day) and a supermarket only 100 m away. Small cozy city, only 20 minutes by train to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I contacted them via Booking assistant beforehand to ask a few questions. Although I am aware that it is not always possible to accommodate all requests, the tone they used was rude, they didn't propose any solutions, and they simply stopped replying. This was completely dissappointing and I am very dissatisfied with their online customer service. The staff on-site was lovely, but unfortunately this doesn't compensate for their digital customer attention.

    It is very close to the station, and the facilities are astonishing. We got a courtesy drink at the bar, and we really enjoyed our stay there. Views from the room were wonderful. We are staying there again next month.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small minus: there were only stairs to the main entrance, so we had to lift our suitcases instead of just rolling them up.

    - A pleasant music was playing when we entered the room. - Tea and coffee were available for free. - The interior design is really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit smaller then expected. Almost no space around the king's size bet.

    Nice personnel, good service and clear room. Location is very convenient if you want to visit Amsterdam. Just 25 min with train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room (105) was located opposite the main door to the stairwell which meant that anyone arriving late or leaving early could be heard as the door banged shut (self closing).

    Well managed and well run hotel in a good location on the edge of the main shopping area. Staff were efficient customer friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room Keys. Don't drop one on your foot or you will feel it for a week

    Modern hotel set in historic Art Deco Building. Room designs were nice and functional and fitting to the overall hotels Art Deco look and feel. Staff were friendly enough. Good Hotel if you can get it for a good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit noisy - the rooms come with airplugs... Also there's no telephone in the room. I had to go to reception for a query late at night, turns up they have a Whatsapp number if you want to get in touch with reception (not indicated in the room).

    Beautiful recently refurbished architectural jewel. Great interior design, comfortable rooms and super nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negative comments

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. The location was perfect, only 10 minutes from the station. Such a nice gesture from the hotel offering us free drinks between 5 - 6pm. The staff couldn't have been more friendly. Hope to visit this hotel again. Very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury feel at a grat price. Fantastic staff! Little details like luxury soaps and clean, modern design (room looked like i was the first to stay there) made it a remarkable stay. Next time I need to go to Amsterdam, Im staying at Gooiland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of breakfast €35.00 fort 2!

    Built in 1936 this hotel has held that look and style fabulously!! The staff are all very friendly, and as with everywhere we went on Holland, their English is excellent!! The room was fabulous, quirky, large, bright, comfortable, quiet and just amazing!! The whole package made our honeymoon very special x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms need curtains NOT blinds

    The beds and the quilt was very comfortable. But the room needs curtains NOT blinds as too much light was coming in at night. The STAFF are fantastic, very friendly and v.v. helpful. Location from Amsterdam is only 20 mins from the station. The high street and nearby have excellent food. A lot of them do veggie also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about Gooiland Hotel was fabulous! The service from the staff was excellent. I can't emphasise enough how helpful the staff were during my stay here last month. I must say a special Thank You to Claudia and Aaron at reception who helped me out when I was trying to check-in my flight online. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The shower had no door on it & as such water went everywhere (& I do mean everywhere to the extent that there is a squeegee provided in the bathroom) when i showered. So do not leave your towel or slippers on the floor. 2. There was a patch of black mould on the ceiling over the shower, yuk. 3. There was a coffee machine in the room, but no kettle, I am a hardened tea drinker, so despite running clean water through the coffee machine several times, it still tasted of coffee. Then the machine gave up altogether & loads of red lights started flashing. So no chance of a hot drink in the morning. Although i forgot to mention this to the staff, i was curious to see if it would be checked when i got back to my room later that day. It had not. 4. I went out for dinner the first night I was there & asked for an ironing board to be taken up to my room & was promised it would be done straight away. It was not there when i returned nearly 2 hrs later, though it was brought up straight away once reminded. I mentioned the following morning that I'd done with said board & Iron & it could be taken away for others to use. It was still there when i got back that evening. 5. More transparency is needed here regarding the breakfast, I ticked the breakfast box on the booking.com website, but it was only when i got to the hotel that I found out it was not included.

    Over all the room was very good, nice clean sheets, plenty of towels & nice toiletries in the bathroom. Staff friendly & helpful if a little slow at times. The only criticisms i would make are listed below

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room but was checked into a twin room, queried it and was still given a twin room. Should have been a ‘large double bed’ Room was a bit cold, bathroom was very cold and water not quite hot enough.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful , the hotel is very modern and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little.

    Very unique hotel, unusual building and architecture with a wonderful modern clean decor and no doubt an interesting history. The staff were excellent and could not be more pleasant or helpful. The rooms are minimalist yet remain stylish, functional and very comfortable. A great nights sleep and a top notch coffee machine in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really only one restaurant choice on sire . A very nice Japanese restaurant but may not be to everyone's tastes

    They seem to keep on top of things. Whilst I was there they came to the room to check & reset the air conditioning following some concerns it was noisy. They did in fact adjust it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked via booking.com. So all info should be available. At Arrival staff asked me to fill in a paper form.... waste of time ... Room was Very cold at entering . Staff could have opend heating a few hours before arrival. Heating is sufficiënt to bring room to decent temperatur. .

    comfortable bed, in City center close Many restaurants and railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The employee on reception at 12:00 pm on the morning of my check-out. Really bothered me. I travel all over the world and I could not believe how awful he was.

    The first two staff on shift were wonderful & helpful. However, the blonde man who was at the reception the next morning was incredibly rude, condescending and unfriendly and purported to know more about this 'business' than I did. (I had politely told him that I thought breakfast was included. He was such an immature child.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance, reception and the elevator are old and do not look nice. Firstly we got a room which was already occupied...

    Rooms are recently renovated. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room too small to even put case flat to unpack except on the bed but given complementary upgrade when we complained. Facilities for storing and hanging clothes totally inadequate even in upgraded room. Hanging space was literally 8" wide ( and stems and branches of large plant protruded into it) and two tiny cubbyholes for other clothes? Steep steps to entrance with no hand rail. Even with slight mobility problems and/or luggage, and when wet or icy very dangerous. No option of a slope so impossible with crutches or wheelchair. The central fixed hand rail that used to be there has been sawn off to restore frontage to original aspect on architect's drawings. Style over health and safety!

    Location - we've stayed there before

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it's not going to b in keeping with the retro feel - they need t do something abut the corridor floors and lack of soft furnishings to block out sound. The noise from people walking & talking quite normally echos into your room and the noise from rooms above is very pronounced. Not their fault but the tractor noises from next door would have been damped with some more consideration to the design.

    Great staff & location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC heating meant that the vertical half of the room was warm while the lower part was not. The bedheight is somewhere in between. Staff trolleys in the corridor may be loud in the morning, if you are sound sensitive.

    Very friendly staff. Offered free drinks in the early evening. The hotel is beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of noise comes through the corridors. I would recommend some carpeting or sound absorption as the kids in the room next door made a lot of noise outside the door and it travelled right into the room. I'd also recommend some USB charge points near the bed as I only had one plug adapter with me.

    Generous sized rooms and nicely modernised for an older building. Art deco on the outside. I think they've done a great job with the space available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative no mini bar in the room & no dressing gown or slippers but the coolness of the decor and the spacious of the hotel more than made up for it.

    Super cool hotel in a converted art deco theatre. Great decor, fun bar, room was huge with a big balcony. The building is very cool & there was lots of fun stuff on our doorstep. We also ate at the Japanese restaurant in the same complex which was great. Really highly recommended for people with a good design aesthetic. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a mini fridge in the room however this does not take away from the overall experience of the stay, it’s just something I’ve become used to having in a room and also using.

    I had booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my fiancé, we had come to Hilversum about 3 months ago to get away from Amsterdam and the other tourists. The hotel is situated is a lovely quiet neighbourhood with a cool little chip and ice cream store just downstairs and a Albert Heign super market around the corner (5min walk). There is lots to explore and the town is so beautiful with plenty of nature and traditional architecture to look at.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower drain could have been faster--the bathroom floor was always quite wet

    Beautiful rooms and lobby, friendly helpful staff, balconies, comfy bed. Great toiletries!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great addition for Hilversum. Nice urban retro design; rough lux style. Very comfortable beds, pillows and duvets. Great staff. Good coffee machine in room. Breakfast a little expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern, clean and spacious room. Conveniently located in hilversum close to train station. Good connection to Schiphol and Amsterdam. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed to change the date of the room and despite two e-mailed requests the hotel did not respond. The lack of response is the concern rather than if they could or could not change the date. It shows a lack of customer focus and a loss for the hotel as we do much business in Hilversum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    entrance door was groce, lobby was oldfashioned and not attractive....one elevator for the whole hotel, waiting for it took so much time, that used the stairs.....room was really disapointing, very cold athmosphere, carpet under the bed, could barely step. on it, because it was only 20 cm beside the bed, all floors/walls very cold and unpleasant and the sight out the window was terrible, only grey stones and big exhausts and dirty....grubby....breakfast was presented nicely, staff very friendly, glass vases on tables with flowers would have been nice if they where clean and flowers fresh and the sight to outside of the breakfastroom was as bad as of the room...the oudside space need a big clean with high pressure cleaner, lots of black mold there....dirty..

    staff was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself had two twin beds pushed together, when I was expecting a double bed.

    Overall, the hotel itself was great inside - I really liked the art deco style, and especially the lights in the corridors. The actual rooms where spacious and clean and very well maintained. Unfortunately, construction outside the hotel slightly detracted from the ambiance, but that was temporary anyway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The hotel is a great place to stay at. The staff was very friendly and the whole concept behind this hotel is very nice. The hotel is designed in a very retro yet modern way. It a great hotel but you should not expect to have any extra luxury facilities like a gym, etc. We would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely room everything new but actually designed and built in 1930s so very Art Deco. You have your own Nespresso machine in the room which was wonderful. Free drink at bar between 5 and 6 o'clock every day of your stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The oversized plant in the room, the blinds that didn't operate properly and the lack of carpet on the floor. The building work directly outside which starts at 7am is also a nuisance.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm finding it difficult to find something to write here.

    Stylish modern rooms attractively decorated and well laid out. Spacious without losing the cosy feeling. Modern walk in shower and well laid bathroom area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like!

    The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating! We got off the train in helversum , because my daughter was feeling ill, and everyone went out of their way to fulfill my daughter's many requests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds in the room let in too much light which made it difficult for my baby to sleep.

    Very bright, good feel about the place, right in the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room only had blinds which were not sufficient to block the light from outside. In this season, that means waking up at 6 in the morning from sunlight.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room a bit small, but with the price paid, it is ok.

    very near to the restaurant, there is in fact few restaurants nearby. one of them is King's , We had quick dinner there.. Fries, Ice-cream, and burgers are great value and delicious. we also manage to take a walk around the hotel, and there are more restaurants and a supermarket Dirk just 8 mins walk. Very convenient i would said. rooms are very clean and new. Bed and pillows are super comfortable... we had 3 nights comfortable stay at the hotel. very near to the public transportation. just 9 mins walk to nearest train station, and there are buses that would stop by near hotel, with just 2 mins walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been better. Excellent hotel with brilliant staff.

    Everything about this refurbished Art Deco hotel was so good! From the welcome at check in to the stylish rooms and overall look and feel of the hotel. The Gooiland Hotel deserves to do well and I thoroughly recommend driving there - its so easy to get about by car in Holland and the trip from the UK took less time than driving from Inverness to Cambridge - 4 hours less in fact! Not the cheapest hotel in Hilversum by any means but for a stylish break in a chilled out town 45 mins drive from Amsterdam (much faster by train - 10 min walk to station from hotel) - this place cannot be beaten. Definitely one to return to when not on a business trip - my wife would love it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very spacious room with a balcony and sunset view. Very friendly and helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. Good location to the centre of Hilversum, trains, and the Media Park. All I needed. :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a single blanket as the doona was too thick and too hot for spring. I also was looking for a guest computer and a phone in the room as I did not have either one with me. Both were not there anymore.

    I like the position of the hotel and the friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor issue: Always I struggle when you have a shower and it makes all bathroom wet because there is no stop to the water. But this is a common issue in Netherlands. Swimming pool should be re open as it would make this hotel one of the best alternatives to visit Amsterdam. 20/30 minutes by train and you are in the centre of the capital.

    We have our check-in settled to 15:00 and when arriving at 16:00 one of the rooms was not ready. The staff immediately granted us with a compensation and made us feel very welcome, also offering a drink. Rooms are very nice. The new design is much more attractive than in the past. Very comfortable beds and very fresh and clean. Amazing location within Hilversum.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To park the car you have to go around the hotel, due to one-way streets.

    Good hotel near the center, with excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms. Not much to see in the city but it was a lovely weekend with family and friends. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. Breakfast was included, with plenty of options, and flexible serving hours. There's also a nice restaurant in the hotel, and a beautiful church nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is located near the Saint Vitus Church, in a nice area, with the city center at a 10-minute walk. We booked 6 rooms, beds were comfortable and breakfast very good. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Very good option although a little expensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are small and outdated. They had limited space to store your belongings and the safety box is with hotel management not in your room.

    The staff are friendly.the area is safe you have entertainment there like the movie theater. Its easy to navigate,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the wet room. Struggled to gain access to the toiletries provided because of the design of the holders. I was not thrilled about the wet room. Having water splashing all over the place whilst you showered made the experience a chore. Flushing the toilet best done with lid down - water splashes out unto you otherwise. Definitely would not rate it a 4 star hotel. Much to learn about comfort I'll say!

    Top marks for tea and coffee provision and the bed was divine. Compliment drinks - fresh mint and lime with ice was great. We missed our complimentary welcome drink as only available between 1700 and 1800 😂 UK channels were not available. Wondered if they had already effected the UK brexit 😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer central over hot air heating system and my room had a view of a blind wall. But these are details, this hotel deserves a good rating.

    Minimalist and well designed hotel which is very clean and well maintained. Although in the middle of town the hotel offers free parking next door. Very good value offering.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't understand the AC-remote-panel so I slept in a warm room. The suite has a beautiful bath but nog bath-foam..

    I've booked a suite, it'a definitely worth the extra money: the bathroom is wonderful, a real wow-effect. Breakfast was great, served by very friendly lady. I have experienced other hotels in Hilversum, this is the absolute no. 1! The design of the hotel is very minimalistic but with a clear vision. Love it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that much the bathroom cause of the water everytime i took a shower the water would spread out all over the floor and the whole bathroom and toilet got wet.

    I liked the persons working in the front desk,they we're so nice.the room was comfortable to slept on and the location was excellent for me to stayed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located on the backside of the property where there were evening flood lamps that made our room much brighter than we prefer for sleeping. The blinds did not block all light. Slept with eye masks.

    The lobby and breakfast staff were exteremely friendly and accommodating. The room was modern, clean, and spacious. Hilversum seemed like a great place to visit, shop, and dine. Very charming city, safe and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was sterile....it felt like I was staying in a hospital. Grey industrial looking floors and white washed walls.

    It was very comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable. It was clean and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit disappointed. I paid 127,- for a small room. The room was clean and nice but the building it was in is old. Not even double glass in the windows. Which means that you can hear everything that's happening outside. And I guess that it can get pretty cold in the winter. There is no separated heating in the bathroom. So if you like to sleep in a cool room, you will have to shower in a cool bathroom. The breakfast was a big disappointment. Especially for the price. Very limited choice. And not much tables. If the hotel is fully booked, there will be a waiting line. When I arrived it was not clear where the reception was. I had to ask. It was at the bar. Which is strange. There was no parking so I had to park in the street. And because I didn't know you had to pay until 9PM I got a parking ticket that cost me 62,50 So, an expensive stay at a poor hotel.

    Clean and modern room. Good shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    after showering the bathroom stay's very wet. You need a lot of towels. There was no door tension on the hallway door, so I woke up every time someone went in or out.

    Pretty small but very comfortable room. Friendly staff, they where open to feedback. Breakfast was very good. Wifi in the room did not work, but was good at the reception/ bar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room ,not 4 star level Breakfast: little flies from live plants located amidst the breakfast ingredients; wooden tables without any cover, e.g.no placemats; unpracticed small plates; the necessary self slicing of cheese is unhygienic.

    Friendly staff, good quality breakfast ingredients Good location near city centre and train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blanket was a bit short. A short Whatsapp and the staff was there with a different blanket.

    Very nice staff and pro active. Room is art deco style. Good beds!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cannot be closed with water floating everywhere

    Nice, modern and comfortable hotel in the centre of Hilversum

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The closet was not big enough.

    The family room was very big and super comfortable with a lovely view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small compared with. Size of bed in it

    Very clean, and ample tea & coffee in room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to complain about.

    Everything is on top that a good hotel has to have.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park and difficult to get to the hotel by car

    Free upgrade to room with sauna yay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean rooms, close to local shops and the train station. 25-30 mins by train from Amsterdam, nice and quiet town but lively at night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive

    Comfy bed and aircon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open shower created a mess no matter how hard you tried to keep water in

    We had a really cool plant wall and a nice roomy bathtub

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Plants Decor Bed was comfortable View from the window Modern furniture Overall design of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was super welcoming. Free drinks were a huge bonus. Room was in a awesome location, and the hotel itself is super unique!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything okay

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    —-

    Great and consequent Design up to the tiniest detail. Very good bed!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location quite far from Amsterdam Center but good Train connection. No restaurant but only breakfast

    Clean room with green plants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy people above us was quite bad

    Very modern and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathshower stand has no door

    Hotel decoration and staff is helpful. Nice value in area near Amsterdam

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of storage, sound insulation and randomness of air conditioning.

    Location of hotel, staff and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gooiland Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: