Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Slothotel Igesz 4 stars

Markt 22, 1741 BS Schagen, Netherlands

#6 of 7 hotels in Schagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room in Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast does not cater for Gluten Free i.e. cereals. They had no gf bread and they did not make any attempt to go get some on first day. The second day they had bread (?) but was unedible. Also the rooms in the castle are assessible by lift but bathroom is not accessible for someone with a disability also beds are very high for someone with a disability.

    It is very central to all other restaurants, pubs, shopping etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here a year earlier and loved our room, which had a fridge in the room and a nice view over to the castle. This year we had a smaller room, no fridge, no view, and standing water on the roof next to the window. There is no screeen, and both nights we stayed here we got mosquito bites.

    Nice location in the heart of town. Appreciated a locked location for our bicycle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are very steep but I think that is normal for NL. The night door system is a little bit confusing at first, but it's ok when you get the heck of it.

    Amazing indoor design. Very Dutch in every way. The hotel bar is really cozy. Breakfast was good but was missing some vegetables like tomato or something. I think they bake their own bread - super cool. And it was really interesting that you could fry your own eggs if you weren't happy with what they had. But I think no one did that because whatever they served was really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    50 C in the room. No ac. No window to open only door (unsafe because all the rooms were to a flat roof). Black tar paper from the roof worked like a heating. Bed was so soft it hurt my back. You literally sank in the bed. It was awful Couldn't ask for another room because it was the second I had. The first one was awful loud (there was a fare just 2 m outside the window) and stunk of cigarettes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been helpful to know in advance that there was going to be a fairground right outside the hotel during our stay which ran till midnight, couldn't leave window open due to noise & security

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both single beds were too soft, hence limiting the sleeping comfort. Missing air conditioning.

    The room was clean as much as the bathroom. All facilities and furniture in well preserved condition.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was old fashioned. Dangerous by firering. Construction is mostly from wooden materials. The breakfast-servicewoman was not friendly.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was fine and most acceptable. Hadn't expected traveller's tax to be added to my bill so this increased the payment. It should be shown on the summary of payments when you get a confirmation so you do not get an unexpected surprise at checkout. If you don't travel frequently, you cannot expect to know these things.

    Comfy beds and a nice big room with an excellent shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room in Castle
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to stay in the Castle because there is no lift in main hotel. My daughter is in a wheelchair. The room was assessable but not the bathroom, no walk in shower. Its a bit awkward to have to walk to the castle late at night.

    The hotel is centrally situated near all shops, restaurants, pubs etc also train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room in Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have better quality tv; more lights in the room; tv position is dangerous if you get up in the dark at night; beds need to be replaced. They are worn out.

    location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up each morning at 7:05 by the construction outside our window but it didn't matter. It was time to get up and it wasn't bad during the day.

    There is covered bicycle parking in the locked garden area. We had a large room in the main building in the back looking out to the castle and over a construction site. There was a small fridge and a table with 2 chairs by the large windows, which let in good air and provided a nice place for light meals. The supermarket was a very short walk away. In the summer, Thursdays have a folk festival and it was fantastic. Don't miss it! We loved Schagen. We also climbed the church tower (only open during festival days) and were able to look down on the folk parade as it wound its way thru the town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    Good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really simple

    good beds and clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a parking space is very difficult to find

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast did not meet our expectations in a four star hotel. Poor.

    rooms were good location was good. Staff also...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room in Castle
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed in the comfort double room in the castle turned out to be two single beds moved next two each other

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Browse Slothotel Igesz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: